首部外商投资企业纠纷专题司法解释出台

0
114
FIE disputes
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

高人民法院《关于审理外商投资企业纠纷案件若干问题的规定(一)》(以下简称《司法解释》)于2010年8月16日起施行。《司法解释》主要调整外商投资企业设立、变更过程中产生的纠纷,但未涉及实践中日益增多的外资并购纠纷。

须经审批合同的效力认定

根据中国相关法律、行政法规的规定,外商投资企业设立、变更过程中签订的协议、合同多需报经审批机关批准。《司法解释》实施之前,人民法院对于法律、法规规定需经行政审批而未予审批的合同不但一般认定无效,而且基本否定该种情形下合同条款的可履行性。

《司法解释》规定,法律、行政法规规定需经外商投资企业审批机关批准后才生效的合同,自批准之日起生效,未经批准的,人民法院应当认定该合同“未生效”,而非“无效”。有关合同因未经批准而被认定未生效的,不影响合同中当事人履行报批义务条款及因该报批义务而设定的相关条款的效力。

对于须经审批合同的补充协议的效力,《司法解释》也作出了规定:补充协议对已获批准的合同不构成重大或实质性变更的,则审批机关的批准并非该补充协议的生效要件。注册资本、公司类型、经营范围、营业期限的变更以及股权转让等九种情形被认为构成“重大或实质性变更”。

股权转让合同未经审批纠纷的处理

外商投资企业股权转让合同签订后,转让方可能由于股权价值升高等原因,不履行报批义务,致使合同不生效。为此,《司法解释》明确了受让方的多种救济途径:一是如果经受让方催告后转让方在合理期限内仍未履行报批义务的,受让方可以请求解除合同、由转让方赔偿其遭受的实际损失;二是受让方可以请求由转让方及外商投资企业共同履行报批义务,或者在前者不履行时由受让方自行报批;三是转让方拒不履行人民法院关于由其履行报批义务的判决,受让方除请求解除合同外,可获赔偿的损失范围也从实际损失扩大至股权差价损失、股权收益及其他合理损失。

实践中亦同时存在受让方不支付股权转让款的情形,《司法解释》为转让方提供了两种救济途径:股权转让合同约定受让方支付义务的履行顺序在转让方报批义务之前的,受让方经催告后在合理期限内仍未履行支付义务的,转让方可以请求解除合同并主张损害赔偿;当双方履行义务顺序无先后之分时,与合同法规定合同双方均享有“同时履行抗辩权”不同,法院可以“指令转让方在一定期限内”办理报批手续,然后视股权转让合同是否被批准,判定受让方是否应履行转让款的支付义务。

股东优先购买权的保护

《中外合资经营企业法实施条例》和《中外合作经营企业法实施条例》均规定,合营一方向第三者转让其全部或者部分股权的,“须经合营他方同意”。《司法解释》特意释明此处的“同意”是指“应当经其他股东一致同意”,这与《公司法》规定“经其他股东过半数同意”不同。《司法解释》列举的“其他股东视为同意”的两种情形:“转让方已就股权转让事项书面通知,其他股东自接到书面通知之日满三十日未予答复”,或者“其他股东不同意转让,又不购买该转让的股权”,则与《公司法》的规定相符。

《司法解释》明确了股权转让中未保护其他股东优先购买权对股权转让合同效力的影响:“外商投资企业一方股东将股权全部或部分转让给股东之外的第三人,其他股东以该股权转让侵害了其优先购买权为由请求撤销股权转让合同的,人民法院应予支持。”但是,“转让方和受让方以侵害其他股东优先购买权为由请求认定股权转让合同无效的,人民法院不予支持。”需要注意的是,《司法解释》还规定了股东行使优先购买权的除斥期间:“必须在知道或者应当知道股权转让合同签订之日起一年内行使。”

隐名投资纠纷的处理

《司法解释》除了对违反或规避我国法律、行政法规的隐名投资协议认定无效外,对隐名投资根据不同情形分别规定了相应的救济措施:

一是有条件地支持隐名投资者关于确认其股东身份的请求,这些条件应当同时包括:(1)实际投资者已经实际投资;(2)其他股东认可实际投资者的股东身份;(3)人民法院或当事人在诉讼期间就将隐名投资者变更为股东征得了外商投资企业审批机关的同意。

二是支持隐名投资者要求名义股东履行委托投资协议的请求。在委托投资协议内容不违反我国法律、行政法规禁止性规定的情况下,不能仅因未履行审批手续而认定未生效或无效。隐名投资人请求名义股东按协议给付外商投资企业已分配的利润及其他权益的,应予支持。因名义股东违约给隐名股东造成损失的,应负赔偿责任。

