夫妻档企业的治理合规与婚姻危机管理

作者: 陈凤霞、曹雁,道可特律师事务所
0
19

根据国泰安数据库2003-2015年上市民营企业实际控制人数据,剔除金融业,退市和特别处理(ST)企业后发现,在1474家民营企业中有178家上市“夫妻搭档”企业,占比达到民营企业总数的12.06%。一些企业在上市前或上市后因夫妻关系变化,企业也动荡受损。

陈凤霞, Chen Fengxia, Partner, DOCVIT Law Firm
陈凤霞
合伙人
道可特律师事务所

主要问题

在夫妻档企业中,情形往往是,夫妻在创业早期对企业规范治理及双方财产安排没有足够关注;企业在发展中,甚至在上市后,也因为婚姻关系的“折腾”,带来企业融资困境或者控制权争夺,这样的案例不胜枚举。基本问题主要有以下三方面:

公司股权与控制权安排创业之始,夫妻对在企业中的股份安排考虑不周全,控制权不清晰;随着双方角色和关系发生变化,以及企业不断发展,都可能埋下隐患。

公司管理制度公司管理不够健全,也缺乏为夫妻关系危机情况的应对安排,导致夫妻关系变化带来公司控制权争议和动荡不断。

夫妻分工和角色意识夫妻各方在企业中的分工即使有明确,也可能越位,角色意识不强;夫妻创始人的关系变化影响公司管理,两人关系好自然促进公司发展,关系恶化或破裂对公司负面影响也大。

企业合规治理与婚姻

夫妻档企业治理,不仅涉及企业股权和控制权,还涉及家庭共同财产问题,有关法律法规也留下了一定的自治空间。玖龙集团的张茵及丈夫刘名中,Prada集团首席执行官Patrizio Bertelli和公司董事会主席Miuccia Prada夫妇共同经营企业的成功,也有规律可循。我们建议可以从以下几个方面考虑:

充分利用公司自治和婚姻家庭自主的合法空间

(1)公司章程在公司规范治理中的作用应得到充分重视,通过公司章程明确夫妻方的股权和控制权,包括为出现婚姻危机甚至婚姻关系解除情形下公司股权和控制权事宜作好安排。

(2)一些夫妻档的家族企业甚至通过在《家族企业宪章》中规定家风建设,从制度上强化家族企业运营和传承的精神和命脉。

(3)用婚前婚后协议明确夫妻财产归属,包括公司股权安排、夫妻家事代理权范围、夫妻共同债务的承担,以及在出现婚姻危机和解除情形下公司股权处理事宜等。

无论是公司章程,还是婚姻协议,都是精细策略的安排。实践中,这些安排往往受到公司投资人或公司董事会的审视。

企业治理规范

公司和家庭经营应遵循各自的逻辑和规则,作到“企业的归企业,家庭的归家庭”。夫妻双方如果都参与企业经营管理,则按照各自的专长做好分工,互相支持。

公司应该不断完善治理,注重管理规范化和制度建设,塑造现代企业文化,合规经营,有助于获得投资人、员工和合作方等利益相关者信赖,促进企业的健康可持续发展。

曹雁, Cao Yan, Partner, DOCVIT Law Firm
曹雁
合伙人
道可特律师事务所

婚姻关系经营智慧

夫妻档的企业管理与家庭关系,交互渗透,夫妻需要经营亲密关系的智慧。

经济学中关于社会交换有两个概念:一个是奖赏,是我们与他人接触时所获得的令人高兴的经验和物品,包括物质、情感、关心、帮助等;一个是代价,是具有惩罚性的让人不快的经验。亲密关系中最重要的代价就是心理负担。当夫妻在奖赏方面比较欠缺时,代价往往会转移到工作和家庭关系中。

而且,婚姻是动态过程。结婚并不是一劳永逸。经济学上还有两个标准,一个叫期望收益。婚姻满意度=结果-期望收益。结果低于期望收益,婚姻满意度就差;结果高于期望收益,婚姻满意度就高。另一个标准叫替代收益, 是指抛弃目前伴侣,转投更好伴侣的结果。很多夫妻能同患难,却难以共富贵。这些均是夫妻应意识到的婚姻危机。

在企业发展的不同阶段,夫妻应做好融合家庭幸福、风险与公司治理合规管理于一体的相关安排。这是一个围绕股权、控制权、价值和危机管理,为企业融资、上市、引进职业经理人、家族企业经营/传承、财富管理等重要方面,进行统筹规划和战略管理的动态过程,从而使公司发展与家庭幸福互相促进,真正实现基业长青。

道可特律师事务所合伙人陈凤霞、曹雁

李静 道可特律师事务所 不良资产

道可特律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环中路5号
财富金融中心56层 邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 8586 1018
传真: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
电子信箱:

chenfengxia@dtlawyers.com.cn

caoyan@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn

Compliance and marital crisis management in couple-owned companies

By Chen Fengxia and Cao Yan, DOCVIT Law Firm 
0
31

The China Stock Market & Accounting Research data of actual controllers of listed private enterprises from 2003 to 2015 found that, after excluding financial sector companies and delisted and special treatment companies, there were 178 listed “husband-wife owned” companies among 1,474 private enterprises, accounting for 12.06% of the total number of private companies.

