长久以来,成熟律师事务所的技术革新一直是个缓慢进程,但中国的情况却是另一番景象。中国法律科技公司也在引领行业创新,但他们的策略方向却不同于国际同行。范可明 (Mithun Varkey)报道

律界似乎终于开始接受科技创新。技术革新其实早已势在必行,结果是疫情让法律工作者在毫无选择下接受改变,虽然不是每个人都心甘情愿。为了在保持社交距离的同时实现合作,法院这样的 “传统重镇” 也对科技做出适当让步,因此律师也只能跟随作出变化。

这不是说领先的法律人是抵触科技的。工作性质使然,法律素来注重惯例,从业者自然不愿轻易改变经过历史验证的做法。另外, “按一小时起计费、每六分钟递增” 的业务模式仍未改变,所以缺少大幅提高效率的动力。

过去数十年内,全球律所对科技投资主要围绕电子披露(e-discovery)、合同管理、计费管理和若干线上协作工具。科技为律所工作带来了必要的进步,但仍未触及律师工作的核心成分。过去几年,科技初创公司多次尝试彻底改变律师律所的工作方式,大量科技工具和解决方案应运而生,法律科技公司也遍地开花。

中国的情况有点不一样。因为当地的需求不同,很多业务遍及全球的龙头法律科技公司从未真正进入中国市场。

“首先,中国的法律工作性质、法律体系和法律服务市场的运作方式十分不同,” 中国法律科技公司合通机器人 (docQbot) 的联合创始人和首席专家吕立山(Robert Lewis) 指 出 。 “欧美等法域有大量的诉讼,律师按小时收费,早期技术变革围绕电子披露等法律科技。但这些都未必适用于中国律所。” 像其他科技领域一样,中国在发展迭代本土科技公司和解决方案,满足当地市场需求。根据汤森路透发布的一份报告,中国企业在2018年和2019年申请的法律科技专利数均位居全球之首,特别是 2018 年,多达 51% 的专利申请来自中国。

“许多全球法律科技解决方案的重点都在于如何降低律师在小时计费模式下的高昂成本,因为律师在披露或尽职调查工作中要花费大量时间查阅文档,” 吕立山说, “但在中国,披露的流程是完全不同的,不需要处理大批文件。”

因此,中国的很多法律科技创新更多侧重于服务客户,而不是像其他市场一样主抓提效。

“中国对 AI(人工智能)情有独钟,痴迷于将 AI 应用在各个领域,” 吕立山补充,“但从 AI 可以实现的功能看,那仍然是大数据的玩法。中国法律服务市场有一些大数据应用,但目前还未完全成为真正的 AI。”

“大数据操作的主要应用在所有公布的法院判决书。他们正在打通判决书这个数据系统,让所有资料变得可搜索、可预测。我认为这些努力是有价值的,只是当前做得还不够理想”。中国国内法律科技行业发展也得益于政府鼓励政策的推动,后者一直在推动法院变革,而 AI 应用仍在法律科技软件中有重要的比重。

但是从律所的角度来看法律科技,中外律所区别不是很大,面临着类似的挑战和需求。

变革的驱动力

整体而言,大部分律所已经注意到采用科技的必要性,但疫情使这一需求变得愈加迫切,也就成为科技革新的第一驱动力。这将律所的IT和创新团队推到前线和核心位置。

“疫情促使很多事物都发生剧烈转变,” 法律科技综合平台 Reynen Court 的创始人 Andrew Klein 说 “。一方面,法律界过去从未真正支持那种 ‘办公室看不到人、会议室看不到文件’ 的虚拟远程办公方式,而今需要在一夜间改变。”

“对于大型律所的 IT 部门来说,这是一个积极的转变,他们在疫情中表现抢眼,几乎毫无例外地令律所实现了平稳过渡,虚拟化进程十分成功。正是因为律所客户也看到提高成本效益、实现行业现代化的机会,才带来货真价值的改变。”

ANDREW-KLEIN,-法律科技综合平台,-Reynen-Court,-创始人,阿姆斯特丹

Ofer Bleiweiss 是总部位于加州洛杉矶的诉讼管理软件公司 Everchron 的创始人和首席执行官,他留意到,疫情爆发后法律科技的应用有所提高。 “律所对高效远程协作的需求迫使其加速转变,” 他补充。

