中东欧各国劳动及移民法—中国投资者的挑战

作者: Iain Batty、Katarzyna Dulewicz,金马伦麦坚拿律师事务所
0
237
中东欧各国劳动及移民法—中国投资者的挑战 | 《商法》

着中国企业向中东欧地区的发展,他们必需面对陌生的法律制度与商业环境带来的挑战,其中之一就是如何在那里的劳动法律体系中有效运作。而该地区的劳动法与中国的劳动法律法规差别很大,不遵循的代价将是惨重的,会导致雇主与雇员之间不必要的摩擦。因此,中国投资者必需对相关法律了解透彻。虽然各国的劳动法自成一体,但因大部分属欧盟国家,其立法的原则精神是相通的。

同样,移民法规也非常重要,关系到中国企业的高级管理人员能否进入该地区各国工作。

劳动合同

雇主可自行决定聘用哪些职员,只要聘用标准不涉嫌歧视(如年龄、性别、国籍、种族、宗教等)。聘用时通常会签订雇佣合同,但有时也会签订民法协议。民法协议对雇员的保障较少(例如没有带薪假期)。但也有政府当局视民法协议为规避劳动法的保障,因此法院有时会裁决要求使用劳动合同而非民法协议。

Iain Batty
Iain Batty

雇佣关系必须以书面形式订立,雇主必须由企业董事或有适当授权的人士代表。中东欧各国的法律都明确规定了双方必须在哪些基本内容上达成一致,方可建立雇佣关系(例如工作性质、待遇、合同期限等)。

中东欧国家的主要合同类型有:长期合同、定期合同、试用合同。在某些国家,定期合同的最长期限受法律限制,以防止定期合同被用于实质上的长期工作。各国对最长期限的规定不尽相同,在捷克及罗马尼亚为两年,在匈牙利为五年,而在波兰则没有法定限制。试用合同的最长期限各国也不同,短至罗马尼亚的30天,长至保加利亚的六个月。通常,定期合同只能续约一次,而试用合同也只能签订一次。

限制性协议

限制性协议在多数中东欧国家都是获允准的。如竞业禁止协议,要求雇员在合同结束后一段时期内不得从事同类型的工作,但雇主必须支付补偿金,补偿金额在波兰的规定是雇员平均工资的25%,而在捷克可高达100%。一些国家还规定了竞业禁止的最长时限,匈牙利的规定是三年,为该地区国家中最长。

终止雇佣关系

雇主及雇员都有权终止劳动合同。一般来说,离职通知可终止雇佣关系,且即刻生效,亦可通过订立协议终止。不过,雇主提出终止雇佣关系须受到一些限制,以免无理解雇员工。保加利亚、捷克等国在法律中明确规定了何种情况允许终止雇佣关系。即时终止雇佣关系一般只在雇员有严重渎职行为时才适用。

离职通知期限因司法规定、劳动合同类型、雇员年资等因素而有所不同。就长期合同而言,一般要求最长为三个月。法律保护某些雇员(如怀孕或休产假的女性员工)的劳动合同免受终止,但并不保证她们免受裁员。法定的离职金通常只在裁员的情况下支付,且依据雇员的年资而定。一般情况下,离职金额上限是离职员工最近三个月薪金的平均数。不过,针对退休等其他情况,也会要求雇主支付离职金。

详尽的规定适用于定期合同、试用合同等通常较易终止的合同。比如在波兰,雇主可以在不提供合理原因的情况下,通知雇员两星期后终止定期合同。

移民法规

中东欧的移民法规因国家而异。原则上,中国公民想在该地区国家工作,必须先获得工作许可、工作签证及/或居住许可。一般来说,雇主负责申请工作许可,而雇员负责申请工作签证及居住许可。

Dulewicz Katarzyna
Dulewicz Katarzyna

高素质的专业人才通常更易取得工作许可。多数情况下,雇主首先应在本地市场招聘该职位。一些国家对聘用外籍职员的数量加以限制(如保加利亚)。等候获取工作许可最短要一个月的时间(如匈牙利及波兰)。工作许可的有效期会因国家及/或工作类型等因素而有所不同。

通常中国公民一旦获发工作许可,就能在本国申请相关国家的工作签证。雇员不可以用旅游签证从事工作。通常,工作许可足以用来申请工作签证及居住许可。等候取得居住许可最短要一个月(如匈牙利)。居住许可的有效期与签证有效期一致,并可以延期。许可与签证通常只能在颁发国家使用,不能去欧盟其他国家。

保护雇员利益

中东欧国家的劳动法发展于计划经济时代,加入欧盟后,更对其法律产生了重大影响。不过,危险往往隐于细节中。许多国家都有些不常见的法律条款,让人一不小心就会落入陷阱。另外,众所周知,中东欧各国法院都倾向于保护雇员利益。因此,在评估投资某国的可行性时,必须仔细分析该国的劳动法规,并持续加以关注。

Iain Batty是金马伦麦坚拿律师事务所在波兰的合伙人,并且是该律所的国际商务、监管及争议业务主管。您可以通过以下方式与Iain Batty联系:电话 +48 22 5205505 或电邮 iain.batty@cms-cmck.com

Katarzyna Dulewicz是金马伦麦坚拿律师事务所在波兰的合伙人,并且是该律所在中东欧地区的劳动法业务主管。您可以通过以下方式与Katarzyna Dulewicz联系: 电话 +48 22 5205519 或电邮 katarzyna.dulewicz@cms-cmck.com

Employment and immigration law in CEE – challenges to Chinese investors

By Iain Batty and Katarzyna Dulewicz, CMS Cameron McKenna
0
388
Employment and immigration law in central and eastern Europe

As Chinese businesses expand into central and eastern Europe (CEE), they will encounter unfamiliar legal systems and business environments. One of the major challenges they will face will be to work effectively within the labour law regimes of the various CEE jurisdictions, which can differ significantly from PRC labour laws and regulations. Failure to do so is a costly mistake, causing unnecessary friction between management and employees. It is therefore essential for Chinese investors to have a sound understanding of relevant labour law. Each of the countries in the region has its own labour regulations, but as most of them have joined the European Union, employment law concepts are often similar.

