企业如何规划规模性人员调整方案?

作者: 邵博,赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所
0
19

互联网大厂不再大小周,医药销售不再依赖于医药代表,高耗能行业直面“碳达峰”“碳中和”,各行各业或主动、或被动地进行变革,以适应快速变化的市场。如何妥善地处理因发展变革导致的企业内部大规模人员调整,是企业决策者迈向未来的必经之路。

企业变革中的人员调整较为复杂,不同于生产线的停产或关闭,业务线的缩减和撤销,这类变革调整涉及人员筛选,淘汰,换岗等多重目标,且相互影响。

常见筛选方式

Shao Bo, Labours
邵博
合伙人
赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所
电话: +86 181 0131 4277
电子信箱:
shaobo@laibei.com

人员优化名单的制定对于企业及员工而言至关重要,对员工是否能接受企业的管理决策,认可企业的变革意义,甚至对最终的变革结果都有着重大的影响。匹配和竞聘是企业制定名单最常采用的方式。

匹配是最常见的人员筛选方式,简单直接,但对公平性与合理性有着极高的要求。出于组织内部高度保密,或速战速决的要求,不少企业会选择高层内定优化名单的匹配方式,而这常常引发以下问题:

第一,被淘汰的员工,不确定其中缘由,容易心生不满,甚至可能出现失控行为。如果明示其因过往业绩或工作态度欠佳等因素落选亦可能导致进一步沟通受阻。而原则性的答复缺乏针对性,无法有效解决员工疑虑,容易令企业的公平性遭到质疑,如认为领导拉帮结派,或领导因人际问题公报私仇等。

第二,中层业务管理者与高层决策者出于不同的考量,对名单人选产生分歧。高层希望维持企业决策的严肃性、一致性,拒绝变更名单。而中层业务经理从未来业务实操,指标达成的角度,更希望任用对新岗位有能力有意愿的员工。

第三,内定名单中想留住的人才也有可能主动申请离职,领取补偿,而企业为了填补其空缺,会花费更多财力精力需找合适人选,反而增加企业人员调整的成本,甚至引起连锁反应,影响公司内部士气。

与匹配相比,竞聘的程序更为复杂,耗时更长,但效果更佳。其有三个明显优势:

    1. 企业可以更直接地筛选出有意愿跟随企业变革发展的员工;
    2. 完全根据新的岗位要求选人,不受过往业绩、资历等限制,更符合未来业务对人才的需求;
    3. 竞聘流程通常会设置小组评估,引入二线经理甚至是上下游跨部门的资深人士参与选择,更加客观公正。

然而,竞聘的方式也并非十全十美。首先其流程和标准更为复杂,需要管理者投入大量的时间精力设计和执行,通常需要周才能完成,如果采取逐层选拔的方式,甚至要持续数月。而在此期间,由于对企业新战略的不确定,人事变动所带来的不安,抱怨等负面情绪的影响,以及外部竞争公司抛来的“橄榄枝”,公司的骨干员工很可能一边放弃内部竞聘并申请经济补偿,一边积极准备加入新公司,完成职业道路的跃升,这一切都与公司管理层的期待背道而驰。可见竞聘需要承担更大的人才流失风险。其次,竞聘不拘泥于过往业绩、资历的选拔原则,使得已成为团队领导的资深员工也可能被淘汰,而其团队成员或会因此而放弃竞聘。更有甚者,带领整个团队拒绝竞聘。

关注要点

人员筛选要保障其公平合理性。通过扎实的法律依据和实施路径,设计竞聘与匹配不同方式混合下的调整策略及对应规则,避免一事一议的低效率和不公平。如在匹配方式下,已匹配上的员工拒绝就任新岗位,能否作为违纪处理?如果该员工选择离职,企业是否需要支付补偿?补偿政策是否与未匹配上的员工离职一致?亦或竞聘方式下,员工未参与竞聘、竞聘落选、或竞聘成功后拒绝新岗位(如因对薪资不满),亦或在新岗位工作一段时间后提出转岗或离职(如对新战略的落地、新模式、新职责、新流程不认可,认为与宣传的信息不一致)的情况,都需要提前确定对应规则。

主动的沟通策略可以化解难题。在规模巨大且复杂的人员调整决策中,理应贯穿始终的沟通却常常被忽视。从法律的角度,前后一致、贯穿始终的沟通策略有助于企业变革引领者避免解除劳动关系依据和流程不当的法律风险。从管理的角度,自公司决定宣布和介绍新的发展战略开始,就应构建自上而下地正向的沟通环境,使得无论是在匹配,还是竞聘方式下,员工都能够配合公司完成人员筛选流程,降低企业内部负面情绪高涨和人才流失的风险。

邵博是赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 181 0131 4277以及邮件shaobo@laibei.com

How to plan mass staffing adjustments

By Shao Bo, Labours
0
129

A rapidly evolving market and its tightening regulatory requirements have led to Chinese enterprises across all sectors overhauling their practices, some actively and others passively. Internet juggernauts are bidding farewell to the “alternate Saturday off” arrangement, pharmaceuticals can no longer rely on their representatives for sales, and high energy-consuming industries are taking charge in realising national goals of “carbon peak” and “carbon neutrality”. How to best proceed with reform-induced mass staffing adjustments is becoming an increasingly inevitable question faced by corporate decision-makers.

