国际仲裁中的证人挑选及准备

作者: 董箫、赵慧丽,安杰律师事务所
0
443

常来说,在中国境内的仲裁及诉讼案件中,有证人出庭的案件比例并不高。然而,在国际商事仲裁案件当中,多数案件都会有证人出庭作证,并且对证人的盘问占据案件庭审的绝大部分时间。本文意图结合笔者实践,为当事人在国际仲裁中挑选事实证人、做好庭前准备提供参考。

董箫 安杰律师事务所 国际仲裁
董箫
安杰律师事务所
合伙人

Q:什么是国际仲裁中的“事实证人”?国际仲裁中对出庭作证的证人有什么要求?

A:国际仲裁中的事实证人是指,知晓案件事实情况并向仲裁庭提供证言的人。

根据实践中广泛采用的《国际律师协会国际仲裁取证规则》,包括当事人或当事人的高级职员、雇员或其他代理人在内的任何人均可以作为证人作证。为避免“突然袭击”的证词,仲裁庭一般会在开庭前要求证人提交出庭作证的书面陈述并明确证人身份。每位证人应亲自出席开庭,除非仲裁庭允许证人以视频会议或其他方式参加开庭。

Q:国际仲裁中的证人主要有哪些作用?

赵慧丽 安杰律师事务所 国际仲裁
赵慧丽
安杰律师事务所
合伙人

A:国际仲裁案件通常是通过对证人的质询来呈现案件相关证据,展现案件事实全貌,以帮助仲裁庭了解案情。据此,通过证人作证,证人一方当事人有机会证明所主张的案情,突出核心事实,解释不利证据或书证中模糊、歧义的内容,并补充说明缺乏书证证明的细节事实。对方当事人有机会盘问证人,挑战证人可信度;仲裁庭则可在此过程中权衡是否采信证人证言,从而在当事人对于事实认定存在分歧的情况下作出判断。

Q:国际仲裁中,证人出庭作证的主要流程?

A:庭审中,仲裁庭一般会先确认证人身份,并要求证人承诺其讲述的是事实真相。此后,证人一方的律师会对证人进行简短的主询问(examination in chief),一般是确认证言确实由该证人出具,内容真实可靠。本方律师有时也会借机请证人陈述核心事实。主询问后,对方律师会对证人进行详细盘问(cross-examination),以引出对盘问方有利的证言,并降低证人的可信度。盘问通常不局限于证人书面陈述的内容,而会扩展至与纠纷相关的所有事实。盘问过后,本方律师仍有一次机会再询问(re-examination)证人,主要是让证人进一步澄清在盘问中的回答。再询问一般只针对盘问的内容,不提出其他新问题。仲裁庭可以在以上阶段随时向证人提问。

Q:如何挑选国际仲裁中的证人?

A:因为在案件相关事实发生的过程中,可能存在多名人员从不同角度对案件事实有所了解,因此可能存在多位证人候选人。为达到最佳证明效果,当事人需要挑选最适合作证的证人。挑选证人有多方面的考虑,例如,对重要案件事实的熟悉程度,语言表达能力,有无作证经验或法律背景,有无充裕时间准备作证,候选人的个性、抗压能力,所能展示的可信度、说服力等。在决定证人人选时,要注意避免选取太多证人,以避免因认知和记忆偏差导致多名证人之间的证言相互矛盾。

Q:中国证人在国际仲裁中出庭作证常见的问题?

A:因对国际仲裁了解有限,中国当事人在作证过程中较为常见的问题有:(1)充当代理人或仲裁员,发表法律或其他非事实意见;(2)陈述与案件不相关的事实,或陈述事实前后矛盾、逻辑不清;(3)对证据和书面证言不熟悉;(4)作证语言风格不够自然、准备痕迹过重;(5)没有回答被问的问题或回答问题后,补充过多没有必要的内容;(6)回答内容冗长且不断重复;(7)因文化不同、语言不通、翻译错误等,无法准确表达真实意思。

以上问题都可能降低仲裁庭对证人的信任度,暴露对己方不利的事实,或被对方律师加以利用、证明对其有利的主张。

Q:在国际仲裁中,律师应该如何帮助证人做开庭前的准备工作?

A:在严格遵守律师执业道德守则的前提下,首先,律师可以协助证人回忆并梳理案件事实,理清作证思路;其次,律师可以向证人介绍开庭的一般流程,使证人了解自身角色定位、证人证言作用,提示并纠正证人作证常见的问题,帮助证人了解对方律师盘问的方式,以及熟悉需要证人作证的焦点问题。如有必要,律师还可以与证人开展虚拟案件的模拟庭审,帮助证人更自信地面对国际仲裁庭审。

作者:安杰律师事务所合伙人董箫、赵慧丽

董箫 赵慧丽 安杰律师事务所 国际仲裁

安杰律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东方东路19号院5号楼
亮马桥外交办公大楼D1座19层 邮编:100600
电话: +86 10 8567 5988
传真: +86 10 8567 5999
电子信箱:

dongxiao@anjielaw.com

zhaohuili@anjielaw.com

www.anjielaw.com

Witness selection, preparation in international arbitration

By Dong Xiao and Zhao Huili, AnJie Law Firm
0
62

generally speaking, in arbitration and litigation cases in China the proportion of cases with witnesses appearing in a hearing is not high. However, in most international commercial arbitration cases, witnesses will testify in a hearing, and cross-examination against witnesses takes up most of the hearing time. This article provides a reference for the party concerned to select factual witnesses in international arbitration and prepare the witness before the hearing.

