仲裁秘书的重要职责

0
111
Essential roles of arbitration case managers
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

护仲裁程序公正在特定情况下具有重要意义,而仲裁秘书作为仲裁机构中为当事人提供程序管理服务的角色,在确保程序公正与实体公正方面发挥着至关重要的作用。

这一点尤为重要,是因为即使实体裁判论述于法有据、结果并无不当,但程序的不公、不当可能也会影响案件当事人和社会公众对审判的认同和尊重,难以保障案件裁决的社会效果。

考虑到仲裁秘书是各方当事人对于仲裁程序直观感受的来源,笔者认为,仲裁秘书可以从以下几方面作出努力:

形成规则意识,恪守工作规范及操守。仲裁规则和办案规范是仲裁秘书提供程序管理服务工作的指引,更是维护程序公正中立的红线和底线。

首先,如遇到近亲属、关系密切者作为当事人或代理人,以及发现可能与自身存在利益冲突的案件,应及时向机构披露、反馈,并主动不再办理该案件,以最高道德标准要求自己。

其二,严格遵守保密制度,不向外界透露案件信息,也不向当事人透露仲裁员的个人意见及对案件的审理意见。

其三,在服务态度上平等对待案件当事人,不卑不亢、礼貌耐心。

做好信息桥梁,材料通知及时互转互通。仲裁案件虽然保密,但同一案件的程序推进应对所有当事方公开透明。仲裁秘书作为各方意见的“汇总中转站”,应将当事人提交的相关材料及意见及时转达给其余各方。

针对各当事方的程序通知及文书也应基本在同一时间采取同样的形式及时发出,特别是涉及到提示选定仲裁员、征求关于仲裁员产生方式的意见、沟通确定开庭时间及开庭方式等重要程序节点,更要与各当事方联系到位,细心听取各方意见,并尽量照顾到各方当事人的合理需求。

把握关键环节,庭前庭后程序兼顾各方。开庭程序应为整个案件推进过程中的核心节点,也是最能让当事人直观感受仲裁程序公正和中立的重要环节,因此,仲裁秘书在开庭前应提前了解并披露各方参与开庭的方式。

2022年2月1日起施行的《北京仲裁委员会仲裁规则》新增了网上开庭的相关规定,为当事人参与开庭提供了更多样的途径,也提升了当事人参与开庭的便利性。

但实践中,仍存在一方当事人到现场参与开庭、另一方当事人在网上参与开庭,因出示证据不便或其他原因导致当事人对开庭程序存在不满的情形,最终影响案件的实质审理。

为避免上述情况,开庭前,仲裁秘书可事先向各当事方披露或确认具体的开庭方式,并说明可能引发的问题、存在的风险及与之对应的解决策略,以供当事人参考判断,从而帮助当事人结合案件及自身情况选择更合适的方式参与庭审。

精进专业知识,与时俱进,接轨国际最新实践。仲裁秘书作为案件程序的服务者和推进者,面对日益复杂多样的案件,必须要有扎实的法学功底和与时俱进的专业探索精神。

法律法规总是随着社会的发展进步在不断更迭完善,仲裁实践也在国际化的背景下日渐丰富。仲裁秘书只有不断精进专业知识,总结实务经验,方能更好地把握各项法律规则和原则的核心要义,更好地理解各项规范及制度的底层逻辑,更加准确地把握具体个案对公正中立原则的要求。

同时,仲裁秘书可以关注国际仲裁中的最新实践,在实务中积极实验、践行国际仲裁中的前沿方法,这样不仅可以让境内的仲裁用户体验到不一样的仲裁服务,亦可以让国际仲裁用户选择其熟悉的方式进行仲裁。

灵活把握尺度,杜绝公正中立流于形式。仲裁秘书作为案件各方沟通的纽带和桥梁,在规则及规范允许的范围内,要始终秉持着帮助当事人更好地化解矛盾和争议的立场,提供仲裁程序的服务和管理案件。

总而言之,仲裁秘书的公正和中立不仅体现在对法律法规、仲裁规则及相应工作规范的遵守上,也体现在日常工作中与各当事方沟通接触时的细微之处。当事人对程序正义的日益重视及追求,也对仲裁秘书的专业水平、服务水平提出了更高的要求。

当仲裁秘书在案件程序推进中让当事人感受到了公正和中立,不仅能有效避免当事人对仲裁程序的异议、降低案件风险,而且能促使各当事方的矛盾和争议得到有效化解,切实提升当事人参与仲裁程序的体验感,进一步提高仲裁的公信力。


北京仲裁委员会/北京国际仲裁中心仲裁秘书杨璐

建言献智

《商法》欢迎您对“争议摘要”栏目的内容提出宝贵意见。我们力求将该栏目打造成意见交流、案例分享及时事互动的平台,因此我们诚邀您提供稿件,长度最好在900英文字或1500中文字上下。请将稿件发至我们的邮箱cblj@law.asia。《商法》将于每月甄选出版最好、最贴近时事热点的文章。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Essential roles of arbitration case managers

0
217
Essential roles of arbitration case managers
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Procedural justice holds significant value in arbitration and case managers, who provide procedural management services to parties, play a crucial role in ensuring that they experience both procedural and substantive justice.

