海关改革的制度红利、风险及合规应对

作者: 贾小宁、宁静,锦天城律师事务所
0
138

随着全国通关一体化改革的推进,迎面而来的是全新的海关业务流程和监管体系。当前海关改革的制度红利、风险有哪些?如何进行合规应对?

改革红利

锦天城律师事务所 贾小宁 海关
贾小宁
合伙人
锦天城律师事务所

近年来,有代表性的海关改革制度包括:

1.提前申报制度。经海关批准,进出口收发货人、受委托的报关企业可以在取得提(运)单或者载货清单(舱单)数据后,向海关提前申报。符合条件的情况下,叠加两步申报,可实现进口卸货直提,出口运抵直提。红利:可以提高通关效率、减少因通关审核产生的滞港时间、降低费用。

2.创新税收担保方式。对符合条件的进出口纳税义务人,在一定时期内多次进出口货物的应纳税款,海关实施汇总征税。此外,还有关税保证保险、税款总担保、企业增信担保等方式。红利:适合的税收担保方式可降低通关成本,缓解资金压力,减轻运营负担。

锦天城律师事务所 宁静 海关
宁静
高级法律顾问
锦天城律师事务所

3.主动披露制度。这是指企业在货物放行后,自查发现存在少缴、漏缴税款或者违反海关监管规定的情况,主动向海关书面报告并接受海关处理。红利:如果符合规定情形,可享受相应“容错红利”,主要有:减免滞纳金、从轻、减轻、不予行政处罚,或者不下调企业信用等级。

4.提供进口商品样品预先处置服务。应进口货物收货人申请,海关对企业拟进口商品提供预先归类咨询服务。红利:善用这类服务可以降低不规范申报引起的诸多风险。

5.加工贸易监管制度。新的加工贸易模式下,海关在精简和规范加工贸易作业手续、促进贸易便利化方面出台了一系列举措。红利:新模式下监管手续大幅精简,税负降低,资金占用减少,企业可评估是否选择加工贸易模式。

6.海关AEO认证。高资信企业享受更多便利,海关改革试点、制度红利均设定了企业信用等级准入门槛。红利:提高企业信用等级可享受更多红利,增强综合竞争力。

改革风险

1.新的监管体系对企业的合规要求不是降低而是增强了。比如,增强了企业如实、准确申报的义务。在两步申报情况下,企业需要自行向海关申报进口货物是否涉证、涉检、涉税,如果该报未报的,则可能被视为申报不实进行相应处理。

2.新的监管体系要求企业具有更高的风险防控能力。海关优化了风险防控手段,强化了大数据的应用,使得风险监控更加精准高效,执法标准更加统一。

3.企业资信状况对生产经营将产生全方位影响。海关企业信用等级状况已经成为影响企业国内外综合竞争力的重要因素。一旦被认定为海关失信企业,相应的损失不仅包括单项、有形的经济损失,更包括了企业声誉、规划发展等无形损失。

4.海关后续监管加强、企业更需妥善应对。尤其注意,当海关启动执法程序(稽查、核查、调查等)时,企业要及时反应,对于专业性、技术性强的问题,最好征求专业律师意见,以免延误时机致使问题升级或者应对不当、加重损失。

合规策略

1.合规经营需要自上而下谋篇布局。合规经营覆盖了包括顶层设计、基础设施、人员管理、培训投入等企业管理运营的方方面面,需要自上而下地规划和推进。这也包括充分了解交易国贸易管制政策规定,以此为基础规划资金投入、厂区建设、基础设施、生产发展、物流路径等。

2.抓紧建立并完善内部合规体系。企业要有防范执法风险的意识,可以从完善进出口合规工作流程和机制入手,防患于未然。

3.制定并完善企业进出口合规手册。合规手册是合规流程和机制的制度体现,一方面可以用来应对外部检查和风险抗辩,另一方面也可以规范员工行为,防范合规风险。

4.注重高风险领域、产品、岗位的风险防控。确定重点防控的业务领域、产品和岗位,明确工作流程、标准和应急机制。一旦触及警戒红线,则立即启动应急机制,必要时咨询专业律师意见,从而有效化解和应对合规风险。

5.跟进改革妥善调整和应对。海关改革的相关举措和规定仍在不断调整和完善,企业需要及时跟进和掌握,从而根据自身实际选择适用,最大限度地享惠避险。

作者:锦天城律师事务所高级合伙人贾小宁、高级法律顾问宁静

锦天城律师事务所高级合伙人贾小宁、高级法律顾问宁静锦天城律师事务所
上海市浦东新区银城中路501号
上海中心大厦11及12层 邮编:200120
电话: +86 21 2051 1000
传真: +86 21 2051 1999
电子信箱:
[email protected]
[email protected]
www.allbrightlaw.com

Dividends, risks and compliance with customs reforms

By Jia Xiaoning and Ning Jing, AllBright Law Offices
0
174

With the nationwide rollout of customs clearance integration reforms, completely new customs procedures and regulatory systems will have to be dealt with. What are the system dividends and risks of these reforms? And how is compliance to be handled?

Reform dividends

AllBright Law Offices Jia Xiaoning customs
Jia Xiaoning
Partner
AllBright Law Offices

In recent years, representative customs system reforms have included:

(1) Advance declaration system. With the approval of customs, an import/export consignee/consignor, or an appointed customs declaration agent, may make an advance declaration with customs once it has secured the bill of lading (waybill) or the cargo list (manifest) data. Subject to satisfaction of the conditions, a combination of the two declaration steps allows unloading and direct pickup of imported goods, and shipment and direct pickup of exports. Dividends: Enhances customs clearance efficiency, reduces the holdup time in port due to customs clearance review, and reduces costs.