Dong Xiao AnJie Law Firm International arbitration
Dong Xiao
AnJie Law Firm
Partner

Q: What is a ‘factual witness’ in international arbitration? What are the requirements for witnesses who testify in international arbitration?

A: A factual witness in international arbitration refers to a person who knows the facts of a case and provides testimony to the arbitral tribunal.

In accordance with the International Bar Association’s (IBA) Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration, which is widely used in practice, anyone, including the party concerned or its officers, employees or other agents, can testify as a witness. In order to avoid the “sudden attack” testimony, the arbitral tribunal usually requires the witness to submit a written statement and to clarify the identity of the witness before the hearing. Every witness shall attend the hearing in person, unless the arbitral tribunal allows the witness to attend the hearing by video-conference or other means.

Zhao Huili AnJie Law Firm International arbitration
Zhao Huili
AnJie Law Firm
Partner

Q: What are the main functions of witnesses in international arbitration?

A: In international arbitration, witnesses are usually questioned to present relevant evidence and show the overall facts of the case to help the arbitral tribunal understand the case. Therefore, through witness testimony, the party providing a witness statement has the opportunity to prove its claim of the case, highlight the core facts, explain the vague and ambiguous content in the unfavourable evidence or documentary evidence, and supplement the detailed facts lacking documentary evidence. The opposing party has the opportunity to cross-examine a witness and challenge their credibility. In this process, the arbitral tribunal can decide whether to accept the testimony of the witness, so as to make a judgment when the parties disagree on the facts.

Q: In international arbitration, what is the main process for witnesses to testify during a hearing?

A: During a hearing, the arbitral tribunal usually confirms the identity of the witness and asks the witness to promise that what he or she is telling is the truth. After that, the lawyer of the witness side will make a brief examination-in-chief with the witness, generally to confirm that the testimony is indeed made by the witness and the content is true and reliable. The lawyer sometimes takes the opportunity to ask the witness to state the core facts.

After the examination-in-chief, the lawyer of the opposing party will conduct a cross-examination against the witness in detail to get testimony favourable to its side and reduce the credibility of the witness. A cross-examination is usually not limited to that on the written statements, but extends to all the facts related to the dispute.

After the cross-examination, the lawyer of the witness side still has a chance to conduct a re-examination with the witness, mainly for having the witness further clarify the answers in the cross-examination. Re-examination is generally limited to the content of cross-examination, and will not raise any new questions. The arbitral tribunal may question the witness at any time during the above-mentioned stage.

Q: How are witnesses selected in international arbitration?

A: There may be many witness candidates, as there may be many people who know the facts of the case from different angles in the process of the occurrence of relevant facts of a case. To best prove its case, the party concerned needs to select the most suitable witness to testify.

There are many considerations in selecting witnesses, such as the witness’s familiarity with the important facts of the case, language expression ability, whether the witness has testimony experience or legal background, or has sufficient time to prepare for testimony, the candidate’s personality or ability to resist pressure, and the credibility and persuasiveness that can be demonstrated.

When deciding witness candidates, parties should pay attention to avoiding selecting too many witnesses, so as to avoid contradictory testimony among multiple witnesses caused by cognitive and memory bias.

Q: What are the common problems of Chinese witnesses testifying in international arbitration?

A: Because of the limited awareness of international arbitration, Chinese parties concerned often encounter the following problems in the process of testifying: (1) acting as an attorney or arbitrator, and providing legal or other non-factual opinions; (2) stating facts unrelated to the case, or stating facts that are inconsistent and unclear in logic; (3) being unfamiliar with evidence and written statements; (4) providing testimony in a language style not natural enough, with heavy preparation traces; (5) failing to answer the question raised, or adding too much unnecessary content after answering; (6) providing lengthy and repetitive answers; and (7) failing to accurately express the true meaning due to cultural differences, language barriers and translation errors, etc.

All of the above-mentioned problems may reduce the credibility of the witnesses, expose facts that are unfavourable to the party’s own side, or be used by the lawyer of the opposing party to prove claims favourable to them.

Q: In international arbitration, how should lawyers help witnesses prepare before a hearing?

A: Under the premise of strictly observing the code of ethics for lawyers, first of all, lawyers can assist witnesses to recall and sort out the facts of the case, and clarify the ideas of testimony; second, lawyers can introduce the general process of the hearing to witnesses to make them understand their role and the importance of witness testimony, as well as prompt and correct common problems in testimony, help witnesses understand the methods of cross-examination by the lawyer of the opposing party, and get familiar with the key issues that have required the witnesses to testify. If necessary, lawyers can also conduct mock trials of virtual cases with witnesses to help them face international arbitration hearings more confidently.

Dong Xiao and Zhao Huili are partners at AnJie Law Firm

Dong Xiao Zhao Huili AnJie Law Firm International arbitration

AnJie Law Firm
19/F Tower D1, Liangmaqiao Diplomatic Office Building
19 Dongfang East Road, Chaoyang District
Beijing 100600, China
Tel: +86 10 8567 5988
Fax: +86 10 8567 5999
E-mail:

dongxiao@anjielaw.com

zhaohuili@anjielaw.com

www.anjielaw.com