科创板“科创属性” 评价体系再升级

作者: 刘涛,通商律师事务所
0
90

为集聚优质科创企业,中国监管部门提升了科创板的进场门槛并建立负面清单制度,金融科技和房地产公司将受限制

自科创板推出以来,拟上市企业的创属性衡量标准一直备受关注。2020年3月,证监会和 上交所先后发布《科创属性评价指引(试行)》及《科创板企业发行上市申报及推荐暂行规定》,推出 “科创属性” 评价体系,明确了企业的科创属性定量标准,提高了注册审核透明度,也为后续科创板集聚优质科创企业发挥了重要作用。

刘涛, Daniel Liu, Partner, Commerce & Finance Law Offices
刘涛
合伙人
通商律师事务所

然而,在审核实践中也出现了部分企业研发人员占比过低、科技创新能力不足、所处行业市场认可度不高等问题,监管部门决定优化调整科创板 “科创属性” 评价体系,提高科创板 “硬科技” 门槛。为此,监管部门于 2021年4月16日修订了前述两项文件。

此次 “科创属性” 评价体系再升级主要体现在如下三个方面:

第一,充分体现科技人才在创新中的核心作用,新增研发人员占比超过10%的常规指标,从 “3+5” 修改为 “4+5” 的科创属性评价指标。具体包括:

四项需同时满足的常规指标:

(1) 最近三年研发投入占营业收入比例5%以上,或最近三年研发投入金额累计在6000万元以上,其中软件行业研发投入占比应在10%以上;

(2) 研发人员占当年员工总数的比例不低于10%;

(3) 形成主营业务收入的发明专利五项以上 (软件行业不适用) ;

(4) 最近三年营业收入复合增长率达到20%,或最近一年营业收入金额达到3亿元 (若采取第五套上市标准,可不适用3亿元营收规定)。

五项满足任何一项即可的例外指标:

(1) 发行人拥有的核心技术经国家主管部门认定具有国际领先、引领作用或者对于国家战略具有重大意义;

(2) 发行人作为主要参与单位或者发行人的核心技术人员作为主要参与人员,获得国家科技进步奖、国家自然科学奖、国家技术发明奖,并将相关技术运用于公司主营业务;

(3) 发行人独立或者牵头承担与主营业务和核心技术相关的国家重大科技专项项目;

(4) 发行人依靠核心技术形成的主要产品 (服务),属于国家鼓励、支持和推动的关键设备、关键产品、关键零部件、关键材料等,并实现了进口替代;

(5) 形成核心技术和主营业务收入的发明专利合计50项以上。

第二,明确建立负面清单制度,对不同行业领域的企业按照 “支持类”、“限制类” 和 “禁止类” 进行分类处理。包括:

. 支持类: 积极支持新一代信息系统、高端装备、新材料、新能源、节能环保、生物医药等六大行业领域的 “硬科技” 企业在科创板上市;

. 限制类: 对于金融科技、模式创新等类型的企业,限制其在科创板上市;

. 禁止类: 对于房地产和主要从事金融投资类业务的企业,禁止其在科创板上市。

第三,强调各参与方在落实 “科创属性” 评价中的职责,完善专家库和征求意见制度,形 成监管合力。包括:

. 对于发行人,要求其准确认定所属行业、审慎客观评估自身是否符合科创属性,特别警示发行人不得 “拼凑指标” (如研发投入注水、突击收购专利等)、夸大科创技术水平和科 技技术标准。

. 对于保荐机构,要求其对发行人自我评估涉及的相关事项进行尽职调查,重点核查把关 发行人科创属性认定的依据,并提示保荐机构结合发行人的技术先进性等情况进行综合 判断,不应简单根据相关数量指标得出发行人符合科创板定位的结论。

. 对于上交所,其明确在发行审核中,将按照实质重于形式的原则,判断发行人自我评估是否客观、保荐机构核查把关是否充分,并且强调上交所可以就发行人的科创属性向科创板科技创新咨询委员会履行正式咨询程序,参照咨询意见作出是否符合科创板定位的审核 判断,并按规定程序出具审核意见。

短期来看,科创板 “科创属性” 评价体系再升级,切实提高了科创板的准入门槛,尤其对行业实施分类管理,将会导致部分企业转向其他资本市场寻求上市。从中期来看,“科创属性” 评价体系的进一步完善,有助于增强科创板审核工作的透明度和规范性,并从源头上提高科创板上市公司质量。最终,受益于科创板定位的进一步明晰,企业、保荐机构、交易所等各参与方的职责归位,将会持续改善资本市场生态。


刘涛是通商律师事务所合伙人,他的联系方式是电话+86 21 6019 3260以及电邮 liutao@tongshang.com

Star upgrades innovation attribute assessment system

By Daniel Liu, Commerce & Finance Law Offices
0
50

To attract more innovative businesses to the Star Market, regulators raised the threshold for issuers and introduced a negative list that restricts fintech ventures and prohibits real estate companies

Since the launch of the Science and Technology Innovation Board (Star Market), the criteria for weighing the science and technology innovation attributes of enterprises proposing to list have been the focus of attention. In March 2020, the China Securities Regulatory Commission and Shanghai Stock Exchange issued the Guidelines for the Assessment of Science and Technology Innovation Attributes (for Trial Implementation) and the Interim Provisions for the Filing by, and Recommendation of, Enterprises Making Offerings and Listing on the Star Market.

