《外商投资法》对在华投资并购活动的影响

作者: 沈晓琳,通商律师事务所
0
91

2020年1月1日,随着《外商投资法》、《外商投资法实施条例》及相关部门规章和司法解释的实施,中国进入一个外商投资管理和监管的新纪元。作为近40年来外商投资领域最为重大的法律发展,《外商投资法》及其配套法律文件的实施标志着中国政府管理和监督外商投资活动的方式发生了根本性、系统性的变化。本文将着重介绍新的外商投资法律体系对外国投资者来华开展投资并购活动带来的若干重大变化。

沈晓琳 通商律师事务所 外商投资法
沈晓琳
合伙人
通商律师事务所

商务部门报告制开始实施

自1979年中国颁布《中外合资经营企业法》以来,外国投资者来华新设外商投资企业或收购中国公司股权一直都需要获得负责外商投资监管的商务部或其前身对外经济贸易合作部(以下简称“商务部门”)的批准。自2016年起,随着外商投资准入负面清单的发布,这种单一的外商投资审批制改为了平行的审批与备案制,即属于负面清单内的外商投资项目由商务部门审批,属于负面清单外的外商投资项目由商务部门备案即可。

新的外商投资法律体系取消了上述平行审批和备案制。根据《外商投资法》和商务部门的相关规定,外国投资者以新设、并购等方式直接或间接投资于外商投资企业的,不论是负面清单之内的行业还是之外的行业,均仅需要履行商务部门网上信息报告的手续即可,该流程在提交网上报告的当日即可办结。

提交初始报告无需报送交易文件(如合资协议、股权购买协议、增资认购协议,甚至外商投资企业章程),商务部门也不再对交易文件进行审查。这一简化的报告制度大大降低了外国投资者从事境内投资并购活动时的不确定性。在该投资并购项目属于负面清单范围内的情况下,外国投资者不再需要担心该并购项目是否会获得商务部门的批准,也不再需要担心双方达成的商业安排(如估值调整、对价的支付条件和时限等)是否会由于缺乏先例或商务部门对此不熟悉而不能够被接受。交易双方可在不违反中国法律强制性规定的前提下,根据商业需要和意图确定双方之间的合作和交易条件。

与中国个人设立合资企业

《外商投资法》和《外商投资法实施条例》带来的另一个实际的变化是外国投资者可以直接同中国个人兴办合资企业了。根据之前的法律法规,中国自然人在其设立的公司被外国投资者收购之前担任了至少一年以上股东的情况下,才被允许直接作为收购后的中外合资企业的股东。在新的法律框架下,此项限制已被取消,中方个人不再需要出于法律原因,通过成立法人实体来设立中外合资企业。

统一的公司治理架构

随着先前规范外商投资企业的三部基本法律的废止,根据《外商投资法》设立的外商投资企业将与内资企业具有同样的公司法律形式和治理架构。中外合资、合作企业将不再是一个单独的法律主体的投资形式,根据拟设立的外商投资企业的法律形式,其组织形式、组织机构及其活动准则分别适用《公司法》或《合伙企业法》的规定。对于现存的中外合资、合作企业,《外商投资法》给予其自施行之日起五年的过渡期(即到2024年12月31日为止),由投资者修改合资协议、公司章程,使其符合《公司法》规定的公司治理架构的要求。逾期未办理的,市场监管部门将不予受理其登记申请,并向社会公告。

由于中外合资、合作企业与有限责任公司在公司治理架构上存在实质性差异,此类事项的调整会涉及公司最高权力机构、董事的产生方式、董事的任期、董事会会议的最低人数要求、股东会和董事会对重大事项的表决机制、股权转让的限制等方面,大部分需要调整事项均十分重要,可能会引来中方和外方股东之间为达成一致而开展的新一轮的谈判和博弈。

总结

《外商投资法》被公认为中国法律史上的一个立法里程碑,其致力于为外商投资企业和国内企业创造公平竞争的环境,维护外国投资者在华权益。目前,商务部已废止了62份部门通知、规章和规范性文件,涉及外商投资及外商投资企业管理的各个方面。可以预见的是,在《外商投资法》体系下,有关政府部门将会采取更多的改革措施,培育和建立更透明、更具有可预期性的外商投资管理体制。

沈晓琳是通商律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式为电话 +86 10 6569 3471或电邮[email protected]

Impact of Foreign Investment Law on M&A in China

By Catherine Shen, Commerce & Finance Law Offices
0
242

on 1 January 2020, with the effectiveness of the Foreign Investment Law, the Foreign Investment Law Implementation Regulations and the associated department rules and judicial interpretation, China has entered into a completely new era of foreign investment administration and regulation.