This is especially relevant because, even when substantive judgements are based on the law and free from impropriety, procedural injustice and inappropriate conduct can affect the recognition and respect of the parties and the public towards the awards, making it challenging to achieve the desired social impact.

Given that case managers are the primary source through which all parties involved experience and perceive the arbitration process, they can make efforts in the following aspects:

Cultivating rule awareness and upholding work norms and personal integrity. Arbitration rules and case handling norms serve as both work guidelines for a case manager and the fundamental principles for maintaining procedural impartiality and neutrality.

Firstly, where case managers encounter close relatives or individuals with close contacts as parties or agents in a case, or if they identify any conflicts of interest, they should promptly disclose these circumstances to the institution and withdraw from the case.

Secondly, case managers must strictly adhere to confidentiality rules, refraining from disclosing case information to third parties or revealing the arbitrator’s hearing opinions to the parties.

Lastly, it is crucial for case managers to treat all parties equally in terms of service attitude, striking a balance between being neither servile nor overbearing, while maintaining a demeanour that is polite and patient.

Building an information bridge with timely transmission and exchange of material notifications. Although arbitration cases are confidential to the public, the advancement of the same case procedure should be open and transparent to all parties.

As the “summary and transit station” for the parties’ opinions, cases managers should timely forward the relevant materials and opinions submitted by one party to the other parties. Procedural notices and documents directed towards concerned parties should also be sent simultaneously in the same form, ensuring equal access to information.

In particular, when addressing significant procedural matters such as prompting arbitrator selection, seeking opinions on the composition of the arbitration tribunal, and communicating the time and method of hearing, case managers should actively engage with the concerned parties, listening to their opinions and needs.

Mastering key steps and taking into account all parties involved in both pre-trial and post-trial proceedings. The hearing procedure stands as the core element within the entire process of advancing an arbitration case, serving as the most tangible link for parties to gauge the impartiality and neutrality of the arbitration process. Therefore, case managers should possess prior knowledge of and disclose the means of attendance of the parties before the hearing.

The Arbitration Rules of Beijing Arbitration Commission, effective since 1 February 2022, have introduced relevant provisions on online hearings, offering more diverse channels for parties’ participation in hearings and enhancing convenience.

Despite the advancement, in practice, there are still circumstances where one party participates in a hearing on-site, while the other party participates online. Such arrangements, due to inconvenience to present evidence or other reasons, may lead to dissatisfaction from either party with the hearing procedures and ultimately affect the case’s substantive hearing.

To prevent such scenarios, case managers can disclose or confirm to the parties the specific method of hearing, proactively addressing potential problems, risks and providing corresponding solutions in advance. This enables the parties to make an informed judgement and select a participation method that best suits the case and their own circumstances.

Developing professional knowledge and keeping pace with the latest international practices. As administrators of case procedures, case managers must have a solid foundation in jurisprudence and maintain a professional exploratory spirit, particularly when confronted with increasingly complex and diverse cases.

Laws and regulations constantly evolve and improve alongside societal development, while arbitration practices are enriched within the context of Chinese arbitration institutions’ journey of internationalisation.

Only by constantly expanding their professional knowledge and synthesising practical experience can case managers gain a better grasp of the core meanings of various legal rules and principles, comprehend the underlying logic of different regulations, and develop a more accurate understanding of the requirements of impartiality and neutrality in specific cases.

At the same time, case managers should keep abreast of the latest international arbitration practices, actively experimenting with and implementing cutting-edge methods. This not only allows domestic arbitration users to experience different arbitration approaches, but also facilitates international arbitration users in conducting arbitration in a familiar way.

Walking a fine line and preventing impartiality and neutrality from becoming mere formalities. As the link and bridge of communication among the parties to a case, case managers should leverage their subjective initiative to assist parties in resolving contradictions and disputes within the boundaries defined by rules and norms.

In conclusion, the impartiality and neutrality of case managers extend beyond adherence to laws, regulations, arbitration rules and relevant codes of conduct. It crucially involves the subtleties of their daily communication and interactions with the parties. Given the parties’ increasing emphasis on and pursuit of procedural justice, the professional and service level of case managers face heightened demands.

When case managers effectively convey a sense of impartiality and neutrality during the proceedings, it not only helps prevent objections from the parties and reduces case risks but also facilitates effective resolution of conflicts and disputes. By enhancing the parties’ experience of participating in the arbitration proceedings, case managers will further improve the credibility of arbitration.


Yang Lu is a case manager at the Beijing Arbitration Commission/Beijing International Arbitration Centre

JOIN OUR FORUM

China Business Law Journal welcomes your responses to articles that appear in the Dispute Digest section. In line with our desire to make this section a regular forum of ideas, cases and observations, we also invite you to contribute. Articles should ideally be about 900 English words and 1,500 Chinese characters in length. Please send them to cblj@law.asia. We will publish the best and most topical articles each month.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link