经营者集中要点问题及申报策略

作者: 黄伟、高畅和缪柔嘉,天元律师事务所
0
37

国家市场监督管理总局于2021年7月7日再公布22起违法实施经营者集中的行政处罚案件,这是今年反垄断局第三次大批量公布违法实施集中案件。在公开征求意见的《反垄断法》修订草案中,对违法实施集中处罚的罚款金额上限也拟从“50万元以下”大幅上调至“上一年度销售额10%以下”。

黄伟, Huang Wei, Managing partner, Tian Yuan Law Firm
黄伟
管理合伙人
天元律师事务所

谨慎判断相关交易是否可能构成一项经营者集中

判断的关键在于交易前后控制权是否发生变化。结合近期实践,笔者建议特别关注以下情形:

(1) 小股比收购可能涉及经营者集中问题。经营者集中项下的“控制权”包括单方控制权和共同控制权。因此,若目标公司股权结构较为分散,小股比收购可能已经能够取得对目标公司的单方控制权;即使存在其他持股比例更高的股东,收购方通过委派董事、提名高管等能够深度参与目标公司经营管理,或其委派的董事对重要经营事项享有否决权,或与目标公司存在重要原料供应等合作安排,仍可能会与其他股东取得对目标公司的共同控制权。

(2) 设立投资基金或投资基金对外投资也可能涉及经营者集中问题。设立投资基金时,若投资基金存在多个普通合伙人,或部分有限合伙人能够通过向投决会委派委员等方式参与基金投资项目决策,可能会涉及经营者集中的问题;投资基金对外投资时,虽然基金一般是以财务性投资目的进行投资,但也需要根据在目标公司经营管理方面取得的权利情况综合判断是否可能会取得对其的控制权。

(3) 境外交易可能也会涉及中国大陆经营者集中问题。中国反垄断法具有域外效力,因此在收购境外主体股权或在境外设立合营企业,或交易架构搭建在境外的情况下,还是需要关注是否可能涉及中国大陆经营者集中的问题。

高畅, Gao Chang, Senior associate, Tian Yuan Law Firm
高畅
资深律师
天元律师事务所

准确理解与把握营业额计算问题

若相关交易构成一项经营者集中,在相关主体达到营业额门槛的情况下,需向反垄断局进行申报。企业在评估营业额数据时,应当注意以下几点:

(1) 原则上不看出让方营业额,因此“大企业之间的小交易”并不一定达到营业额门槛,但“小企业之间的大交易”可能会达到营业额门槛。

(2) 就收购方的营业额而言,一般需要追溯至最终控制人考察其全口径的营业额情况,而不是仅看收购方单体的营业额,或其与目标公司重叠或有关联的业务营业额。

(3) 在设立合营企业交易中,一般考察有控制权的各股东营业额情况,并不因为设立的合营企业自身没有营业额而无需进行经营者集中申报。

合理规划申报策略

在筹备申报工作时,建议由专业反垄断律师牵头,根据交易及各方业务情况、项目时间要求制定申报策略,尤其重点考虑如下几点:

(1) 围绕被收购方或所新设合营企业的主营业务及所在产业链的位置,谨慎辨别、评估交易各方业务之间的横向、纵向和相邻关系,合理确定可能需要关注的相关市场。

(2) 准确界定交易所涉的相关市场。虽然将相关市场界定在较大市场能够达到稀释份额的效果,但若没有充足的支持理由,可能会令审查部门关注是否需要对市场作进一步细分,在细分市场若无法满足简易程序适用标准,还可能会影响整体时间表;而若将相关市场界定在较小市场,可能会夸大市场份额、无法适用简易程序,且无法体现真实市场竞争情况,因此相关市场界定最好由反垄断律师恰当评估与把握。

(3) 尽早启动申报准备工作。若各方已就交易达成合作框架或备忘录,建议考虑尽快同步开展申报准备工作,在交易协议正式签署后即可向反垄断局递交申报。

(4) 复杂问题情况下利用好商谈机制。若交易结构或申报义务把握方面存在复杂情况,建议利用好经营者集中商谈机制,与反垄断局进行商谈沟通,争取得到最有利的个案指导意见。

(5) 注意防范抢跑风险。在反垄断局审批通过前,企业如进行办理工商变更登记、申请合营企业营业执照、改组标的公司董事会等行为,可能会涉嫌“抢跑”,存在被处罚的反垄断风险。因此在复杂、多步骤安排的交易中,也建议由反垄断专业律师提早介入,帮助综合评估和降低相关行为可能存在的反垄断风险。


黄伟律师是天元律师事务所管理合伙人、中华全国律师协会涉外委员会副主任。他的联系方式为电话+86 10 5776 3888以及电邮 hwei@tylaw.com.cn

高畅是天元律师事务所资深律师。她的联系方式是电话+86 136 9359 1801 以及电邮gaochang@tylaw.com.cn

缪柔嘉律师是天元律师事务所律师。她的联系方式为电话+86 10 5776 3650以及电邮miaoroujia@tylaw.com.cn

Key issues and filing strategies for business operator concentrations

By Huang Wei, Gao Chang and Miao Roujia, Tian Yuan Law Firm
0
31

Recently, the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) published 22 penalties against illegally implemented concentrations, being the third time this year that the regulator has published these kinds of cases in large volume. In the revised draft for public comment of the Anti-Monopoly Law (AML), it is proposed that the upper limit on the fine for the illegal implementation of concentration be significantly increased from “not more than RMB500,000 (USD$77,000)” to “not more than 10% of the previous year’s sales turnover”.