Chris Combs 是基于波士顿的合同管理分析平台 Linksquares 的联合创始人和业务开发高级副总裁。他指出,在疫情爆发前已经存在明显的转变趋势。 “很多公司向我们伸出橄榄枝,表示有兴趣了解如何使用 AI,而且有专门的 AI 预算。这是近几年才出现的现象,” 他说。 “疫情极大地提高了人们使用法律科技的兴趣,因为很多人要居家办公,所以团队确实需要能够随时随地使用的云端产品。他们面临许多前所未见的挑战,其中最显而易见的就是不可抗力,具体而言是要了解哪些商业协议中包含不可抗力条款。这成为一个强大的驱动力,自此需求与日俱增。”

虽然疫情是采纳新技术最直接的催化剂,事实上相关的利好趋势由来已久。这一方面是客户需求使然,另一方面也是因为律所面临巨大的竞争压力,必须与时俱进。新兴工具的问世,精通科技的年轻律所崛起,替代性法律服务提供商的迭出,都是促变的因素。

“客户和新成立的律所都给律所造成巨大的外部压力,” 位于旧金山的合同管理公司Ironclad的首席社区官MaryO’Carroll说。“四大会计师事务所、过去称为替代性法律服务提供商的公司,甚至开始经办类似业务的企业内部法律部门,都是律所的竞争对手。”

MARY-O’CARROLL,-合同生命周期管理公司Ironclad,-首席社区官,旧金山

位于悉尼的客户关系管理软件提供商 NEXL CRM 的 CEO 兼创始人 Philipp Thurner 表示,企业法务越来越精通技术 “。法务们不愿意为低效买单,” 他说 “,他们希望律所能运用科技提高服务效率,帮助他们降低法律成本。我认为来自企业内部压力的变大,特别是源自 于业务部门的压力,是法务求变的最大动力之一。”

“在变革之初,律所认为运用科技缩减工作时间是在变相削减他们的收入。他们会问,为何我们要减少本来可以对客户收费的时间?”

Thurner 指出,在过去,客户还未面临来自 CFO 的重重压力,愿意为相对低效的工作付费。“如今他们的资金收紧,律所就必须采取科技手段,帮助客户削减成本。如果客户认为费用过高,就会更多依赖内部法务,或者开始使用替代性法律服务提供商的服务。”

纽约法律实务管理解决方案提供商 App4Legal 的区域渠道经理 Marianne Baroud 称,在采用法律科技的问题上,企业法务团队是真正的决策者。“他们往往成为法律科技的倡导者,因为他们直观地看到法律科技能改善投资回报和工作方式,促进协作效率,提升业绩水平,” Baroud 说。

虽然企业法务团队一直是法律科技的业内推手,也有人认为,他们并没有做出足够的努力。

在近期加盟 Ironclad 前,O’Carroll 曾任谷歌的法律运营团队负责人。她表示大多数企业法务都是律所出身。“他们在律所受训,了解律所的运作模式,” 她说,“因此,由企业法务呼吁的变革,我认为还是没有达到理想 的火候。根本问题在于,律所仍然保持着相同的业务模式。尽管面临各方面的压力,这一点仍没有改变。”

其他人则认为律所已经对转型升级改持开放态度。 “我认为两种意见都没错,” Reynen Court 的 Klein 说。 “企业法务部门自身做出了很多改变,他们对现代化的要求也持续推动着更多改变,”他说。 “同时不可否认的是,很多律所真切地相信创新能为他们带来决定性的竞争优势。他们希望通过大力投资人才技术,为客户带来创新服务,以高效、透明和现代化的运作取胜,博得更多新老客户的青睐。”

英国 Jameson Legal Tech 的负责人 Jon Bartman 表示,演变是肉眼可见的。 “一年前,很多企业法务团队还在鼓励律所采用法律科技,因为很多公司正在进行金融、营销、销售和其他领域的数字化转型,法务团队自然也同时进行着内部转型,” 他说。

