运用调解化解证券投资相关纠纷

作者: 全朝晖、吴震宇,广信君达律师事务所
0
307

投资理财产品亏损,是投资者与证券期货经营机构之间的常见纠纷。近年来,证券投资争议案件呈现爆发式增长的态势,即便在疫情期间,这一趋势依旧有增无减。这种增长态势是由多方面的因素导致的,主要包括:

Jeffery Quan, 全朝晖, Senior partner, ETR Law Firm
全朝晖
高级合伙人
广信君达律师事务所

(1)金融产品创新失度、多层嵌套、权责边界不清;

(2)投资文化不成熟,未做到卖者尽责、买者自负;

(3)部分金融机构以销售为导向,缺乏风险控制意识。

尽管相关监管机构已经出台了一系列的法规对违规行为进行规制,但因为大量的存量业务,叠加经济下行周期,导致相关措施仍然难以遏制相关案件的爆发式增长。较快增长的证券投资争议案件也将压力导向了裁判机构,现状是裁判工作量大,裁判资源相对不足,裁判效率不高,裁判结果的确定性与恰当性也存在较大的提高空间。

而解决这类纠纷,未必要通过诉讼。笔者在去年及今年疫情期间,即通过调解化解了数例投资理财产品亏损纠纷。

法律依据

根据《中证中小投资者服务中心调解规则》的规定,资本市场主体间因证券、期货、基金等相关业务产生的下列纠纷,属于投服中心纠纷受理范围:

(1)投资者与上市公司之间的纠纷;

(2)投资者与证券期货经营机构之间的纠纷;

(3)投资者与资本市场其他主体之间的纠纷;

(4)投资者之间的纠纷;

(5)投服中心认为可以受理的纠纷。

2019年11月20日,最高人民法院、中国人民银行、中国银保监会联合发布了《关于全面推进金融纠纷多元化解机制建设的意见》,进一步明确和强调了要加强金融纠纷诉前调解、司法确认等诉调对接机制建设。

2020年3月1日起施行的新《证券法》规定:投资者与发行人、证券公司等发生纠纷的,双方可以向投资者保护机构申请调解。普通投资者与证券公司发生证券业务纠纷,普通投资者提出调解请求的,证券公司不得拒绝。

吴震宇, Wu Zhenyu, Associate, ETR Law Firm
吴震宇
律师
广信君达律师事务所

优势

调解可以在解决证券投资争议案件中发挥更重要的作用,调解对于解决证券投资争议案件具备如下优势:

效率高程序简便,快速解决纠纷;

成本低对于普通纠纷,当事人无需委托代理人,当事人即可参与调解,相对诉讼与仲裁,费用较低;

非对抗性维护商业合作伙伴之间的关系,避免走向破裂;

执行快当事人自行达成的调解协议,一般执行较快。

如果争议双方能够通过调解解决问题,则可以节省司法资源。另外,多元、高效解决争议对于商事活动是重大利好,也有助于激发企业活力。

执行力问题

对于国内商事调解协议的执行,中国尚未建立全面的执行认可程序,也没有在一般原则上,赋予调解协议强制执行力。目前涉及证券纠纷达成的调解协议,一般都是通过各个机构与当地法院彼此逐一互认、各个联合协助等方式,分别进行。

根据《中证中小投资者服务中心调解规则》的相关规定,当事人签署的调解协议仅具有民事合同的性质,投服中心有权跟踪回访调解协议的履行情况,但监督手段仅是投服中心有权依据《证券期货市场诚信监督管理办法》记录当事人的诚信信息。

为了使该等商事调解协议具备强制执行力,当事人需要依据相关规定完成司法确认、公证或者仲裁,才有可能获得司法确认裁定、赋予强制执行力的公证书或仲裁裁决,最终依法向法院申请强制执行。

至于国际调解协议,目前内地法律制度和国际公约的衔接问题仍待解决。首先,中国已经作为第一批的签署者加入了《联合国关于调解所产生的国际和解协议公约》(《新加坡公约》),但该公约要生效还需要全国人大的批准。其次,虽然中国的传统商事活动一直强调以调解解决纠纷,但是缺乏系统性、制度性的商事调解法律制度,目前中国即使是《仲裁法》,也仅为二级立法,遑论开启更加专项的商事调解法立法工作。

短期内,笔者建议相关受认可的投资者服务中心,在调解规则中不妨融入境内外行之有效和制度逻辑自洽的经验和做法,为未来商事调解法等上位法制度安排提供较为系统丰富的实践素材,促进商事调解服务行业专业化、市场化和国际化的有序发展。

广信君达律师事务所高级合伙人全朝晖、律师吴震宇

广州市天河区珠江新城珠江东路6号

广州东塔29层、10层

邮编: 510623

电话: +86 20 3718 1333

传真: +86 20 3718 1388

电子信箱:

qzh@etrlawfirm.com

wuzy@etrlawfirm.com

www.etrlawfirm.cn

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Advantages of mediation in securities investment disputes

By Jeffery Quan and Wu Zhenyu, ETR Law Firm
0
29

Losses on investments in wealth management products are a common source of disputes between investors and firms that deal in securities and futures. In recent years, securities investment dispute cases have shown explosive growth, a trend that has continued unabated, even during the pandemic.

