永远不要对在线游戏监管下注

作者: Ashima Obhan 和 Akanksha Dua,Obhan & Associates
0
289
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

度在线游戏尤其是真钱游戏行业取得显著增长。同时,该行业曾经充满不确定性并出现混乱,亟需加强监管和引导。为此,印度电子和信息技术部公布《2023年信息技术(中介机构指南和数字媒体道德准则)修订规则》(下称2023年规则),从2023年4月6日起对在线真钱游戏进行监管。

Ashima Obhan
Ashima Obhan
高级合伙人
Obhan & Associates

2023年规则实行印度电子和信息技术部和注册自律机构共同监管的机制。注册自律机构将验证在线真钱游戏是否为允许的在线真钱游戏。为此,只要印度电子和信息技术部认为有必要,其可以任命任意数量的注册自律机构。

2023年规则只允许向用户提供允许的在线游戏。在线真钱游戏是指用户用现金或实物进行游戏并希望获利的网络游戏。

允许的在线游戏是指允许的在线真钱游戏,或任何其他并非在线真钱游戏的在线游戏。注册自律机构可以在给予申请人陈述意见的机会后,基于以书面形式告知申请人的理由,暂停对不符合2023年规则的在线真钱游戏的验证。

一旦在线游戏中介机构提出申请,注册自律机构将验证在线真钱游戏为允许的在线真钱游戏,前提是注册自律机构确认在线真钱游戏:不涉及对任何结果的赌注;符合有关签订合同年龄能力的规定;不攻击印度国家主权、领土完整和国家安全以及公共秩序;保护用户,防止用户受到伤害、沉迷于游戏和遭受经济损失,并保护儿童。

注册自律机构可以酌情根据申请人提供的初步信息,在进行更详细的调查之前,允许申请人先发布在线真钱游戏三个月。调查结束后,注册自律机构可以宣布在线真钱游戏为允许的在线真钱游戏或拒绝申请,并以书面形式通知申请人。

Akanksha-Dua
Akanksha Dua
主办律师
Obhan & Associates

2023年规则对在线游戏的中介机构进行了规范。每家在线游戏中介机构必须是注册自律机构成员,并且必须进行尽职调查。这包括在其平台上公布其游戏使用条款、隐私政策和其他用户协议。修改游戏使用条款后必须在24小时内通知用户。在线游戏中介机构应确保警告用户不得通过平台上传以下任何信息:属于在线游戏一部分,但不属于允许在线游戏一部分的信息;属于广告(包括代购)的信息 ,目的是宣传并非允许的在线游戏的在线游戏,或者信息本身违法。发生网络安全事件后,在线游戏中介机构必须在24小时内提供相关信息,并且必须任命申诉专员和公布申诉专员的详细信息。申诉专员必须居住在印度。

在线游戏中介机构必须遵守对重要社交媒体中介机构的尽职调查要求,包括:公布平台在印度的实际地址;定期公布合规报告,披露收到的用户投诉和采取的相应行动;展示注册自律机构提供的验证标志;根据印度储备银行规定的了解客户指南,在接受用户存入款项前,在用户于平台开设账户与平台建立关联之时对用户进行身份验证;任命首席合规官和联系人,两人均必须居住在印度。

每家在线游戏中介机构和注册自律机构必须任命申诉专员,其详细信息必须与申诉补救机制的详细信息一起公布。任何人对在线游戏中介机构不满的,可以向该机构的申诉专员提出申诉。如果任何在线游戏中介机构申请人,对注册自律机构在验证和撤销验证方面的决定感到不满,也可以向注册自律机构的申诉专员提出申诉。如果投诉人对申诉专员达成的解决方案不满意,或者投诉没有在规定的期限内得到处理,投诉人可以向根据《信息技术规则》设立的上诉委员会上诉。

2023年规则是朝着在线游戏监管迈出的积极一步,保护了游戏玩家和游戏公司的利益。随着在线游戏不断普及,所有利益相关者必须齐心协力创造安全、透明的游戏环境,这非常重要。