“但过去的六个月,可能是受疫情影响,很多律所开始认真探索数字化转型的出路。他们意识到办公室工作方式已经发生剧变,需要找到新的办公模式和体系。我们已经摸索出如何实现居家办公,这是很好的事情。”

App4Legal 的 Baroud 认为,越来越多的律所和法律专业人士相信法律科技是必行之路。“有些人仍然中意传统的体系和做法,” 她说, “但新一代律师很乐意接受科技应用。”

“律所采用科技手段时面临诸多困难,又因国家地区不同而千差万别,这些困难包括数据隐私法律、国家科技基建水平、法律科技的预算开支、市场成熟度和接受度,以及客户需求。”

中国也面临这方面的问题。 “中国对数据出境的监管是非常严格的,” Thurner 说。

“公司必须在中国境内建立自己的基础设施,因为对数据转移的管控十分严格,” 他说,“小规模创业公司甚至难以进入中国市场,因为需要在当地复制这些公司在本国的整个数据基础设施。也正因为这个原因,中国正在建立自己的生态系统。”

PHILIPP-THURNER,-客户关系管理软件提供商,-NEXL-CRM-,-首席执行官、创始人,悉尼

买方困境

无论是出于外部压力还是内生需求,毫无疑问的是,律所开始看到科技创新的价值。但仍有一系列问题困扰着他们,首先就是律所的决策性质问题。

“我们意识到,律所缺少购买新技术的适当程序,” Thurner 说,“这就造成了较大的买方难题。许多律所并不知道如何成功购买和应用科技,主要原因之一是合伙架构。律所有太多的决策者,众口难调。决策者越多,决策就越难。通常一群人能做出的最简单的决定,就是什么都不做。”

中国律所的管理模式与采用西方法律管理模式的国外或国际律所有根本上的不同。

“除了少数例外,中国律所并没有整合的管理系统,” 吕立山说,“甚至在国内首屈一指的律所,大多结构上也只是个人律师的集合,像是松散的联盟。有些律所甚至难以组织大规模团队协同合作。”

“问题在于,在这种运作模式的律所,人们难以也不甘愿花费巨资,为集体提升专业技术能力 (know-how)。 合伙人首先视自己为个人利润中心。至于其他合伙人,在他们眼中通常是实际或潜在的竞争对手。”

吕立山表示,境内业务是中国律所的绝对主打业务,大型律所亦是如此。

“像我们提供的服务是以外商投资、对外投资和跨境业务为主,不是所有合伙人都会因此受益。即使在最大的律所,最多也只有 20% 的合伙人能从中汲取价值,而且这种价值可能时有时无。” “这毕竟不是他们的主体业务。如果一项支出没有明显回报,对他们而言就好比钱从自己口袋飞出去一样。他们甚至能计算出,如果律所做出此项开支,相当于自己承担了多少成本。这种工作会受到重重阻力。事实上,即使法律科技可能会令一些个人合伙人受益匪浅,但因为他们工作内容的关联性不强,也就不会买账。”

Thurner 指出,全球范围内的大型律所正通过招募专业人士,逐渐变得越来越有经验。“在适当的应用场景下,如果可以列明你要解决或者分配责任的问题,例如开支多少、商业影响多大,你就会因应有适当的计划。有着明确的目标,这样就很容易顺水推舟,鼓励人们去使用某个软件。如果没有实际需求、缺少正当程序,软件就沦为装饰品,没人会使用。”

云端难题

另一项愈发迫切的技术问题困扰着律所,即要采用云服务技术还是保留传统本地服务器。律所和技术供应商在这个问题上长期各执一词。

受疫情和居家办公的限制,人们愈加需要能够随时随地获取文件。然而,律所文件的敏感性、客户要求和监管规定,一直让律所难以全心接纳云服务。

Everchron 的 Bleiweiss 认为云端对于律所实际上更为安全。 “律所和技术供应商都在向云端转移,这是正确的选择,” 他说, “大多数律所的 IT 资源有限,无法企及技术供应商能够给予的安全性。事实上,很多法律科技公司都在从本地服务器解决方案转向云存储。”

