基立福与上海莱士的并购交易:同类首例换股交易

作者: Tomás Dagá、Oscar Calsamiglia,Osborne Clarke律师事务所;陈江,君合律师事务所
0
1508
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

西班牙制药公司基立福(Grifols)通过一项无先例的跨境换股交易,以其海外子公司的股权,换取中国非国有深交所上市公司(即上海莱士血液制品股份有限公司)大量股份。

Tomás Dagá, Partner 合伙人, Osborne Clarke
Tomás Dagá
合伙人
Osborne Clarke律师事务所

基立福总部位于西班牙巴塞罗那,在经监管部门批准并满足其他交割条件后,现持有上海莱士26.2%的股份,而上海莱士则获得基立福此前美国全资子公司-Grifols Diagnostic Solutions(GDS)45%的经济权利和40%的投票权。交易双方对此次换股协议的估值约为19亿美元。

本次交易中,Osborne Clarke España律师事务所和君合律师事务所共同担任基立福的法律顾问。

上海莱士是中国领先的血液制品生产商,在中国大陆设有多处采血浆站和血液制品生产基地。基立福是一家血浆衍生产品生产商,在西班牙IBEX-35和美国纳斯达克上市,并且在美国、加拿大和西班牙设有血浆衍生产品生产基地,其血浆采集处于全球龙头地位。

2019年3月,基立福和上海莱士签订发行股份购买资产协议(“换股协议”),以换股方式实施本次交易。GDS是基立福集团诊断部门的控股公司。基立福集团诊断部门的主营业务为输血用血液和原料血浆检测技术的对外许可,以及输血用血液和原料血浆检测设备和耗材的商业化,GDS在美国、西班牙和瑞士设有生产基地。

Oscar Calsamiglia, Partner 合伙人, Osborne Clarke 律师事务所
Oscar Calsamiglia
合伙人
Osborne Clarke律师事务所

作为换股协议的补充,上海莱士、基立福和上海莱士大股东中国科瑞天诚及其他相关方共同签署了独家战略合作总协议。根据该协议,基立福将指定上海莱士作为其生物科学领域产品在中国的经销商,期间上海莱士需要遵守一定的质量标准和操作标准,并且基立福将向上海莱士许可特定技术并提供工程服务。

基立福和上海莱士还约定,基立福和上海莱士分别作为上海莱士和GDS的股东,有权分别提名上海莱士董事会和GDS董事会一定数量的董事。

同时,双方同意修订上海莱士和GDS的章程,并将此作为基立福入股上海莱士以及上海莱士入股GDS的条件(双方均作为少数股东)。修订内容为增加董事人数,增加在股东会和董事会层面提案和/或批准修改章程或批准特定经营战略事项所需的法定人数。Grifols’ Shanghai RAAS acquisition: A share swap deal first, 基立福与上海莱士的并购 交易:同类首例换股交易

本次交易面临的主要挑战为,以外资持有的美国公司(GDS)的股份交换中国上市公司(上海莱士)的大量股份,在中美两国众多监管机构的监管下,双方为履行换股协议已成功克服以下两大监管障碍:

(1)中国证监会已批准本次交易,发改委和商务部已经接受本次交易的备案,上海莱士已获准对外投资收购GDS股份,基立福已获准以GDS股份投资上海莱士。这有赖于双方达成的安排的公平性,双方提供的对上海莱士股份和GDS股份的估值,换股安排的附属安排的公平性,估值报告的编制依据,以及各家法律和财务顾问针对GDS(及其西班牙、瑞士和香港子公司)以及上海莱士(及其中国子公司)的资产、负债和商业发展前景出具的法律、财务、估值等尽职调查报告;以及

Joe Chen 陈江, Partner 合伙人, JunHe 君合律师事务所,
陈江
合伙人
君合律师事务所

(2)美国外国投资委员会(CFIUS)已批准本次交易。为此,基立福、上海莱士以及美国国防部和美国财政部(该两个部门代表CFIUS)签订了《国家安全协议》。在双方遵守《国家安全协议》的前提下,上海莱士作为一家来自中国的外国公司,获准收购美国资产(GDS股份)并取得GDS的少数股东权益。

换股协议于2020年3月履行完毕。基立福方面,本次交易由Osborne Clarke España律师事务所的合伙人Tomás Dagá和Oscar Calsamiglia以及君合律师事务所的合伙人陈江和陶旭东牵头。

美国Proskauer Rose律师事务所(作为公司法律顾问)和美国霍金路伟律师事务所(作为CFIUS法律顾问)也就本次交易美国方面的法律问题向基立福提供了建议。

观看律师分享精彩案例细节,欢迎访问 《2020年度杰出交易》


Tomás Dagá是Osborne Clarke律师事务所的合伙人。他的联系方式为电话+34 93 419 1818或电邮tomas.daga@osborneclarke.com

Oscar CalsamigliaOsborne Clarke律师事务所的合伙人。他的联系方式为电话+34 93 419 1818或电邮oscar.calsamiglia@osborneclarke.com

陈江是君合律师事务所的合伙人。他的联系方式为电话+86 21 2208 6245或电邮chenjiang@junhe.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Grifols’ Shanghai RAAS acquisition: A share swap deal first

By Tomás Dagá and Oscar Calsamiglia, Osborne Clarke; Joe Chen, JunHe
0
66

Spanish pharmaceuticals company Grifols picked up a significant stake in Shenzhen-listed Shanghai RAAS Blood Products in an unprecedented type of cross-border share swap deal involving a privately owned overseas company and a non-state-owned listed Chinese company.

