我能请你喝一杯啤酒吗?

作者: 魏迈克和李怡瑾,博雷道盛上海代表处
0
282
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

期,媒体报道美国执法部门根据《反海外腐败法》严厉打击商业贿赂。在中国,胡士泰一案及随之而来的起诉和持续调查为各企业敲响一记警钟,纷纷审查其在国内外的反腐合规制度。

贿赂公职人员

Michael Wadley
魏迈克
博雷道盛上海代表处
国际合伙人, 中国业务负责人

澳大利亚是于1997年签订1999年认可的《经济合作发展组织反对在国际商业交易中贿赂外国公职人员公约》(简称为 OECD 公约)的签约国.

澳大利亚也是于2003年签订2005年认可的《联合国反腐败公约》的签约国。

澳大利亚明确支持亚洲发展银行和 OECD公约在亚太地区的反腐行动计划。

1999年12月,澳大利亚将 OECD 公约中的要求并入了《澳大利亚刑法》(简称为刑法)。该法是澳大利亚唯一一部针对外国贿赂行为作出处理的法律。

为了获得或维持商业或在商业上的优势,试图通过向外国公职人员提供非法利益而影响其正常履行公务的行为是被禁止的,除非能证明该行为在外国公职人员所在国家是合法的。

澳大利亚各州及领地的法律禁止向公职人员的行贿行为,同时禁止公职人员的受贿行为。

禁止国内公职人员受贿的主要国家法律明列在刑法中。向联邦公职人员(广义上包括国会议员、司法部及国防部人员)行贿而试图影响公职人员行使职权是违法的行为。

同样,联邦公职人员不得索取贿赂或利用职务:

  • 为自己或他人谋取利益;或
  • 不诚实地给他人造成伤害。

州政府工作人员

Lee I Ching
李怡瑾
博雷道盛上海代表处
外国执业律师

在各州及领地的立法 (包括刑法) 中也包含了关于向受雇于澳大利亚州或领地的国内公职人员行贿的禁令。

澳大利亚的一些州和领地的反腐败法令对执行司法的公职人员和其他公职人员作出区分。在西澳州、昆士兰州、塔斯马尼亚州和北领地,对涉及到司法管理的州等级官员的腐败行为,与同等级公职人员的腐败行为相较,采用了更加严厉的罚款措施。而且,在昆士兰州,对牵涉部长们(指的是那些直接指导实际政权或长官的部长)的违法行为也会采取更加严厉的罚款措施。

禁止性利益

总地来说,给国内官员送礼物、付差旅费、请吃饭或娱乐的行为是被法律、政府或政府机构政策文件(例如行为准则)所禁止的。在某些情况下,政府或政府机构政策允许国内官员,在满足特定义务的前提上收取利益。主要有以下的情形:

  • 该项利益的价值必须很小 (一般来说,单项或累计的价值不超过100澳元);
  • 该项利益必须和现行业务关系有关 (例如,某公司的执行经理与某公职人员讨论完项目以后该经理请该公职人员吃饭)或只是象征性的或礼节性的礼物;及
  • 公职人员汇报所有收受的利益的详细信息(例如,许多部门和机构均被要求对其官员所收受的礼物进行登记)。

个人商业贿赂

刑法仅适用涉及到公职人员的行为。当发生个人商业贿赂时,这些个人行为可能导致董事、雇员或高级管理人员的工作违反澳大利亚《公司法》,或是违反澳大利亚《贸易法》或《反垄断法》的市场份额或作价行为。某些州和领地的司法机构禁止公共机构和私人机构进行任何行贿受贿的行为。

刑罚和执行

刑罚轻重程度根据所违反法律的规定而异,有些情况下,根据违法的人员而定。根据《刑法》的规定,一般对个人处以五年到十年监禁。法院可能允许以罚款抵销监禁,或除了监禁外加罚一定罚款。如果是公司的话,则以罚款代替监禁。

根据澳大利亚州和领地的各种法律规定,对个人可以判处三年到二十一年监禁。有些司法机构会特别规定对公司进行罚款来代替监禁,有些则对公司没有做出特别规定。

至今,澳大利亚法院未曾收到针对外国公司或海外的澳大利亚公司的贿赂行为提出的控诉。不过,澳大利亚联邦警察局目前正在调查一系列涉及澳大利亚公司的海外公司贿赂行为的案件。

拥有国内外业务的企业应借此机会审查其:

  • 风险管理 ─ 政府对其业务的监管关联程度,合伙人的行为是否会违反法律规定;
  • 反腐规定 ─ 公司对其运营所在国的反腐败法及政府政策的理解程度,是否制定了适当的规定;及
  • 培训和执行 ─ 公司雇员如何处理贿赂要求,公司文化是否支持或谴责与公司政策相悖的腐败行为。

魏迈克领导博雷道盛的中国业务

李怡瑾程是博雷道盛上海办公室的外国执业律师

博雷道盛上海代表处
中国上海市南京西路1168号中信泰富广场3408-10
邮编: 200041
电话: 86 21 5100 1796
传真: 86 21 5292 5161
www.blakedawson.com
电子信箱:
michael.wadley@blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Can I get you another beer? Australia’s anti-corruption laws

By Michael Wadley and Lee I Ching, Blake Dawson
0
198
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Recent press coverage of the crackdown on corporate bribery in the US under the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and, closer to home, the prosecution and continued investigations following the Stern Hu case in China, serve as a wake-up call for companies to review their domestic and cross-border anti-corruption compliance programmes.