Linksquares 的 Combs 说 “:我认为云端绝对是更加安全的。当前大型律所普遍配置内部服务器,这需要大量的人力财力去运行和维护。” Linksquare 是一种完全云端产品,销售给接纳云技术的企业法务团队。 “可以想象,他们不会轻易放弃原有的策略。这类律所 处在采用法律科技周期中的长尾(那些数量庞大但较迟采用、投入较少的用户),但不 可置疑的是,云端是大势所趋,而且因为集中管理,所以确实更加安全。”

Thurner 表示他欣慰地看到,人们对云端的热情与日俱增,但他也相信,转向云端的过程仍然漫长且曲折。

“律所有很高的安全标准,科技初创企业想要通过律所的尽职调查,势必将耗时耗力。”

“这并不是说律所要刻意刁难我们,而是他们的客户也在施加压力,” 他说。

“如果他们与银行合作,就要遵守特定的数据安全协议,以满足客户要求。哪些事可以做,哪些事不能做,数据的整合存储转移,都有具体规定。所以,如果科技公司创建的系统不符合既有规定,律所就不能购买。”

Thurner 说,很多初创企业并不了解律所的内部运作情况。 “所以市场上其实有很多出色的解决方案,但律所并不十分接受,因为它们的产品走错方向,与律所的基础设施相悖、不符合律所的实际需要。这种现象不在少数。”

合通机器人的吕立山认为中国也面临这个问题。 “许多法律科技公司和工具重技术,轻法律,” 他说。

ROBERT-LEWIS,-合通机器人,-联合创始人、首席专家,北京

“这是所有法律科技的难题。从什么角度切入,才能实现法律与科技的平衡?两者是同等重要的。如果从科技角度出发,就很难对律所的情况有切实的掌握。”

Jameson Legal Tech 的运营顾问 Bernie Sugano 说:“从影响来看,新冠疫情已将法律科技从一个遥不可及的目标,变成了律所和企业法务团队能够顺利适应的新常态。”

表面上,法律科技在疫情的推动下迈出了一大步,但这仍然只是第一步。一些专家认为,推广法律科技的真正的挑战,在于转变律所的心态和文化,让他们勇于迎接科技变革。

Technology adoption among established law firms has for ages been a slow ascent, but things are different in China. Legal tech companies here are leading innovation and are taking a more direct and homegrown approach than their global peers, writes Mithun Varkey

The legal industry, finally, seems to be embracing technology. While the change was a long time coming, the pandemic has left little choice for legal practitioners but to accept it, even if grudgingly. The need for collaboration in times of social distancing has forced even the courts, those bastions of traditionalism, to allow themselves some tech disruption, which then meant lawyers had to follow.

It is not that the legal industry is led by luddites. The importance of conventions and the nature of the profession mean they are trained to adhere to time-honoured protocols. Also, because their business models remain unchanged, where clients are charged for billable hours, clocked in six-minute increments, there are few incentives to bring in massive efficiencies.

For the past couple of decades or so, globally, when law firms started investing in technology, it was primarily around e-discovery, contract management, billing management, and some online collaboration tools. While these were necessary steps, the core of a lawyer’s job remained relatively untouched by technology. In the past few years technology startups have tried to disrupt the way lawyers work and how law firms operate, which has led to a profusion of tech tools and solutions, and an explosion of legal tech companies.

However, things are a little different in China. While there is a lot of activity globally among legal companies, some of the biggest players haven’t really entered the China market because the needs here are different.

“To start with, the nature of legal work and legal systems is quite different in China, and the way the legal services market works,” observes Robert Lewis, co-founder and chief expert at docQbot, a China-based legal tech company.

“The US, Europe and other jurisdictions are litigation-heavy, and everyone’s charging by the hour, and they had to adopt legal tech like e-discovery in the early stages of tech adoption, which was not necessary for Chinese firms.”

As in other areas of technology, China is building and evolving homegrown technology companies’ solutions to cater to the local market. According to Thomson Reuters data, Chinese companies have been leading legal tech patents globally in 2018 and 2019, with as much as 51% of patents filed in 2018 coming from the country.

