紧急仲裁在贸仲的最新实践

作者: 孟霆,金阙律师事务所
0
373
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

紧急仲裁在北京、上海等地仲裁机构的实践已如星星之火,大有燎原之势。在不触及保密原则底线的前提下,本文将介绍笔者于2022年4月在中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会(下称“贸仲”)作为紧急仲裁员处理的一起紧急仲裁案件。

案件背景

案件涉及巴西、英国和中国三国法律程序,并以英文进行。案件主要事实如下:瑞士买方从中国大陆卖方处订购一批化肥,运往巴西。货物从中国两个口岸装船,运往巴西的两个港口。承运人针对分批装船的货物签发了多个提单,每份提单项下的货物数量各有不同。

买方在货物装船之前已经支付了一部分货款,但货物在装船后价格出现较大幅度波动。当货物到达第一个巴西港口后,买方拒绝支付其余货款,而卖方也拒绝提交原始提单,买方因此不能从承运人处提取货物。

进入紧急仲裁

孟霆
管理合伙人
金阙律师事务所
电话: +86 10 8589 0501
电邮: sdong@goldengatelawyers.com

于是,买方在巴西法院针对承运人启动诉讼程序。巴西法院在较短的时间内经过两审,判令承运人释放部分货物,所释放货物的价值低于买方已经支付的货款,主要理由是有部分已支付货款的下游买家正在焦急等待化肥。承运人则向英国法院提起诉讼,理由是承运人与买方之间签署的承运合同含有仲裁协议。英国法院遂发出禁诉令,告诫买方不要再到巴西法院寻求更多救济。

买卖双方签署的合同约定相关纠纷应交由贸仲解决。买方故此在贸仲针对卖方启动仲裁程序,同时还提出紧急仲裁申请,要求卖方提供全部原始提单。贸仲紧急仲裁规则因此在颁布后第二次发挥作用。整个紧急仲裁程序是一个仲裁机构与紧急仲裁员和双方当事人(代理律师)高度协调互动的过程,可分为四个阶段:

第一个阶段,在最初的两天,紧急仲裁员确认没有利益冲突并迅速阅读卷宗,特别是要起草一份程序令,规定至开庭前的程序安排;而仲裁机构要迅速发出紧急仲裁受理通知和程序令。

第二个阶段,在大约一周时间内,双方当事人(代理律师)提交法律意见和证据材料、研究对方的法律意见和证据材料,并准备庭审;紧急仲裁员要研究本案卷宗,同时花费大量的时间查询、研究紧急仲裁在各国的实践和分析/介绍文章,做好开庭准备;案件秘书则要保证文件传送迅速无误,并且做好线上开庭准备。

第三个阶段,包括半天线上庭审,双方得到额外两天的时间提交进一步证据和意见。对于庭后新提交的证据材料,双方又有两天的时间进行书面质证。实际上,紧急仲裁员自开庭后就开始撰写决定了。

第四个阶段,紧急仲裁员完成紧急仲裁决定的撰写,交给仲裁机构核稿,同时要与案件秘书保持密切沟通;仲裁机构在最后两天内完成决定发出前的各种程序工作。总之在这15天里,各方的工作强度都非常大,“紧急”二字当之无愧。令人难忘的是,参与此案的双方代理律师、案件秘书、后台管理人员以及核稿人都非常敬业、高效。据笔者了解,当事人其后自愿执行了紧急仲裁员所作决定,这一程序进而顺利结束。

案后回顾

限于保密原则,本文不便进一步披露案件决定细节。可以分享的是,在对案件的紧急性和胜诉性等核心要素进行考量之外,本案中紧急仲裁员还对“危害(hardship)”的平衡性给予了特别关注,即对于
(1)不支持紧急仲裁请求可能给申请人造成的损害,及
(2)支持紧急仲裁请求可能给被申请人造成的损害进行了细致权衡。也就是常说的“两害相权取其轻”。紧急仲裁员的基本立场是,以维护交易基本原则为前提,在不损害权利方根本性利益的情形下,如果适当程度地释放善意可以起到润滑紧张气氛的作用,则紧急仲裁员乐见其成,这也是紧急仲裁申请获得支持的部分原因所在。

回顾本案,相信对于所有参与者而言都是一次不容有失的压力测试,但未尝不是一次宝贵的学习机会。特别需要强调的是,紧急仲裁程序是针对紧急情形而设置的临时措施,切不可滥用,更不要以此作

为向对方施压的工具。已经有ICC研究报告指出,紧急仲裁请求被全部支持的比例没有想象的那么高。因此,非急莫用。


孟霆是金阙律师事务所的管理合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 10 8589 0501以及电邮tmeng@goldengatelawyers.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

CIETAC’s latest emergency arbitration: an inside look

By Tim Meng, GoldenGate Lawyers
0
74

The practice of emergency arbitration has taken off among arbitration institutions in Beijing, Shanghai and elsewhere. With the strict confidentiality principle in mind, a closer look at one case the author presided over at the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) in April 2022 may provide some useful insights.