Ashima Obhan是Obhan & Associates律师事务所高级合伙人, Akanksha Dua是该所主办律师

Obhan & Associates

Obhan & Associates

Advocates and Patent Agents

N – 94, Second Floor

Panchsheel Park

New Delhi 110017, India

Contact details:
Ashima Obhan
电话:+91-9811043532
电子信箱:email@obhans.com
ashima@obhans.com

www.obhanandassociates.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Never bet against regulation in online gaming

By Ashima Obhan and Akanksha Dua, Obhan & Associates
0
653
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The online gaming industry, particularly real money gaming, has grown significantly. At the same time, the industry has experienced uncertainty and disruption, leading to an increased need for regulation and guidelines. The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) has therefore introduced the Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Amendment Rules, 2023 (2023 rules), governing online real money games as from 6 April 2023.

Ashima Obhan
Ashima Obhan
Senior Partner
Obhan & Associates

The 2023 rules have introduced co-regulation between the MeitY and registered self-regulatory bodies (RSRB). RSRBs will verify that online real money games are permissible online real money games. (PORMG). The MeitY may appoint as many RSRBs as it considers necessary for this purpose.

The 2023 rules allow only permissible online games to be hosted and offered to users. An online real money game is an online game in which a user makes a deposit in cash or kind with the expectation of earning winnings.

A permissible online game means a PORMG or any other online game that is not an online real money game. RSRBs may, after giving the applicant the opportunity to be heard and for reasons communicated in writing, suspend the verification of an online real money game for not complying with the 2023 rules.

Once an application is made by an online gaming intermediary (OGI), the RSRBs verify online real money games as PORMG after being satisfied such games do not, among other matters, involve wagering on any outcome; are in compliance with provisions relating to contract age competency; do not attack the sovereignty, integrity, security of India and public order; protect users against harm, addiction and financial loss, and safeguard children.

Akanksha-Dua
Akanksha Dua
Principal Associate
Obhan & Associates

The RSRBs have discretion to allow the release of online real money games for a period of three months based on the initial information supplied by applicants, pending a more detailed inquiry. Once the inquiry is finished, the online real money game may be declared to be a PORMG or rejected, with the applicant being informed in writing.

The 2023 rules regulate OGIs in relation to online games. Every OGI must be a member of a registered RSRB and exercise due diligence. This includes publishing its terms of use, privacy policies and other user agreements on its platform. Any change to such terms has to be relayed to users within 24 hours. An OGI should ensure that users are warned not to use the platform to upload any information that, while an online game, is not a permissible online game; is an advertisement, including a surrogate, promotes an online game that is not a permissible online game or violates any law. Information about cyber security incidents must be provided by OGIs within 24 hours and they are required to appoint and make public the details of a grievance officer, who must reside in India.

OGIs must comply with the due diligence requirements for significant social media intermediaries, including the publication of the platform’s physical address in India; the publication of periodic compliance reports on complaints received from users and the actions taken; the display of verification marks provided by the RSRB; the verification of users at the start of an account based relationship before the acceptance of deposits, in line with the Reserve Bank of India-prescribed KYC guidelines, and the appointment of a chief compliance officer and a contact person, both resident in India.

Each OGI and RSRB has to appoint a grievance officer, whose details must be published together with those of the grievance redressal mechanism. Any person aggrieved with the OGI may file a complaint with its grievance officer. Any applicant OGI aggrieved by the decision of the RSRB in respect of verification and revocation may also complain to the RSRB’s grievance officer. If a complainant is not satisfied with the resolution reached by such grievance officers or if the complaint is not resolved within the prescribed timelines, they may appeal to the grievance appellate committees set up under the IT Rules.

The 2023 rules are a positive step towards the regulation of online gaming, protecting the interests of players and gaming companies alike. As online gaming continues to grow in popularity, it is important for all stakeholders to work together to create a safe and transparent gaming environment.

Ashima Obhan is a senior partner, Akanksha Dua is a principal associate at Obhan & Associates

Obhan & Associates

Obhan & Associates

Advocates and Patent Agents

N – 94, Second Floor

Panchsheel Park

New Delhi 110017, India

Contact details:
Ashima Obhan
T: +91-9811043532
E: email@obhans.com
ashima@obhans.com

www.obhanandassociates.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link