关联交易转让定价之海关估价

作者: 吴俊杰,大成律师事务所
0
362

进出口货物关联交易转让定价,往往需要遵循《OECD转让定价指南》独立公平交易原则,确定关联方之间的实际交易价格,或用于测试关联交易定价的公允性,其核心实质在于确保关联方之间的货物交易活动能使得各个关联方在整个交易价值链中获得与其所承担的功能和定位相符的回报。

吴俊杰, Frank_Wu, Senior Partner, Dentons
吴俊杰
高级合伙人
大成律师事务所

于此同时,海关对进出口货物价格的估价和是否公允的判断,需要遵循《WTO估价协议》和各国海关为实施该协议而由该国立法机构制定的国内估价法律法规。实践中, 从海关估价角度证明关联交易价格的公允性往往是难点所在,企业与海关之间也容易出现不同的理解和认识,这源于《OECD转让定价指南》与《WTO估价协议》的目的和规则差异,信息交换的局限性以及其他一些原因。笔者认为,对估价案例的参考和实践中形成的海关对估价法规的解释和适用方法往往比估价法规本身的原则性规定更具有指导意义。

案例1:某公司被海关稽查进口货物定价的公允性

海关通过获得某公司提交给税务局的《转让定价同期资料》,分析该公司年度净利润率水平高于可比公司通过交易净利润法确定的净利润率水平上四分位值,据此判断该公司进口货物价格不符合公平交易原则,应该予以重新估价调整。

年度净利润率水平高于转让定价可比公司上四分位利润水平,可能是由于多种情况所综合导致的结果,需要进行综合分析判断后,才能最终确定是否是因为关联交易影响成交价格所导致。

通过协助该公司深入分析当年度的商业运行模式和转让定价方法,笔者梳理出年度净利润率水平高于可比公司利润区间的原因:(1)国内采购并国内销售的高利润产品(2)部分进口货物属于与第三方之间的非关联交易,交易定价系交易双方根据当时商业环境下双方磋商达成(3)其他进口关联交易符合关联方之间的转让定价政策,且该定价政策本身符合海关估价的基本原则,进口关联交易部分的利润水平位于可比公司利润区间内。

针对以上原因,我们协助该公司准备了大量的证据材料向海关进行详细说明和充分沟通,最终海关接受了该公司的进口货物价格,未进行价格调整。

案例2:某公司被海关审价质疑关联关系,影响进口货物成交价格

海关通过某公司提交的《审计报告》,分析该公司的年度毛利润率水平高于海关掌握的行业内的通常利润水平,据此判断该公司的进口货物价格不符合公平交易原则,应该予以重新估价调整。

公司毛利润率水平通常是海关判断进口货物价格是否公允的首要参考因素。=笔者重点分析了该公司与行业内其他公司在商业运行模式、产品类别、经营规模和竞争环境等方面的差异性,以及转让定价方法所考虑的特殊因素,向海关进行详细的技术说明,并帮助协调海外母公司提供必要的转让定价解释材料。最终,海关认可了该公司的年度毛利润水平。此后,该公司及其海外母公司也在我们的协助下,根据商业销售环境的情况,对其在中国的转让定价政策进行了同步调整,并协助公司主动向海关做了价格调整备案,以避免再次被海关进行价格质疑。

总体而言,关联交易转让定价的海关估价问题比较复杂,实践中不乏被海关进行估价调整甚至作为价格申报不实进行处罚的案例。估价调整的原因也多种多样,有些案例,企业在制定关联交易转让定价政策时,忽视从海关估价角度进行考虑,有些则在制定时过于考虑税务需求,而未在海关与税务之间对于关联交易公允性的需要寻求平衡。还有一些公司因为转让定价政策不完善、不规范或者执行中的一些问题,导致被海关补征了巨额的税款,甚至于被移交缉私进行处罚。

海关估价作为海关传统的三大技术领域之一,与企业的转让定价以及其他商业运行联系紧密。因此,笔者建议企业充分认识其重要性,可以通过事前合法规划或者事后充分解释等,管理或减少海关估价风险。必要时,可以寻求第三方的协助。

大成律师事务所高级合伙人吴俊杰

上海市黄浦区湖滨路150号
企业天地5号楼16层/22层 邮编: 200021

电话: +86 21 5878 5888

传真: +86 21 5878 6866

电子信箱: frank.wu@dentons.cn

www.dentons.com

Customs valuations on transfer pricing for related-party transactions

By Frank Wu, Dentons 
0
22

Transfer pricing for related-party transactions in the import and export of goods usually needs to follow the arm’s length principle of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Transfer Pricing Guidelines to determine the actual transaction price between related parties, or to test the fairness of related-party transaction pricing. The key is to ensure that the goods transaction activities between related parties can enable each party to obtain a return consistent with its function and positioning in the entire value chain.

