用词错误导致劳动合同解除通知被撤销

0
388
Termination contract meets sticky ‘ending’
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

河南新乡市中级人民法院审结的一起案件中,由于一个小小的语言错误,法庭裁定撤销了一份劳动合同解除通知书。

该案中,某员工未正常上班,也未办理请假手续,因此公司拟解除劳动合同,然而,公司下达的是《劳动合同终止通知书》,误用了“终止”一词,而非“解除”,两者为中国法下的不同概念。

该员工于2017年3月23日生病住院,向公司请了大约五周的假,到5月1日。假期结束后,该员工没有到公司报到,也没有继续办理请假手续。公司于10月提醒她到公司报到。

但当该员工应要求回公司报到时,以当前岗位上班时间太长为由要求公司重新安排岗位。公司拒绝其要求,员工未继续上班。

11月6日,公司向该员工送达了《劳动合同终止通知书》,认为其长时间未到公司报到,按照旷工处理;公司根据《劳动合同法》第三十九条规定解除劳动合同,终止劳动
关系。

在庭审中,法庭认为,员工自2017年5月2日起便没有向公司提交任何病假条,也没有证据表明她在那天之后有向公司请假。她没有按公司通知的要求回公司报到,履行工作职责。考虑到公司提交的考勤记录,法庭认定员工行为已构成旷工。

但是,公司下达的是一份“劳动合同终止通知书”,而不是“劳动合同解除通知书”,属程序错误。在中国的《劳动合同法》下,“终止劳动关系”和“解除劳动关系”是两个不同的概念,分别由不同的条款规定。

“终止劳动关系”一般指在发生某些情形后,如固定期限合同到期后,劳动关系自动终止,而“解除”一般指用人单位或员工主动通知对方提前解除劳动关系。

一审法院裁定,公司与员工之间的劳动合同没有解除,公司继续履行劳动合同。二审法院维持原判。

总结

本案的裁决体现了保护雇员利益的立法意图,雇主一个小小的用词错误最终导致劳动关系解除无效。从法律角度看,解除劳动合同和终止劳动合同属两个不同的法律概念,雇主不应混淆这两个概念。

在向员工发送劳动合同解除或终止通知时,雇主应当注意通知的性质并审阅用词,或寻求专业协助以避免出现程序上的瑕疵。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Termination contract meets a sticky ‘ending’

0
679
Termination contract meets sticky ‘ending’
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The termination of an employment contract was ruled invalid by Henan Xinxiang Intermediate People’s Court due to one small language error.

A company wished to terminate the contract of an employee who had been absent without leave. But it sent her a “Notice of ending of employment contract”, using the word “end” instead of “terminate” – two different concepts under PRC law.

The employee was hospitalised with an illness on 23 March 2017, and took about five weeks’ leave until 1 May. After the leave ended, she neither showed up for work nor applied for more leave. The company reminded her in October that she should come to work, but on reporting for duty she requested another job because the hours of her current job were too long. The company refused her request and the employee stopped going to work.

The company sent her the contended “Notice of ending of employment contract” on 6 November, arguing that the employee was deemed absent without leave, since she had not reported for work for such a long period. The company terminated her employment contract and employment relationship on the basis of article 39 of the Law on Employment Contracts.

During the trial, the court found that the employee had not submitted any sick note to the company after 2 May, and there was no evidence of her applying for leave following that date. Neither had she reported for work or fulfilled her job duties as requested. Considering attendance records submitted by the company, her conduct constituted absence without leave.

However, the company had erroneously sent her the “Notice of ending of employment contract” instead of a “Notice of termination of employment contract”. The terms are two different concepts under PRC law, addressed in two different provisions of the Employment Contract Law.

“Ending of employment” generally refers to automatic ending of employment on the occurrence of certain events, such as expiration of a fixed-term contract, whereas “termination” generally refers to when either the employer or employee actively notifies the other party to terminate the employment early.

The court of first instance ruled that the employment contract between the company and the employee had not been effectively terminated and therefore should continue to be performed. The court of second instance upheld the original judgment.

KEY TAKEAWAYS

This judgment reflects the legislative intent to favour protection of workers, and the small mistake in terminology by the employer eventually led to invalidation of termination of the employment relationship. From a legal point of view, the termination of an employment contract and the ending of an employment contract are two different legal concepts, and should not be confused by employers.

When providing an employee with notice of termination/ending of their employment contract, employers should pay attention to the nature of the notice and review the wording, or seek professional advice to avoid procedural defects.



Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link