证交所发布控股股东和实际控制人行为规范

0
181
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

上海证券交易所和深圳证券交易所分别于2010年7月下旬发布相关指引,对上市公司控股股东、实际控制人的行为作出进一步规范。

上海证券交易所

《上海证券交易所上市公司控股股东、实际控制人行为指引》(以下简称《上交所指引》)自2010年7月26日发布之日起施行,专门就上交所上市公司的控股股东、实际控制人在上市公司治理、信息披露、股份交易、控制权转移等方面的行为规范做出明确规定。

上市公司治理

  • 《上交所指引》规定上市公司控股股东、实际控制人负有维护上市公司独立性的责任,并从资产完整、人员独立、财务独立、机构独立、业务独立五个方面具体阐述了控股股东、实际控制人的义务。
  • 控股股东、实际控制人与上市公司发生关联交易,应当遵循公平原则并签署书面协议,严禁利益输送。《上交所指引》鼓励控股股东、实际控制人通过合法手段减少上市公司关联交易。
  • 《上交所指引》进一步细化了2002年实施的《上市公司治理准则》中对控股股东行为规范的原则性要求,并根据新《公司法》的规定,将规范的主体扩大到了实际控制人。

信息披露

  • 《上交所指引》规定控股股东、实际控制人应当制定规范的信息披露制度,对涉及上市公司重大信息的范围、报告流程、内幕信息知情人登记等事项做出规定。
  • 《上交所指引》规定了控股股东、实际控制人配合上市公司信息披露工作和内幕信息知情人登记工作的义务。举例来说,控股股东、实际控制人应当在其控制权变动、对上市公司进行重大资产重组或者债务重组、经营状况恶化进入破产或者解散程序、或者其他可能对上市公司证券及其衍生品种交易价格产生较大影响的事件发生时及时通知上市公司,并配合上市公司进行信息披露。上述事件在披露前,如果发现该事件难以保密、已经泄漏或者市场出现传闻、或者上市公司证券及其衍生品种出现异常交易情况的,控股股东、实际控制人应当立即书面通知上市公司予以公告。另外,控股股东、实际控制人在得到上市公司的未披露信息时,应当对内幕信息知情人进行登记备案并承担保密义务。
  • 《上交所指引》就控股股东、实际控制人向上市公司提供相关信息、接受媒体采访等与外界进行沟通等事项也做出了详细规定,以确保信息披露的及时、公平、真实、准确、完整。

股份交易、控制权转移

《上交所指引》对《上市公司收购管理办法》、《上市公司解除限售存量股份转让指导意见》和《上市公司股东及其一致行动人增持股份行为指引》等法规中控股股东、实际控制人增持或转让上市公司股份的规定进行了梳理,就控股股东、实际控制人对监管机构的报告义务、增持限制、解除限售存量股份的转让、协议转让控制权时应履行的义务等事项做出了规定。

适用范围

控股股东、实际控制人对上市公司控股子公司实施的行为,也适用《上交所指引》的相关规定。而且,四类其他主体的行为也将视同控股股东、实际控制人行为,比照适用该指引的相关规定。这四类主体包括:控股股东、实际控制人直接或间接控制的法人、其他组织(上市公司及上市公司控股子公司除外);(自然人)控股股东、实际控制人的父母、配偶和子女;第一大股东;以及上交所认定的其他主体。

深圳证券交易所

《深圳证券交易所主板上市公司规范运作指引》和《深圳证券交易所中小企业板上市公司规范运作指引》(以下合称《深交所指引》)自2010年9月1日起施行。

《深交所指引》是关于深交所主板和中小企业板上市公司规范运营的全面性指导文件,涵盖了上市公司的公司治理,董事、监事、高级管理人员的管理,股东、控股股东和实际控制人行为规范,信息披露,募集资金管理,内部控制,投资者关系管理、社会责任等八个主要方面。《深交所指引》实施后,深交所之前发布的上市公司相关指引性文件予以废止。

就控股股东和实际控制人的行为规范,《深交所指引》的主要内容与《上交所指引》基本一致,同样从资产完整、人员独立、财务独立、机构独立、业务独立五个方面阐述了控股股东、实际控制人维护上市公司独立性的义务,以及控股股东、实际控制人在关联交易、信息披露、限售股份上市流通、增持上市公司股份等方面应履行的责任。此外,《深交所指引》还规定了控股股东和实际控制人应向深交所提交的《控股股东、实际控制人声明及承诺书》的内容和格式文本,并且对控股股东和实际控制人可对证监会、上市公司或其他股东作出的承诺事项、内容、履行及其披露等作出了专节规定。


《商法摘要》由海问律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲进行与本栏内容相关之工作,必须寻求专业法律意见。跟海问律师事务所联系:baochen@haiwen-law.com。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Stock exchanges issue codes of conduct for controlling shareholders and de facto controllers

0
204
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Shanghai Stock Exchange and the Shenzhen Stock Exchange each published guidelines in late July to further regulate the acts of controlling shareholders and de facto controllers of listed companies.

Shanghai Stock Exchange

The Shanghai Stock Exchange Conduct of Controlling Shareholders and De Facto Controllers of Listed Companies Guidelines (the Shanghai Guidelines) became effective on 26 July to regulate the acts of controlling shareholders and de facto controllers of listed companies on the Shanghai Stock Exchange in corporate governance, information disclosure, trading of shares, transfer of the rights of control and other respects.