Tomás Dagá, Partner 合伙人, Osborne Clarke
Tomás Dagá
Partner
Osborne Clarke

Barcelona-based Grifols, upon clearance from regulatory authorities and completion of other closing conditions, now has a 26.2% stake in China’s Shanghai RAAS, which has in return received 45% of the economic rights and 40% of the voting rights of US-based Grifols Diagnostic Solutions (GDS), which was earlier a fully owned subsidiary of Grifols. The swap agreement was valued by the parties at about US$1.9 billion.

Osborne Clarke España and JunHe served together as legal counsel for Grifols.

Shanghai RAAS is the leading blood products manufacturer in China, with plasma collection sites and blood product manufacturing sites throughout mainland China. Grifols is a plasma-derived products manufacturer listed on the Spanish IBEX-35 and US Nasdaq, and is a leader in the collection of plasma, with plasma-derived product manufacturing sites in the US, Canada and Spain.

The deal was structured through a swap of shares by means of the execution of an assets purchase agreement by share issue (swap agreement) executed in March 2019, by and between Grifols and Shanghai RAAS. GDS is the holding company of the diagnostic division of the Grifols Group, a division that is mainly devoted to out-licensing technology and commercialising equipment and consumables for the testing of blood (for transfusions) and source plasma, with manufacturing sites in the US, Spain and Switzerland.

Oscar Calsamiglia, partner, Osborne Clarke España
Oscar Calsamiglia
Partner
Osborne Clarke

Ancillary to the swap agreement, Shanghai RAAS and Grifols, together with, among others, China-based Creat Tiancheng (a reference shareholder to Shanghai RAAS), entered into an exclusive master strategic alliance agreement, whereby Grifols would appoint Shanghai RAAS as its distributor in China for the commercialisation of its products in the bioscience field, certain quality and operation standards were to be applied and complied with in the operations of Shanghai RAAS throughout, and Grifols would license certain technology and provide certain engineering services to Shanghai RAAS.

Certain other provisions were agreed whereby Grifols and Shanghai RAAS, as shareholders of Shanghai RAAS and GDS, respectively, would have the right to appoint a certain number of directors as the board of directors of Shanghai RAAS and GDS, respectively.

In parallel, the articles of incorporation of Shanghai RAAS and those of GDS were agreed to be amended as a condition to the entry of Grifols into the shareholding of Shanghai RAAS, and that of Shanghai RAAS into the shareholding of GDS, both as minority shareholders (increase of number of directors, increase of quorums required at shareholder and board level for the proposal and/or approval of amendment of the articles of incorporation, or the approval of certain relevant business matters).Grifols’ Shanghai RAAS acquisition: A share swap deal first, 基立福与上海莱士的并购 交易:同类首例换股交易

The major challenge of the deal arose from the swap of shares of a US company (GDS), which is not owned by a Chinese shareholder, in exchange for those of a Chinese-listed company that is not state-owned (Shanghai RAAS). Among various regulatory authorities in the US and China, the consummation of the swap agreement required two regulatory hurdles that were successfully overcome by the parties:

Joe Chen 陈江, Partner 合伙人, JunHe 君合律师事务所,
Joe Chen
Partner
JunHe

(1) The deal was cleared by the China Securities Regulatory Commission and the filings of the deal were accepted respectively by the National Development and Reform Commission and the Ministry of Commerce, where Shanghai RAAS was authorised to consummate the China outbound investment in GDS by acquiring the GDS shares, and Grifols was authorised to consummate the China inbound investment in Shanghai RAAS by contributing the GDS shares, all of which was based upon the fairness of the arrangements reached between the parties, the valuations provided by the parties on the Shanghai RAAS shares and GDS shares, the fairness of the side arrangements ancillary to the swap arrangement, and also on the basis of the valuation reports and legal, financial and valuation due diligence reports prepared by various legal and financial advisers, with respect to the assets, liabilities and commercial future prospects of GDS (and those of its subsidiaries in Spain, Switzerland and Hong Kong), and of Shanghai RAAS (and its subsidiaries throughout China); and

(2) The deal was cleared by the Committee on Foreign Investments in the US (CFIUS), through the execution of a national security agreement entered into by and between Grifols, Shanghai RAAS and the US Department of Defence, and US Department of Treasury, the latter and both on behalf of the CFIUS, whereby, subject to compliance of the parties to the agreement, Shanghai RAAS, a Chinese foreign company acquiring a US-based asset (the GDS shares), was authorised to acquire a minority interest in GDS.

The swap agreement was consummated in March 2020. From the Grifols side, the transaction was led by Tomás Dagá and Oscar Calsamiglia, partners at Osborne Clarke España, and Joe Chen and Tao Xudong, partners at JunHe.

US firms Proskauer Rose (corporate counsel) and Hogan Lovells (CFIUS counsel) also provided advice to Grifols on the US aspects of the transaction.

To watch lawyers share more details about the wining deals,
please visit Deals of the year 2020


Tomás Dagá is a partner at Osborne Clarke. He can be contacted on +34 93 419 1818 or by email at tomas.daga@osborneclarke.com

Oscar Calsamiglia is a partner at Osborne Clarke. He can be contacted on +34 93 419 1818 or by email at oscar.calsamiglia@osborneclarke.com

Joe Chen is a partner at JunHe. He can be contacted on +86 21 2208 6245 or by email at chenjiang@junhe.com