如何限制医药核心人员加入竞争公司

作者: 李明,植德律师事务所
0
784

从事生命医药领域的公司,特别是医药研发公司和机构,其运营和发展有赖于核心人员(包括核心技术人员),而核心人员的流失势必影响企业的生存和发展。

李明, Li Ming, Partner, Merits&Tree Law Offices
李明
合伙人
植德律师事务所

为保护公司的商业秘密,防止核心人员的任意流动,中国法下的一项重要的制度是竞业限制。本文拟以竞业限制为视角,来讨论医药企业如何限制核心人员加入竞争公司,以及在核心人员加入竞争公司后如何追责。

《劳动合同法》第23条、第24条规定,用人单位可与负有保密义务的人员约定竞业限制义务,竞业限制的人员限于高级管理人员、高级技术人员和其他负有保密义务的人员。

首先,竞业限制义务属于约定义务,以用人单位与劳动者存在竞业限制约定为前提。竞业限制约定的形式包括竞业限制协议、劳动合同或保密协议中的竞业限制条款等,其核心在于取得劳动者的确认。

其次,竞业限制义务的人员是有限制的,竞业限制义务并非适用于所有的劳动者,限于高级管理人员、高级技术人员和负有保密义务的人员。

用人单位追究核心人员违约责任的举证要求。如医药核心人员加入竞争公司,作为原用人单位,若启动法律程序拟追究该等人员的法律责任,需举证证明:

(1) 用人单位和劳动者之间存在有效的竞业限制约定。竞业限制约定一般需要涵盖竞业限制期限、限制对象、地域范围、补偿金标准、违约金等条款,其中核心必备条款是期限和违约金;

(2) 用人单位需要举证证明员工实际加入竞争公司,存在违约行为,常见的证据形式包括:员工在新单位的任职公告、社保缴费记录、代表竞争公司出席商业活动或签署商业文件、员工在社交媒体上公布新单位的信息等;

(3) 员工原任职的单位与新单位存在竞争关系。根据司法实践,法院判断两家公司是否存在竞争关系,主要是看两家公司的经营范围是否存在重合。

核心人员违反竞业限制义务所需承担的法律责任。医药公司在能举证核心人员存在违约的情况下,可以追究核心人员如下责任:

(1) 要求核心人员退还已支付的竞业限制补偿金。关于退还补偿金的金额是税前金额还是税后金额,用人单位与劳动者常常存在争议,笔者建议在协议中明确约定退还的竞业限制补偿金为税前金额;

(2) 要求核心技术人员支付违约金。关于违约金数额的认定,法院一般会参照协议约定,兼顾补偿金数额、履约情况、劳动者过错程度等因素。根据司法经验,法院在认定违约金数额时,不以用人单位能证明存在实际损失为前提,在此类案件中,用人单位也难以证明直接损失的存在,以及违约行为与损失之间的因果关系;

(3) 要求核心人员离开竞争公司、继续履行竞业限制义务。用人单位要求继续履约有法律依据,但在司法实践中很少被支持。

如果用人单位在竞业限制案件中能申请到“诉前行为保全”,在法律程序启动前,即要求员工不得为竞争公司服务,将能最大程度保护用人单位的利益。但截至目前,笔者尚未检索到用人单位在竞业限制案件中,成功申请到诉前禁令的案例。

新用人单位需要承担法律责任吗?如前所述,竞业限制义务属于约定义务,基于合同相对性原则,前用人单位仅能追究劳动者的违约责任,而无法基于竞业限制约定,主张新用人单位承担责任。

如新单位使用或放任劳动者使用前单位的商业秘密,前单位可主张新单位承担侵犯商业秘密的侵权责任,但追责存在举证难的问题,包括需要证明:新用人单位实际使用了原用人单位的商业秘密,以及新单位存在过错。

综上,竞业限制制度在保护用人单位权益虽然不够全面,但仍不失为医药公司留住核心人员、限制其加入竞争公司的重要举措。如劳动者有违约,用人单位可以追究其违约责任,在不少案例中,法院所判决的违约金达到上百万甚至逾千万元。同时,劳动者也自然会衡量违约成本,在决定是否加入竞争公司时将更为慎重。

植德律师事务所合伙人李明。植德律师事务所律师助理孙源对本文亦有贡献

community debt

植德律师事务所
北京市东城区东直门南大街1号
来福士中心办公楼5层 邮编: 100007
电话: +86 21 52533501
电子信箱: ming.li@meritsandtree.com

www.meritsandtree.com

Restrictions for core medical personnel joining competitors

By Li Ming, Merits & Tree Law Offices
0
129

Video is in mandarin

Companies in the field of life and medical science, especially pharmaceutical research & development companies and institutions, rely on core personnel (including core technical personnel) for their operation and development. The loss of core personnel is bound to affect the survival and development of companies.

