融资租赁ABS原始权益人瑕疵担保义务

作者: 孙仕琪、陈抒,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
106

产证券化是指将基础资产在未来一段时间内产生的现金流融合为资产包做为偿付支持,通过证券结构化设计、重整进行信用增级,转变为可以在金融市场上出售和流通的证券,进而发行资产支持证券(ABS)的过程。

孙仕琪 竞天公诚律师事务所 ABS
孙仕琪
竞天公诚律师事务所
合伙人

具体到融资租赁ABS,其基本模式为:原始权益人(发起人、出租人)通过融资租赁方式(含售后回租)把实物资产出租给原始债务人(承租人)从而获得租赁债权,然后将该租赁债权及相关权利(如担保权)组合成资产包卖给特殊目的载体(SPV),SPV对资产包进行整合,经过信用增级、证券评级后,委托管理人发行以租赁债权资产包为基础资产的ABS,投放市场后由个人投资者和机构投资者认购。SPV用证券发行募集的资金支付购买资产包的全部对价,并以资产包的持续收益分期兑付证券本息,投资者据此获得定期收益。若基础资产还款出现逾期则发生违约事件,可能触发差额支付及增信措施的履行。

上述模式中的法律关系主体主要包括原始权益人、原始债务人、SPV、证券投资者、券商、托管银行、信用增级机构、律师事务所、会计师事务所等。其中,SPV与原始债务人、SPV与原始权益人之间的法律关系是融资租赁ABS的基础法律关系,发生争议的案由常见于融资租赁合同纠纷。

陈抒 竞天公诚律师事务所 ABS
陈抒
竞天公诚律师事务所
律师

基础法律关系

SPV与原始债务人的法律关系。SPV通过转让合同获得了对资产包的所有权,鉴于这种资产包权利实质是尚未实现的租赁债权,所以SPV成为了原始债务人新的债权人(含担保权),依据融资租赁基础合同,享有要求原始债务人支付租金、孳息的请求权和减免、减缓原始债务人履行基础合同义务的权利等。相应地,原始债务人对SPV享有抗辩权和抵销权。

SPV与原始权益人的法律关系。SPV与原始权益人之间通过签订转让合同建立了租赁债权资产包的转让关系,SPV受让后获得要求原始债务人直接向其偿付到期租金及违约赔偿的相关权利。在融资租赁ABS的设计过程中,为了确保转让的法律效力,各方当事人应确保对合同的真实履行,且与该租赁债权资产包相关的所有权益、风险均按照公允价格进行转让,实现破产隔离。

瑕疵担保及责任承担

由于权利转让本质上属于买卖关系,因此在融资租赁ABS交易中,原始权益人对SPV的瑕疵担保主要是权利瑕疵担保,即租赁债权资产包应真实有效且任何第三人不能主张权利的一种民事责任。权利瑕疵一般表现为:(1)原始权益人对资产包的权利不完整,如租赁物缺失、规格错误、交易价格有失公允、未披露关联关系、通知程序不完备等情况;(2)权利本身就不存在,如隐瞒原始债务人的抵销权、虚构应收账款、盖假章、伪造发票、使用虚假仓单等情况。

实践中,SPV通常会要求原始权益人对基础资产的真实性和准确性作出陈述与保证。但事实上,一些原始权益人以通道角色参与融资租赁ABS业务时,很大程度是依赖于原始债务人和券商的主体信用与评级资质,并没有主动、独立地核查租赁物的权属问题、真实价值和变现可行性,疏忽了面签与勤勉尽调的重要性。

因此,协议中约定的诸如“任何一方违反陈述或保证并给相对方造成损失的,构成违约。违约方应赔偿守约方遭受的全部损失、费用和支出”等表述将可能令原始权益人身处违约的不利地位。当SPV不能实现合同权利时,必然会依据对基础资产真实性的陈述与保证进行追责。若的确存在没有面签、签章造假、虚构担保物等情形,原始权益人不仅会面严重的监管措施,如山东证监局(2018)19号《关于对邹平县电力集团有限公司采取警示函措施的决定》;还会被SPV起诉要求赔偿租金、逾期利息和其他合理费用,如某证券股份有限公司诉某化工有限责任公司融资租赁合同纠纷案。

建议

综上,笔者建议原始权益人以通道角色操作ABS业务时,为避免陷入瑕疵担保的诉累,应从以下方面进行合规管理:(1)逐一核查基础资产包(如租赁物、担保权)的真实性;(2)若基础资产确有瑕疵的,应提前披露,且不建议纳入资产包出售;(3)坚持以书面凭证为原则,完备面签等程序;(4)勤勉尽职地开展尽调义务、进行现场勘验、检查权利登记手续等;以及(5)淡化对主体信用与评级资质的依赖,动态监督ABS履行情况。

作者:竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人孙仕琪、律师陈抒

孙仕琪 陈抒 竞天公诚律师事务所 ABS

竞天公诚律师事务所
上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号
嘉华中心45层 邮编: 200031
电话: +86 21 2613 6212
传真: +86 10 5809 1100

电子信箱:
[email protected]

[email protected]

www.jingtian.com

Defect warranty obligations in financial leasing ABS

By Sun Shiqi and Chen Shu, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
158

Asset securitization refers to the process of merging the cash flow generated by underlying assets in the future into asset packages as repayment support, enhancing credit through structural design and restructuring of securities, and transforming them into securities that can be sold and circulated in the financial market, and then issuing asset-backed securities (ABS).