吴俊杰, Frank_Wu, Senior Partner, Dentons
Frank Wu
Senior Partner
Dentons

Meanwhile, customs’ valuations on the price of imported and exported goods, or the judgment on whether the price is fair, should follow the WTO Customs Valuation Agreement, and the domestic customs valuation laws and regulations formulated by each country’s legislature, in order to implement the WTO agreement. In practice, it is often difficult to prove the fairness of related-party transaction prices from the perspective of customs valuation.

Besides, there may also be different understandings between companies and customs towards the valuation, because of the different purposes and regulations between the OECD guidelines and the WTO agreement, the limitation of information exchange, and other factors. In this case, the reference to valuation cases and customs’ interpretation and application of valuation regulations formed in practice are often more instructive than the general provisions of valuation regulations themselves.

Case 1: A company was audited by customs for the fairness of the pricing of imported goods

By obtaining the transfer pricing documentation submitted by a company to the tax bureau, customs found that the company’s annual net profit margin was higher than the upper quartile value of the net profit margin of a comparable company determined through the transactional net margin method (TNMM). Based on this, customs decided that the price of the company’s imported goods did not conform to the principle of fair trade, and should be revalued and adjusted.

A combination of circumstances may result in the annual net profit margin being higher than the upper quartile value of the transfer pricing of a comparable company’s profit margin. Comprehensive analysis and judgment are needed to finally determine whether it is caused by the related-party transaction affecting the transaction price.

By assisting the company with an in-depth analysis of the business operation model and transfer pricing method of that year, the author sorted out the reasons why the annual net profit margin of the company was higher than the profit margin of the comparable company: (1) high-profit products purchased and sold domestically; (2) some imported goods are non-related-party transactions with third parties, and the transaction pricing is based on the commercial negotiation between the two parties under the current business environment; and (3) other related-party import transactions conform to the transfer pricing policy between related parties, the pricing policy conforms to the basic principles of customs valuation, and the profit margin of the related-party import transactions is within the profit range of comparable companies.

The author assisted the company to prepare a large amount of evidence material for detailed explanation and communication with customs. In the end, customs accepted the company’s imported goods price without price adjustment.

Case 2: A company was inquired by customs for its related-party relationship, which affected the transaction price of imported goods

According to the audit report submitted by the company, customs’ analysis was that the company’s annual gross profit margin was higher than the usual profit level in the industry. Based on that, customs decided that the price of the company’s imported goods did not conform to the principle of fair trade, and should be revalued and adjusted.

A company’s gross profit margin is usually the primary reference for customs to decide whether the price of imported goods is fair. The author focused on the analysis of the differences between the company and other companies in the industry, in terms of business operation model, product category, business scale and competitive environment, as well as special factors considered in transfer pricing methods. A detailed technical explanation to customs was made, and the overseas parent company was assisted to provide required explanation material involving transfer pricing.

Customs eventually accepted the company’s annual gross profit margin. Since then, the company and its overseas parent company have had greater awareness and knowledge from the perspective of customs valuations, and adjusted their transfer pricing policy in China, based on the commercial sales environment. The author also assisted the company to file a price adjustment to customs to avoid the price of imported goods being questioned by customs again.

In general, issues related to customs valuation in transfer pricing for related-party transactions are complicated. In practice, there are many cases where customs has made valuation adjustments, and even penalised companies, for false price declarations. There are also various reasons for valuation adjustments.

In some cases, companies neglect to consider the perspective of customs valuation when formulating related-party transaction transfer pricing policies. Some companies have over-considered tax requirements when formulating the policies, and failed to seek a balance between customs and taxation for fairness of related-party transactions. There are also cases of companies being taxed by customs, and even handed over to anti-smuggling bureau for punishment, due to imperfect, irregular transfer pricing policies, or some problems in the implementation process.

As one of the three traditional customs technical fields, customs valuation is closely related to the transfer pricing and other commercial operations of companies. Therefore, the author recommends that companies fully understand its importance, and manage or reduce customs valuation risks through legitimate planning beforehand, or full explanation afterwards. If necessary, companies can seek assistance from a third party.

Frank Wu is a senior partner at Dentons

16th/22nd Floor, 5 Corporate Avenue

No. 150 Hubin Road, Huangpu District

Shanghai 200021, China

Tel: +86 21 5878 5888

Fax: +86 21 5878 6866

E-mail: frank.wu@dentons.cn

 

www.dentons.com