反倾销

0
45

文讨论世界贸易组织(WTO)规则下反倾销的概念,并考察了当前国际贸易在这一领域所面临的一些挑战背后的因素。文章首先介绍英语和中文中“反倾销”一词的起源,而后概述世贸组织的反倾销框架,并指出其当前挑战背后的一些因素,最后概述中国法律中适用的反倾销条款。

什么是倾销?

简单而言,以下情形构成倾销:(1)出口商以低于其国内市场正常价值的价格向进口国出售相同(或类似)产品;(2)该行为对进口国的国内产业造成重大损害。倾销的目的往往是通过削弱竞争、将其他销售者赶出市场来增加出口商在外国市场的市场份额。

在英语和中文中,“倾销”(dump)一词都有负面含义。在英语中,dump一词被认为起源于古诺尔斯语,原意为“突然倒下”。在现代英语中,它的意思是以粗心或不负责任的方式处理事物。

在中文中,“倾销”的字面意思是指以不公平或不体面的方式售卖商品。与英语类似,“倾销”一词中的第一个汉字是“垮”或“倒”的意思。

早在1995年世贸组织成立之前,各国就已开始针对进口产品采取反倾销行动。例如,澳大利亚的反倾销制度已有100多年的历史。中国于1994年首次出台反倾销规定。

反倾销是世贸组织框架下“基于规则的多边贸易体系”的重要组成部分。这一体系具有许多特点。首先,它旨在提供一种基础,令世贸组织所有成员能够在共同条款基础上相互开展贸易——因此,它具有多边性质,而非双边性质。几个世纪以来,各国一直在进行的是双边性质的贸易。与世贸组织的重要区别在于,它为所有成员国之间的贸易提供了共同的条款,或者说基线。

第二,该体系主要侧重于货物和服务贸易。虽然也存在与投资有关的规定,但是用来规制一国公民在另一国投资的框架一般涵盖在其他法律文件(包括双边投资条约)中。由于贸易和投资彼此关联,各方越来越多地同时讨论和达成贸易和投资协定。例如,在2019年,澳大利亚和香港签署了双边自由贸易协定,并在去年签署了相关投资协定。这两项文件均于今年1月生效。

第三,也是很重要的一点,这一体系以商定的规则作为基础,包含一个成员国之间在解释和适用这些规则方面的争议的解决机制。正如世贸组织在其网站上指出的那样,世贸组织框架旨在使货物和服务贸易的国际商业环境稳定且可预测。贸易的稳定被认为是一件好事,经验表明,相互进行贸易的国家之间不太可能发生战争。这反映了国际贸易有助于国际和平与安全的理念,贸易也因此具有超越经济利益的、更广泛的益处。

多边贸易体系的两项主要原则是互惠和非歧视。

在1947年签署《关税及贸易总协定》(世贸组织的前身)之前,贸易主要是在双边基础上进行的,其特点是保护主义,即个别国家努力保护其市场免受外国竞争者的影响。保护主义往往与民族主义相结合,这一组合会产生负面的影响。而以规则为基础的多边贸易体系,其好处之一在于,各国在自由开放的基础上开展贸易,发展出相互依存、互惠互利的关系。

当然,这并不意味着各国不会审时度势采取保护本国市场的行动,并对别国市场进行报复和伤害(不幸的是,当前的全球形势即是一个例子);不过,一个国家伤害或惩罚别国而采取的每一项行动,皆存在损害或不利于本国市场的潜在后果。因此,每个国家都需要认识到,它对其他国家采取的行动最终可能在多大程度上对本国经济造成同样或更大的损害。

贸易保护可以采取各种形式,包括进口税等直接壁垒以及配额、许可证要求和补贴等间接壁垒。

WTO框架下的反倾销

世贸组织框架规定了三项贸易救济措施,成员国可单方面采取这些措施,以保护自己不受另一成员国违反世贸组织规则行为的影响。除反倾销外,还有两种救济措施:反补贴税和保障措施。

若世贸组织某一成员提供了与产品的制造、生产或出口有关的补贴,则可征收反补贴税。在这种情况下,其他成员国有权征收反补贴税,其数额最高可达相关补贴金额。这是为了消除补贴行为带来的不公平后果。在农业等领域,提供补贴尤其引起争议。