Jeffery Quan, 全朝晖, Senior partner, ETR Law Firm
Jeffery Quan
Senior partner
ETR Law Firm

This growth is caused by a number of factors, but chief among them are:

(1) excessive innovation in financial products, multilevel nesting and unclear boundaries between rights and responsibilities;

(2) an immature investment culture with failure to achieve caveat vendor, caveat emptor; and

(3) financial institutions that have sales as their guiding light but lack awareness of risk control.

Even though authorities have issued a series of regulations to curb violations, the large volume of the existing business base combined with the economic downturn has meant that these measures have not reined in the explosive growth in legal cases. The relatively rapid growth in securities investment dispute cases has also put pressure on adjudication institutions, resulting in the current situation where the volume of work is enormous, resources are insufficient, adjudication efficiency is low, and there exists significant room for enhancing the predictability and appropriateness of adjudication outcomes.

It is worth noting that such disputes need not necessarily be resolved through litigation. During the pandemic, the authors resolved several disputes involving losses on investments in wealth management products through mediation.

吴震宇, Wu Zhenyu, Associate, ETR Law Firm
Wu Zhenyu
Associate
ETR Law Firm

Legal basis

Under the Mediation Rules of the China Securities Investor Services Centre, disputes between capital market entities in connection with securities, futures, funds and other such related business that fall within the scope accepted by the centre are:

(1) disputes between investors and listed companies;

(2) disputes between investors and firms dealing in securities and futures;

(3) disputes between investors and other capital market entities;

(4) disputes between investors; and

(5) other disputes that the centre deems it can accept.

On 20 November 2019, the Supreme People’s Court, the People’s Bank of China and the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission jointly issued the Opinions on Comprehensively Promoting the Development of Diverse Mechanisms for the Settlement of Financial Disputes. These further clarify and emphasise the need to strengthen the development of a litigation and mediation linking mechanism that involves pre-litigation mediation, judicial confirmation, etc. for financial disputes.

The new Securities Law, which was implemented on 1 March 2020, provides that where a dispute arises between an investor and an issuer, securities company, etc., either party may apply to an investor protection institution for mediation. Where a securities related dispute arises between an ordinary investor and a securities company and the ordinary investor requests mediation, the securities company may not refuse the request.

The advantages

Mediation can play an important role in resolving securities investment disputes, having as it does the following advantages:

Efficient – streamlined procedure, quick dispute resolution

Low cost – in ordinary disputes, the parties can take part in mediation without the need to appoint an agent, reducing expenses compared with litigation and arbitration

Non-adversarial – mediation helps maintain the relationship between business partners

Quick – mediation agreements reached by the parties themselves are generally quickly performed

Judicial resources can be saved if parties can resolve a dispute through mediation. Also, diverse and efficient dispute resolution is of major advantage to commercial activities and helps to spark enterprise dynamism.

Proper enforcement

China has yet to establish a comprehensive enforcement and recognition procedure or, in general principle, to make mediation agreements enforceable. For now, the recognition of mediation agreements reached in relation to securities disputes is generally carried out by such means as mutual recognition on a case-by-case basis by the various institutions and local courts, joint assistance, etc.

Under the mediation rules, the agreement between parties is only of the nature of a civil contract and the centre has the right to track and revisit the performance of such an agreement, but the only means of monitoring available to it is its right to record the integrity information of the parties in accordance with the Measures for the Oversight of Integrity in the Securities and Futures Markets.

In order to make such commercial mediation agreements enforceable, the parties need to complete judicial confirmation, notarisation or arbitration in accordance with the relevant regulations. This is the only way that they can secure a judicial confirmation ruling or an enforceable notarial certificate or an arbitral award, and finally apply to a court for enforcement.

As for international mediation agreements, the issue of bringing the mainland legal system in line with international conventions is still to be resolved. China was among the first signatories to the UN Convention on International Settlement Agreements Resulting from Mediation – known as the Singapore Convention. However, the convention still needs to be ratified by the National People’s Congress.

Although commercial activities in China have always emphasised mediation to resolve disputes, there is no systematic legal regime for this, and even though China has the Arbitration Law, it is currently only secondary-level legislation, not to mention that legislative work on a more specific commercial mediation law has yet to commence.

To promote the development of a professionalised, market-oriented and internationalised commercial mediation service industry, it would be good for accredited investor service centres to incorporate in their mediation rules proven domestic and foreign experience and practices that are logical and self-consistent. This would provide more systematic and extensive practical materials for the system arrangements of a higher-level law, such as a future commercial mediation law.

Jeffery Quan is a senior partner and Wu Zhenyu is an associate at ETR Law Firm

10 & 29/F, Chow Tai Fook Finance Centre

No.6 Zhujiang Dong Road, Tianhe District

Guangzhou 510623, China

Tel: +86 20 3718 1333

Fax: +86 20 3718 1388

Email:

qzh@etrlawfirm.com

wuzy@etrlawfirm.com

www.etrlawfirm.cn