企业并购后如何承担债务?

作者: 栗健,共和律师事务所
0
645
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

践中,在并购项目完成后,就被并购方原有债务的承担,在债权人和并购双方之间多有争议出现。

对于并购方而言,应否承担被并购方的原有债务,应区别不同的并购形式、并购主体,依据现行有效之法律、司法解释以及行政规章加以判断。

吸收合并和新设合并

栗健 Li Jian, 北京市共和律师事务所 Concord & Partners, 合伙人 Partner
栗健
合伙人
共和律师事务所

对于公司制企业,《公司法》规定,当公司吸收合并或新设合并时,合并各方的债权、债务,应当由合并后存续的公司或者新设的公司承继。

而针对非公司制企业特别是国有企业的并购重组,最高人民法院专门颁布了《关于审理与企业改制相关的民事纠纷案件若干问题的规定》(以下简称《若干规定》),对企业改制后的债务承担作出了具体规定。

  • 对于企业吸收合并或新设合并后的债务承担,《若干规定》与《公司法》的规定相同。
  • 对于以收购方式实现对企业控股的,被控股企业的债务,仍由该被控股企业自行承担。但因控股企业抽逃资金、逃避债务,致被控股企业无力偿还债务的,则被控股企业的债务由控股企业承担。
  • 企业进行吸收合并时,参照《公司法》的有关规定,公告通知了债权人,但是被兼并企业原资产管理人(出资人)隐瞒或者遗漏了企业债务的,企业吸收合并后,债权人就原有债务起诉兼并方的,按照以下规定处理:如债权人在公告期内申报过该笔债权,兼并方应承担民事责任,但其可向被兼并企业原资产管理人(出资人)追偿;如债权人在公告期内未申报过该笔债权,兼并方不承担民事责任,债权人须另行起诉被兼并企业原资产管理人(出资人)。
  • 企业吸收合并或新设合并后,被兼并企业应当办理而未办理工商注销登记,债权人起诉被兼并企业的,人民法院应当根据企业兼并后的具体情况,告知债权人追加责任主体,并判令责任主体承担民事责任。实践中,该等责任主体一般为兼并方。

资产并购

资产收购协议从其法律属性上属买卖合同范畴,并购方实际处于买受方地位,作为一项基本原则,其不应承担资产出卖人的原有债务。

但是,《若干规定》对于国有小型企业出售(包括企业资产出售)却确立了不同的债务承担原则。

根据以下规定,企业实行资产并购改制前的债务将由买受人或新注册的企业法人承担:

  • 企业售出后,买受人将所购企业资产纳入本企业或者将所购企业变更为所属分支机构的,所购企业的债务,由买受人承担(第24条);
  • 企业售出后,买受人将所购企业资产作价入股与他人重新组建新公司,所购企业法人予以注销的,对所购企业出售前的债务,买受人应当以其所有财产,包括在新组建公司中的股权承担民事责任(第25条);
  • 企业售出后,买受人将所购企业重新注册为新的企业法人,所购企业法人被注销的,此时,所购企业出售前的债务,应当由新注册的企业法人承担(第26条)。

为遏制债务人通过改制转移优质资产逃废债务,《若干规定》第7条还确立了企业法人资格否定的原则:企业以其优质财产与他人组建新公司,而将债务留在原企业,债权人以新设公司和原企业作为共同被告提起诉讼主张债权的,新设公司应当在所接收的财产范围内与原企业共同承担连带责任。

外资并购

外国投资者股权并购境内企业的,根据《关于外国投资者并购境内企业的规定》(以下简称《外资并购规定》),并购后所设外商投资企业承继被并购境内公司的债权和债务。

外国投资者资产并购境内企业的,根据《外资并购规定》第13条之规定,出售资产的境内企业承担其原有的债权和债务。

《外资并购规定》所确立的债务承担原则与《若干规定》的债务承担原则存在冲突,外国投资者担心《若干规定》如果适用于外商投资,将会影响外资参与国内企业改组的顺利进行。

商务部就此专门向最高人民法院发函要求给予确认。最高人民法院答复称,外商投资行为不受《若干规定》的调整,而应当适用《外资并购规定》确立的债务承担原则。

栗健是共和律师事务所北京总部合伙人

Suite 1930, Beijing Sunflower Tower, 37

Maizidian Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing

Postal code: 100026

Tel: +86 10 85276468

Fax: +86 10 85275038

E-mail: lijian@concord-lawyers.com

www.concord-lawyers.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The assumption of debts in a merger or acquisition

By Li Jian, Concord & Partners
0
291

After the completion of a merger or acquisition, disputes often arise among the creditors, the acquirer and the acquired party over who should assume the pre-existing debts of the acquired party.

