内地与香港跨境破产的最新动向

作者: 徐邦炜,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
1200

着内地与香港的经济贸易往来日益频繁,近年来破产案件中需要通过跨境破产合作解决的问题也日益增多。虽然2019年1月发布的《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院相互认可和执行民商事案件判决的安排》仍未将破产(清盘)案件包括在内,但是近年来实践中已经开始出现一些内地与香港法院互相承认对方破产(清盘)程序的效力、承认对方破产管理人(清盘人)地位的案例,这一新动向值得跨境投资者关注。

cross-border
徐邦炜
竞天公诚律师事务所
合伙人

内地对香港清盘程序的态度。根据最高法2011年对《企业破产法》第五条的解释,香港法院作出的“清盘令”不属于可以被内地法院承认和执行的“外国法院的判决、裁定”。但是,最高法2014年审结的“新加坡中华环保案”为香港清盘人在内地法院审理的案件中代表被清盘公司诉讼创造了可能性。

该案原告是一家新加坡企业,已经在境外进入破产程序。最高法院援引《涉外民事关系法律适用法》第十四条的规定,认为该案关于原告外国代表人的诉讼地位和相关权力的认定,应当适用原告登记地法律,即新加坡法。根据这一裁判思路,内地法院有可能对已被清盘的香港公司适用其注册登记地法律,即香港法律,来认定香港清盘人在内地法院案件中的诉讼地位及相关权利,从而使香港清盘人有权代表被清盘公司在内地法院参加诉讼活动。

香港对内地破产程序的态度。早在2001年,香港法院即已按照普通法规则颁令向内地破产程序提供过司法协助。在中芝兴业财务有限公司诉广东国际信托投资公司(“广信公司”)及其香港子公司一案中,广信公司当时已被广东高院宣告破产,因此其清算组向香港法院申请颁令停止所有针对广信公司及其香港子公司的法律程序。香港法院最终批准了广信公司清算组的申请,使该案成为首例香港法院认可内地破产清算程序的案件。

此后十几年里,我们未再看到香港法院做出过与广信案类似的判决。不过自2020年初以来,香港高等法院先后在“华信公司案”(HCMP 2295/2019)和“年富公司案”(HCMP 2295/2020)中认可内地破产清算程序,并给予内地管理人司法协助,这一新动向引起了实务界的普遍关注。在华信公司案中,香港高等法院承认华信公司正在内地进行的破产清算程序,并应其管理人的请求中止了华信公司债权人在香港提起的诉讼,其主要理由是内地的破产清算是一项集体清算程序,因此有资格在香港获得认可。在年富公司案中,香港高等法院应深圳中院的请求,不仅认可了年富公司正在内地进行的破产清算程序,还为其管理人在香港全面履行管理人职权提供了司法协助,即准许管理人代表年富公司对其在香港的子公司全面行使权利。这两份判决的相继出现,被认为象征着内地与香港的司法机构开始在破产领域探索更为紧密的合作方式。

其它破产合作方式。除上述案例外,内地与香港近年来也在探索破产领域的其它协作方式。例如,香港的中国医疗技术公司清盘案曾到内地进行调查取证,香港的罗兆辉破产案管理人也曾在深圳破产管理人自治组织的协助下,适用深圳法院破产财产处置模式,在“阿里拍卖”上拍卖五个香港特殊车牌号等破产财产。

跨境破产新动向对跨境投资者的影响。内地与香港之间跨境破产合作如果继续深化发展,将给跨境投资实务带来若干重大变化:其一,债务人在一地进入破产程序后,管理人将有权在另一地行使归集债务人的财产、清收债务人的债权、中止涉及债务人的诉讼等权利,甚至可能将债务人在另一地的关联公司纳入合并破产的范畴。其二,鉴于香港已经建立了比较成熟的自然人破产制度,随着内地自然人破产制度的逐步建立,一地的企业债务人破产后,债权人借助跨境破产机制向另一地的自然人保证人追偿债务也将成为可能。其三,两地在调查取证、变卖破产财产方面的相互合作,将使债务人跨境转移隐匿财产更加困难,也使破产财产的拍卖变卖更加高效便捷。上述三种情形无疑都将对债务人财产的范围和债权人的清偿率产生直接影响。

综上,内地与香港在破产领域的跨境合作是两地共同的现实需求,有望在未来几年进入加速发展阶段。因此,笔者建议跨境投资者密切关注该领域的相关动向,如果在实践中遇到债务人或其关联主体同时在两地拥有资产或营业的情况,不妨尝试运用这一机制维护自身的投资利益。

作者:竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人徐邦炜

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所
北京市朝阳区建国路77号
华贸中心3号写字楼34层 邮编: 100025
电话: +86 10 5809 1266
传真: +86 10 5809 1100
直线: +86 10 58091515
电子信箱:
xubangwei@jingtian.com
www.jingtian.com

Latest trends in cross-border bankruptcy between the mainland and Hong Kong

By Xu Bangwei, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
178

As the economic and trade exchanges between mainland China and Hong Kong have become more frequent, in recent years the number of issues that need to be resolved through cross-border cooperation in bankruptcy cases has also increased. Although the Arrangements for Mutual Recognition and Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Cases by Courts of the mainland and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region issued in January 2019 did not included bankruptcy (winding-up) cases, some cases occurred in recent years where the courts in the mainland and Hong Kong recognized each other’s bankruptcy (winding-up) procedures as well as the status of each other’s bankruptcy administrator (liquidator). This new trend deserves the attention of cross-border investors.

cross-border
Xu Bangwei
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Mainland’s attitude towards Hong Kong’s winding-up procedures. According to the interpretation of the Supreme People’s Court of article 5 of the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law in 2011, the “winding-up order” made by Hong Kong courts is not a “judgment or ruling of foreign courts” that can be recognized and enforced by courts in the mainland.

