怠于履行清算义务股东抗辩策略研究

作者: 杨立群,志霖律师事务所
0
389
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

年来,经常出现债务人公司尚未偿债即被吊销营业执照,债权人以股东怠于履行清算义务之由要求其承担清算清偿责任的情形,作为公司股东,遇此情况应如何进行有效抗辩?

根据《公司法》及其相关司法解释的规定,股东承担清算清偿责任的法理基础是股东怠于履行清算义务致使公司无法清算及债权无法清偿所应当承担的侵权责任,该侵权责任的构成要件包括:(1)股东存在怠于履行清算义务的行为;(2)公司主要财产、账册、重要文件灭失,导致无法清算的后果;(3)因股东怠于履行清算义务所导致的公司无法清算与债权人的债权不能清偿存在因果关系。

因此,有限责任公司股东的抗辩策略可围绕如上侵权责任构成要件展开,具体如下。

抗辩策略

Yang Liqun, Zhilin Law Firm
杨立
高级顾问
志霖律师事务所

积极履行清算义务。股东具体可采取的措施包括但不限于:在得知公司出现清算事由后,积极和其他股东沟通,提出清算请求;积极梳理、保管财务账册;积极制定清算方案;保留相关的书面函件、沟通记录。

小股东的责任。小股东既不是公司董事会或者监事会成员,也没有选派人员担任该机关成员,且没有参与过公司经营管理,故其没有能力和义务履行清算,不应就未履行清算义务承担连带责任。股东可举证存在如下抗辩事由:

  • 小股东持股比例极低,且不在公司任职,不承担清算责任。
  • 即便股东在公司登记任职,但其任职登记情况与实际情况不符,股东未实际参与管理。如股东确实没有实际参与过经营管理,仅在工商有相应公司任职登记,则可尝试调取公司相应的各类决议、章程,以确认其是否参与决议和签字,如其确实未参与公司决议,则不属于实际参与公司管理。
  • 即便股东曾在公司任职,但股东可以提交退工证明、社保资料及公司内档资料,证明股东已离职多年,未实际参与公司管理,不掌握财务账册等资料,不具备对公司进行清算能力和条件。

代持他人股权。登记股东可提供证据证明其并非实际股东,而是代持他人股权,公司未能清算系实际股东的过错。同时,登记股东还可举证证明其已积极联系实际股东并要求其履行职责、进行清算。

需注意的是,即便证明实际股东和登记股东之间存在股权代持关系,但股东之间的约定属于内部约定,工商登记具有对外公示效力,无论登记股东是否参与经营和是否代持股权,该内部约定均不能对抗外部第三人。因此,该等抗辩理由有不被法院支持的风险。

公司尚能清算。股东可以提供相应的资料,如账册、记账凭证、财务报表、明细账、总分类账、现金日记账、银行存款账、库存材料明细账等证据证明其未履行清算义务并未导致公司财务账册灭失的后果,公司尚能清算,如法院认为公司尚有清算可能则应先履行强制清算程序,且不支持直接追究股东责任。

无可执行的财产。股东可提交此前公司作为被执行人的生效判决及终本裁定,证明公司出现清算事由之时,已经无财产可供法院强制执行,股东怠于履行清算义务与公司无法偿付债权人无因果关系。

需注意的是,不同法院对公司已无财产可供执行能否作为股东怠于履行清算义务与债务人无法清偿之间没有因果关系的抗辩理由有不同意见,故该等抗辩理由有不被法院支持的风险。

债权已过诉讼时效。根据《九民纪要》第十六条第一款,公司债权人请求股东对公司债务承担连带清偿责任,股东举证证明债权人的债权已过诉讼时效,公司无需偿债,股东亦无需对该债务承担连带责任。

清偿责任已过诉讼时效。根据《九民纪要》第十六条第二款,请求有限责任公司的股东对公司债务承担连带清偿责任的,诉讼时效期间自公司债权人知道或者应当知道公司无法进行清算之日起计算,故股东可举证债权人知道或应当知道公司无法进行清算的起算时点以证明债权人起诉之时诉讼时效已过。

如债权人债权形成时间距今数年且获得终本裁定距今已逾数年,而债权人在执行案件终结但债权未得到清偿的情况下,未及时向人民法院申请强制清算,也未向股东主张权利,如债权人起诉时距离公司终结清算程序裁定送达之日已逾三年,则其向股东主张清偿责任的诉讼时效已过。

《公司法三审稿草案》修改了现行《公司法》,明确董事为清算义务人,该规定与《民法典》现行规定一致,如未来《公司法》落实这一条款,则意味着股东将不再面临严苛的清算责任。在清算程序上,“谁经营谁清算”原则比“谁投资谁清算”原则更符合公司治理的基本原理。

志霖律师事务所高级顾问杨立

Zhilin Law Firm logo

志霖律师事务所
北京市东城区北三环东路36号

环球贸易中心C座20层2001-2007 邮编: 100013

电话: +86 186 1130 1382

传真: +86 10 8400 4936

电子信箱: liqun.yang@zhilinlaw.com

www.zhilinlaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Shareholder strategies defending neglected liquidation duty claims

By Yang Liqun, Zhilin Law Firm
0
858
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A recurring issue in recent years has been debtor companies having their business licences revoked before settling their debts. In such cases, creditors seek to hold shareholders responsible for neglecting their liquidation obligations. So, how should a company shareholder effectively mount a defence in such a situation?

