西班牙律所顾博聘请新董事挖掘中国潜力

0
508
顾博国际律师事务所任命Sandra Costas
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

西班牙领先律所顾博国际律师事务所在中国结束“清零政策”对外重新开放之际,罕见地任命了一位资深律师Sandra Costas为中国办事处的新任董事。

拥有20年经验的企业律师Costas被任命为该所的北京及上海办事处董事及合伙人。她告诉《商法》,在中国设立办事处使得律所与中国或亚洲企业的时区同步,律所亦可根据当地的文化特点跟进业务,“在许多情况下,这对成功地实现交易或有效解决争端至关重要”。

Sandra Costas, Cuatrecasas
Sandra Costas

Costas将中国描述为“西方客户进入亚洲市场的首个切入点”。“尽管该地区存在许多变数,我们依然看到西方客户利用在中国获得的专业知识、经验和人才作为打开亚洲市场的垫脚石,”她说。

擅长处理亚洲、欧洲和美国跨境交易的Costas,此前在欧华律师事务所执业,并曾在西班牙大使馆商务处与西班牙中国商会工作多年,熟悉两地的商业与法律诉求。

根据司法部最新数据,目前国内共有186所外国律师事务所办事处,当中美国与英国律所仍是主流,分别有81所与28所,来自欧洲其他国家的律所总计为26所。顾博国际是中国仅有的三所西班牙律所品牌之一。

中国美国商会在最近一份《中国商务环境调查报告》中表示,过半数美商不再视中国为首要投资地。这可能会牵连美国律所在中国的生意。相比之下,稳定的中欧关系意味着欧洲律所更热衷于在中国市场中保有一席之地。

“我们看到了更多的需求,中国最近结束的清零政策以及预计在2023年出现的强劲经济反弹,肯定会在中国境内外转化为客户与我们的新投资和贸易机会,”Costas根据她在西班牙中国商会的经验总结道。

顾博国际在今年将着重关注技术、工业和消费领域的投资业务,同时为中国客户在欧洲、拉丁美洲和非洲的自然资源、能源和基础设施领域提供咨询。

随着中国律所在国内多年来的飞速发展,Costas认为,尽管外资所面临的竞争压力越来越大,该所依然具备优势。

“中国律所的业务已经扩展到主要的金融中心,如香港、新加坡、东京、伦敦或纽约,但他们在西班牙语和葡萄牙语管辖区的存在感仍然有限。”

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Spanish firm Cuatrecasas hires new director to tap potential in China

0
523
Cuatrecasas appoints Sandra Costas
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In a rare move and sign of an upbeat outlook Spanish law firm Cuatrecasas appoints corporate veteran Sandra Costas as its new director in China following the Asian giant ending its zero-covid policy.

Costas, a corporate lawyer with 20 years of experience, came on board as a director and partner in the Beijing and Shanghai offices.

Costas told China Business Law Journal that having an office in China allowed the firm to synchronise with the time zones of Chinese or Asian companies and in accordance with local cultural traits.

Sandra Costas, Cuatrecasas
Sandra Costas

“On many occasions this makes the difference to achieve a successful transaction or an efficient resolution to a dispute,” she said.

Costas also described China as “the first entry point in Asia for many of our Western clients”.

“Despite the diversity of the markets in the region, we see our Western clients frequently using their acquired expertise, experience and talent in China as a stepping stone to approach other markets in Asia.”

Specialising in cross-border corporate and commercial transactions between Asia, Europe and the US, Costas had practised at DLA Piper and worked at the commercial section of the Spanish Embassy and the Spanish Chamber of Commerce, making her familiar with the commercial and legal requirements of both jurisdictions.

The latest data from China’s Ministry of Justice show there are a total of 186 foreign law firm offices in China, of which those from the US and UK remain dominant, with 81 and 28 respectively, and 26 are from other European countries. Cuatrecasas is one of three Spanish law firm brands in China.

The American Chamber of Commerce in China’s latest survey showed that more than half of US businesses no longer saw China as their top three investment destinations. This may trigger a butterfly effect on US law firms’ revenue in the Asian country. In contrast, stable China-EU relations mean that European firms are keen to retain a foothold in China.

“We see higher demand, and the recent end of the zero-covid policy in China and the expected strong economic rebound in 2023, will certainly translate – inside and outside China – in new investment and trade opportunities for our clients and for us as a firm,” said Costas in a view she based on her experience with the Spanish Chamber of Commerce.

Cuatrecasas will focus on investment in the technology, industrial and consumer sectors this year, while advising Chinese outbound investment in Europe, Latin America and Africa in the natural resources, energy and infrastructure sectors.

With Chinese law firms having grown by leaps and bounds over the years, Costas believes that domestic firms still have an advantage despite the increasing competition pressures exerted by foreign firms.

“Chinese firms have expanded into main financial hubs such as Hong Kong, Singapore, Tokyo, London or New York, but still their presence in Spanish and Portuguese speaking jurisdictions is limited,” said Costas.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link