中芯国际回归A股

0
163
中芯国际于上海证券交易所上市现场-The-listing-ceremony-of-SMIC-at-Shanghai-Stock-Exchange
中芯国际于上海证券交易所上市现场

内地芯片制造巨头中芯国际集成电路制造有限公司(中芯国际)近期在A股科创板上市,募集资金共计532亿元人民币,是A股自2010年以来融资规模最大的IPO。

中芯国际主体设立在开曼群岛,曾于2004年在纽约、香港两地上市,去年从纽约证券交易所退市。此次登陆科创板使其成为首家回归A股的境外已上市红筹企业。

锦天城律师事务所担任发行人中芯国际的法律顾问,德恒律师事务所方达律师事务所担任联席保荐机构兼主承销商的法律顾问。

锦天城所高级合伙人王立向《商法》表示:“这次项目涉及到开曼群岛法、香港法及中国大陆法三个法域以及香港、大陆两地股票上市股则的比较、协调、统一。”

该所另一位高级合伙人沈诚补充道,如何让在境外运营近二十年的公司适应内地监管是个难题。律师团队在公司章程修订、内控制度、两地监管等方面进行了颇多尝试。

锦天城团队表示,尽管半导体行业没有强监管特性,但在知识产权处理方面有极高要求。此外,受中美贸易局势的影响,发行人律师也需在对外贸易合规方面,帮助中芯国际考虑与特定客户的合作关系。

作为“A+H”上市企业,中芯国际本次发行的A股与其目前在香港联交所上市流通的股票被认定为属同一类股,无需设置类别股东表决机制。

方达所合伙人楼伟亮说,如果设置上述机制,不仅会降低公司未来重大事项的表决效率,也可能会影响现有港股股东的权利、增加公司治理成本以及相关事项获得股东大会批准的难度。

尽管中芯国际是内地规模最大的集成电路制造企业,但直至4月末证监会发布新规降低企业市值要求门槛,中芯国际才符合上市标准。从递交申报稿到通过上交所科创板上市委审议,中芯国际创下19天A股最快过会记录。

“近两年,整个A股市场的包容性在增强并且在制度创新方面有很大进步,” 德恒所合伙人王雨微说,“我们相信陆续会有更多境外上市红筹企业,会基于发展战略以及对资本市场发展的需求回归A股上市。”

锦天城所项目总协调人为高级合伙人朱林海,现场负责人为高级合伙人王立。方达所由合伙人楼伟亮和刘一苇牵头。德恒所项目组主要成员为合伙人徐建军、王雨微、沈宏山、王剑锋。

SMIC returns to A-share market

0
178
中芯国际于上海证券交易所上市现场-The-listing-ceremony-of-SMIC-at-Shanghai-Stock-Exchange
The listing ceremony of SMIC at Shanghai Stock Exchange

Chinese chipmaker Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation (SMIC) raised RMB53.2 billion (US$7.7 billion) in its recent listing on the Star market, making it the largest A-share IPO since 2010.

Incorporated in the Cayman Islands, SMIC listed in New York and Hong Kong in 2004, and delisted from the New York Stock Exchange last year. Its listing on the Star market has made it the first overseas listed red-chip company to return to the A-share market.

AllBright Law Offices acted as legal counsel to the issuer, while DeHeng Law Offices and Fangda Partners jointly acted as legal counsel to the joint sponsors and lead underwriters.

“This project involved the jurisdictions of Cayman Islands, Hong Kong and mainland China,” Wang Li, a senior partner at AllBright, told China Business Law Journal, “and we needed to compare and co-ordinate on the rules for listings in Hong Kong and mainland China.”

Shen Cheng, another senior partner at AllBright, added that it was difficult to get a company that had operated overseas for nearly two decades to comply with mainland regulations. Therefore, the legal team expended a lot of effort revising the company’s regulations and internal control system, as well as complying with supervision in Hong Kong and mainland China.

“Although the semiconductor industry is not heavily regulated, it involves exceptionally high requirements for intellectual property,” said Shen. Due to Sino-US trade tensions, the issuer’s lawyers also had to evaluate SMIC’s co-operation with specific clients for international trade compliance.

As an A+H dual-listed company, SMIC’s shares in both exchanges have been identified as the same class, therefore shareholders of A and H shares enjoy the same voting rights.

Leo Lou, a partner at Fangda, said setting up a differentiated voting rights mechanism would not only reduce the company’s voting efficiency on major future issues, but may also affect the rights of existing Hong Kong shareholders, and increase the cost of corporate governance and the difficulties of related matters being approved by the shareholders’ meeting.

Although SMIC is the largest integrated circuit manufacturing company in mainland China, it could not meet the mainland listing requirements until late April, when the China Securities Regulatory Commission lowered the enterprise market value threshold for listing.

The SMIC IPO application was approved in 19 days, from submission of the application to approval by the listing committee of the Star Market, setting a record for the fastest approval for A shares.

“In the past two years, the inclusiveness of the entire A-share market has increased, and there has been great regulatory innovation,” said Wang Yuwei, a partner at DeHeng. “We believe that more overseas listed red-chip companies will return to the A-share market based on their growth strategy and capital needs.”

AllBright’s team was led by the senior partners Shen, Wang and Lawrence Zhu. Fangda’s team was led by partners Lou and Yvette Liu. DeHeng’s team was led by partners Xu Jianjun, Wang Yuwei, Shen Hongshan and Wang Jianfeng.