漫谈上市公司私有化策略

作者: 列颖仪、郭己萍,汇嘉律师事务所
0
247

近来,市场上公开的私有化项目有上升趋势。由于新冠疫情和由去年开始的全球经济放缓,目前恒指市盈率跌至10年以来低位,这个时间私有化对于大股东而言很有吸引力。

上市公司私有化的目标是令被收购上市公司除牌。控股股东把小股东手里的股份全部买回来,扩大已有份额,最终使这家公司由公众公司变为私人公司。

谈到上市公司,不得不提的是,在香港上市公司主要以非香港公司为主。而且,开曼群岛和百慕大等的离岸公司,也就是我们俗称的“红筹”公司为大多数。“红筹”公司的比例大概是整体香港上市公司的75%。因此,在考虑上市公司私有化的途径时,一定需要考虑上市公司的注册地点的法律要求。

列颖仪, Jo Lit, Partner, Walkers
列颖仪
合伙人
汇嘉律师事务所

三种途径

上市公司的私有化途径主要有三种:(1)法定合并;(2)协议安排;(3)要约收购再加上强制性收购。

第一种方式是法定合并。这是在美国上市的公司用得比较多的私有化途径。采用法定合并的方法来退市的美国上市开曼群岛公司包括分众传媒、巨人互动、迈瑞医疗、盛大游戏,等等。一些公司采用法定合并在美国退市,以准备在中国国内市场以更高的估值重新上市。

通常,提出合并计划的股东或者是投资人会先设立一个干净的壳公司,作为拟退市公司的合并对象。如果不是短线合并,合并计划一般需要参与合并每一家公司(包括上市公司)的董事和股东批准。但是,合并计划并不需要注册地法院的批准。不同意被收购的股东,可以就收购价值向开曼法院提出对他所持股份重新估值的要求。因此,如果存在小股东要求重新估值,公司可能在退市之后还要跟小股东在法庭纠缠一段时间。

第二种方式是用协议安排计划。通过协议安排私有化,控股股东会向股东提出协议安排,建议注销所有小股东持有的股份,并向小股东支付对价作为交换。

尽管上市公司的上市地点是在香港或美国,但是,有关的协议安排必须根据公司成立所在地的公司法执行。如协议获得股东和法庭通过,协议对所有股东均具约束力。小股东所持有的股份将被注销,而控权股东将因此持有该公司100%的股权。

除了通常就法庭判决的上诉外,此种途径下并无其他制裁后异议的法律问题。因此,该途径下私有化的结果具有确定性。

第三种方式是要约收购。要约人一般为大股东或实际控制人,会向上市公司全部股东提出股份收购要约,要约完成后若满足私有化条件,则可以向交易所申请撤销股份上市地位。

若在最初要约文件发出后的四个月内,要约人获得了除自身外股份总数的 90%同意或接受要约,对余下未同意要约的股东股份,要约人可行使强制收购的权利。不同意被强制收购的股东可以向法院提出申请,以说明原因。

郭己萍, Kristen Kwok, partner, Walkers
郭己萍
合伙人
汇嘉律师事务所

私有化融资

除非是纯以股份换股份作为收购代价,由于要约人需要巨额现金来支付小股东的收购代价,要约人通常也需要在交割前获取银团融资,来确保交割时有充足的现金支付收购代价,而且监管机构也要求要约人确定它已经具备充足的资金来源,以支付收购代价。

如果上市公司采用法定合并来进行私有化,要约人获取银团融资时的先决条件,通常包含以下几项:

(1)合并协议和商定的合并计划;

(2)根据开曼法必须向开曼公司注册局提交与合并有关的所其他有文件的副本;

(3)债权人同意。

后续条件包括提供开曼群岛公司注册处处长签发的合并证明书、合并有效法律意见书、目标公司更新的股东名册和董事名册,以及退市后经修订的公司章程大纲及细则等等。

如果上市公司采用协议安排来进行私有化,融资的先决条件则包括:法庭批准协议安排计划的证书和协议安排公告。后续条件与前述途径相似。

如果上市公司采用要约收购来进行私有化,融资的先决条件则通常包括:要约人可以行使强制收购的证据、要约收购公告等等。后续条件与前述途径相似。


列颖仪是汇嘉律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式是电话 +852 2596 3383以及电邮jo.lit@walkersglobal.com

郭己萍是汇嘉律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式是电话 +852 2596 3324以及电邮 kristen.kwok@walkersglobal.com

Strategies for privatisation of listed companies

By Jo Lit and Kristen Kwok, Walkers
0
677

Recently, there has been an upward trend in the number of privatisation projects announced in the market. With the price-earnings (P/E) ratio of the Hang Seng Index at a 10-year low due to the covid-19 epidemic, and the global economic slowdown that began last year, many major shareholders of listed companies are attracted to the idea of taking their companies private.