三是在委托投资协议无效情形下,合理平衡双方当事人利益,对名义股东名下的股权区别“股权价值高于实际投资额”和“股权价值低于实际投资额”这两种情况采取不同的处理方式。当然,名义股东与隐名投资人之间的合同因恶意串通损害国家、集体或第三人利益而被认定无效的,因此取得的财产应当收归国家所有或者返还集体或第三人。

股东出资纠纷的处理

实践中,外商投资企业出资纠纷常见于以土地、房产等需要办理登记手续的标的物出资的情形。对于已经交付外商投资企业实际使用,仅未办理登记手续的,《司法解释》明确规定,出资股东如果在人民法院指定的期限内办理了登记手续,应认定履行了出资义务,对其他股东关于限制其股东权益的请求不予支持。但是,因迟延办理登记手续,给中外合资企业造成损失的,应承担相应的赔偿责任。

《司法解释》还对外商投资企业股权质押合同纠纷的处理、由于提供虚假信息进行股权变更报批导致外商投资企业股权争议的处理等问题做出了详细规定。据称,最高人民法院还将就外商投资企业解散、清算等环节产生的纠纷的法律适用问题另行制定司法解释(二)。


《商法摘要》由海问律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲进行与本栏内容相关之工作,必须寻求专业法律意见。跟海问律师事务所联系:baochen@haiwen-law.com。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

First set of judicial interpretations published specifically for FIE disputes

0
179
FIE disputes
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Supreme People’s Court Several Issues Regarding the Hearing of Disputes Involving Foreign Investment Enterprises Provisions (I) (the Judicial Interpretations) came into effect on 16 August. They were issued primarily to regulate disputes arising during the establishment of and changes in foreign investment enterprises (FIEs). They do not deal with disputes which are increasing as a result of mergers and acquisitions involving foreign parties.

Validity of contracts subject to approval

Pursuant to relevant Chinese laws and administrative regulations, agreements or contracts concluded during the establishment of or changes in FIEs are generally required to be reported to the approval authorities for approval. Before the implementation of the Judicial Interpretations, contracts subject to administrative approval under laws or regulations but not yet approved were generally deemed invalid by the People’s Courts, and the enforceability of the clauses under those contracts denied.

The Judicial Interpretations provide that if any contracts become effective only after being approved by FIE approval authorities under laws or administrative regulations, they will become effective from the date of approval.

The People’s Courts should treat those contracts not yet approved as “not effective” rather than “invalid”. Where contracts have been deemed “not effective”, this will not affect the duty of the parties to perform obligations relating to approval nor alter the effectiveness of clauses created as a result of the obligations for approval.

The Judicial Interpretations also confirm the effectiveness of supplementary agreements to contracts that are subject to approval, saying if a supplementary agreement does not create any significant or substantial change to an approved contract, the granting of an approval by the approval authorities is not an essential requirement for the effectiveness of the supplementary agreement. Nine items are deemed to constitute “a significant or substantial change”, including any change in the registered capital, the type of company, scope of business or term of operation and any transfer of equity.

Disputes over unapproved equity transfer contracts

Where an FIE enters into an equity transfer contract, but the transferor does not perform its obligations relating to approval for any of a number of reasons such as an increase in the value of the equity, the contract is not effective. For this reason, the Judicial Interpretations specify a number of remedies for the transferee. Firstly, if the transferor has not yet fulfilled the obligations relating to approval within a reasonable period after being urged by the transferee, the transferee may request termination of the contract and compensation by the transferor for actual loss suffered. Secondly, the transferee may request both the transferor and the FIE to fulfil the obligations, or may request that the transferee reports for approval on its own if the former fails to perform its obligations. Thirdly, if the transferor refuses to enforce the ruling of a People’s Court on fulfilling its obligations for approval, the transferee may request the termination of the contract. Moreover, the losses that may be claimed may be extended from actual losses to losses of equity price differences, equity earnings and other reasonable losses.

In practice, there are also some cases in which transferees do not pay for equity transfers. The Judicial Interpretations offer two remedies to the transferors: if it is agreed in an equity transfer contract that transferee’s performance of an obligation to pay comes in chronological order before the transferor’s obligations for approval, and if the transferee has not fulfilled its payment obligations within a reasonable period after being urged, the transferor may request termination of the contract and claim damages; if the two parties do not set any chronological order for the fulfilment of their obligations, and they are entitled to different “defensive rights of simultaneous performance” as stipulated under the PRC Contract Law, the court may “order the transferor to complete approval procedures within a certain period of time” and, depending on whether the equity transfer contract is approved or not, determine whether the transferee must fulfil the obligation to pay for the equity transfer.