AllBright Law Offices Ning Jing customs
Ning Jing
Senior counsel
AllBright Law Offices

(2) Innovative tax security method. Customs subjects the duties and taxes payable by qualified import/export taxpayers that import/export goods multiple times within a certain period of time to consolidated collection. Furthermore, such methods as customs duty guarantee insurance, blanket tax security, enterprise credit enhancement security, etc., are also available. Dividends: A suitable tax security method can reduce customs clearance costs, ease the pressure on funds, and alleviate operating burdens.

(3) Proactive disclosure system. This refers to a situation where an enterprise, after release of the goods, finds upon examination that it has underpaid, or failed to pay, duties or taxes, or violated customs supervision regulations, and so proactively reports the same in writing to customs and submits to handling by customs. Dividends: Where a specified circumstance applies, the corresponding “fault-tolerance dividend” may be available, which mainly includes the reduction or waiving of a late payment fine, reduced or no administrative penalties, or no downward adjustment in the enterprise’s credit rating.

(4) Provision of prior disposal service for samples of imported goods. Upon application by the consignee of imported goods, customs will provide prior classification consulting services for the goods that an enterprise proposes to import. Dividend: Skilful use of such a service can reduce the various risks that can arise from non-compliant declarations.

(5) Processing trade regulatory system. Under the new processing trade model, customs has issued a series of measures to streamline and standardize processing trade procedures and promote trade facilitation. Dividends: Under the new model, regulatory procedures have been significantly simplified, the tax burden lightened, and the tie-up of funds reduced, allowing enterprises to assess whether to opt for the processing trade model.

(6) Customs Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) certification. Enterprises with high creditworthiness enjoy greater convenience. The customs reform pilot project and system dividends set an enterprise credit rating entry threshold. Dividend: More benefits become available with the improvement of an enterprise’s credit rating, enhancing its overall competitiveness.

Risks from reform

(1) The compliance requirements of the new regulatory system for enterprises have become more stringent. For example, an enterprise’s obligation to make truthful and accurate declarations has been strengthened. In the case of a two-step declaration, an enterprise is required to itself declare to customs whether its imported goods involve certification, inspection and/or duties and taxes. If something that requires declaration is not declared, the situation may be deemed a false declaration, inviting the corresponding handling.

(2) The new regulatory system requires enterprises to have higher risk prevention and control capabilities. Customs has optimized risk prevention and control means, and strengthened its application of big data, making risk monitoring more precise and efficient, and law enforcement criteria more uniform.

(3) An enterprise’s credit status will have a multi-faceted impact on its production and operations. The credit rating of an enterprise has already become a key factor affecting its overall competitiveness, at home and abroad. Once an enterprise is identified by customs as a delinquent enterprise, the attendant losses include not only individual, tangible economic losses, but also intangible losses in terms of corporate reputation, planned development, etc.

(4) Follow-up supervision by customs has been beefed up, meaning that enterprises need to respond more aptly. In particular, when customs launches a law enforcement procedure (audit, check, investigation, etc.), an enterprise needs to respond promptly, and, with respect to specialized or technical issues, it is advised to seek the opinion of professional lawyers so as not to delay the timing, resulting in an escalation of the issue or an inadequate response, and leading to heavier losses.

Compliance strategy

(1) Compliant operation requires top-to-bottom comprehensive planning. Compliant operation, which covers various aspects of enterprise management and operation, including top-level design, infrastructure, personnel management, training outlays, etc., requires top-to-bottom planning and implementation. This also includes a full understanding of the trade control policies and regulations of the country being traded with, which serves as the basis for planning fund outlays, plant construction, infrastructure, production development and logistics routing.

(2) Establish and improve internal compliance systems. An enterprise needs to be aware to guard against law enforcement risks, commencing with improvement of import/export compliance work procedures and mechanisms, to prevent trouble before it manifests.

(3) Formulate and improve the enterprise import/export compliance handbook. The compliance handbook is the concrete system embodiment of the compliance procedures and mechanisms, which on the one hand can be used to respond to external inspections and for risk defences, and on the other hand can regulate the acts of employees and prevent compliance risks.

(4) Pay attention to risk prevention and control in connection with high-risk sectors, products and positions. Identify the key business sectors, products and positions requiring prevention and control, and clarify work procedures, standards and emergency response mechanisms. Once an alert “red line” is brushed up against, immediately activate the emergency response mechanism and, if necessary, seek the opinion of professional lawyers to effectively mitigate and respond to the compliance risks.

(5) Track the reforms, and duly adjust and respond as required. The measures and regulations relating to customs reform are constantly being revised and improved, requiring an enterprises to track and stay apprised of them in a timely manner, to choose to apply them based on its own realities, and enjoy the benefits and avoid the risks to the greatest extent possible.

Jia Xiaoning is a senior partner and Ning Jing is a senior counsel at AllBright Law Offices

AllBright Law Offices customs

AllBright Law Offices
11/F and 12/F, Shanghai Tower
No. 501 Yincheng Middle Road
Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Contact details:
Tel: +86 21 2051 1000
Fax: +86 21 2051 1999
Email:
[email protected]
[email protected]
Website: www.allbrightlaw.com