刘涛, Daniel Liu, Partner, Commerce & Finance Law Offices
Daniel Liu
Partner
Commerce & Finance Law Offices

These rolled out the “science and technology innovation attribute” assessment system, set the quantitative criteria for the science and technology innovation attributes of enterprises, enhanced the transparency of registration reviews and brought to bear the key role of gathering high-quality scientific and technological innovation enterprises onto the Star Market.

However, issues arose, such as companies having too low an R&D staff ratio, insufficient scientific and technological innovation capabilities, and low market recognition in the industry in question. Regulators decided to optimise and adjust the Star Market’s “science and technology innovation attribute” assessment system and raise its “hard science and technology” threshold. To this end, they revised the two documents, on 16 April 2021.

This upgrading of the system is chiefly seen in three aspects:

(1) Full reflection of the core role of scientific and technological talent in innovation, adding the indicator that R&D personnel are to account for more than 10% of the workforce, and revising the “3+5” science and technology innovation attribute assessment benchmarks to “4+5”. More specifically, this includes:

. Four conventional indicators that need to be satisfied:

(i) R&D outlays of at least 5% of operating income or totalling at least RMB60 million (US$9.3 million) during the past three years, and, in the case of the software industry, R&D outlays of at least 10% of operating income;

(ii) R&D personnel at least 10% of the workforce during the year in question;

(iii) having at least five invention patents that give rise to the income from the main business (not applicable to the software industry); and

(iv) operating income compound growth of at least 20% during the past three years, or at least RMB300 million during the past year (if the fifth set of listing criteria is used, the RMB300 million in operating revenue may be obviated).

. An additional five indicators of which any one needs to be satisfied:

(i) the core technology owned by the issuer being recognized as having a leading or guiding role internationally, or being of great significance to national strategy;

(ii) the issuer, as a main participant, or the issuer’s core technical personnel, as main participants, having won the National Science and Technology Progress Award, the National Natural Science Award or the National Technological Invention Award and the relevant technology being applied in its main business;

(iii) the issuer having under taken or led a major dedicated national science or technology project related to its main business and core technology;

(iv) the main product (service) arising on the basis of the issuer’s core technology being key equipment, a key product, a key part or component, a key material, etc. encouraged, supported and promoted by the state and substituting for an import; or

(v) having a total of at least 50 invention patents that have given rise to the core technology and main business revenue.

(2) Express establishment of a negative list system where enterprises in different industries and sectors are furthermore classified as supported, restricted or prohibited, in terms of assessment for Star listing.

. Supported: “Hard science and technology” enterprises in new generation information systems; high-end equipment; new materials; alternative energy; energy saving and environmental protection; and biopharmaceuticals.

. Restricted: Enterprises that involve innovation in financial technology, models, etc.

. Prohibited: Real estate enterprises and those mainly engaged in financial and investment business.

(3) There is an emphasis on the responsibilities of each participant in the innovation attribute assessment, and improvement of the pool of experts, and the system of soliciting comments, giving rise to regulatory co-operation, including:

. An issuer must accurately identify its industry and prudently and objectively assess whether it has science and technology innovation attributes; issuers are particularly warned not to “piece together indicators” (e.g., padding R&D outlays, buying patents, etc.), or exaggerate their innovation technology level or technical standards.

. Sponsors are required to do due diligence on issuers’ self-assessment, and verify the basis for determining the issuer’s science and technology innovation attributes. Sponsors must also assess the issuer’s technological advancement and other such factors in making a comprehensive determination, and not conclude that the issuer fits the Star Market based simply on the relevant quantitative indicators.

. For the Shanghai exchange, as specified in the offering review, it is to determine whether the issuer’s self-assessment is objective and the sponsor’s verification and checking are adequate based on the principle of substance over form. The exchange may, in respect of the issuer’s science and technology innovation attributes, carry out a formal consultation procedure with the Science and Technology Innovation Advisory Committee of the Star Market, render its review determination as to whether the issuer is in keeping with the positioning of the Star Market by referring to the advisory opinion, and issue its review opinion by the specified procedure.

In the short term, the upgraded assessment system raises the threshold for listing on the Star Market. In particular, the classification of industries will cause certain enterprises to turn to other capital markets. In the medium term, the im- improvement will enhance the transparency and normalisation of the review process, and fundamentally raise the quality of companies listed on the Star Market. Finally, the responsibilities of enterprises, sponsors and the exchange are clearly defined, which will improve the capital market environment on an ongoing basis.


Daniel Liu is a partner at Commerce & Finance Law Offices. He can be contacted on +86 21 6019 3260 or by email at liutao@tongshang.com