Catherine Shen Commerce & Finance Law Offices Foreign Investment Law
Catherine Shen
Partner
Commerce & Finance Law Offices

As the most significant legal development in the past 40 years in the area of foreign investment, the Foreign Investment Law and its associated regulations have brought fundamental and systematic changes to the way the central government manages and supervises foreign investment activities in China. This article highlights a few important practical changes brought by the new foreign investment legal regime, and their impact on foreign investors doing M&A in China.

Information reporting system

Since the promulgation of the Sino-Foreign Equity Joint Ventures Law in 1979, the establishment of foreign invested enterprises (FIEs) or the acquisition of equity interest of Chinese companies by foreign investors had required approval from the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) or its predecessor, the authority in charge of foreign investment activities in China. Since 2016, with the issuance of the foreign investment negative lists, the single foreign investment approval system was changed into a parallel approval and filing system – foreign investment projects that fell within the negative lists required approval from MOFCOM, while for foreign investment projects that fell outside of the negative lists, a filing with MOFCOM sufficed.

This parallel approval and filing system was abolished under the new foreign investment legal regime. According to the Foreign Investment Law and the associated MOFCOM regulations, any direct or indirect investments made by foreign investors in the form of greenfield investments or acquisitions (within the negative list or outside of the negative list) now require online reporting to MOFCOM only, which can be completed in the same day of the submission of the reporting forms.

No transaction documents – such as joint venture agreement, share purchase agreement, capital increase subscription agreement, and even articles of association of the FIE concerned – are required to be submitted as part of the initial report. MOFCOM no longer reviews or examines any transaction documents.

Such a simplified reporting system has greatly reduced uncertainties for foreign investors doing M&A in China, as they no longer need to worry whether their projects will be approved by MOFCOM (assuming such projects fall within the negative lists), and whether their agreed commercial arrangements – e.g., adjustment of valuation, conditions and timeline for payment of consideration – will be acceptable to MOFCOM or not, due to lack of precedents or unfamiliarities of MOFCOM with such arrangements. The parties can agree on their co-operation and transaction terms purely based on their commercial needs and intention, subject to no violation of mandatory PRC legal requirements.

JVs with Chinese individuals

Another practical change is that foreign investors can now directly set up joint ventures (JVs) with Chinese individuals. Under the previous laws, this was not allowed unless Chinese individuals had been shareholders of the target company for at least one year before the acquisition of such target company by foreign investors. Under the new legal regime, this restriction has been abolished and Chinese individuals no longer need to set up a legal entity in order to form a Sino-foreign JV.

Unified corporate governance

With the abolishment of the three basic laws governing them, FIEs to be set up under the Foreign Investment Law will have the same corporate legal form and governance structure as domestic legal entities. A Sino-foreign equity or contractual JV is no longer a separate legal vehicle, and the Company Law or the Partnership Enterprise Law will apply, depending on the legal form of the legal entity to be set up by Chinese or foreign investors.

For existing Sino-foreign equity or contractual JVs, the Foreign Investment Law has granted a five-year transitional period from when the Foreign Investment Law came into effect (until 31 December 2024) for the parties to revise the JV agreements and articles of association to be in line with the corporate governance structure provided under the Company Law, failing which the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) will not handle any registration applications of such FIEs, and will also publicly announce such non-compliance.

Due to the substantive differences in corporate goverance structure between Sino-foreign equity or contractual JVs and limited liability companies, such adjustment of corporate government structure will involve changes concerning, among others, the highest decision making body of the company, the methods of appointment of directors, terms of directors, quorums for board meetings, voting mechanisms for important matters at shareholder and board level, restrictions on equity transfer, etc. Most of these required changes are critical, and may involve a new round of bargaining and negotiation among Chinese and foreign shareholders in order to have agreement on the required changes.

Conclusion

The Foreign Investment Law has been widely recognized as a legislative milestone in China’s legal history. It aims to create a level playing field for FIEs and domestic companies, and to safeguard foreign investors’ interests in China. So far, the MOFCOM has abolished 62 department notices, regulations and rules in various areas concerning the administration of foreign investment and FIEs. It is expected that more changes will come to help foster and build up a more transparent and predictable administrative system for foreign investment.

Catherine Shen is a partner at Commerce & Finance Law Offices. She can be contacted on +86 10 6569 3471 or by email at shenxiaolin@tongshang.com