More complicated than the shutdown of production lines, or the downsizing and removal of business lines, staffing adjustments can involve multiple objectives such as screening, eliminating and redeploying personnel.

COMMON APPROACHES

The compilation of a personnel optimisation list is as significant to the company as to its staff. Whether the staff will accept management decisions and understand the magnitude of the change, or even the eventual success of the reform, heavily weigh on the outcome. Position matching and competition are among the most commonly adopted methods.

Matching, the most common way of screening personnel, is simple and direct, but must pass the more rigorous tests of fairness and be done in a rational way.

In order to maintain the secrecy of internal procedures and expediate the process, many companies task senior management to match positions in the new corporate structure with their own selected candidates. This, however, often results in more problems.

Shao Bo, Labours
Shao Bo
Partner
Labours
Tel: +86 181 0131 4277
E-mail:
shaobo@laibei.com

First, eliminated staff members, uncertain of the reasons behind their dismissals, may become dissatisfied and even manifest disruptive behaviour. Even if a clear reason is given, such as substandard work performance or attitude, it may obstruct further communication. A principle-based response is often perceived as ambiguous and ineffective in addressing staff’s concerns. The company’s fairness may come under question, prompting suspicions of office politics or abuse of power to settle personal grievances.

Second, mid-level management and senior decision-makers may disagree on the final list, as they have different considerations. The senior management, with a tendency to prioritise the seriousness and consistency of company decisions, may refuse to alter the list. Mid-level management such as business managers, on the other hand, may attach more importance to business operations and the achievement of performance targets, and wish to retain more capable and earnest staff.

Third, retained personnel may choose to leave and collect compensation instead, costing the company more expense and effort to locate suitable candidates. As a result, the costs of staffing adjustments may increase and the potential chain reaction could deal a heavy blow to company morale.

Competition, lengthier and more complex but worth the effort. Competition is advantageous in the following aspects:

    1. a company can easily filter staff willing to follow it to the next stage;
    2. candidates are picked based on an requirements of the new positions, disengaged from past performance and service records, which makes them a better fit for future development; and
    3. the procedure is generally fairer as it is often decided by a panel that includes mid-level managers or even senior staff from various departments.

However, it is by no means perfect. Management may need to spend as long as three weeks to design and implement the more complex process and standards, or even several months if conducted level by level. In the meantime, amid uncertainties over the company’s outlook, unease with human resource movements, complaints and general low morale, coupled with “olive branches” given by other employers, core staff may opt to give up internal competition, apply for economic compensation and pursue career prospects with other companies.

Obviously, this is against management’s wishes. Apart from the great risk of losing talent, as competition follows the principle of “starting anew”, overlooking past performances, senior staff such as team leaders would face the prospect of dismissal, which could destroy team morale and competitive drive.

SOME TAKEAWAYS

Selection must be fair and reasonable. Companies are advised to formulate adjustment plans and coping mechanisms that combine matching staff with the right positions and competition. This needs to be achieved with a solid legal basis and strategy of implementation to prevent low efficiency and inconsistency stemming from case-by-case deliberation. For example, if the selected staff member refuses to take a new position, does it constitute a disciplinary violation? If the staff member voluntarily chooses to depart, is the company obliged to pay compensation? Should such compensation be consistent with that of staff who weren’t selected?

In the case of competition, rules need to be in place for scenarios where the staff member does not compete for a position, is eliminated from the process, or refuses the new job after winning the competition (e.g. unsatisfied with salary), or wishes to transfer or depart after some time in the new post (e.g. disagreement with the new strategies, models, responsibilities or process, believing them inconsistent with what was introduced).

SOLVING PROBLEMS VIA COMMUNICATION

Efficient communication should be used throughout the decision-making process for large-scale, complicated staffing adjustments, but it is often neglected. From a legal perspective, a consistent communication strategy helps management avoid legal pitfalls of terminating labour relations contingent on an improper basis or procedures. From the management perspective, the company should establish a top-to-bottom communication channel immediately after announcing and introducing new corporate directions. This way, whether the approach of matching or competition is adopted, staff will be more willing to co-operate with the screening process, thus curtailing the risk of low morale and loss of talent.

Shao Bo is a partner at Labours. He can be contacted on +86 181 0131 4277 or by email at shaobo@laibei.com