如果某一产品大量进口到世贸组织成员国的领土上,对国内生产商造成或可能造成严重损害,那么该成员国可以采取保障措施,包括中止某些义务、撤销某些优惠。虽然世贸组织规则允许采取保障措施,但这些措施并不真正具有自由贸易的正当性。在实践中,它们存在的目的是在某一行业出现危机时,给予政府一些临时的救济 手段。对钢铁行业采取保障措施,尤其引发争议。

《1994年关税与贸易总协定》第6条对反倾销作了如下规定:

    1. 各缔约国认为,用倾销的手段将一国产品以低于正常价值的办法挤入另一国市场内,如因此对某一缔约国领土内已建立的某一行业造成 重大损害或产生重大威胁,或者对某一国内行业的建立产生严重阻碍,这种倾销行为应该受到谴责……

    2. 为抵消或防止倾销行为,缔约方可对任何倾销 产品征收数额不超过该产品倾销利润的反倾 销税。本条所称的倾销利润,系指依照本条第 1 款规定确定的价格差额。

有关反倾销的详细规定载于《反倾销协定》(《关于实施1994年关税与贸易总协定第6条的协定》),该协定包含于世贸组织协定的附件1A中。

一个关键问题在于,如何计算产品在出口商国内市场的正常价值,因为正常价值才是决定是否存在倾销的关键。

根据《反倾销协定》第2.1条,确定正常价值的起点是“在正常贸易过程中,出口国供消费的同类产品的可比价格”。

如果出口商的国内市场上没有销售同类产品,或者由于国内市场的销售量太小等原因而无法进行适当的比较,怎么办?在这种情况下,《反倾销协定》承认确定正常价值的两个备选依据:

    • 对第三国的出口价格——即同类产品向适当的第三国出口时的可比价格;以及

    • 出口国的“推定价值”——即出口国国内市场价格的替代价格(计算方法是原产国的生产成本加上合理 的管理、销售和一般费用以及合理的利润)。


此外,有争议的是,一些国家对于来自它们认为是 “非市场经济”的其他国家的进口产品,持续使用第三种依据来确定正常价值,即对于政府干预程度很高的经济体,使用该市场的价格和成本来确定反倾销利润是不切实际的。最著名的例子是欧盟和美国持续将中国视为非市场经济体对待。

就美国而言,它没有采用《反倾销协定》规定的两个依据来确定中国进口产品的正常价值,而是采用了“替 代国”办法。根据这种方法,反倾销利润是根据具有市场经济地位、经济发展水平接近中国的“替代国”的价格计算的。

中国认为,其入世议定书文本要求所有世贸组织成员国(包括美国)在2016年12月11日前终止使用第三种依据。而美国则认为,世贸组织的措辞并未自动要求其给予中国市场经济地位。2016年12月12日,就美国和欧盟不给予中国市场经济地位,中国提出世界贸易组织争端解决机制下的磋商请求,正式启动世贸组织争端解决程序。

中国法律中的反倾销条款

与其他司法管辖区一样,中国也有自己的反倾销法律。最高级别的规定载于《对外贸易法法》(2004 年)。《对外 贸易法》第四十条和第四十一条规定如下:

第八章 对外贸易救济
第四十条 国家根据对外贸易调查结果,可以采取适当的对外贸易救济措施。
第四十一条 其他国家或者地区的产品以低于正常价值的倾销方 式进入我国市场,对已建立的国内产业造成实质损害或者产生实质损害威胁,或者对建立国内产业造成实质阻碍的,国家可以采取反倾销措施,消除或者减轻这种损害或者损害的威胁或者阻碍。

这些条款的措辞与世贸组织协定中的措辞一致。

有关反倾销的详细规定载于《反倾销条例》(2004 年 3 月 31 日修订),该条例是根据《对外贸易法》出台的。 条例第三条对反倾销的定义如下:

第三条
倾销,是指在正常贸易过程中进口产品以低于其正常 价值的出口价格进入中华人民共和国市场。 对倾销的调查和确定,由商务部负责。

这些规定和条例的措辞也与世贸组织《反倾销协定》的措辞一致。

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

葛安德以前是年利达律师事务所上海代表处合伙人,现在墨尔本法学院教授法律,担任该法学院亚洲法研究中心的副主任。葛安德的著作《商法词汇:法律概念的翻译和诠释》重新汇编了其在本刊“商法词汇”专栏撰写的所有文章。该书由Vantage Asia出版。如欲订购,请即登录 www.vantageasia.com

Anti-dumping

0
40

This article discuss the concept of anti-dumping under the World Trade Organization (WTO) rules, and considers the factors behind some of the current challenges facing world trade in this area. It commences by looking at the origin of the term “anti-dumping” in English and Chinese. It then outlines

the WTO framework as it relates to anti-dumping, and identifies some of the factors behind the current challenges. Finally, it outlines the applicable anti-dumping provisions under Chinese law.