Whether an acquirer should assume the acquired party’s existing debts depends on the form and circumstances of the merger or acquisition, according to the laws and regulations currently in force.

Merger scenarios

The PRC Company Law stipulates that when an incorporated company completes a merger by absorption or by the establishment of a new company, the claims and debts of the parties involved should be inherited by the surviving company or the newly established company.

栗健 Li Jian, 北京市共和律师事务所 Concord & Partners, 合伙人 Partner
Li Jian
Partner
Concord & Partners

With respect to M&A and restructuring projects involving unincorporated enterprises and state-owned enterprises, the Supreme People’s Court has issued the Several Issues Regarding the Hearing of Civil Dispute Cases Related to the Restructuring of Enterprises Provisions (the Provisions) to govern issues relating to the assumption of debt upon completion of a restructuring.

The Provisions contain clauses similar to those of the PRC Company Law regarding the assumption of debts after an enterprise carries out a merger by absorption or by the establishment of a new company.

If a controlling stake in an enterprise is acquired, that enterprise will remain responsible for its debts. However, if the acquirer improperly withdraws its funds or seeks to evade those debts, and renders the acquired enterprise insolvent, the debts of the acquired enterprise must be assumed by the acquirer.

Under the PRC Company Law, when an enterprise carries out a merger by absorption, it must make an announcement to notify its creditors. But if a former owner of a merged enterprise has covered up or ignored the debt problems of the enterprise, and a creditor takes legal action against the acquirer, the case should be handled as follows: if the creditor declared its claims during the announcement period, the acquirer should bear civil liability, but may be able to recover compensation from the former owner of the merged enterprise; if the creditor fails to declare the claims within the announcement period, the acquirer will not bear any civil liability, and the creditor will have to take legal action against the merged enterprise and its original owner.

Upon completion of a merger by absorption or by the establishment of a new business, if the merged enterprise fails to cancel its registration with the authorities for industry and commerce, and a creditor sues it, a people’s court may notify the creditor of any additional liable parties, and make a ruling that such parties assume civil liability. In practice, the liable party is generally the acquirer.

Acquisition of assets

An asset acquisition agreement is a sale and purchase contract. The purchaser should be in a position to buy, and does not assume the pre-existing debts of the seller.

However, the Provisions establish a different principle to govern the assumption of debts in respect of the sale of small state-owned businesses (including the sale of corporate assets). The debts existing prior to the acquisition of assets or restructuring will be assumed by the buyer or the newly incorporated enterprise legal person.

  • If a buyer incorporates the assets of an acquired enterprise into itself or converts the acquired enterprise into a branch of itself, the debts of the acquired enterprise will be assumed by the buyer (article 24).
  • If a buyer uses the assets of an acquired enterprise to form a new company with another party, and the acquired enterprise legal person is cancelled, the buyer should bear civil liability for the debts existing prior to the sale of the acquired enterprise with all of its property, including the equity in the newly formed company (article 25).
  • After an enterprise is sold, if the buyer has the acquired enterprise re-registered as a new enterprise legal person, and the original enterprise legal person is cancelled, the newly registered enterprise legal person should bear the debts existing prior to the sale of the acquired enterprise (article 26).

Under article 7 of the Provisions, if an enterprise uses its assets to form a new company with another party and leaves the debts in the original enterprise, and a creditor institutes legal proceedings and claims its rights against the new company and the original enterprise as a co-defendant, the new company should be held jointly and severally liable with the original enterprise to the extent of the property received.

Acquisitions by foreign investors

If a foreign investor acquires an equity interest in a Chinese
enterprise, the foreign investment enterprise formed after completion of the acquisition should inherit the claims and debts of the acquired Chinese domestic enterprise, according to the Merger and Acquisition of Domestic Enterprises by Foreign Investors Provisions (Foreign M&A Provisions).

If a foreign investor acquires the assets of a Chinese enterprise, the enterprise that sells the assets should remain responsible for its pre-existing claims and debts, according to article 13 of the Foreign M&A Provisions.

The conflict between the different principles governing the assumption of debts established by the Foreign M&A Provisions and the Provisions may dissuade foreign investors from participating the restructuring of Chinese enterprises.

In connection with this, the Ministry of Commerce sent a letter to the Supreme People’s Court asking for confirmation.

The Supreme People’s Court replied that foreign investment would not be affected by the Provisions, but should be subject to the principles governing the assumption of debts established by the Foreign M&A Provisions.

Li Jian is a partner at Concord & Partners in Beijing

Suite 1930, Beijing Sunflower Tower, 37

Maizidian Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing

Postal code: 100026

Tel: +86 10 85276468

Fax: +86 10 85275038

E-mail: lijian@concord-lawyers.com

www.concord-lawyers.com

Law.asia subscripton ad red 2022