However, the Sino-Environment Technology Group Limited case concluded by the Supreme People’s Court in 2014 created the possibility for Hong Kong liquidators to represent liquidated companies in cases heard by mainland courts.

The plaintiff in this case was a Singaporean company that had entered the bankruptcy proceeding abroad. The Supreme People’s Court cited the provisions of article 14 of the Law on the Choice of Law Concerning Foreign-Related Civil Relations and held that the determination of the litigation status and related powers of the plaintiff’s foreign representative should be governed by the law of the plaintiff’s place of registration, i.e., the law of Singapore. According to this ruling, courts of the mainland may apply the law of the place of registration, i.e., the law of Hong Kong, to a Hong Kong company that has been wound up, to determine the litigation status and related rights of Hong Kong liquidators in the cases heard by courts of the mainland, thereby enabling Hong Kong liquidators to represent liquidated companies to participate in the proceedings of courts in the mainland.

Hong Kong’s attitude towards mainland bankruptcy proceedings. As early as 2001, Hong Kong courts had provided judicial assistance to the mainland’s bankruptcy proceedings according to common law rules. In the case of CCIC Finance Limited v Guangdong International Trust and Investment Corporation (Guangxin) and its Hong Kong subsidiary, Guangxin was declared bankrupt by the High People’s Court of Guangdong Province, and thus its liquidation group applied to the Hong Kong court for an order to stop all legal proceedings against Guangxin and its Hong Kong subsidiary. The Hong Kong court finally approved the application, making the case the first where the Hong Kong court approved the mainland’s bankruptcy liquidation procedure.

In the next decade or so, we have not seen the Hong Kong court make a judgment similar to the Guangxin case. However, since the beginning of 2020, the High Court of Hong Kong has successively recognized the mainland’s bankruptcy liquidation procedures in the CEFC case (HCMP 2295/2019) and the Nianfu case (HCMP 2295/2020), and granted judicial assistance to the mainland administrators. This new trend has aroused widespread concern in practice. In the CEFC case, the High Court of Hong Kong admitted that CEFC Shanghai International Group Limited (CEFC) was in bankruptcy liquidation on the mainland, and suspended the lawsuit filed by creditors of CEFC in Hong Kong at the request of its administrator. The main reason was that the bankruptcy liquidation on the mainland was a collective liquidation procedure and therefore eligible to be recognized in Hong Kong.

In the Nianfu case, the High Court of Hong Kong, at the request of Shenzhen Intermediate Court, not only recognized the bankruptcy liquidation procedure Nianfu had undergone on the mainland, but also provided judicial assistance for its administrator to fully perform its duties in Hong Kong. The administrator was allowed to fully exercise the rights of Nianfu’s subsidiaries in Hong Kong on behalf of Nianfu. The successive appearance of these two judgments is believed to symbolize that the judicial institutions of the mainland and Hong Kong have begun to explore closer cooperation in the field of bankruptcy.

Other forms of bankruptcy cooperation. In addition to the above cases, the mainland and Hong Kong have also explored other avenues of cooperation in the field of bankruptcy in recent years. For example, in the winding-up case of China Medical Technologies Inc in Hong Kong, the investigation and collection of evidence were conducted on the mainland. The administrator of Lo Siu Fai’s bankruptcy in Hong Kong, with the assistance of the autonomous organization of Shenzhen’s bankruptcy administrators, applied the bankruptcy estate disposal model of the Shenzhen court, and five bankruptcy properties including the special Hong Kong vehicle licence plate numbers were auctioned on the online platform Alibaba Auction.

The impact of new cross-border bankruptcy trends on cross-border investors. If the cross-border bankruptcy cooperation between the mainland and Hong Kong continues to deepen, it will bring about some major changes. Firstly, after the debtor enters bankruptcy proceedings in one place, the administrator can exercise the right to collect the debtor’s property and debts, and suspend litigation involving the debtor, and may even include the affiliates of the debtor in another place in the consolidated bankruptcy. Secondly, since Hong Kong has established a relatively mature bankruptcy system for natural persons, with the gradual establishment of the bankruptcy system for natural persons on the mainland, after corporate debtors in one place go bankrupt, it may become possible that creditors can use the cross-border bankruptcy mechanism to recover debts from natural-person guarantors in another place. Thirdly, mutual cooperation in investigating and collecting evidence and selling the bankruptcy estate will make it more difficult for debtors to transfer and hide property across borders, and make the auction and sale of the bankruptcy estate more efficient and convenient. The above three situations will undoubtedly have a direct impact on the scope of the debtor’s estate and the creditor’s satisfaction rate.

To sum up, the cross-border cooperation between the mainland and Hong Kong in bankruptcy is a common reality between the two places and is expected to enter accelerated development in the next few years. Therefore, the author recommends that cross-border investors pay close attention to the relevant trends in this field. If in practice the debtor or its related entities have assets or operations in both places, investors may try to use this mechanism to protect their investment interests.

Xu Bangwei is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng

cross-border

Jingtian & Gongcheng
34/F, Tower 3, China Central Place
77 Jianguo Road, Beijing 100025, China
Telp: +86 10 5809 1266
Fax: +86 10 5809 1100
E-mail:
xubangwei@jingtian.com
www.jingtian.com