“A lot of legal tech solutions globally are focused on how to reduce the time cost, on an hourly rate basis, of expensive lawyers who are sorting through documents in discovery or in due diligence,” says Lewis. “In China, you just don’t have discovery in the same way, you’re not going to be able to go through reams of documents.”

Therefore, a lot of China’s legal tech innovation is more customer-focused and less about reducing inefficiencies, as is in many other markets.

“China is completely in love with AI [artificial intelligence], completely enamoured with the whole concept of how AI can apply in different sectors,” says Lewis, “but when you look at it in terms of what AI can do, it is a big data play. And if you look at the Chinese legal services market, there are some big data plays but no one’s so far been able to crack it.

“The big data plays were on all the published court decisions. They were going through this whole database. It’s all searchable and predictive, and that’s a pretty cool thing. I think it’s got value but I just don’t think it’s been done right yet.”

The growth in the Chinese legal technology sector is also driven by encouragement from the government, which has been driving court innovation, while AI maintains a significant role in legal tech software.

However, from law firms’ perspectives on technology, Chinese and international firms aren’t very different and are driven by similar challenges and needs.

Drivers of change

More broadly, most law firms have been mindful of the need to adopt technology, but the pandemic has accelerated this need and been the most crucial driver for tech adoption, bringing IT and in- novation teams at law firms to front and centre.

“Obviously, the pandemic has been transformative in so many ways,” says Andrew Klein, founder of Reynen Court, a legal tech aggregation platform baseed in Amsterdam. “On the one hand, an industry that had never supported virtual remote work, people not being in the office, and the deal documents not being in the conference room, had to change overnight.

“That was very positive for IT departments at the big law firms because they scored very high points, they did very well. They made that transition look very smooth, and I think with almost no real exceptions. They were very successful at becoming virtual. So the change is very real. It’s coming from clients who see opportunities to get more for their money and have the industry modernised.”

ANDREW-KLEIN,-Founder,-Reynen-Court,-Amsterdam

Ofer Bleiweiss, founder and chief executive officer of Everchron, a Los Angeles, California-based litigation management software company, says he has noticed higher legal tech adoption since the pandemic. “The need for effective remote collaboration has forced law firms to accelerate the transition,” he says. Chris Combs, co-founder and senior vice president of Business Development at Linksquares, a Boston, Massachusetts-based contract management and analytics platform, says there was a big trend leading up to the pandemic. “Companies were reaching out to us, saying they were interested in understanding how they could use AI, and that they had a budget set aside for that, which is something that has happened in the past few years,” he says.

“The pandemic drove a ton of new interest in usage because teams actually did need a cloud-based product they could access from anywhere, because many of them were at home. Then they were running into challenges that they had never seen before, the most obvious one being force majeure. So they needed to know which commercial agreements included force majeure clauses and so that was a big driver, which has continued and increased.” While the pandemic may have been the immediate catalyst, there has been a favourable trend in tech adoption, partly forced by the clients, and partly because law firms face immense competitive pressure to keep up with the times. The availability of new tools, the rise of younger and more tech-savvy firms, and alternative legal service providers all contribute.

“Law firms are feeling a lot of pressure from the outside − both from the clients as well as new market entrants,” says Mary O’Carroll, chief community officer at San Francisco-based contract life-cycle management company Ironclad. “There’s competition now from the big four, from companies formally known as alternative legal service providers, and even competition if you will from internal corporate legal departments that are starting to do some of that work themselves.”

MARY-O’CARROLL,-Chief-Community-Officer,-Ironclad,-San-Francisco

Philipp Thurner, the CEO and founder of NEXL, a Sydney-based client relationship management software provider, says in-house counsel are getting smarter with tech. “They’re not willing to pay for inefficiencies,” he says. “They are expecting their law firms to adopt technologies to remove inefficiencies in their service delivery to help reduce their legal costs. I think this is one of the largest drivers for innovation, that in-house have more pressure internally, obviously from their business.

“At the beginning of my innovation journey law firms said, if you introduce these technologies and make us spend less time on matters, you are shaving off revenue. Why would we want to remove extra time we can bill to clients?”

