香港法院支持以既定法律手段保护加密资产

0
73
香港法院支持以既定法律手段保护加密资产

港法院最近一次判决确认,常见的法律原则——托管和强制令同等适用于作为新兴资产类别的虚拟货币。对于虚拟货币欺诈的受害者而言,此类法律救济仍可作为重要工具,现在企业可以安心仰赖法院给予的救济来保护和收回数字资产。

香港原讼法庭对Nico Constantijn诉 Stive Jean-Paul Dan (2022)一案作出判决,这是香港法院授予比特币冻洁令的首批案件之一。

法庭认为,被告作为原告的销售代理,为原告代售比特币,被告没有将比特币及其相关销售收益汇报和转给原告,违反了受托责任。因此,法庭认定,被告为原告托管未售出的比特币以及售出比特币获得的收益和相关收入。

考虑到近期虚拟货币价格下跌,保护自己的虚拟货币投资并了解在出现纠纷时有哪些法律救济可用,对于企业而言至关重要。

企业在参与虚拟货币交易和其他相关活动时,应当制定充足的保护措施,将财务损失的风险最小化。这些措施包括通过书面协议记录交易条款、全面记录资产划转,以及制定应急计划以应对金融欺诈和犯罪。

对实务的影响

应正确记载双方就虚拟货币交易所签署的协议,包括拟划转的虚拟货币金额和类型,划转人钱包和收款人钱包。在Nico Constantijn诉Stive Jean-Paul Dan (2022)一案中,双方没有签署书面代理协议,因此,对代理协议的条款和佣金比例产生了争议。在双方位于不同司法管辖区的跨境交易中,双方还应就适用法律协商一致。

保存虚拟货币划转记录也很重要。保存一项交易的交易编号意味着这项交易的细节(包括划转的虚拟货币类型、划转的金额、划转钱包地址、收款钱包地址和交易生效时间)都可以在公共区块链上查验。

应安全存储私钥和助记词,这些是保护和维持虚拟货币钱包权限的必要因素。丢失钱包的私钥和助记词意味着无法再获取该钱包(以及存储在其中的虚拟货币)。

在发现欺诈后,应迅速行动,并考虑是否应申请冻结令。延迟申请冻结令可能会妨碍成功取得冻结令。如加密货币的划转涉及匿名方,可能还需要申请第三方(如虚拟货币交易所)信息披露,从而确定涉及交易的当事方及其他相关信息。

数字资产的发展日新月异,因此,企业和虚拟货币欺诈的受害者更应迅速反应,寻求法律建议并采取必要的法律措施。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

HK court backs established means for protecting cryptos

0
81
HK court backs established means for protecting cryptos

A recent Hong Kong judgment confirms that familiar legal principles of trusts and injunctions apply equally to cryptocurrency as a novel asset class.

With such legal remedies for victims of cryptocurrency fraud, businesses may now more confidently rely on the courts to grant relief to protect and recover their digital assets.

The Court of First Instance handed down its judgment in the trial of Nico Constantijn v Stive Jean-Paul Dan (2022) in one of the first cases in Hong Kong granting a freezing injunction over bitcoins.

The court held that the defendant acted as the plaintiff’s sales agent in respect of the plaintiff’s bitcoins. The defendant was found to have breached his fiduciary duties in failing to account to the plaintiff for the bitcoins and the relevant sales proceeds.

Consequently, the court held that the defendant held on trust for the plaintiff the unsold bitcoins, and the proceeds from the sale of the bitcoins.

Given the recent drop in cryptocurrency prices, it is important for businesses to safeguard cryptocurrency investments and understand available legal remedies in case of dispute.

Businesses should put in place adequate safeguards when engaging in cryptocurrency trading and other related activities to minimise the risk of financial losses. These safeguards include recording transaction terms in a written agreement, keeping comprehensive transfer records, and putting in place contingency plans for dealing with financial fraud/crime.

PRACTICAL IMPLICATIONS

It is important to properly document the agreement between parties in cryptocurrency transactions, including the amount and type of cryptocurrency to be transferred, the transferor wallet and the recipient wallet. In the Nico Constantijn v Stive Jean-Paul Dan (2022) case, there was no written agency agreement, which led to disputes on the terms of the agency agreement and rate of commission.

It is also important for parties to agree on the applicable law for cross-border transactions involving parties in different jurisdictions. It is equally important to keep records of cryptocurrency transfers.

Having the transaction ID means that transaction details can be verified on the public blockchain, including the type and amount of cryptocurrency transferred, the transferring wallet address, the receiving wallet address and when the transfer was made.

It is important to safely store private keys and seed phrases, as these are required to safeguard and maintain access to cryptocurrency wallets. Loss of the private keys and seed phrase for a wallet will mean that the wallet (and any cryptocurrency stored in it) can no longer be accessed.

Upon discovery of fraud, act swiftly and consider whether an application should be made for a freezing injunction. Delay in applying for a freezing injunction may hinder the prospects of successfully obtaining an injunction.

If the cryptocurrency transfers involve anonymous parties, it may also be necessary to seek disclosure applications against third parties (such as cryptocurrency exchanges) to identify the parties involved and other relevant information.

Given the fast-changing developments in digital assets, it is all the more important that businesses and victims of cryptocurrency fraud act promptly in seeking legal advice and taking necessary legal steps.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com