证券虚假陈述案件的发展新趋势

作者: 何春艳和邓晓明,汉坤律师事务所
0
21

今年1月,最高人民法院发布《关于审理证券市场虚假陈述侵权民事赔偿案件的若干规定》(下称“新规”)。新规是在2003年2月实施的旧虚假陈述司法解释基础上修改完善的一部系统性裁判规则,是中国资本市场法治化建设的重要举措。

He Chunyan, Han Kun Law Office
何春艳
合伙人
汉坤律师事务所
电话: +86 10 8525 4631
电子信箱: chunyan.he@hankunlaw.com

新规不仅是对既往证券虚假陈述案件审判经验的总结,同时也开启了有关纠纷新时代的大门。以下,笔者将根据新规内容,结合代理相关案件的经验以及对市场的观察,就证券虚假陈述案件的发展新趋势简要评述。

前置程序取消导致案件争议焦点对抗性更突出,各方均将面临全新挑战。新规取消了刑事裁判与行政处罚作为民事赔偿的前置程序,原告提交“信息披露义务人实施虚假陈述的相关证据”即可提起诉讼。此前,虚假陈述行为的具体内容、虚假陈述行为重大性、行为人过错等侵权构成要件大多由行政处罚直接认定,司法机关需要裁量的事项(主要为损失计算与证券市场系统性风险)相对有限。

新规取消前置程序后,法院需要对包括是否存在虚假陈述行为、虚假陈述行为重大性问题、当事人主观过错、因果关系等全部侵权构成要件进行审理与裁判。这对司法机关、案件当事人以及各方代理律师,都将是全新的挑战。

多层次责任主体成为新常态,中介机构是被诉重点。2018年以前的虚假陈述案件中,基于多种原因,上市公司几乎是虚假陈述案件的唯一被告。但是,近两年上市公司退市通道打开,同时债券虚假陈述纠纷涌现,“发行人”已经无力全部或独立履行虚假陈述赔偿责任,寻找新的、更具有偿付能力的责任主体成为原告索赔的考虑重点。另一方面,以《债券座谈会纪要》与新规为代表的一系列裁判规则,为投资者将追索对象转向更有偿付能力的中介机构提供了明确的法律依据。

因此,目前正在进行的多数股票虚假陈述案件,以及所有债券虚假陈述案件,都有证券公司、会计师事务所、律师事务所等中介机构作为被告。这种趋势在可预见的未来不会改变。

Deng Xiaoming, Han Kun Law Office
邓晓明
顾问
汉坤律师事务所
电话: +86 10 8524 5860
电子信箱: xm.deng@hankunlaw.com

多个责任主体之间的责任分担与追偿未落定,相关纠纷将在未来几年逐渐增多。新规对连带责任人的内部追偿问题做出了专门规定,即连带责任人按照《民法典》第一百七十八条的规定,根据各自责任大小确定责任份额。实际承担责任超过自己责任份额的连带责任人,有权向其他连带责任人追偿。

但是,上述原则性规定远远无法解决虚假陈述案件责任人的责任划分与追偿问题。特别是,相关虚假陈述责任主体间通常不是简单的共同故意侵权,例如上市公司股东、实控人可能是故意侵权;董监高以及中介机构可能是过失侵权;董监高与中介机构间还有专业与非专业意见的信赖问题。司法实践中,对于相关责任主体之间的责任承担方式争议较大,包括全额连带责任、按比例连带责任、补充赔偿责任等。同时,随着包含中介机构赔偿责任的虚假陈述案件判决的生效及执行,由此衍生的责任人之间的内部追偿案件必然逐步增多。

相关审判更加注重证券行业的专业意见,专业事项专业解决。与新规同时发布的《中国证券监督管理委员会关于适用<最高人民法院关于审理证券市场虚假陈述侵权民事赔偿案件的若干规定>有关问题的通知》建议法院就虚假陈述纠纷的专业性问题,与证券监管部门及自律组织、投资者保护机构保持沟通交流;就损失认定与系统性风险测算可委托专业机构提供参考意见,同时根据实际情况开展专家咨询和专业人士担任人民陪审员的探索。

有关举措,都是此类纠纷专业事项专业解决,在“市场化”基础上进行“法治化”建设的表现。

代表人诉讼制度与实践日趋完善。自新《证券法》专门规定代表人诉讼机制以来,上海、深圳、南京等法院相继发布代表人诉讼规则并开展相关审判实践。2020年7月,最高人民法院发布《关于证券纠纷代表人诉讼若干问题的规定》,在操作层面对有关程序进行了详细规定。

相较于传统诉讼模式,代表人诉讼的索赔人数与金额明显提高,“康美药业案”一案判赔24.6亿元,获赔投资者5.2万名,对证券违法犯罪行为形成强大威慑。

虽然当前证券代表人诉讼在案件选定标准、被告范围确定等方面存在法院自由裁量权过大问题,但随着有关实践的常态化,国内证券代表人诉讼制度的应用一定会越来越顺畅与合理,成为虚假陈述法律制度极其重要的组成部分。

何春艳是汉坤律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式是电话+86 10 8525 4631以及邮件chunyan.he@hankunlaw.com
邓晓明是汉坤律师事务所顾问。他的联系方式是电话+86 10 8524 5860以及邮件xm.deng@hankunlaw.com

New directions in handling of securities misrepresentations

By He Chunyan and Deng Xiaoming, Han Kun Law Office
0
54

In January, the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) issued the Several Provisions on the Trial of Civil Tort Compensation Cases for Misrepresentation in the Securities Market, a set of adjudication rules improving on the previous judicial interpretations on misrepresentation that had been in effect since February 2003. This is seen as a significant move that bolsters the rule of law in China’s capital market.