Thurner says, back then clients were willing to pay for those inefficiencies. They didn’t have the pressure they have now from their CFOs. “They don’t have the funds available anymore and therefore it is important for law firms to adopt technology and help clients cut costs. If clients are not willing to pay as much, clients will be forced to either keep more work in-house or start using alterative legal service providers (ALSPs).”

Marianne Baroud, regional channel manager for New York-based legal practice management solutions provider App4Legal, says in-house legal teams are now the decision-makers when it comes to adopting legal tech. “Most often, they become advocates for legal tech because they can see the return on investment and how it improves the way they work, increases collaboration and efficiency, and how it is driving better results,” says Baroud.

Although in-house legal teams have been playing the role of tech evangelists in the industry, some feel that enough isn’t being done from their end.

O’Carroll, who until recently joining Ironclad was the head of Google’s legal operations team, notes that most of the corporate lawyers came from law firms. “They were trained at law firms, and so that’s the model that they know and understand,” she says. “So, for internal corporate lawyers to be the ones demanding that change, I don’t think that’s fully happening at the rate that we would like it to be, quite yet. And the bottom line is that law firms still have the same business model, and we haven’t really seen that changed yet, despite all the pressure they’re feeling.”

Others argue that law firms are more willing to upgrade now. “I think both things are true,” says Klein of Reynen Court. “A lot of the change has come from [in-house] legal departments and continues to be driven by expectations that the legal departments are going to demand modernisation,” he says.

“But it’s also definitely true that many law firms, I won’t say all the law firms, but many truly believe that innovation will be a defining competitive opportunity for them. In seriously investing in people and technology, they can bring ideas to their clients. They can win new clients and more business from their clients by being truly more efficient, more transparent and more committed to modernising.”

Jon Bartman, head of UK-based Jameson Legal Tech, says he sees the evolution occurring. “A year ago, it was very much that corporate legal teams were pushing for legal tech adoption from law firms, as many of these companies were going through a digital transformation in finance, in marketing, in sales, in everywhere else, so it only made sense to have a digital transformation within the legal team at the same time,” he says.

“But what we’re seeing in the past six months, however – this may well be pandemic-related – is that a lot of law firms are really stepping up their search for digital transformation. They have realised office-based work has changed enormously. We now need to work out ways and systems. We’ve worked out how we can work from home, which is a great thing.”

Baroud, of App4Legal, notes that law firms and all legal professionals are becoming more convinced about adopting legal tech. “However, we still face some resistance from those who believe in legacy systems and ways of doing things,” she says, “but the new generation of lawyers is embracing technology very well.

“There are many challenges that law firms face in adopting technology, and they vary depending on the country or region. Some of the issues include data privacy laws, technology infrastructure in the country they are in, budget and legal tech spend, market maturity and readiness, as well as clients’ needs.”

This rings true for China. “The data regulation in China, and for transferring data outside of China, is very, very strict,” says Thurner. “You have to set up your infrastructure there because they’re so strict about data transfer,” he says. “That makes it so difficult for a smaller startup to even enter that market, because we would have to kind of completely replicate our entire infrastructure onsite there again. So that’s why they’re creating their own little ecosystem.”

PHILIPP-THURNER,-CEO-and-Founder,-NEXL,-Sydney

The buyer’s dilemma

Whether it’s by push or pull, there is no doubt that law firms are seeing the value in implementing technology. However, that presents its own set of problems for them, the first being the nature of decision-making at a law firm.

“Another thing we realised is that law firms don’t have proper processes in place to buy new technology,” says Thurner. “There is a big buying problem. Many law firms don’t know how to successfully buy and implement technology. One of the main reasons is the partnership structure. You have too many decision-makers who all have their own agenda. The more decision-makers you have, the more difficult it is to come to a decision. Usually, the easiest thing to agree on, as a group, is to not do anything at all.”

In China, the management models are fundamentally different from foreign or international law firms, which operate on the Western law for management models.

“Chinese law firms, with a couple of exceptions, are not integrated in terms of management systems,” says Lewis. “In China, even some of the very highly rated law firms, with exceptions, are all just a collection of sole practices. It’s a confederation. Some of these firms actually have trouble organising big teams to do things on an integrated basis.