Bribery of foreign public officials

Michael Wadley
Michael Wadley
International partner
head of China practice
Blake Dawson

Australia is a signatory to the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions (the OECD Convention), signed in 1997 and ratified in 1999.

It is also a signatory to the United Nations Convention against Corruption, signed in 2003 and ratified in 2005.

It has endorsed the Asian Development Bank and OECD Anti-Corruption Action Plan for the Asia-Pacific region.

In December 1999, Australia incorporated the OECD Convention requirements in the Criminal Code Act 1995 (the Criminal Code). It is the only Australian law that addresses foreign bribery.

Offering or giving a benefit that is not legitimately due, with the intention to influence a foreign public official in the performance of their public duties in order to obtain or retain business or a business advantage, is prohibited unless the conduct can be proven to be lawful in the foreign public official’s country.

Australian public officials

Lee I Ching
Lee I Ching
Foreign Lawyer
Blake Dawson

The laws in all commonwealth and Australian state and territory jurisdictions prohibit both the giving of a bribe to a public official and the receipt or acceptance of a bribe by a public official.

The principal national law prohibiting the bribery of domestic public officials is set out in the Criminal Code. It is an offence to give or offer a bribe to Commonwealth public officials (broadly defined to include members of parliament, the judiciary and the defence force) in the exercise of their duties as public officials with the intention of influencing the exercise of those duties.

Commonwealth public officials are prohibited from soliciting bribes or inappropriately using their office to:

  • obtain a benefit for themselves or for others; or
  • dishonestly cause detriment to another person.

State public officials

Prohibitions against bribery of domestic public officials employed by an Australian state or territory are also contained in separate state and territory legislation (including criminal legislation).

Some Australian state and territory anti-corruption laws distinguish between public officials administrating justice and other public officials. In Western Australia, Queensland, Tasmania and the Northern Territory, harsher penalties tend to apply to corruption relating to state officers involved in the administration of justice than to other state public officials. Additionally, in Queensland, offences relating to ministers of the crown (who directly guide the reigning monarch or governor) are also subject to tougher penalties.

Prohibited benefits

Generally, providing domestic officials with gifts, travel expenses, meals or entertainment is prohibited by legislation and by government or agency policy documents such as codes of conduct.

In certain circumstances, government or agency policy may permit the receipt of benefits by domestic officials, subject to compliance with certain obligations. The main such obligations are that:

  • the benefit must be of a minor value (the usual practice is that a single or cumulative benefit should not be worth more than A$100);
  • the benefit must be made in connection with an existing business relationship (for instance, an executive manager of a company pays for a public official’s meal when they meet to discuss a current project) or it is a token or ceremonial gift; and
  • the public official reports the details of any benefit offered or received (for example, many departments and agencies are required to maintain registers of the gifts their officials have been offered, have accepted or both).

Private commercial bribery

The Criminal Code applies only to conduct directed at or involving public officials. But where private commercial bribery occurs, such conduct may result in a breach of directors’, employees’ or officers’ duties in contravention of the Corporations Act 2001, or market sharing or price fixing in contravention of the Trade Practices Act 1974, Australia’s competition legislation. At the state and territory level, some jurisdictions prohibit corrupt payments in both the public and the private sectors.

Penalties and enforcement

The penalties vary depending on the law that has been violated, and in some cases, who has committed the offence. Under the Criminal Code, the penalty is between five and ten years’ imprisonment. A court may impose a fine instead of or in addition to a prison sentence. In the case of a company, a fine is imposed in place of imprisonment.

Under various Australian state and territory laws, penalties can range from three years to 21 years’ imprisonment for individuals. Some jurisdictions specifically impose fines on companies in place of imprisonment, whereas others make no specific provision for companies.

To date no bribery prosecution involving foreign companies or Australian companies operating overseas has been brought in an Australian court. However, the Australian Federal Police are investigating a number of allegations of corrupt conduct engaged in by certain Australian companies in their overseas operations.

Compliance

Companies engaging in cross-border as well as domestic activities should take the opportunity to review their:

risk profile – how reliant is the business on government approvals and are any of their business partners’ activities or practices likely to fall foul of the law?

anti-corruption policies – how well does the company understand the anti-corruption laws and government policies of the countries in which they operate and does it have appropriate governance policies in place? and training and implementation – how do the company’s employees deal with demands to pay bribes and is the corporate culture one that implicitly endorses or condones corrupt behaviour contrary to its policy?


Michael Wadley heads Blake Dawson’s China Practice
Lee I Ching is a foreign lawyer in the Shanghai office of Blake Dawson

Blake Dawson Shanghai office
Suites 3408-10, CITIC Square
1168 Nanjing Road West, Shanghai
Postal code: 200041
Tel: 86 21 5100 1796
Fax: 86 21 5292 5161
www.blakedawson.com
E-mail:
michael.wadley@blakedawson.co

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link