拆除红筹架构的方案设计与思路

作者: 韦佩、艾勇陶,嘉源律师事务所
0
70

拆红筹的最终目的是将境外拟上市主体的股东权益转回至境内拟上市主体,其核心在于对一家或多家公司的股权结构进行调整,常用手段包括股权转让、增资、回购和换股等。股权结构调整过程中会涉及到ODI、FDI、外商投资企业增资、股权转让等程序性事项;是否已经办理应履行的审批手续,是判断拆红筹的过程是否合规的关键事项,也是IPO审核过程中关注的重点,拆红筹过程中需要注意提示企业及时办理。

在确保合法合规的前提下,法律程序的设计应当让位于商业利益,即因循商业利益最大化原则,被动匹配相应的法律程序,从而让客户商业利益最大化,这是一名合格商事律师应有的思维模式。

Wei Pei, Senior partner, Jia Yuan Law Offices
韦佩
高级合伙人
嘉源律师事务所

商业利益

拆红筹并不能给企业带来直接经济利益,因此拆红筹过程中的商业利益的考量则更多地体现为如何合理控制成本,主要成本项包括资金成本、时间成本、税费成本及税基损失四个方面。在平衡前述成本后,结合项目实际情况规划合理的资金流转路径,才能使客户利益最大化。

资金成本。拆红筹过程中,企业往往需要支付交易对价,资金使用成本是企业重点考虑的因素之一。律师应当结合企业的融资能力和资金成本,反向调整拆红筹的方案设计。另外,企业如果本身有一定的资金用于拆红筹,也可以降低资金使用成本,比如企业外部融资尚余部分资金未使用的,可以设计利用该笔资金作为支付对价进行流转。

时间成本。如果企业对时间表要求不高,在资金流实现闭环(资金流的起点与终点相同,金额基本匹配)的情况下,可以安排以资金多次流转的方式以降低企业的资金成本。相反,如果企业对时间表的要求较高,此时通常只能通过筹集大额过桥资金,一次性完成资金流转从而缩短拆红筹耗时。

税费成本。拆红筹过程中每一步的交易税费是方案设计中的核心问题,交易税费受制于众多因素,这也会导致不同方案下,交易价格和税负成本不同。在方案设计过程中,应当综合考虑企业各个子公司的净资产、历史交易情况等要素,合理拟定交易方案从而降低税费成本。

税基损失。在拆除红筹架构时,对于民营企业而言,无强制性法律法规要求企业在权益从境外转回境内时必须进行评估,或必须按照评估值作价。企业可以自己选择价格交易,但纳税需要按照税务主管部门认定的估值进行缴纳,故支付的对价和报税的估值是可以有差异的。

但低价交易带来的问题是税基损失,特别是末轮融资的投资人进入时估值往往较高,此时若以低价交易,投资人很可能会损失大量税基,并且在未来退出时承担更高的税负成本。

资金流规划。由于拆红筹相关法律程序的办理并不以资金流转的完成为先决条件,因此在设计拆红筹方案时,可以将法律程序的办理和资金的流转分别进行规划,并独立予以实施。

资金流规划还需考虑债权债务的清理。企业在完成红筹架构搭建后,境外拟上市主体融资所募集的资金,若通过境外股东借款的方式借予境内外经营实体使用,资金流规划时需考虑及时清理相关债权债务,否则会导致红筹架构拆除后,境外实体仍对境内经营实体享有债权,而无法进行注销和清算,也会导致IPO申报时遗留关联方往来没有处理完毕的问题。

拆红筹方案设计时,应当在充分考虑上述商业利益及债权债务的情况下,以资金流可以完成“闭环”为导向,设计出一套合适的法律程序和步骤,以便企业采取分期多次支付的方式或者灵活选择过桥资金的币种,从而使客户利益最大化。

总结

拆红筹方案的设计是一门平衡法律合规性和商业利益的艺术,涉及法律程序设计、资金流规划、交易定价、税务成本测算、债权债务清理等一系列工作,各个因素会相互制约和影响,改变其中一个条件,就会导致整体方案的实质性变化,需要律师结合项目自身特点,在合规、降低税负成本、避免税基损失、减小资金压力以及保障项目时间表等方面,寻找一个符合客户、投资人利益及申报时间需求的平衡点。

需要注意的是,国有企业涉及国资监管相关规定,在方案设计时不如民营企业灵活,因此涉及国有企业或国有股东的,需要特殊考虑,一事一议。


韦佩是嘉源律师事务所高级合伙人,他的联系方式是电话+86 755 8278 9766以及电邮weipei@jiayuan-law.com

艾勇陶是嘉源律师事务所律师,他的联系方式是电邮 aiyongtao@jiayuan-law.com

Dismantling a red-chip structure requires planning

By Wei Pei and Ai Yongtao, Jia Yuan Law Offices
0
73

The ultimate purpose behind dismantling a red chip is to return shareholders’ equity in the offshore listed entity to the domestic listed entity. At its core is an adjustment of the equity structure of one or more companies, and the common means of doing so include equity transfers, capital increases, buybacks and share swaps.