Other than summing up past trial experience in securities misrepresentation, the provisions herald a new era in handling related disputes. Based on updates in the provisions, as well as the authors’ experience in such cases and observations of the market, this article explores the new development trends in the handling of securities misrepresentation cases.

He Chunyan, Han Kun Law Office
He Chunyan
Partner
Han Kun Law Office
Tel: +86 10 8525 4631
E-mail: chunyan.he@hankunlaw.com

Removal of premise makes disputes more confrontational, posing new challenges to all. The provisions removed the requirement for civil compensation to be preceded by a criminal judgment and administrative penalty. Instead, a lawsuit may be initiated by the plaintiff providing “relevant evidence that information disclosure obligors committed misrepresentation”.

Previously, constitutive elements such as misrepresented content, significance of the violation and the perpetrator’s faults were, for the most part, directly determined by the administrative penalty. Judicial authorities needed to decide little more than the calculation of loss and systematic risks to the securities market.

Since the provisions removed the premise, the courts have been landed with the responsibility of handling and judging whether there was a misrepresentation, its significance, subjective faults of the parties, causalities, and all other constitutive elements of infringement. This poses brand new challenges to the courts, parties to the case and their attorneys.

Multi-level liability becomes the new normal, with intermediaries subject to most accusations. In securities misrepresentation cases before 2018, for one reason or another, the listed companies were almost always the sole defendant. However, with delisting becoming more prominent in recent years, and after the emergence of a series of misrepresentation cases, “issuers” are no longer able to completely or independently assume misrepresentation liabilities, and the task of identifying new, more solvent accountable subjects has gained momentum.

A series of new adjudication rules, including the Minutes of the National Courts Symposium on the Trial of Bond Disputes and the Provisions, also provided a clear legal basis for investors to turn their crosshairs towards seeking recourse with the more solvent intermediaries.

Deng Xiaoming, Han Kun Law Office
Deng Xiaoming
Counsel
Han Kun Law Office
Tel: +86 10 8524 5860
E-mail: xm.deng@hankunlaw.com

As a result, intermediaries such as securities companies, accounting firms and law firms are listed as defendants in most ongoing stock misrepresentation, and all bond misrepresentation, cases. This trend is unlikely to change in the foreseeable future.

Without a clear structure for liability sharing and reimbursement between multiple liable parties, related disputes are expected to increase in the next few years. The provisions made a specific stipulation on claiming reimbursement from a fellow jointly and severally liable party, which is to be determined based on the gravity of liability of each party, consistent with article 178 of the Civil Code. A liable party may thus claim reimbursement from other liable parties if its assumed liability exceeds its rightful share.

However, a principle-based provision is a far cry from what’s needed to resolve the complicated liability sharing and reimbursement issues between liable parties of securities misrepresentation cases. In particular, such liable parties are not always deliberate infringers. Shareholders and the actual controller of the listed company may have willfully committed infringement; directors, supervisors, senior management and intermediaries may have infringed out of negligence; and professional or non-professional advice between corporate parties and intermediaries is not always heeded.

In practice, much is disputable in the manner of liability sharing, including full joint and several liability, proportional joint and several liability, and supplementary compensation liability. Meanwhile, with the recognition and enforcement of more misrepresentation judgments requiring intermediaries to bear compensation liabilities, reimbursement claims between liable parties are expected to grow at a steady pace.

Professional advice in the securities industry will be given more of a spotlight in trials. As suggested in the notice of the China Securities Regulatory Commission on applying the provisions, released at the same time as the provisions, courts should maintain communication with securities regulators, self-regulatory organisations and investor protection agencies for any professional matters in misrepresentation disputes. Professional agencies may be consulted for loss determination or systematic risk measurement. Where needed, courts may also explore expert consultation or setting up a panel of people’s assessors represented by professionals.

These measures embody the new directions of “resolving professional matters professionally” and “advancing the rule of law with market-based approaches”.

Improvement of the representative action mechanism and related practice. Since the 2019 amendments to the Securities Law made a specific provision on the representative action mechanism, courts in Shanghai, Shenzhen and Nanjing, among others, have issued related rules and begun their practice. In July 2020, the SPC issued the Provisions on Several Issues Concerning Representative Actions Arising from Securities Disputes, which set out detailed operative requirements.

Compared with conventional litigation, representative action often concerns a higher number of claimants and compensation amounts. In the milestone misrepresentation case against Kangmei Pharmaceutical, the first instance judgment called for Kangmei to pay RMB2.46 billion (USD360 million) to 52,000 investors, serving as a resounding deterrence to any securities violations or crimes.

Although in current securities representative actions, courts may have been granted excessive discretionary power in the determination of case selection criteria and the scope of defendants, the practice is expected to grow more balanced and rational as it becomes normalised, forming an integral part of the misrepresentation legal system.

He Chunyan is a partner at Han Kun Law Office. She can be contacted on+86 10 8525 4631 or by email at chunyan.he@hankunlaw.com

Deng Xiaoming is a counsel at Han Kun Law Office. He can be contacted on +86 10 8524 5860 or by email at xm.deng@hankunlaw.com