境外上市公司股权激励需慎行

作者: 苗靖苑,胡光律师事务所
0
168

今,实施股权激励机制的境外上市公司纷纷将中国境内子公司的中国员工作为激励的对象。中国法律明文规定的境外上市公司股权激励机制主要有两种,即员工持股计划与员工认股期权计划。

苗靖苑,律师, 胡光律师事务所
苗靖苑
律师
胡光律师事务所

从广义上讲,境内员工持有境外上市公司的股票或期权实质上属于境内个人对外直接证券投资。但目前中国对资本项目交易实施管制,境内个人对外直接证券投资尚未完全开放。所以,境外上市公司的股权激励计划已经成为中国外汇管理部门的重要监管对象。

中国外汇管理部门监管境外上市公司员工股权激励计划的法律依据主要有:

  • 《中华人民共和国外汇管理条例》(国务院2008第532号令)
  • 《个人外汇管理办法》(中国人民银行2006年第3号令)
  • 《国家外汇管理局关于印发〈个人外汇管理办法实施细则〉的通知》(汇发[2007]年1号)
  • 《国家外汇管理局综合司关于印发〈境内个人参与境外上市公司员工持股计划和认股期权计划等外汇管理操作规程〉的通知》(汇综发[2007]78号)(以下简称“78号文”)
  • 《国家外汇管理局综合司关于下放境内个人参与上市公司员工持股计划首次购付汇额度及开立外汇账户审批权限的通知》(汇综发[2008]2号)

中国税务机关监管境外上市公司员工股权激励计划的法律依据主要有:

  • 《财政部、国家税务总局关于个人股票期权所得征收个人所得税问题的通知》(财税[2005]35号)(以下简称“35号文”)
  • 《国家税务总局关于个人股票期权所得缴纳个人所得税有关问题的补充通知》(国税函[2006]902)
  • 《财政部、国家税务总局关于股票增值权所得和限制性股票所得征收个人所得税有关问题的通知(财税[2009]5号)》
  • 《国家税务总局关于股权激励有关个人所得税问题的通知》(国税函[2009]461号)(以下简称“461号文”)

监管范围

根据现行法律法规,中国外汇管理部门仅对境外上市公司以及参与员工股权激励计划的境内个人(持有中国居民身份证、军人身份证、武装警察身份证件的中国公民)实施监管。

而中国的纳税人包括中国国籍人士、台港澳居民及非中国国籍人士。因此,税务部门与外汇管理部门对员工股权激励计划的监管范围是不一样的。在中国工作的台港澳居民和外国居民不受上述78号文等的外汇监管,可是台港澳居民和外国居民很可能会受到35号文和461号文等的税务监管。

外汇管理局对计划的日常监管

外汇管理局通过不同方式来监管股权激励计划。

第一,年度购付汇额度审批和结转汇额度审批。要办理上述审批,首先需要有一个全国统一的境内代理机构。实践中,境外上市公司大都以其境内的一家子公司为境内代理机构。

境内代理机构代员工按年度向所在地外汇管理局申请年度购付汇额度、结转汇额度。境外上市公司往往需要在申请之前根据参与人员数量、可能的市场价格预估额度。额度获准后,境内代理机构代员工个人在批准的额度内到外汇指定银行办理购付汇、结转汇手续。

第二,年度内结转汇额度的逐笔审批。需要注意的是,即使境内代理机构已经取得年度结转汇额度的审批,但是在每次至外汇指定银行办理结转汇手续之前,仍需就单次的结转汇事项向外汇管理局报批。

第三,境内专用外汇账户管理。境内代理机构需代员工向所在地外汇管理局申请开立境内专用外汇账户,用于处理员工股权激励计划外汇资金的收付。

第四,季度报备资金使用情况。境内代理机构应于每季度初的10个工作日内向所在地的外汇管理局报送《境内个人参与境外上市公司员工持股计划、认股期权情况备案表》。

税务备案

境内员工来自股权激励计划的所得应按照35号文中的规定,按照薪酬计税方式计征个人所得税。用人单位需主动到主管税务机关备案。目前上海市税务机关对境外上市公司股权激励计划的税务备案有比较明确的规定,其它城市至今还未颁布具体操作办法,所以各地对备案的文件要求和时间要求都会不同,需要在申请税务备案之前询问主管税务机关税务专管员。

为了避免境外上市公司在境内的子公司及其分支机构因未获审批或登记遭受行政处罚,也为了使参与股权激励计划的员工享有税收优惠,还未对股权激励计划进行报批和备案的境外上市公司应尽快使其股权激励计划合规。

苗靖苑是胡光律师事务所律师

MHP

上海市芳甸路1155号浦东嘉里城办公楼8楼

邮编: 201204

电话: +86 21 5010 1666

传真: +86 21 5010 1222

www.mhplawyer.com

胡光 Martin Hu

电话: +86 21 5010 1666*966

电子信箱: martin.hu@mhplawyer.com

苗靖苑 Gillian Miao

电话: +86 21 5010 1666*999

电子信箱: gillian.miao@mhplawyer.com

Offshore equity incentive schemes raise exchange control issues

By Gillian Miao,Martin Hu & Partners
0
718
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Many offshore listed companies are extending their equity incentive schemes to the Chinese employees of their PRC subsidiaries. PRC law expressly provides for the creation of such schemes by offshore listed companies. Schemes usually take the form of employee stockholding plans and employee stock option plans.