列颖仪, Jo Lit, Partner, Walkers
Jo Lit
Partner
Walkers

The goal of privatisation of listed companies is to delist the subject listed companies. The controlling shareholders acquire all the shares held by the minority shareholders and increase their stakes in the company, so that the company is converted from a public to a private company.

Most listed companies in Hong Kong are non-Hong Kong companies. Offshore companies registered in Cayman Islands and Bermuda, which are commonly known as red-chip companies, constitute the majority of the listed companies.

Red-chip companies account for about 75% of the total listed companies in Hong Kong. Therefore, when considering the approach of privatisation of listed companies, we must consider the legal requirements of the jurisdiction of registration of the listed companies.

Three methods

There are three main methods to privatise listed companies: (1) statutory merger; (2) scheme of arrangement; and (3) general offer together with compulsory acquisition.

(1) Statutory merger. This is commonly used by companies listed in the US. American-listed Cayman Islands companies that have been delisted by way of statutory merger include Focus Media, Giant, Mindray Bio-Medical and Shanda Games. Some companies are delisted in the US by statutory merger in order to prepare for re-listing at a higher valuation in China’s domestic market.

Usually, the shareholders or investors who put forward the merger plan will set up a clean shell company with a view to merging it with the target listed company. In general, except for short-form mergers, this requires the approval of the merger plan by the directors and shareholders of every constituent company (including the listed company) involved in the merger.

However, the merger plan does not require the approval of the court of the place of registration. If a shareholder objects to the acquisition of his/her shares as part of the merger plan, such shareholder may apply to a Cayman court for appraisal of the value of his/her shares. Therefore, if there are dissenting shareholders who apply to the Cayman court for appraisal of the value of their shares, the subject company may need to deal with such dissenting shareholders in court for a period of time after its delisting.

郭己萍, Kristen Kwok, partner, Walkers
Kristen Kwok
Partner
Walkers

(2) Scheme of arrangement. For this method, the controlling shareholders may propose to the other minority shareholders in the scheme to cancel all shares held by them, and pay consideration to them in exchange.

Although a listed company is listed in Hong Kong or the US, the relevant arrangement must be implemented in accordance with the companies law of the place where the company is incorporated or registered. If the scheme of arrangement is approved by shareholders and the court, it will be binding on all shareholders. The shares held by minority shareholders may then be cancelled, and the controlling shareholders will hold 100% of the shares of the company when the scheme becomes effective.

Apart from the right to appeal against court decisions in general, the minority shareholders are not entitled to challenge the scheme of arrangement after it becomes effective. Therefore, this gives certainty of outcome to the privatisation.

(3) General offer. The offeror is often a major shareholder or the controller, who will make an offer to all shareholders of the listed company. After the general offer is completed, if the privatisation conditions are met, the offeror can apply to the relevant stock exchange for delisting the shares of the subject company.

Where the offer has, within four months being made by the offeror, been accepted by the holders of not less than 90% in value of the shares affected, the offeror may exercise the right of compulsory acquisition, and acquire the shares held by shareholders who have not accepted the general offer. The dissenting shareholders have the right to apply to the court if they object to the compulsory acquisition.

Privatisation financing

Except where consideration for the privatisation will be satisfied by a share swap, the offeror will usually need to obtain financing from a syndicate of lenders before completion of the privatisation to ensure it has sufficient cash to settle the purchase consideration. Regulators will also require the offeror to confirm that it has sufficient resources to fund the privatisation in full.

If the privatisation is by way of a statutory merger, the conditions precedent to funding will include:

(1) an executed merger agreement and agreed form of plan of merger;

(2) copies of all other documents relating to the merger required under the laws of Cayman Islands to be filed with the Registry of Companies in the Cayman Islands; and

(3) consent of the creditors.

Conditions subsequent for the merger financing include: A certificate of merger issued by the Registrar of Companies in the Cayman Islands; a Cayman legal opinion on effectiveness of the merger, updated register of shareholders and register of directors of the surviving company; and the amended and restated memorandum and articles of association of the surviving company after delisting.

If the privatisation is by way of a scheme of arrangement, the conditions precedent to funding will include: A copy of the order of the Cayman court sanctioning the scheme of arrangement; and the public announcement made in respect of the scheme of the arrangement. The conditions subsequent are similar to those for merger financing.

If the privatisation is by way of a general offer, the conditions precedent to funding will include: Evidence that the offeror has met the requirements for compulsory acquisition; a public announcement of the general offer; and so on. The conditions subsequent are similar to those for the financings described above.


Jo Lit is a partner at Walkers. She can be contacted on +852 2596 3383 or by email at jo.lit@walkersglobal.com

Kristen Kwok is a partner at Walkers. She can be contacted on +852 2596 3324 or by email at kristen.kwok@walkersglobal.com