What is dumping?

Put simply, anti-dumping occurs when: (1) an exporter sells a product into an importing country at a lower price than the normal value at which the same (or like) product is sold on its own domestic market; and (2) the action causes material harm to the domestic industry in the importing country. Often the objective of dumping is to increase market share in a foreign market by undercutting competition and driving other sellers out of the market.

In both English and Chinese, the word “dump” has a negative connotation. In English, the word “dump” is considered to originate from the language known as Old Norse, and originally meant to “fall suddenly”. In modern English, it means to dispose of something in a careless or irresponsible way.

The word “dump” in Chinese (倾销) literally means to sell something on a biased or disreputable basis. Similar to the English word, the first character in the Chinese compound means to “collapse” or “fall”.

Various countries started to take action against anti-dumping in the context of imports long before the WTO was established in 1995. For example, Australia has had an anti-dumping system for over 100 years. China first issued anti-dumping provisions in 1994.

Anti-dumping is an important part of what is known as the “rules-based multilateral trading system” under the WTO framework. This system has a number of features. First, it is designed to provide a basis on which all members of the WTO can trade with each other on common terms – thus, it is multilateral, instead of bilateral, in nature. Countries have been trading with each other on bilateral terms for centuries. The important distinction with the WTO is that it provides common terms – or a baseline – for trade between all member states.

Second, the system focuses primarily on trade in goods and services. Although there are provisions that relate to investment, the framework governing the investment by citizens of one state in another state is generally covered by other legal instruments, including bilateral investment treaties. Because trade and investment are inter-related, trade and investment agreements are increasingly being discussed and agreed alongside each other. For example, in 2019, Australia and Hong Kong entered into a bilateral free-trade agreement (FTA) and an associated investment agreement, both of which came into effect in January this year.

Third, and importantly, the system is based on agreed rules, which include a mechanism to resolve disputes between member states in relation to the interpretation and application of those rules.

As the WTO notes on its website, the WTO framework is designed to make the international business environment for trade in goods and services stable and predictable. Stability in trade is considered to be a good thing, as experience shows that countries that trade with each other are less likely to go to war with each other. It reflects the idea that international trade contributes to international peace and security. Trade, therefore, has broader benefits that go beyond economic benefits.

The two main principles underpinning the multilateral trading system are reciprocity and non-discrimination.

Prior to the signing of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (the predecessor to WTO) in 1947, trade was primarily undertaken on a bilateral basis and was characterised by protectionism, namely, efforts on the part of individual countries to protect their markets from foreign competition. Protectionism is often associated with nationalism and the negative forces that this combination can create. One of the benefits of a rules-based multilateral trading system is that countries develop a mutual interdependence and mutual benefits from pursuing trade on a free and open basis.

Of course, this does not mean that countries do not take action at various times to protect their own markets, and to retaliate and harm the markets in other countries (the current global situation is, unfortunately, an example of this). However, for every action that a country takes to harm or punish another country, there is

a potential consequence that harms or adversely affects its own markets. Accordingly, each country needs to be aware of the extent to which its actions against other countries might ultimately prove to be equally or more damaging to its own economy.

Protection can take various forms, including direct barriers such as import duties, and indirect barriers such as quotas, licensing requirements and subsidies.

Auti-dumping under the WTO framework

The WTO framework sets out three trade remedies that member states can unilaterally adopt to protect themselves against breach of the WTO rules by another member state. In addition to anti-dumping, two remedies are available – countervailing duties and safeguards.

Countervailing duties can be imposed if a WTO member provides a subsidy in connection with the manufacture, production or export of a product. In such circumstances, other WTO members are entitled to levy countervailing duties up to the amount of the relevant subsidy. This is designed to overcome the unfair consequences of subsidies. The provision of subsidies has been particularly controversial in areas such as agriculture.

Safeguard measures, including suspending certain obligations and withdrawing certain concessions, can be adopted by a WTO member if a product is imported into the territory of that member in such large quantities as to cause or threaten serious injury to domestic producers in the territory of that member. While safeguard measures are allowed under the WTO rules, they do not really have a free-trade justification. In practice, they are designed to give a government some temporary relief where there is a crisis in a particular industry. The adoption of safeguard measures has been particularly controversial in the steel industry.