Sun Shiqi Jingtian & Gongcheng ABS
Sun Shiqi
Jingtian & Gongcheng
Partner

Specific to financial leasing ABS, its basic mode is: the original owner (originator and lessor) leases the physical assets to the original debtor (lessee) by means of financial leasing (including leaseback) so as to obtain leasehold claims, and then combines the leasehold claims and related rights (such as security rights) into asset packages and sells them to special purpose vehicles (SPVs). SPVs integrate the asset packages, and after credit enhancement and securities rating, entrust the manager to issue ABS based on the asset package of the leasehold claims, which will be subscribed by individual investors and institutional investors after being put into the market.

The SPV pays all the considerations for purchasing the asset package with the funds raised from securities issuance, and pays the principal and interest of the securities in instalments with the continual income of the asset package Thus, investors get regular income. If the repayment of underlying assets is overdue, a default event will occur, which may trigger the performance of difference payment and credit enhancement measures.

Chen Shu Jingtian & Gongcheng ABS
Chen Shu
Jingtian & Gongcheng
Associate

The subjects of legal relationship in the above-mentioned mode mainly include original owners, original debtors, SPVs, securities investors, securities traders, custodian banks, credit enhancement institutions, law firms and accounting firms. Among them, the legal relationship between SPV and the original debtor, and SPV and the original owner, are the basic legal relationships of financial leasing ABS, and the causes of disputes are common in financial leasing contract disputes.

Basic legal relationship

The legal relationship between SPV and the original debtor. The SPV has acquired ownership of the asset package through the transfer contract. Since the asset package right is actually an unrealized leasehold claim, the SPV has become a new creditor (including security right) of the original debtor,and has the right, according to the underlying contract of financial leasing, to request the original debtor to pay rent, and to reduce or exempt the original debtor from performing its obligations under the underlying contract. Accordingly, the original debtor has the right of defence and set-off against the SPV.

The legal relationship between SPV and the original owner. The SPV and the original owner have established the transfer relationship of the asset package of leasehold claims by signing the transfer contract. After the transfer, the SPV obtains the relevant rights to require the original debtor to directly pay the rent due and liquidated damages. In the design process of financial leasing ABS, in order to ensure the legal effect of the transfer, all parties should ensure the true performance of the contract, and all the rights and interests and risks related to the asset package of leasehold claims should be transferred at a fair price to realize bankruptcy remoteness.

Defect warranty and liability

Since the transfer of rights is essentially a buyer-seller relationship, in the transaction of financial leasing ABS, the defect warranty of the SPV by the original owner is mainly the security for defects of right, i.e., a civil responsibility that the asset package of leasehold claims should be true and effective and no right would be claimed by any third party. The defects of right generally show as follows: (1) the original owner’s rights to the asset package are incomplete, such as missing leased property, wrong specifications, unfair transaction prices, undisclosed related relationships, and incomplete notification procedures; and (2) the right itself does not exist, such as concealing the original debtor’s right of set-off, fabricating receivables, stamping false seals, forging invoices, using false warehouse receipts, etc.

In practice, the SPV usually requires the original owner to make representations and warranties on the authenticity and accuracy of the underlying assets. However, in fact, when some original owners participate in the business of financial leasing ABS in the role of channel, they largely rely on the credit and rating qualifications of the original debtors and securities traders, and do not actively and independently examine the ownership, real value and liquidation feasibility of the leased property, neglecting the importance of face-to-face interviews and signing, and due diligence.

Therefore, the stipulation in an agreement that: “If either party breaches any representation or warranty and causes losses to the other party, it shall constitute a breach of contract. The breaching party shall compensate the non-breaching party for all losses, costs and expenses incurred to the non-breaching party” might put the original owner in a disadvantageous position of breach of contract.

When the SPV fails to realize its contractual rights, it will hold the original owner accountable according to the representations and warranties on the authenticity of the underlying assets. If there are cases of no face-to-face interview and signing, false signatures and seals, fictitious collateral, etc., the original owner will not only face serious regulatory measures – as shown in the Decision on Taking Measures of Warning Letter against Zouping Electric Power Group Co. Ltd. (2018) No.19 by Shandong Securities Regulatory Bureau – but also be sued by the SPV for compensation for rent, overdue interest and other reasonable expenses. For example, a Securities Co., Ltd. sued a Chemical Co., Ltd. for a financial leasing contract dispute.

Some suggestions

The authors suggest that when the original owner operates ABS business in the channel role, in order to avoid being trapped in a litigation of defect warranty, compliance management should be carried out from the following aspects: (1) thoroughly examine the authenticity of underlying asset packages (such as leased property and security right); (2) if there are defects in underlying assets, they should be disclosed in advance, and are not recommended to be included in the asset package for sale; (3) adhere to the principle of taking written documents as evidence and complete the procedures such as face-to-face interviews and signings; (4) fulfil the duty of due diligence, conduct on-site inspections, and check the procedures of right registration; and (5) weaken the dependence on the subject’s credit and rating qualification, and actively supervise the performance of ABS.

Sun Shiqi is a partner and Chen Shu is an associate at Jingtian & Gongcheng

Sun Shiqi Chen Shu Jingtian & Gongcheng ABS

Jingtian & Gongcheng
45/F, K. Wah Centre
1010 Huai Hai M. Road, Shanghai 200031, China
T +86 21 2613 6212
F +86 10 5809 1100
E-mail:
[email protected]

[email protected]
www.jingtian.com