看金融仲裁规则如何快刀斩乱麻

0
44
Financial-disputes-arbitration-rules-offer-professional-resolution, 看金融仲裁规则如何快刀斩乱麻

当前,中国金融交易市场逐渐发展与完善,货币市场、资本市场、外汇市场、黄金市场和保险市场上所发生的本外币资金融通、本外币各项金融工具和单据的转让、买卖等金融交易,日趋呈现出更为复杂的交易结构形式,这便导致金融交易纠纷具备有新型化、多样化、复杂化等特点。

在此背景下,金融仲裁规则应运而生,其对仲裁机构解决金融纠纷的方式提出了多元化、专业性、灵活性等新的要求,目的在于使仲裁机构能够尽快适应金融交易纠纷的新变化与新形势,指导仲裁机构专业、公正、快速地解决当事人之间产生的金融交易纠纷。

中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会(下称“贸仲委”)近日受理了一起某银行与八名自然人之间的借款合同纠纷案,该案在仲裁庭组庭后仅用时一个月便成功结案,各方当事人对贸仲委作出的裁决书均表示满意。该案之所以能够得到公正、高效地解决,得益于各方当事人在案涉合同中明确约定适用金融仲裁规则。金融仲裁规则的高效体现在以下方面:

第一,期限短。相较于普通仲裁规则,金融仲裁规则将选定仲裁员的期限、答辩或提出反请求期限、举证期限、裁决期限等进行合理压缩。结合贸仲委、北京仲裁委员会、深圳国际仲裁院等仲裁机构的仲裁规则和金融仲裁规则(如有)来看,在普通仲裁规则中,答辩或提出反请求期限一般规定为,简易程序规定的期限为10日、20日等;普通程序规定的期限为15日、20日、30日、45日等,而金融仲裁规则适用独立的期限规定,其不区分简易和普通程序,直接规定适用7日、15个工作日等。再如,普通仲裁规则仲裁裁限的一般规定为,简易程序为组庭后75日、2个月、3个月等,普通程序为组庭后4个月、6个月等,而金融仲裁规则同样适用独立的期限规定,不区分简易和普通程序,一般规定为组庭后45个工作日、组庭后1个月等。笔者认为,应当统一采用工作日作为计算期限更具科学性,在保证效率的同时也能够给予当事人充分的准备时间。

第二,专业性强。适用金融仲裁规则的案件,往往在选定或指定的仲裁员方面更具专业性。选定或指定的仲裁员因大多具有金融专业背景或者对金融行业非常了解,对金融交易合同的约定、交易模式等更为熟悉,能够保证从审理到裁决过程的专业程度。

尽管金融仲裁规则在期限、专业等方面具有较之于普通仲裁规则更为优势的条件,但并非所有案件都能够适用金融仲裁规则。仲裁案件适用金融仲裁规则应当满足以下条件:

第一,案涉纠纷须为金融交易所产生的纠纷。所谓金融交易,是指金融机构之间以及金融机构与其他法人和自然人之间在货币市场、资本市场、外汇市场、黄金市场和保险市场上所发生的本外币资金融通、本外币各项金融工具和单据的转让、买卖等金融交易行为。

第二,当事人应当在合同仲裁条款中明确约定适用金融仲裁规则,示范条款为:凡因本合同引起的或与本合同有关的任何争议,均应提交中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会,按照申请仲裁时该会现行有效的金融仲裁规则进行仲裁。仲裁裁决是终局的,对双方均有约束力。

金融仲裁规则的应用具有重要意义,其将指导仲裁机构高效、专业地解决纷繁复杂的金融纠纷案件。

中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会华南分会案件经办人付彩祯

Financial disputes arbitration rules offer professional resolution

0
35
Financial-disputes-arbitration-rules-offer-professional-resolution, 看金融仲裁规则如何快刀斩乱麻

As China’s financial market continues to grow, transactions in the currency, capital, foreign exchange, gold and insurance arenas that relate to financing in both domestic and foreign currencies, and the assignment and sale of financial instruments and documents denominated in both domestic and foreign currencies, have gradually grown in complexity, making financial disputes today even more novel, diversified and complicated.

Against such a backdrop, the case becomes clear for the presence of financial disputes arbitration rules. These prompt arbitration institutions to adopt a more diversified, professional and flexible approach in their dealing with financial disputes, so as to ensure that arbitration institutions will be able to adapt to new changes and circumstances and resolve financial disputes in a professional, impartial and prompt manner.

China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) has recently accepted a loan contract dispute between a bank and eight natural persons. The case, concluded only one month after the arbitral tribunal was formed, has yielded an arbitral award well regarded by the parties to the dispute. This efficient and impartial resolution of the dispute can be attributed to the fact that parties to the conflict have explicitly agreed to apply the financial dispute rules to the loan contract. The high efficiency of the rules is embodied in the following aspects:

Firstly, shorter time periods. Compared with general arbitration rules, financial disputes rules appropriately shorten the time period for nominating or appointing arbitrators, filing statements of defence and counterclaim, submitting evidence and rendering awards. In cases under CIETAC, the Beijing Arbitration Commission or Shenzhen Court of International Arbitration, we will find time period for filing defence or counterclaim could be 10 or 20 days for summary procedure and 15, 20, 30 or 45 days for general procedure, while financial disputes rules apply to an independent time period of seven days or 15 working days, with no regard to summary or general procedure. Moreover, time periods for rendering award in general arbitration rules are 75 days, two or three months in summary procedure and four or six months in general procedures, while have an independent period of 45 working days or one month after the tribunal is formed. The author holds that stipulating time periods in units of working days is preferable, as it ensures a high efficiency while granting to the parties to the conflict ample time for preparation.

Secondly, higher levels of professionalism. For cases applying to, parties normally find their arbitrators appointed or nominated are equipped with financial expertise or a thorough understanding of the industry and are familiar with the terms and conditions of financial contracts and business models. In this sense, the professionalism both in court and in rendering awards is guaranteed.

Although, financial disputes rules have advantages over general arbitration rules in certain aspects, all cases are not necessarily applicable to the rules. For cases to be applicable to the rules, they have to satisfy the following two conditions:

Firstly, the dispute to arbitration should arise from, or in connection with, a financial transaction. Here, the term “financial transaction” shall refer to any transaction arising between financial institutions inter se, or arising between financial institutions and other natural or legal persons in the currency, capital, foreign exchange, gold and insurance markets that relate to financing in both domestic and foreign currencies, and the assignment and sale of financial instruments and documents denominated in both domestic and foreign currencies.

Secondly, parties shall explicitly agree upon applying to financial disputes rules. Here is a model arbitration clause: “Any dispute arising from or in connection with this contract shall be submitted to China International Economic and Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) for arbitration, which shall be conducted in accordance with the CIETAC’s Financial Disputes Arbitration Rules in effect at the time of applying for arbitration. The arbitral award is final and binding upon both parties.”

The formulation of financial disputes arbitration rules stands as a milestone. It will provide an efficient and professional framework for arbitration institutions to resolve diversified and complicated financial disputes in practice.

Fu Caizhen is a case manager of CIETAC South China Sub-Commission