陈凤霞, Chen Fengxia, Partner, DOCVIT Law Firm
Chen Fengxia
Partner
DOCVIT Law Firm

Some of these experienced turmoil due to spousal relationship changes, before or after the IPO. As these couples become locked in a fierce struggle surrounding their relationship, so their companies, too, suffer turbulence and damage.

The main issues

In husband-wife owned companies, couples usually fail to pay enough attention to corporate governance rules and their property arrangements in the early stages of their entrepreneurship. Then, during development or even after the IPO, such companies can often fall into financial plight or control struggles due to the collapse of their marriage relationship. Such cases are numerous, but there are three basic issues:

Corporate shareholding and control arrangements. At the start of the business, couples fail to figure out their share arrangements in the company and clarify their control rights. With changes in their roles and in their relationship, and with the continual development of the company, hidden dangers may be brought about for the company.

Corporate management system. Inadequate management of the company and a lack of arrangements for coping with crisis in the couple’s relationship may lead to disputes and turbulence over control of the company with the changes in the couple’s relationship.

Couple’s division of labour and role awareness. Even if the couple have made a clear division of labour between them in the company, they may still overstep their authority and lack strong role awareness. Changes in the relationship between the couple, as the founders of the company, may affect the management of the company. A good relationship between the two may naturally promote the development of the company, while a deterioration or breakdown of the relationship can have a great negative impact on the company.

Corporate governance and marriage

The corporate governance of a husband-wife owned company involves not only the shareholding and control of the company, but also the common property of the family, and the relevant laws and regulations also leave certain space for autonomy. The successful business of husband-wife companies such as Nine Dragons Group, operated by Zhang Yin and her husband Liu Mingzhong, and Prada Group, founded by husband Patrizio Bertelli (CEO), and wife Miuccia Prada (chairman of the board of directors), shows some pattern for others to follow. The authors suggest considering the following factors:

Make the most of legal space for corporate autonomy and marital autonomy.

(1) The role of the articles of association in the company’s regulation and governance should be given due attention. The shareholding and control rights between the couple should be clarified in the articles of association, including sound arrangements for shareholding and control of the company in case of marital crisis, or even marriage dissolution;

(2) Some husband-wife owned family businesses even stipulate the building of a family ethos in the “family business charter” to institutionally strengthen the spirit and lifeblood of the family business’s operation and legacy; and

(3) The ownership of the couple’s property should be clarified by prenuptial and postnuptial agreements, including the company’s shareholding arrangement, the scope of the couple’s agency in family affairs, the commitment of the couple’s joint debts, and the handling of the company’s shareholding in case of marital crisis or dissolution.

Both the articles of association and the marriage agreements are fine strategic arrangements. In practice, these arrangements are often examined by the company’s investors, or the board of directors.

Corporate governance, internal rules

Company operation and family relationships should follow their respective logic and rules, so that “company matters follow company rules and family affairs are handled pursuant to the family law”. If both the husband and wife engage in the business management, they should clarify their roles according to their respective specialties and support each other.

Husband-wife owned companies should keep improving the corporate governance, pay due attention to developing management norms and rules, nurture modern corporate culture, and commit to compliance management, which is conducive to gaining the trust of stakeholders such as investors, employees and partners, and promoting the healthy and sustainable development of the business.

曹雁, Cao Yan, Partner, DOCVIT Law Firm
Cao Yan
Partner
DOCVIT Law Firm

Wisdom for marriage

As the business management and family relationship are intertwined with each other in husband-wife owned companies, the couples need wisdom for managing their intimate relationship.

There are two concepts of social exchange in economics – one is reward, the pleasing experiences and goods we get when we are in contact with others, including materials, emotions, care and help. The other is cost, punitive and unpleasant experiences. The most important cost in an intimate relationship is psychological burden. When couples lack rewards, the costs often tend to be shifted to work and family relationships.

Marriage is a dynamic process, and it is not a once-and-for-all guarantee for all matters. There are two other measures in economics applicable to marriage. One is expected return. Marriage satisfaction = outcome minus expected return. If the outcome is lower than the expected return, then the marriage satisfaction is low. If the outcome is higher than the expected return, then the marriage satisfaction is high.

The other measure is called replacement return. It refers to the result of abandoning one’s current partner for a better one. Many couples are able to share weal and woe, but not wealth. These are marital crises that couples should be aware of.

At different stages of company development, the husband and wife should make relevant arrangements integrating family happiness, risk management, corporate governance and compliance management. This is a dynamic process of making overall planning and strategic management, focusing on shareholding, control rights, crisis management for financing, IPO, introduction of professional managers, family business operation/inheritance, wealth management and other important aspects, so that company development and family happiness can mutually facilitate each other, and truly develop a long-lasting business.

Chen Fengxia and Cao Yan are partners at DOCVIT Law Firm

Li Jing DOCVIT Law Firm non-performing assets

DOCVIT Law Firm
56/F Fortune Financial Center
No.5 East Third Ring MiddleRoad
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Tel: +86 10 8586 1018
Fax: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
E-mail:

chenfengxia@dtlawyers.com.cn

caoyan@dtlawyers.com.cn

 

www.dtlawyers.com.cn