Similarly, immigration regulations can have a big effect on the ability of Chinese businesses to bring their senior management personnel into the CEE.

Employment contracts

Employers can freely decide whom they wish to hire, provided that the criteria applied are not discriminatory (e.g. age, sex, nationality, race, religion). Employment contracts are more normally used but civil law agreements are sometimes entered into. The latter offer less protection to the contractors (e.g. no paid vacations). Civil law agreements are sometimes regarded by state authorities as a circumvention of labour law guarantees. As a consequence, courts can sometimes rule that employment contracts should replace civil law agreements.

Iain Batty 金马伦麦坚拿律师事务所 CMS Cameron McKenna
Iain Batty

An employment relationship must be established in writing. The employer must be represented by its directors or a duly authorised person. Domestic laws in each country specify the minimum conditions that must be agreed by the parties in order to establish an employment relationship (for example, type of work, salary and term of the contract).

The main contracts in the CEE countries are: permanent contracts, fixed-term contracts and probationary contracts. In some jurisdictions there are legal limits on the maximum terms of fixed term employment in order to stop fixed-term contracts being used for what are, in effect, long-term positions. The maximum term of fixed-term contracts varies from two years in the Czech Republic and Romania to five years in Hungary, while in Poland there is no statutory maximum. The maximum term for probationary contracts varies from 30 days in Romania to six months in Bulgaria. A fixed-term contract can generally only be renewed once, while a probationary employment contract can generally be concluded only once.

Restrictive covenants

Restrictive covenants are permissible in most CEE countries. Post-contract competition bans can only be introduced where there is payment of compensation, which varies from 25% of the relevant employee’s average salary in Poland to 100% in the Czech Republic. In certain jurisdictions the maximum terms of the post-contract competition ban are also provided for, the longest term being a period of three years in Hungary.

Termination of employment

Employment contracts can be terminated by either party. In general, termination can be by notice, with immediate effect, or by entering into an agreement. However, certain restrictions apply if an employer is the initiating party so that it can only terminate employment for a valid reason. In some jurisdictions, such as Bulgaria and the Czech Republic, reasons for termination are expressly set out in the law. Immediate termination can usually only be applied in the case of gross misconduct.

The length of the notice period will differ according to the jurisdiction, the type of employment contract and the employee’s seniority. For permanent contracts, the typical maximum notice period is three months. Some employees (e.g. pregnant women and those on maternity leave) are protected against termination but not always against redundancy. Statutory severance pay, in general, is paid only in redundancy situations and usually depends on the employee’s seniority. The typical maximum is the average of three of the relevant employee’s monthly salaries. However, severance pay may also be due in other circumstances, such as retirement.

Specific regulations will apply to fixed-term contracts and probationary contracts which are generally easier to terminate. For example, in Poland a fixed-term contract can be terminated with two weeks’ notice without justification.

Immigration regulations

Immigration regulations are specific to each CEE country. However, as a rule, Chinese nationals cannot perform work without first obtaining a work permit and a work visa and/or a residence permit. Generally, it is the employer that must apply for the work permit, while visa and residence permit applications are filed by employees.

Katarzyna Dulewicz 金马伦麦坚拿律师事务所 CMS Cameron McKenna
Katarzyna Dulewicz

It is usually easier to obtain a permit in the case of highly qualified specialists. In most other cases the employer should first offer a position on the local market. Certain jurisdictions provide for limitations on the number of foreign employees that can be employed by the employer (e.g. Bulgaria). The minimum waiting period for obtaining a work permit is approximately one month (e.g. Hungary and Poland). The maximum term of a work permit varies depending on the jurisdiction and/or the type of work performed.

In general, once a work permit is issued, a Chinese national can apply in China for a work visa for the relevant country. Employees cannot perform work using tourist visas. Work permits are usually a sufficient basis to apply for a work visa and a residence permit. The minimum waiting period for obtaining a residence permit is one month (e.g. Hungary). The residence permit is issued for the same term as the work permit and can be renewed. In general residence permits and work visas are only applicable in the country for which they are issued. They are not generally transportable across EU states.

Employee-friendly

CEE labour laws have evolved since the days of central planning. EU accession has also had a significant impact in legislation. However, the devil lies in the detail. Many countries in the region have unusual provisions which can trap the unwary. Domestic courts are widely recognized as employee friendly. Therefore, careful analysis of employment legislation should be undertaken when evaluating whether to invest in a country and, subsequently, on a continuing basis.

Iain Batty is a partner at CMS Cameron McKenna in Poland and head of the firm’s international commercial, regulatory and disputes practice. He may be contacted on +48 22 5205505 or by email at iain.batty@cms-cmck.com

Katarzyna Dulewicz is a partner at CMS Cameron McKenna in Poland and head of the firm’s employment law practice in central and eastern Europe. She may be contacted on +48 22 5205519 or by email at katarzyna.dulewicz@cms-cmck.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022