Gillian Miao,Martin Hu & Partners
Gillian Miao
Associate
Martin Hu & Partners

The holding by a Chinese employee of stocks or options in an offshore listed company is, in essence, a direct investment by that individual in foreign securities. However, China currently restricts capital account transactions, and direct investment in foreign securities by Chinese individuals has not been completely deregulated. Accordingly, the equity incentive schemes of offshore listed companies have drawn the attention of the PRC’s exchange control authorities.

The jurisdiction of the foreign exchange control authorities over the employee equity incentive schemes of offshore listed companies is established by the following laws and regulations:

  • the PRC Foreign Exchange Administrative Regulations (Order No. 532 of 2008 of the State Council);
  • the Individuals’ Foreign Exchange Administrative Measures (Order No. 3 of 2006 of the People’s Bank of China);
  • the State Administration of Foreign Exchange Issuance of the Individuals’ Foreign Exchange Administrative Measures Implementing Rules (Hui Fa [2007] No. 1),
  • the General Affairs Department of the State Administration of Foreign Exchange Issuance of the Domestic Individuals’ Participation in Overseas Listed Company Employee Stockholding Plans and Stock Option Plans Etc. Foreign Exchange Management Operating Procedures Notice (Hui Zong Fa [2007] No. 78); and
  • the General Affairs Department of the State Administration of Foreign Exchange Delegation of the Examination and Approval Authority for Initial Foreign Exchange Quotas for Purchase and Payment and Opening of Foreign Exchange Accounts in Connection with the Participation by Domestic Individuals in the Employee Stockholding Plans of Listed Companies Notice (Hui Zong Fa [2008] No. 2).

The authority for oversight by the tax authorities of the employee equity incentive schemes of offshore listed companies is established by the following notices:

  • the Ministry of Finance and State Administration of Taxation Issues Concerning the Levy of Individual Income Tax on Income Derived by Individuals from Stock Options Notice (Cai Shui [2005] No. 35);
  • the State Administration of Taxation Issues Concerning the Payment of Individual Income Tax on Income Derived from Stock Options Supplementary Notice (Guo Shui Han [2006] No. 902);
  • the Ministry of Finance and the State Administration of Taxation Issues Concerning the Levying of Individual Income Tax on Income Derived from Stock Appreciation Rights and Restricted Stock Notice (Cai Shui [2009] No. 5); and
  • the State Administration of Taxation Issues Concerning Individual Income Tax on Equity Incentives Notice (Guo Shui Han [2009] No. 461).

Scope of jurisdiction

Under current law, the PRC’s foreign exchange control authorities only have authority over listed companies and PRC individuals located in PRC if they participate in employee equity incentive schemes.

However, PRC taxpayers include PRC nationals; residents of Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao; and nationals of countries other than the PRC. Therefore, the scope of jurisdiction over employee equity incentive schemes exercised by the tax authorities is not the same as that exercised by the foreign exchange control authorities. Residents of Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao, and foreign nationals who work in China, are not subject to the abovementioned document 78 (as regards foreign exchange), but may be subject to documents 35 and 461 (for tax purposes).

Oversight by SAFE

SAFE exercises oversight in a number of ways.

First, approval of annual foreign exchange purchase and payment limits, and conversion limits. As the limits apply nationwide, companies need to appoint a single agent in China responsible for their nationwide operations. In practice, most offshore listed companies appoint one of their subsidiaries in the PRC as their PRC agent.

The PRC agent acts on behalf of the employees in applying to the local SAFE for an annual foreign exchange purchase and payment, and conversion, limits. The offshore listed company first needs to estimate the limits based on the number of participating employees and the possible market value. Once the limits have been approved, the PRC agent will carry out the purchase and payment, and conversion, procedures on behalf of the employees with a designated foreign exchange bank within the approved limits.

Second, approval of individual amounts of foreign exchange which are to be converted during the year. Even though the agent has secured approval of the foreign exchange conversion limit for the year, it must apply for SAFE approval each time it converts currency within that limit.

Third, management of dedicated domestic foreign exchange accounts. The agent is required to apply to the local SAFE on the behalf of the employees to open dedicated foreign exchange accounts to receive any payments of foreign exchange made in connection with the employee equity incentive schemes.

Fourth, quarterly reporting of the use of the funds. The agent must submit a form recording the participation of each individual in an employee stockholding plan or stock option plan to the local SAFE within the first 10 working days of each quarter.

Tax

Any income that an employee in the PRC derives from an equity incentive scheme is subject to individual income tax on the same basis as wage income, in accordance with document 35. The employer must files details with the competent tax authority. Currently, the Shanghai tax authorities have relatively clear regulations on the taxation of equity incentive schemes of offshore listed companies, but other cities have yet to issue specific measures. Accordingly, the documents and time required differ from place to place.

In order to avoid administrative penalties for failure to secure approval or registration, and to enable employees who participate in equity incentive schemes to enjoy the available tax breaks, offshore listed companies must ensure that their equity incentive schemes comply fully with tax regulations.

Gillian Miao is an associate at Martin Hu & Partners (MHP Law Firm)

MHP

8/F, Kerry Parkside Office, 1155 Fangdian Road

Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201204, China

Tel: +86 21 5010 1666

Fax: +86 21 5010 1222

www.mhplawyer.com

Martin Hu

Tel: +86 21 5010 1666*966

E-mail: martin.hu@mhplawyer.com

Gillian Miao

Tel: +86 21 5010 1666*999

E-mail: gillian.miao@mhplawyer.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link