Protection of shareholders’ rights of pre-emption

Both the PRC Sino-foreign Equity Joint Venture Law Implementing Regulations and the PRC Sino-foreign Cooperative Joint Venture Law Implementing Regulations provide that one party to a joint venture “must obtain the consent of the other parties to the joint venture” if it wants to assign all or part of its equity to a third party. The Judicial Interpretations specifically interpret that “consent” here means “must obtain the unanimous consent of other shareholders”, which is different from the requirement in the PRC Company Law for “consent by a majority of other shareholders”. The Judicial Interpretations cite two scenarios where “consent is deemed by other shareholders”, which are compatible with the PRC Company Law: “a transferor has given a notice in writing of an equity transfer, and other shareholders have not given a reply after 30 days from the date of the receipt of the notice”, or “other shareholders do not agree to the transfer or do not purchase the transferred equity”.

The Judicial Interpretations clearly describe the impact of the failure to protect the rights of pre-emption of other shareholders in an equity transfer on the effectiveness of a contract for the equity transfer: “if a shareholder of an FIE assigns all or part of its equity to a third person other than a shareholder, and other shareholders petition for the rescission of the equity transfer contract on the grounds that their rights of pre-emption have been prejudiced by the equity transfer, a People’s Court should rule in favour of the petition”. However, “if the transferor and the transferee petition that the equity transfer contract be deemed invalid on the grounds that it prejudices the rights of pre-emption of other shareholders, a People’s Court should rule against the petition”. It should be noted that the Judicial Interpretations also set forth a scheduled period for shareholders to exercise their rights of pre-emption: “shareholders must exercise such rights within one year from the date on which they are or should be aware that an equity transfer contract was concluded”.

Disputes over anonymous investments

Pursuant to the Judicial Interpretations, anonymous investment agreements that breach or evade Chinese laws or administrative regulations should be deemed invalid. Moreover, remedies are set forth for anonymous investments under different scenarios.

First, a People’s Court should rule in favour of a petition by an anonymous investor for confirmation of his identity as a shareholder if a number of conditions are satisfied, including: (1) the investor has made an actual investment; (2) other shareholders have approved the identity of the actual investor as a shareholder; and (3) the People’s Court or the parties have obtained consent from the FIE approval authorities of the change from an anonymous investor to a shareholder during the proceedings.

Second, the People’s Court should rule in favour of the petition by an anonymous investor to request named shareholders to execute entrusted investment agreements. Provided the particulars of an entrusted investment agreement are not in breach of prohibitions contained in Chinese laws or administrative regulations, such agreement may not be deemed ineffective or invalid due only to the failure to carry out approval procedures. A People’s Court should rule in favour of a petition by an anonymous investor to request named shareholders to pay the profits for distribution and other interests of an FIE pursuant to agreements. Named shareholders should be liable for compensation if they cause losses to anonymous shareholders due to their breach of contract.

Third, if an entrusted investment agreement is invalid, in order to achieve a reasonable balance between the interests of both parties, a People’s Court should take a different approach to identify the differences in the equity under the name of a named shareholder, whether “the equity value is higher than the actual amount of investment” or “the equity value is lower than the actual amount of investment”. However, if a contract between a named shareholder and an anonymous investor is found to be invalid due to damage to national, collective or third party interests as a result of malicious conspiracy, the property acquired should be recovered by the state or returned to the collective or the third party.

Disputes over capital contributions

In practice, disputes over capital contributions by FIEs commonly occur in relation to the contribution of in-kind land and real property which require registration. For land or real property which has been delivered to an FIE for actual use and has not been registered, the Judicial Interpretations specify that the contributing shareholders should be deemed to have fulfilled their contribution obligations if they have completed registration procedures within a time limit designated by a People’s Court, and the People’s Court should rule against the petition of other shareholders to restrict the interests of the contributing shareholders. However, the contributing shareholders should be liable for compensation if losses are caused to the joint venture due to delay in registration.

The Judicial Interpretations also contain detailed provisions on how to deal with various cases such as disputes over pledge contracts for the equity of FIEs, and disputes over the equity of FIEs due to the approval of changes in equity based on false information provided. It is understood that the Supreme People’s Court will make a separate set of Judicial Interpretations (II) on the application of laws to disputes over the dissolution, liquidation and other aspects of FIEs.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Haiwen & Partners. The authors can be emailed at baochen@haiwen-law.com. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link