“And so, the problem is that if you have a law firm built on that basis there is a huge deficiency in their ability or willingness to make significant investments in know-how. Partners view themselves as primarily their own individual profit centres.

They view other partners in many respects as either actual or potential competitors.”

Lewis says domestic work in China is by far the dominant source of business for every law firm, including the big ones.

“Now, if you take something like what we’re doing, it’s primarily for inbound, outbound or cross-border work. It’s not valuable for 100% of the partnership. It’s valuable for a maximum, even in the biggest firms, of say 20% of the partners, and even for some of those it can be valuable only some of the time.

“Because that’s not even the dominant part of their practice. If they see an expense that’s not benefitting them, they think they see the money coming out of their own pocket. They can actually calculate, ‘how much does it cost me, as the firm made this expenditure?’ There’s a lot of push back on that. Yet the dynamics are that you have individual partners who could use it, but they don’t know that they necessarily have the flow of work that’s relevant so that they can subscribe to it.”

Globally, larger law firms are becoming more sophisticated as they are hiring specialised people, says Thurner. “If you have a proper use case, which lists out the problems you are trying to solve – what the expenses are, the business impact – and assign responsibility, then you have a proper plan in place. Then it’s easy to actually implement software and get people to use it because they have a purpose for it. If there’s no proper use case, no proper process, then you implement something that is just floating around and no one will use.”

Cloud conungrum

One of the big technology questions that law firms face, which has become starker, is whether to adopt cloud technologies or retain legacy on-premise servers. It is an argument that continues to divide opinions among law firms and technology vendors.

With the pandemic and work-from-home restrictions, the need to access documents from anywhere has become extremely important. But the sensitivity of documents that law firms handle, client demands and regulatory requirements all make it difficult for law firms to embrace the cloud completely.

Bleiweiss of Everchron also believes that “for many firms, the cloud is more secure”.

“Most firms do not have the IT resources to provide the security that a cloud provider can give. In fact, many legal tech companies are transitioning away from on-premise solutions and are embracing the cloud.”

Combs, of Linksquares, which is a cloud-only product selling to corporate legal teams that are comfortable with this, says: “I think it is 100% safer. What you have is large firms with large teams that are being paid a lot of money to run those internal servers and host them.

“As you can imagine, they’re not really that eager to completely give that strategy up. That’s going to be the long tail of the adoption cycle, but there’s no question that it’s the future and that it is, in fact, more secure because the security is centralised.”

Thurner says there is a much stronger push towards the cloud, which he applauds, but believes the process is still quite complex and complicated. “Law firm’s also have high security standards and for technology start-ups to go through the firm’s due diligence process takes a lot of time and effort.”

“It’s not just because law firms are trying to make it hard, it’s also the pressure they are getting from their clients,” he says.

“If they are working with banks, they have specific data security protocols to follow to comply with their client’s requirements. There are certain things that you’re allowed to do and you’re not allowed to do. How it integrates, where the data are stored, how it’s moved around, all have specific requirements. So, if you build a system and it doesn’t fit these requirements, law firms can’t buy them.

Thurner says a lot of startups don’t have a background in the inner workings of a law firm. “That’s why there are great solutions out there but firms can’t buy a lot of them, because they’ve built them the wrong way, which doesn’t fit with the firm’s infrastructure and is just not fit for purpose for them to be able to implement. And it happens a lot.

It’s a problem that Lewis of docQbot also seems to be finding in China. “A lot of the companies and tools are heavy on tech and much lighter on law,” he says.

ROBERT-LEWIS,-Co-founder,-Chief-Expert,-docQbot,-Beijing

“That’s the challenge for all law tech – from which direction you come to achieve a balance between the law side and the tech side. Both sides are important. If you’re coming from the tech side, you typically don’t have any good grounding to know even your partners on the legal side.”

Bernie Sugano, operations consultant at Jameson Legal, says: “In terms of impact, covid-19 has helped shift the view of legal tech from a far-off goal to a new normal that every laws firm and in-house legal team can adopt easily.”

The pandemic-driven adoption of legal technology seems like a big leap, but it is still only a first step. The real test, say some experts, may lie in changing the mindsets of law firms and prompting a shift in culture to one that embraces change.