Wei Pei, Senior partner, Jia Yuan Law Offices
Wei Pei
Senior partner
Jia Yuan Law Offices

An equity structure adjustment may involve ODI, FDI, capital increment of a foreign-invested enterprise, and equity transfer, among others. The crucial issue for evaluating the compliance of the dismantlement and the key point of an IPO review process is in both whether the required approval procedures have been fulfilled. In both scenarios, companies must ensure they handle these matters in a timely manner.

While ensuring compliance, the design of the legal procedures should take a back seat to commercial benefits. That is, the legal procedures should be appropriate to fulfilling the principle of maximising commercial benefits for the client – and this is the mindset under which a qualified commercial lawyer should be operating.

Commercial benefits

As dismantling a red chip does not bestow direct economic benefits on an enterprise, consideration of commercial benefits mainly means how costs are reasonably controlled. The main costs include funding, time, tax and tax base. Only by planning a reasonable fund flow track in light of the actual circumstances of the project, after balancing the above-mentioned costs, can the client’s benefits be maximised.

Funding costs. An enterprise is usually required to pay transaction consideration, making the cost of using funds one of the key factors to be considered. Lawyers should consider the enterprise’s financing capabilities and funding costs to reverse-adjust the plan design. If an enterprise has some funds that can be used in the dismantlement, this can reduce utilisation costs of the funds. For example, if proceeds from a previous fundraising exercise have not been used, these may go towards the payment of consideration and so contribute to the flow.

Time costs. If the enterprise does not have strict requirements in terms of the timetable, and provided that the fund flow constitutes a closed loop (its starting point and end point are the same, and the amounts are essentially matched), funding costs can be reduced by arranging for the funds to cycle multiple times. In contrast, if there is a strict timetable, it can shorten the time required for red-chip dismantlement by completing the fund flow in one go, which is usually only achievable with a large bridging loan of some sort.

Tax costs. The transaction taxes at each step are the core issues in the design of the plan. Transaction taxes are subject to numerous factors, such as net assets and historical transactions, which will mean transaction prices and tax costs vary under different plans. Thorough consideration needs to be given to these factors in each subsidiary of the enterprise to formulate a transaction plan and thus reduce the tax costs.

Tax base loss. For a private enterprise, when dismantling a red-chip structure, there are no mandatory laws or regulations that require it to have its equity valued when it is returned to China, or that it be valued at such a level should an evaluation take place. The enterprise is free to set its own prices for the transactions but the taxes on these need to be paid based on the valuation determined by the tax authority. There can be a discrepancy between the consideration paid and the valuation reported for tax purposes.

However, the issue that arises when a transaction is conducted at below market price is tax base loss, particularly because the valuation is usually higher when the investors enter at the last financing round, so that, if a transaction is then conducted at a low price, the investors are likely to suffer a large tax base loss and bear higher tax costs in the future when divesting.

Fund flow planning. As the execution of legal procedures for a dismantling of a red chip is not contingent on the completion of the fund flow, the legal procedures and the flow may be planned and implemented independently of one another.

The clearing of claims and liabilities also needs to be considered. After an enterprise has completed setting up of a red chip structure, if the proceeds raised by the offshore listed entity are lent to operating entities by loans from the offshore shareholders, consideration needs to be given to timely clearance of the relevant claims and liabilities at the time of cash flow planning. Failure to do so will mean the offshore entities will continue to have claims against the domestic operating entities – and cannot be written off and liquidated – after the red-chip structure is dismantled. This will also lead to the issue of remaining related-party transactions that have not been fully disposed of when the IPO application is made.

When designing a red-chip dismantling plan, it is necessary – taking the bending of the fund flow into a “closed loop” as the guidepost – to design a set of appropriate legal procedures and steps to allow the enterprise to make payment in multiple instalments or to flexibly select the currency for the bridging funds, so as to maximise the client’s benefits.

Conclusion

The design of a red-chip dismantling plan is the art of balancing legal compliance and commercial benefits. It involves a series of tasks, such as legal procedure design, fund flow planning, transaction pricing, tax cost estimation, claim and liability clearance. Each factor constrains and affects the others, such that changing one condition will result in a substantive change to the plan as a whole. Lawyers have to consider the specific characteristics of the project itself and, in terms of compliance, reducing tax costs, avoidance of tax base loss, reduction of funding pressures and assurance of the project timetable, seek a balance point that is in keeping with the client’s and investors’ interests and satisfies the timing demands of the application.

It should be noted that as state-owned enterprises must comply with regulations relating to state-owned assets, they have less flexibility than private enterprises in plan design. Special consideration is required and each project should be treated on a case-by-case basis.


Wei Pei is a senior partner at Jia Yuan Law Offices. He can be contacted on +86 755 8278 9766 or by email at weipei@jiayuan-law.com

Ai Yongtao is an associate at Jia Yuan Law Offices. He can be contacted by email at aiyongtao@jiayuan-law.com