债券受托管理人制度:律师的新机遇

作者: 潘修平、崔盛楠,隆安律师事务所
0
97

何防范和化解债券市场的法律风险,一直是中国立法、司法、监管部门在探讨的问题。2019年12月27日,中国银行间市场交易商协会(以下简称“交易商协会”)发布了《非金融企业债务融资工具受托管理人业务指引(试行)》(《业务指引》),在银行间债券市场中正式建立受托管理人制度。次日,全国人民代表大会常务委员会第十五次会议修订了《中华人民共和国证券法》,第九十二条第二款规定“公开发行公司债券的,发行人应当为债券持有人聘请债券受托管理人,并订立债券受托管理协议”,证券市场受托管理人制度由此建立。

潘修平 隆安律师事务所 债券受托管理人制度
潘修平
高级合伙人
隆安律师事务所

至此,中国在两个债券市场中建立起了债券受托管理人制度,其中以银行间债券市场中的规定最为详细和具体,本文主要分析该市场中的债券受托管理人制度。

根据《业务指引》的规定,以下机构可以成为受托管理人:1. 债务融资工具的主承销商;2. 持有金融许可证的金融资产管理公司;3. 已取得债务融资工具承销商业务资质的信托公司;4. 具备债务融资工具业务经验的律师事务所及其他专业机构。

受托管理人制度为律师事务所带来了新机遇和挑战。

申请条件

申请备案成为受托管理人的律所需要在最近一年内为债务融资工具注册发行出具过法律意见书,同时具有代理重大复杂诉讼、破产案件的业绩。律所应当熟悉相关债务融资工具,能够把握或发现债券存续期间可能发生的风险,债券违约后能够迅速处置违约事件并参与后续处置。

崔盛楠 隆安律师事务所 债券受托管理人制
崔盛楠
律师
隆安律师事务所

职能

管理及处置担保物。律所在接受委托后应当及时取得相关债务融资工具设定的抵押、质押、保证等担保措施的权利证明文件并将其妥善保管。在受托管理期间律所应持续关注担保物的价值和权属、保证人的资信状况,一旦出现担保物价值减损或其他担保文件约定的担保权行使情况,依据受托管理协议的约定或债券持有人的授权要求,补充担保物、处置担保物,或要求保证人承担保证责任。

代表持有人参与债务重组。若相关债券因债务违约等原因发生债务重组的,受托管理人可以接受全部或部分债券持有人的委托,代表持有人参与债务重组,督促发行人、主承销商及相关机构开展债务重组工作,从专业机构的角度监督债务重组工作,保护持有人的利益。

代表持有人申请财产保全、提起诉讼或仲裁。受托管理人可以接受全部或部分债券持有人的委托,以自己的名义代表持有人申请财产保全、提起诉讼或仲裁,并参与相应的诉讼或仲裁程序。

代表持有人参与破产程序。受托管理人可以接受全部或部分债券持有人的委托,以自己的名义代表持有人参与破产程序。

日常管理。受托管理人应当根据法律法规及受托协议的约定进行信息披露、参加或召集债券持有人会议、与债券持有人及主承销商和其他中介机构保持沟通,履行日常管理的职能。

律所担任受托管理人的优势

律所作为四类受托管理人中的唯一的中介服务机构,在履行受托管理人职责时有着天然的优势:1. 在日常管理、监管担保物、监督保证人资信的过程中,律师对于风险的敏感度更高,更容易发现隐患并及时督促补充担保;2. 处置担保物、参与债务重组、申请财产保全、提起诉讼或仲裁以及参加破产程序,均是律师本身的专业领域,其他机构是在债券出现风险后再聘请律师进行处置。相比较而言,由律所直接担任受托管理人,能够快速、高效、准确地处置风险,减少沟通成本和时间成本,最大限度地维护债券持有人的权益;3. 《业务指引》明确规定,为发行人提供法律服务的律所不得担任本期债务融资工具的受托管理人,但是担任主承销商的银行却可以担任同一债券的受托管理人。因此与银行相比较,律所作为受托管理人更能够避免和减少利益冲突,从独立、专业的角度维护债券持有人的利益。

债券受托管理人制度对律师而言是机遇也是挑战,律师应当不断增加知识储备、提高专业能力,为债券投资人提供更为优质的法律服务,切实维护投资人的利益。

潘修平是隆安律师事务所高级合伙人。他的联系方式为+86 10 6532 5588 以及电邮 [email protected]

崔盛楠是隆安律师事务所律师。她的联系方式为+86 10 6532 5588 以及电邮 [email protected]

Bond trustee system: A new opportunity

By Pan Xiuping and Cui Shengnan, Longan Law Firm
0
149

How to prevent and reduce the legal risks in the bond market has always been an issue discussed by the legislative, judicial and regulatory bodies in China. On 27 December 2019, the National Association of Financial Market Institutional Investors (NAFMII) issued the Business Guidelines for Trustees of Debt Financing Instruments of Non-financial Enterprises (trial), formally establishing a trustee system in the interbank bond market.