In provisions of the Company Law and relevant judicial interpretations, the legal basis for holding shareholders liable for liquidation responsibilities is their failure to fulfil liquidation duties, resulting in the company’s inability to liquidate its assets and repay debts.

The elements required to establish this liability include: (1) the existence of shareholder negligence in fulfilling liquidation obligations; (2) the loss of key company assets, records or vital documents, preventing effective conduct of the liquidation process; and (3) an established causal link between shareholder neglect of their liquidation obligations and the company’s failure to liquidate assets or repay creditors.

Defence strategies for shareholders of limited liability companies (LLCs) can therefore revolve around these elements of liability.

Defence strategies

Yang Liqun, Zhilin Law Firm
Yang Liqun
Senior counsel
Zhilin Law Firm

Actively fulfil obligations. Specific measures for shareholders include but are not limited to becoming aware of reasons for the company liquidation; proactively communicating with fellow shareholders and submitting a formal liquidation request; organising and maintaining financial books; devising a comprehensive liquidation plan; and preserving all pertinent written correspondence and communication records.

Minority shareholder responsibilities. Minority shareholders who neither serve on the board of directors or supervisory board – nor have designated representatives within these, and have not been involved in the company’s day-to-day operations – do not have the capacity or obligation to fulfil liquidation duties. Therefore, they are not held jointly and severally liable.

Minority shareholders can present the following points of defence:

  • Minority shareholders typically hold an insignificantly small percentage of company shares and do not hold any official positions within the company. As such, they bear no responsibility for liquidation.
  • Even if a shareholder’s official position is registered with the company, if this registration contradicts their actual involvement in company management, they may obtain company resolutions and articles of association to confirm their lack of participation in decision-making or signing. If indeed they have not been involved in such activities, they cannot be deemed to have managed the company.
  • In cases where minority shareholders previously held positions within the company they can submit evidence – such as termination certificates, social security records and internal company documents – to demonstrate they have left the company for several years and were absent from actual management, lacking access to financial books and the ability and conditions to liquidate the company.

Nominee shareholding. Registered shareholders can provide evidence to prove they are not the actual shareholders, but holding shares on behalf of those who should be liable for failure to liquidate the company.

Additionally, registered shareholders can present evidence demonstrating their active efforts to contact the actual shareholders and request they fulfil their liquidation obligations.

But, importantly, note that nominee shareholding between actual shareholders and registered shareholders is considered an internal arrangement. Business registration carries external disclosure effects.

Regardless of whether registered shareholders are actively involved in company operations or are nominee shareholders, they cannot use the internal arrangement against external third parties. Therefore, this defence may not receive court support.

Capable of liquidation. During the liquidation phase, shareholders can provide relevant documentation – such as account books, vouchers, financial statements, subsidiary ledgers, general ledgers, cash journals, bank deposit records, inventory material details and other evidence – to demonstrate that their failure to fulfil liquidation obligations did not lead to loss of the financial books, and the company remained capable of liquidation.

If the court determines the company is still possible to liquidate, it should initiate compulsory liquidation proceedings and preclude shareholders from bearing liabilities.

Absence of executable assets. Shareholders can substantiate their position by presenting previous effective judgments and final rulings where the company, as debtor, had no assets available for court-ordered enforcement at the time of liquidation.

This evidence demonstrates the lack of a causal link between shareholder failure to fulfil their liquidation duties and the company’s inability to repay creditors.

However, different courts may hold varying opinions regarding whether the absence of assets available for enforcement within the company is indeed unrelated to the debtor’s inability to repay. Consequently, this defence risks not being supported by the court.

Expired statute of limitations on debt. According to article 16(1) of the Minutes of the National Working Conference on the Trial of Civil and Commercial Cases, when company creditors seek joint liability from shareholders for company debts, shareholders can present evidence that the creditor’s rights on the debt has exceeded the statute of limitations. In such cases, the company is not obliged to repay the debt, and shareholders bear no joint liability.

Expired statute of limitations on liability. Under article 16(2) of the minutes, if LLC shareholders are asked to assume joint liability for company debts, the statute of limitations begins from the date the company creditor knew, or should have known, the company could not be liquidated.

Therefore, shareholders can provide evidence of the point in time when the creditor knew or should have known about the company’s inability to liquidate. This may demonstrate that the statute of limitations for the creditor’s claim has expired.

Latest development

The latest Third Review Draft of the Company Law has clarified current provisions concerning the party responsible for fulfilling liquidation obligations, clearly designating directors as the obligated party. This aligns with existing provisions in the Civil Code.

If this provision is implemented in future revisions to the Company Law, it implies that shareholders will no longer face stringent liquidation responsibilities.

In terms of the liquidation process, the principle of “those who operate, liquidate” aligns more closely with fundamental principles of corporate governance than the principle of “those who invest, liquidate”.

Yang Liqun is a senior counsel at Zhilin Law Firm

Zhilin Law Firm logoZhilin Law Firm
Rooms 2001-2007, 20th Floor, Tower C

Global Trade Center, 36 North Third Ring Road East

Dongcheng District, Beijing 100013, China

Tel: +86 186 1130 1382

Fax: +86 10 8400 4936

Email: liqun.yang@zhilinlaw.com

www.zhilinlaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link