Case background

Tim Meng
Managing partner
GoldenGate Lawyers
Tel: +86 10 8589 0501
Email: tmeng@goldengatelawyers.com

The case involved legal proceedings in three countries– Brazil, the UK and China– which were conducted in English. The principal facts of the case were as follows: the Swiss buyer ordered a batch of fertiliser from a seller in mainland China for shipment to Brazil. The goods were loaded at two ports in China and shipped to two ports in Brazil. The carrier issued multiple bills of lading for the goods loaded in separate batches, with different quantities of goods under each bill.

The buyer completed part of the payment for goods before loading, but the price of the goods fluctuated quite significantly since then. When the goods arrived at the first Brazilian port, the buyer refused to pay the remainder of the consideration and the seller likewise refused to hand over the original bills of lading, making it impossible for the buyer to accept the goods from the carrier.

Into emergency arbitration

Subsequently, the buyer instituted litigation proceedings against the carrier in a Brazilian court. After two trials within a relatively short period of time, the Brazilian court ordered the carrier to release part of the goods, the value of which was less than the amount paid by the buyer, with the main reason being that certain downstream buyers that had already paid the price were anxiously awaiting the fertiliser.

The carrier then instituted a legal action in a UK court based on the arbitration agreement contained in the contract of carriage executed by the carrier and the buyer. The UK court then issued an anti-suit injunction constraining the buyer from seeking further relief in the Brazilian court.

The contract executed by the buyer and the seller provided that disputes be referred to CIETAC for resolution. Accordingly, the buyer instituted arbitration proceedings against the seller before CIETAC and additionally submitted an application for emergency arbitration, demanding that the seller provide all the original bills of lading.

The CIETAC emergency arbitration rules then came into play for the second time since they were issued. A complete emergency arbitration procedure is a highly co-ordinated process of interaction between the arbitral institution, the emergency arbitrator and the parties (attorneys), which can be divided into four stages:

Stage one: In the first two days, the emergency arbitrator confirmed that there was no conflict of interest and quickly read the court file. A procedural order was drafted setting out the procedural arrangements until the hearing. The arbitral institution promptly issued a notice of acceptance of emergency arbitration and the procedural order.

Stage two: Within approximately one week, each party (attorney) submitted its legal opinion and exhibits, studied the other party’s legal opinion and exhibits and prepared for the hearing. The emergency arbitrator studied the case file and spent significant time searching and researching emergency arbitration practice in various countries and analytical/descriptive articles to duly prepare for the hearing. The case secretary ensured that the documents were transmitted promptly and in good order, and duly made preparations for the online hearing.

Stage three, which included a half-day online hearing: The parties were given an additional two days to submit further evidence and opinions. The parties then had an additional two days to cross-examine in writing the newly submitted exhibits. In effect, the emergency arbitrator began writing up its decision from the commencement of the hearing.

Stage four: The emergency arbitrator completed the writing of the emergency arbitration decision, gave it to the arbitration institution for review and stayed in close contact with the case secretary. During the last two days, the arbitration institution completed the various procedural tasks before the decision was issued. In short, during these 15 days, with all participants under tremendous pressure, the “emergency” arbitration lived up to its name.

Most memorably, everyone involved in the case, from attorneys for both parties, case secretary, back-office managers to checkers, remained dedicated to and efficient with their tasks. As the author later learned, afterward, the parties willingly implemented the decision rendered by the emergency arbitrator, bringing the proceedings to a successful conclusion.

Post-case review

Subject to the principle of confidentiality, the author cannot disclose further details of the case decision. What can be shared is that, in addition to consideration of the core factors such as the urgency of the situation and possibility of success, the emergency arbitrator in this case paid particular attention to the balance of “hardship”, i.e., carefully weighing the potential harm to the applicant if the emergency claim was not upheld, and the potential harm to the respondent if the emergency claim was upheld, and eventually picking what we might call “the lesser of two evils”.

The basic stance of the emergency arbitrator was that, provided that the basic principles of the transaction were safeguarded and that the fundamental interests of the rights holder were not harmed, if good will, loosened to an appropriate degree, could serve to alleviate the tensions, he/she would be more than happy to accommodate the same, which is part of the reason why the emergency arbitration application was upheld.

Looking back on this case, the author believes that, although it was a prickly stress test for all involved, it nonetheless proved to be a valuable learning opportunity, particularly in view of the fact that it took place in April 2022, at the height of Shanghai’s two-month pandemic lockdown.

It should be stressed that emergency arbitration, as the name implies, should be reserved only for emergencies. It is not to be abused, nor used to put pressure on the opponent. ICC analysis has indicated that the odds for emergency arbitration applications being wholly supported is not as high as one might imagine. Therefore, it should be regarded as a “last resort”.


Tim Meng is a managing partner at GoldenGate Lawyers. He can be contacted by phone on +86 10 8589 0501 and by email at tmeng@goldengatelawyers.com