Corporate governance

The Shanghai Guidelines provide that the controlling shareholders and de facto controllers of listed companies bear the responsibility to safeguarding the independence of listed companies, and elaborate on their obligations in five specific areas: asset integrity, staff independence, financial independence, institutional independence, and operational independence.

Controlling shareholders or de facto controllers should enter into a written agreement for conducting any connected transactions with their listed companies, and make sure such an agreement is made at arm’s length. Any transfer of benefits is strictly prohibited. The Shanghai Guidelines encourage controlling shareholders and de facto controllers of listed companies to minimize connected transactions with listed companies.

The Shanghai Guidelines further refine the requirements for the conduct for controlling shareholders in the Corporate Governance Standards for Listed Companies implemented in 2002, and expand to regulate de facto controllers based on the stipulations of the PRC Company Law.

Information disclosures

The Shanghai Guidelines provide that controlling shareholders and de facto controllers should formulate a standardized information disclosure policy to govern various areas such as the scope, reporting process and registration of informed parties having access to insider information in connection with major information of listed companies.

The Shanghai Guidelines specify that controlling shareholders and de facto controllers are obliged to work with listed companies in their information disclosures, and to register informed parties that have access to insider information. For instance, controlling shareholders and de facto controllers should promptly inform listed companies of any change in their rights of control, any restructuring of the major assets or debts of listed companies, any deterioration of operating conditions that may lead listed companies into bankruptcy or dissolution procedures, or any other events that could have a major impact on the transaction prices of the securities and their derivatives of listed companies. They should work with the listed companies to make information disclosures. Prior to the disclosure of the above events, if it proves difficult to keep the events confidential, or if the events have been leaked, or if there have been rumours on the market, or if there is exceptional trading in the securities and their derivatives of the listed securities, the controlling shareholders and de facto controllers should immediately notify the listed companies in writing and make an announcement. Moreover, when having access to any undisclosed information about listed companies, the controlling shareholders and de facto controllers must carry out registration and filing of any informed parties having access to insider information, and assume an obligation of confidentiality.

The Shanghai Guidelines contain detailed requirements for the supply of information by controlling shareholders and de facto controllers to listed companies, their interviews with the media and other matters related to communications with the public to ensure information disclosures are made in a timely, fair, truthful, accurate and complete manner.

Share trading and transfer of control rights

The Shanghai Guidelines have elaborated on the requirements of the Acquisitions by Listed Companies Administrative Measures, the Transfer of Reserved Shares of Listed Companies not Subject to Sales Restrictions Guiding Opinion and Increasing Shareholding by Shareholders of Listed Companies and Persons Acting in Concert Guidelines and other regulations regarding the increase of the shareholding or transfer of the shares of listed companies by controlling shareholders or de facto controllers, by specifying the obligations of controlling shareholders and de facto controllers to report to the regulatory bodies, the restrictions on increasing shareholding, the transfer of reserved shares not subject to sales restrictions, and the obligations to be performed during the transfer of rights of control by agreement.

Applicability

The acts carried out by controlling shareholders and de facto controllers in relation to the subsidiaries of listed companies are also governed by the Shanghai Guidelines. Moreover, the acts of four types of principal party are regarded as the acts of controlling shareholders and de facto controllers, and are governed by reference to the relevant requirements of the guidelines. These four types of principal party are: the legal persons controlled, whether directly or indirectly, by controlling shareholders or de facto controllers; other organizations (other than listed companies and their subsidiaries); parents, spouses and children of controlling shareholders who are natural persons and de facto controllers; the first majority shareholder; and other principal parties approved by the Shanghai Stock Exchange.

Shenzhen Stock Exchange

The Regulation of the Operation of Listed Companies on the Main Board of the Shenzhen Stock Exchange Guidelines and the Regulation of the Operation of Listed Companies on the SME Board of the Shenzhen Stock Exchange Guidelines (collectively, the Shenzhen Guidelines) came into force on 1 September.

The Shenzhen Guidelines are comprehensive guiding documents regulating the operation of listed companies on the Main Board and SME Board of the Shenzhen Stock Exchange in eight major areas: corporate governance; the administration of directors, supervisors and senior management staff; the code of conduct of shareholders, controlling shareholders and de facto controllers; information disclosure; the management of fund-raising; internal control; investor relations management; and social responsibility. Following the implementation of the Shenzhen Guidelines, the guiding documents related to listed companies previously published by the Shenzhen Stock Exchange will be repealed.

With respect to the code of conduct of controlling shareholders and de facto controllers, the Shenzhen Guidelines contain basically the same requirements as the Shanghai Guidelines, which elaborate on the obligations of controlling shareholders and de facto controllers in maintaining the independence of listed companies in five major areas (asset integrity, staff independence, financial independence, institutional independence and operational independence), as well as on their responsibilities in connected transactions, information disclosure, trading of shares subject to sales restrictions and increase in shareholding. In addition, the Shenzhen Guidelines also set forth the particulars and text formats of the Declarations and Undertakings by Controlling Shareholders and De Facto Controllers submitted by controlling shareholders and de facto controllers to the Shenzhen Stock Exchange, and devote a special section to dealing with the commitments controlling shareholders and de facto controllers may make to China Securities Regulatory Commission, listed companies or other shareholders, as well as the particulars, fulfilment and disclosure of such commitments.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Haiwen & Partners. The authors can be emailed at baochen@haiwen-law.com. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link