Anti-dumping is defined in article VI of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, which provides as follows:

1.The contracting parties recognize that dumping, by which products of one country are introduced into the commerce of another country at less than the normal value of the products,is to be condemned if it causes or threatens material injury to an established industry in the territory of a contracting party or materially retards the establishment of a domestic industry…

2.In order to off setor prevent dumping, a contracting party may levy on any dumped product an anti-dumping duty not greater in amount than the margin of dumping in respect of such product. For the purposes of this Article, the margin of dumping is the price difference determined in accordance with the provisions of paragraph1.

The detailed provisions governing anti-dumping are contained in the Anti-Dumping Agreement (Agreement on Implementation of Article VI of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994), which is contained in annexe 1A to the WTO agreement.

A key issue is how to calculate the normal value of the product in the domestic market of the exporter, as it is the normal value that determines whether dumping has occurred.

Under article 2.1 of the Anti-Dumping Agreement, the starting point for determining the normal value is “the comparable price, in the ordinary course of trade, for the like product when destined for consumption in the exporting country”.

What if there are no sales of the like product in the domestic market of the exporter, or it is not possible to make a proper comparison because, for example, the volume of sales in the domestic market is too small? In such circumstances, the Anti-Dumping Agreement recognizes two alternative bases for determining the normal value:

  • The export price to a third country – namely, the comparable price of the like product when exported to an appropriate third country; and
  • The “constructed value” in the exporting country – namely, a substitute price for the domestic market price in the exporting country (this is calculated as the cost of production in the country of origin plus a reasonable amount for administrative, selling and general costs, and reasonable amount for-profits).

In addition, and controversially, some countries continue to use a third basis for determining the normal value in respect of imports from other countries that they consider to be “non-market economies”, namely, economies in which there is a high level of government intervention that makes it impractical to use prices and costs in that market for determining anti-dumping margins. The best-known example is the continuing treatment of China as a non-market economy by the EU and the US.

In the case of the US, instead of adopting one of the two bases for determining normal value for imported Chinese products as provided in the Anti-Dumping Agreement, the US adopts a “surrogate country” approach. Under this approach, the anti-dumping margin is calculated based on prices in a “surrogate country” that has a market economy status and is close to China in terms of economic development.

China argues that the text of its WTO accession protocol required all WTO members to terminate their use of the third basis by 11 December 2016, including the US. The US argues that the WTO language does not automatically require it to extend market economy status to China. On 12 December 2016, China initiated a WTO dispute settlement case against the US and the EU for not affording China market economy status.

Anti-dumping provisions under Chinese law

Like other jurisdictions, China has its own anti-dumping laws. The highest-level provisions are contained in the 2004 Foreign Trade Law. Articles 40 and 41 of the Foreign Trade Law provide as follows:

Chapter 8 Foreign Trade Remedies
Article 40
The state may take appropriate foreign trade remedies on the basis of the findings of foreign trade investigation.
Article 41
Where a product from other countries or regions is dumped into the domestic market at a price less than its normal value and under such conditions as to cause or threaten to cause material injury to the established domestic industries, or materially retards the establishment of domestic industries, the state may take anti-dumping measures to eliminate or mitigate such injury, threat of injury or retardation.

The wording of these provisions tracks the wording in the WTO agreement.

Detailed provisions governing anti-dumping are contained in the Anti-dumping Regulations of the People’s Republic of China (Revised on 31 March, 2004), which are expressed to be issued pursuant to the Foreign Trade Law. Article 3 of the regulations define anti-dumping as follows:

Article 3
The term “dumping” refers to the entry of imported products into the market of the People’s Republic of China, in the ordinary course of trade, at an export price that is lower than their normal value. The Ministry of Commerce is responsible for investigating and determining dumping.

The wording of these provisions, and of the regulations, also tracks the wording in the WTO anti-dumping agreement.

葛安德 Andrew Godwin

A former partner of Linklaters Shanghai, Andrew Godwin teaches law at Melbourne Law School in Australia, where he is an associate director of its Asian Law Centre. Andrew’s new book is a compilation of China Business Law Journal’s popular Lexicon series, entitled China Lexicon: Defining and translating legal terms. The book is published by Vantage Asia and available at www.vantageasia.com