法院立下隐蔽性竞业举证先例

0
370
ex-employee covert competition
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

果前雇员隐蔽间接受雇于和前雇主有竞争关系的公司,前雇主该如何举证?上海宝山区人民法院近日审理的一起竞业限制纠纷案件将提供重要参考价值。

本案被告原在A公司(原告)从事电车驱动系统研发工作,离职时与A公司签订了为期12个月的竞业限制协议。

次月,该员工加入软件公司B公司,并向A公司提交了B公司出示的在职证明。A公司按约定向该员工支付竞业补偿款。

但A公司随后发现,B公司从事IT人力资源外包服务,该员工的实际用工单位很可能是与A公司业务线相同的C公司。

而B公司作为被告的雇主,负责其劳动合同的签署、工资发放、社保缴纳。B公司作为一家软件公司,与原告不存在竞争关系。因此,A公司很难提供直接证据证明该员工违反竞业限制协议。

根据A公司提供的初步证据,法庭批准了原告的调查令申请,作深入调查,获取了被告的月租车位、酒店发票信息等。基于以下证据,法庭进一步认定被告的用人单位是C公司:

  1. 据调查令获取的信息显示,该员工在C公司所在的园区办理了月租车位,而该车位正是C公司的车位。另有视频显示该员工在争议期间多次出入停车场;
  2. 相关酒店开具的发票显示该员工曾入住该酒店并开具了抬头为C公司的发票;
  3. 该员工没有承认上述事实,但未能给出合理解释。在争议期间,被告就其工作地点曾作出矛盾陈述。其行为和辩称难以自圆其说。

法庭认为上述间接证据形成了一条证据链,达到了民事诉讼中要求的高度盖然性。由此,法庭支持了A公司的主张。

在实践中,签署竞业限制协议是企业为保护商业秘密常采用的预防手段之一。前员工的竞业有几种形式,不仅包括直接受雇于或投资同行业单位,还包括隐蔽的方式,比如劳务派遣、股份代持、关系挂靠、人事代理等。

对于隐蔽性竞业,企业获取直接证据和维权的难度大。

但是,在本案中,法庭在A公司提供初步证据后即发出了调查令。这表明,法庭在评估此类案件时,会考虑前雇主获取证据的难度,并以更合理的法式分配举证责任。法庭的做法将让企业重新思考如何甄别和证明隐蔽性竞业。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Precedent set for proving ex-employee covert competition

0
520
ex-employee covert competition
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A recent non-compete dispute heard before Shanghai Baoshan District People’s Court will have significant reference value for employers seeking to prove ex-employees covertly competed against them through indirect employment arrangements.

The defendant in this case worked for company A, the plaintiff, which was mainly engaged in the development of electric vehicle drive systems. When the employee left company A, the two parties agreed on a 12-month non-compete period.

The following month, the employee joined software company B and provided company A with a document from company B certifying that he was working there. Company A paid non-compete compensation to the employee as agreed.

Company A subsequently learned that company B was engaged in the provision of IT personnel outsourcing services, and it was highly likely the employee was actually working for company C, in the same line of business as company A.

As the defendant’s official employer, company B was responsible for signing his employment contract, paying his salary and making his social security contributions. Being a software company, company B was not a competitor to company A, so it was difficult to provide direct evidence of the employee breaching the non-compete agreement.

But based on preliminary evidence provided by company A, the court approved its application for an investigation, obtaining information such as the defendant’s parking space rental and hotel accommodation invoices. An in-depth investigation subsequently found the following evidence confirming the defendant worked for company C:

  1. The employee was renting a monthly parking space in a parking lot where company C was located, and which it owned. Video records showed the employee at the parking lot on multiple occasions during the dispute period;
  2. An invoice relating to the employee was obtained from a hotel showing he stayed there and invoiced company C; and
  3. The employee did not admit to these facts but failed to provide a reasonable explanation. During the dispute he made contradictory statements as to his place of work. His actions were hard to justify and his arguments were implausible.

Finding this circumstantial evidence could form a chain of evidence meeting the high standard of proof of probability required in civil actions, the court supported company A’s allegations.

In practice, the signing of non-compete agreements is one of the more common precautions taken to protect trade secrets. Competition by ex-employees can take various forms, not only including direct employment and investment in an organisation in the same industry but also covert forms such as labour dispatch, nominee shareholding, nominal employment by another entity and working through a personnel agency.

Since it is often difficult for enterprises to obtain direct evidence of covert competition, it can be hard for them to defend their rights.

But this case – with the court issuing an investigation order after company A provided preliminary evidence – shows that when a court assesses such cases, it may take into account the employer’s difficulty in collecting evidence and allocate the burden of proof more reasonably. The court’s approach enables a rethink of ways to identify and prove covert competition by former employees.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link