Pan Xiuping Longan Law Firm Debt Financing Instruments
Pan Xiuping
Senior Partner
Longan Law Firm

On the next day, the 15th Meeting of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress revised paragraph 2 of article 92 of the Securities Law, providing that, “the issuer that offers a corporate bond to the public shall retain a bond trustee for the bondholder, and enter into a bond trustee agreement”. The securities market trustee system was thus established.

So far, China has established a bond trustee system in the two bond markets, of which the provisions for the interbank bond market are the most detailed and specific. The authors will mainly explore the bond trustee system in the interbank bond market in this article.

Cui Shengnan Longan Law Firm Debt Financing Instruments
Cui Shengnan
Associate
Longan Law Firm

According to the above-mentioned business guidelines, the following institutions may act as trustees: (1) lead underwriters of debt financing instruments; (2) financial asset management companies with financial licences; (3) trust companies that have obtained the business qualification for underwriters of debt financing instruments; and (4) law firms and other professional institutions with business experience in debt financing instruments.

The trustee system offers new opportunities and challenges to law firms.

Application conditions

A law firm that applies to register as a trustee is required to have issued legal opinions for the registration and issuance of debt financing instruments in the past year, and have the performance of acting as an agent in major and complex litigation and bankruptcy cases.

The law firm should be familiar with the relevant debt financing instruments, able to control or discover the risks that may occur in the duration of the bond, and able to deal with a default event quickly and participate in the subsequent disposal after the bond default.

Functions

Manage and dispose of collateral. After accepting the entrustment, the law firm shall promptly obtain the right certification documents of mortgage, pledge, guarantee and other guarantee measures set for the relevant debt financing instruments, and keep them properly.

During the period of trusteeship, the law firm shall continue to pay attention to the value and ownership of the collateral, and the credit status of the guarantor. In case of a decrease in the value of the collateral, or the exercise of the security right agreed in other security documents, the law firm as trustee should supplement the collateral, dispose of the collateral, or require the guarantor to bear the guarantee responsibility in accordance with the agreement of the trustee agreement, or the authorization requirements of the bondholder.

Participate in debt restructuring on behalf of the bondholder. If the debt restructuring of the relevant bond occurs due to debt default, or for other reasons, the trustee may accept all or part of the entrustment of the bondholder to participate in the debt restructuring on behalf of the bondholders, urge issuers, lead underwriters and relevant institutions to carry out debt restructuring, and supervise debt restructuring from the perspective of professional institutions, so as to protect the interests of bondholders.

Apply for property preservation, file a lawsuit or arbitration on behalf of the bondholder. The trustee may accept all or part of entrustment of the bondholders to apply for property preservation, file a lawsuit or arbitration on behalf of the bondholders in its own name, and participate in the corresponding litigation or arbitration proceedings.

Participate in insolvency proceedings on behalf of the bondholder. The trustee may accept all or part of entrustment of the bondholders to participate in the insolvency proceedings on behalf of the bondholders in its own name.

Conduct daily management. The trustee shall disclose information, participate in or convene meetings of bondholders, maintain communication with bondholders, lead underwriters and other intermediaries in accordance with laws and regulations, and trustee management agreements, and perform daily management functions.

Advantages of law firms

As the only intermediary service agency among the four types of trustees, law firms enjoy natural advantages in performing the following duties of the trustee: (1) in the process of daily management, supervision of collateral and supervision of guarantor’s credit, lawyers can react to risks very sensitively, find hidden dangers more easily, and supervise and supplement guarantee timely; (2) disposing of collateral, participating in debt restructuring, applying for property preservation, filing a lawsuit or arbitration, and participating in insolvency proceedings all belong to the professional fields of lawyers, while other institutions will employ lawyers to dispose of risks after the bond is in risk. By comparison, if a law firm acts as the trustee directly, it can deal with the risk quickly, efficiently and accurately, reducing communication and time costs, and protecting the rights and interests of bondholders to the maximum extent; and (3) the business guidelines clearly stipulate that a law firm providing legal services for the issuer shall not act as the trustee of the current debt financing instrument, but the bank acting as the lead underwriter may act as the trustee of the same bond. Therefore, compared with banks, a law firm, if acting as trustee, can better avoid and reduce conflicts of interest, and protect the interests of clients from an independent and professional perspective.

The bond trustee system offers both opportunities and challenges for lawyers. Lawyers should constantly increase their knowledge reserves and improve their professional competence to provide better legal services for bond investors and effectively protect the interests of investors.

Pan Xiuping is a senior partner at Longan Law Firm. He can be contacted on +86 10 6532 5588 or by email at [email protected]

Cui Shengnan is an associate at Longan Law Firm. She can be contacted on +86 10 6532 5588 or by email at [email protected]