李明, Li Ming, Partner, Merits&Tree Law Offices
Li Ming
Partner
Merits & Tree Law Offices

To protect companies’ trade secrets and prevent the arbitrary flow of core personnel, an important system under PRC law is the non-compete restriction. This article discusses how pharmaceutical companies restrict core personnel from joining competing companies from the perspective of non-compete restriction, and how to hold them accountable after they join competing companies.

According to articles 23 and 24 of the Labour Contract Law, employers can sign non-compete restriction agreements with persons who have confidentiality obligations. Persons who should be subject to non-compete obligation shall be limited to senior managers, senior technicians and other employees who have the obligation to keep confidentiality.

First of all, the non-compete obligation is a contractual obligation that is premised on the existence of a non-compete agreement between the employer and the employee. The non-competition restrictions may be stipulated in a non-compete agreement, or in the non-compete clause of a labour contract or confidentiality agreement. The core personnel is to obtain such confirmation from the employer.

Second, a non-compete obligation is not applicable to all employees, but limited to senior managers, senior technicians and other employees who have the obligation to keep confidentiality.

Proof requirements for employers to pursue the responsibility of core personnel who breach contract

If core medical personnel join a competing company and the legal procedure is initiated, the former employer should prove that:

(1) The employer and the employee have reached a valid non-compete agreement, which needs to cover clauses such as the non-compete restriction term, subjects of non-compete restriction, geographical scope, compensation standards and liquidated damages, etc. The essential clauses are non-compete restriction term and liquidated damages;

(2) The employee actually joined the competing company and violated the agreement. Common evidence includes the employee’s employment announcement in the competing company, social insurance payment records, evidence of the employee attending commercial activities or signing business documents on behalf of the competing company, and the employee posting information about the competing company on social media, etc.;

(3) The employee’s former employer is in competition with the new company he or she joins. In judicial practice, the court’s judgment on whether there is a competition relationship between the two companies is mainly based on whether there are overlaps of business scope of the two companies.

The legal responsibilities of core personnel who violate the non-compete restriction

If the pharmaceutical company can prove that the core personnel has breached the contract, the core personnel can be held accountable for the following:

(1) The core personnel can be required to refund the non-compete compensation employers have paid. Regarding whether the amount of refund of compensation is pre-tax or after-tax, there are always disputes between employers and employees. It is suggested that the refund of non-compete compensation be specified as the pre-tax amount in the agreement;

(2) The core personnel can be required to pay liquidated damages. Regarding the determination of the amount of liquidated damages, the court will generally refer to the agreement, taking into account factors such as the amount of compensation, the performance of the contract, and the degree of the employees’ fault, etc. According to judicial experience, when determining the amount of liquidated damages, the court does not take as prerequisite that the employer can prove the actual loss it suffers. In such cases, it’s difficult for employers to prove the existence of direct losses, and the causal relationship between breach of contract and losses;

(3) The core personnel can be required to leave the competing company and continue to fulfil non-compete obligation. There is a legal basis for employers to ask employees to perform non-compete agreement, but it’s rarely being supported in judicial practice.

If the employer can apply for pre-trial act preservation in a non-compete restriction case, which requires the employee not to work for the competing company before the start of legal proceedings, the employer’s interests can be protected to the greatest extent. But so far, the authors have not retrieved any cases where employers successfully applied for pre-trial act preservation in non-compete restriction cases.

Does the new employer need to bear legal responsibilities?

As mentioned above, the non-compete obligation is a contractual obligation that is based on the principle of privity of contract. The former employer can only pursue the liability of the employee for breach of contract and cannot request the new employer to take responsibility based on the non-compete restriction agreement.

If the new employer uses, or allows employees to use, the trade secrets of the former employer, the former employer can claim that the new employer should bear the tort liability for the infringement of trade secrets. But there are difficulties in providing proof. The former employer needs to prove that the new employer uses its trade secrets, and is at fault.

In summary, although the non-compete restriction system is not comprehensive enough to protect the rights and interests of employers, it is still an important measure for pharmaceutical companies to retain core personnel, and restrict them joining competing companies.

If employees breach the contract, employers can pursue their liability for breach of contract. In many cases, the liquidated damages imposed by the court have amounted to millions, or even more than RMB10 million (US$1.5 million). Meanwhile, employees will naturally weigh the cost of default, and will be more cautious when deciding whether to join a competing company.

Li Ming is a partner at Merits & Tree Law Offices. Legal assistant Sun Yuan also contributed to this article

innovative

Merits & Tree Law Offices
5/F, Raffles City Beijing Office Tower
No.1 Dongzhimen South Street
Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Tel: +86 21 52533501
E-mail: ming.li@meritsandtree.com

www.meritsandtree.com