黄伟, Huang Wei, Managing partner, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Huang Wei
Managing partner
Tian Yuan Law Firm

Careful determination of whether a transaction could constitute a concentration

The key to such a determination is whether there is a change in control after the transaction. Particular attention is required in following scenarios:

(1) Acquisition of a small equity percentage. “Control” in the context of a concentration includes unilateral control and joint control. Accordingly, if the equity structure of the target is relatively dispersed, an acquisition of a small percentage of its equity could be enough to give unilateral control over the company. Even if there are other shareholders with larger equity holdings, the acquirer could still secure joint control over the target with another shareholder through the appointment of directors, nomination of senior executives, etc., giving it extensive participation in the operation and management of the company, or the directors appointed by it having veto power over material operational matters, or having a co-operation arrangement with the target such as for the supply of key raw materials.

(2) Establishment of an investment fund or investment in third parties by such fund. When an investment fund is established, if it has multiple general partners, or certain of the limited partners can participate in the decision-making on the fund’s investment projects by appointing members to the investment decision committee, the issue of concentration could be involved. When an investment fund invests in third parties, even if the fund generally invests for financial investment purposes, it remains necessary to comprehensively determine whether control over the target can be secured based on the rights acquired in respect of the company’s operations and management.

(3) An offshore transaction. As China’s AML has extraterritorial effect, when acquiring equity in an offshore entity, establishing a joint venture offshore or erecting a transaction structure offshore, it is necessary to pay attention to the issue of whether a business operator concentration in mainland China is involved.

高畅, Gao Chang, Senior associate, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Gao Chang
Senior associate
Tian Yuan Law Firm

Accurately understanding and grasping the calculation of business turnover

If a relevant transaction constitutes a business operator concentration, a filing needs to be made if the business turnover of the relevant entity or entities reach the reporting threshold. When assessing its business turnover data, an enterprise needs to pay attention to the following points:

(1) In principle, the business turnover of the transferor is not relevant, and accordingly a “small transaction between large enterprises” will not necessarily reach the business turnover threshold, but a “large transaction between small enterprises” could reach the turnover threshold.

(2) With respect to the business turnover of the acquirer, generally it is necessary to examine its business turnover in entirety by tracing back to the ultimate controller, rather than just looking at the business turnover of the acquirer alone, or its turnover from business that overlaps or is connected with that of the target.

(3) In the transactions establishing a joint venture, the business turnover of each shareholder with control will generally be examined, and just because the joint venture being established has no business turnover itself, the requirement to make a business operator concentration filing is not necessarily obviated.

Reasonable planning of filing strategy

The authors recommend that a professional anti-monopoly lawyer take the lead in formulating the filing strategy based on the circumstances of the transaction, the business situation of the parties and the time requirements of the project, with particular emphasis placed on the following points:

(1) Revolving around the main business of the acquiree, or the newly established joint venture and its location in the industrial chain in which it finds itself, carefully identify and assess the horizontal, vertical and adjacent relationships among the businesses of the parties to the transaction and reasonably determine the relevant markets to which attention may need to be paid.

(2) Accurately define the relevant market relating to the transaction. Although defining the relevant market in a larger market can have the effect of diluting the share of such market, if there are insufficient supporting grounds, the review authority may challenge whether further segmentation of the market is necessary. If the market is required to be further segmented and the market share in such market fails to fulfill the criteria for applying the simplified procedure, the entire timetable could be affected. In contrast, if the relevant market is defined in a smaller market, the market share could be exaggerated, possibly precluding application of the simplified procedure and making it impossible to reflect the true market competition situation. Accordingly, the ideal is to have an anti-monopoly lawyer make the appropriate assessment.

(3) Start the filing preparation work as early as possible. If the parties have reached a co-operation framework or a memorandum of understanding on the transaction, the authors recommend to get started on the preparation work of the filing materials, so that parties would be able to submit the filing to the regulator once the transaction agreement is formally executed.

(4) Duly use the negotiation mechanism for complex issues. If there are complexities in the structure of the transaction, or in the grasp of the filing obligations, the authors recommend duly using the business operator concentration negotiation mechanism to negotiate and communicate with the regulator, so as to secure the most favourable guiding opinions for the case in question.

(5) Pay attention to guarding against the risk of “jumping the gun”. If, before the regulator gives its approval, the enterprise carries out such acts as carrying out amendment of business registration for the target, applying for a business licence for the joint venture, reorganising the board of directors of the target, etc., it could be suspected of “jumping the gun” and face the anti-monopoly risk of being penalised. Accordingly, in complex, multi-step transactions, the authors likewise recommend that a professional anti-monopoly lawyer intervene early to assist in comprehensively assessing and reducing the potential anti-monopoly risks arising from relevant acts.


Huang Wei is a managing partner at Tian Yuan Law Firm and deputy director of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the All China Lawyers Association. He can be contacted on +86 10 5776 3888 or by email at hwei@tylaw.com.cn

Gao Chang is a senior associate at Tian Yuan Law Firm. She can be contacted on +86 10 5776 3514 or by email at gaochang@tylaw.com.cn

Miao Roujia is an associate at Tian Yuan Law Firm. She can be contacted on +86 10 5776 3650 or by email at miaoroujia@tylaw.com.cn