开曼对加密交易所和其他加密服务的监管

0
1253

《虚拟资产(服务提供商)法案(2020)》(“VASP法”)是开曼群岛针对虚拟资产业务建立的一个法律框架,在开曼开展虚拟资产业务,注册成为虚拟资产服务提供商,以及获取服务许可证,都受此法监管。自推出VASP法后,开曼金管局(“CIMA”)受理了大量注册申请以及许可证申请,涉及加密交易所、加密托管和经纪、加密交易市场、首次代币发行、证券型通证发行,以及通过开曼群岛的实体开展数字资产业务和提供相关服务的其他商业模式。

santiago carvajal
Santiago Carvajal
Legal Consultant
Loeb Smith Attorneys

根据CIMA提供的信息,在开曼注册的VASP中,55%都是交易平台,日交易量达到51亿美元,占全球总交易量2%到3%。

虚拟资产是什么?

VASP法将“虚拟资产”定义为“可以通过数字媒介交易或转让,可用于支付或投资的数字价值形式,但不包括法定货币的数字形式”。

VASP法区分了虚拟资产和“虚拟服务代币”,前者即是前文定义的资产,受到监管,后者则被定义为“在任何时间都不能转让予第三方或与第三方交换的数字价值形式,仅用于接入某个应用,或获取某项服务,或直接向持有人提供服务或功能的数字代币包含其中。”

由于证券型代币和效用型代币的分类经常引起困惑,故VASP法特意做此区分。虚拟服务代币被届定为效用型代币,因此,不在VASP法规定的注册和许可机制范围内。

VASP法第3(2)条作了明确规定:“在本法,虚拟服务代币不是虚拟资产,提供虚拟服务代币相关服务的个人或法律结构不需要申请获取本法规定的许可证或注册。”

什么是虚拟资产服务?

VASP法规定,虚拟资产服务指:(1)发行虚拟资产;或(2)以某个自然人或法人实体或法律结构的名义,或者为他们提供下列某一项或多项服务的业务:

(a)虚拟资产和法币之间的交换;

(b)一种或多种形式的可转换虚拟资产之间的效换;

(c)虚拟资产转让;

(d)虚拟资产托管服务;或

(e)参与或提供与虚拟资产发行或虚拟资产售销相关的金融服务。

VASP的界定

符合以下条件的法人即被届定为VASP法定义的虚拟资产服务提供商(VASP):(1)在开曼群岛注册的公司,或普通合伙企业,或有限合伙企业,或有限责任公司, 或外国公司;以及(2)其业务活动是提供虚拟资产服务,或者在开展业务过程中在开曼群岛或从开曼群岛提供虚拟资产服务,且根据VASP法注册或者获得许可,或者已经是其他法律下的被许可人,被豁免VASP法注册和许可义务。

开曼实体为自己利益购买和处置加密货币的,不受VASP法监管,因为此类实体不被视为以提供虚拟资产服务为业务,或者在开展业务过程中提供虚拟资产服务。除发行虚拟资产的活动外,VASP法的另一个监管内容就是为其他人或者以其他人的名义开展虚拟资产服务,并以此为公司业务,或者在开展业务活动时提供虚拟资产服务。自然人不在此范畴。

VASP法要求VASP在CIMA注册,或者获得CIMA的许可证。VASP是否需要注册或者获得许可证取决于VASP开展的活动。不过,一般情况下,如果VASP提供虚拟资产托管服务,或者运营虚拟资产交易平台(如加密交易所、交易平台),VASP必须获得虚拟资产服务许可证。大部分情况下,VASP提供除上述两项业务以外的其他业务的,只需要在CIMA注册即可。

开曼实体违反VASP法,没有在CIMA注册或者获得CIMA许可证的,VASP及其运营商将被CIMA处以大额行政罚款及其他处罚。

Santiago Carvajal是开曼群岛Loeb Smith Attorneys的法律顾问

loeb smith cayman

LOEB SMITH ATTORNEYS
5/F Zephyr House, 122 Mary Street
George Town PO Box 31493
Grand Cayman, KY1-1206
Cayman Islands

联系信息:
电话: +1 345 749 7593
电邮: santiago.carvajal@loebsmith.com

www.loebsmith.com

Regulation of crypto exchanges and other crypto services in Cayman

By Santiago Carvajal, Loeb Smith Attorneys
0
72

The Virtual Asset (Service Providers) Act, 2020 (VASP Act) as amended, provides a legislative framework for the conduct of virtual assets business in the Cayman Islands, and the registration and licensing of persons providing virtual asset services. Since the introduction of the VASP Act, the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA) has seen a large number of registration applications and, where applicable, licence applications relating to crypto exchanges, crypto custody and brokerage, crypto marketplaces, initial coin offerings, security token offerings, and other businesses operating in, and services being provided in, the digital assets space utilising Cayman Islands entities.

santiago carvajal
Santiago Carvajal
Legal Consultant
Loeb Smith Attorneys

According to information from the CIMA, 55% of the VASPs registered in Cayman are trading platforms with a daily transaction volume of USD5.1 billion (2 to 3% of total global volumes).

What is a virtual asset?

The VASP Act defines a “virtual asset” as “a digital representation of value that can be digitally traded or transferred, and can be used for payment or investment purposes, but does not include a digital representation of fiat currencies”.

The VASP Act makes a distinction between a virtual asset, as defined above, which will be regulated, and a “virtual service token”, which is defined as “a digital representation of value, which is not transferrable or exchangeable with a third party at any time, and includes digital tokens whose sole function is to provide access to an application or service or, to provide a service or function directly to its owner”.

The distinction is meant to deal with the usual question as to whether or not a digital token or coin is a security or a utility token. Virtual service tokens will be treated as utility tokens and, therefore, will fall outside the registration regime and the licensing regime under the VASP Act.

Section 3(2) of the VASP Act makes this clear by stating: “For the purposes of this law, virtual service tokens are not virtual assets and a person or legal arrangement that provides services that involve virtual service tokens only are not required to have a licence or registration under this law.”

What are virtual asset services?

The VASP Act states that virtual asset service means: (1) the issuance of virtual assets; or (2) the business of providing one or more of the following services or operations for, or on behalf of, a natural or legal person or legal arrangement:

  1. Exchange between virtual assets and fiat currencies;
  2. Exchange between one or more other forms of convertible virtual assets;
  3. Transfer of virtual assets;
  4. Virtual asset custody services; or
  5. Participation in and provision of financial services related to a virtual asset issuance or the sale of a virtual asset.

Who is a VASP?

A person is a virtual asset service provider (VASP) under the VASP Act if it is: (1) a company, or a general partnership, or a limited partnership, or a limited liability company, or a foreign company registered in the Cayman Islands; and (2) providing a virtual asset service as a business, or in the course of business in or from within the Cayman Islands, and is registered or licensed in accordance with the VASP Act, or is an existing licensee that is granted a waiver under the VASP Act.

The trading activity of a Cayman entity to acquire and dispose of cryptocurrencies for its own benefit would not be regulated under the VASP Act, as it is not providing a virtual asset service as a business, or in the course of business. Outside the activity of issuing virtual assets, the VASP Act will only affect persons that undertake virtual asset services as a business, or in the course of a business for or on behalf of other persons. A natural person cannot carry on or purport to carry on a virtual asset service as a business, or in the course of business in or from within the Cayman Islands.

The VASP Act requires a VASP to either register with the CIMA or be licensed by the CIMA. Whether the VASP will have to register or be licensed will be dependent on the activity carried out by the VASP. However, broadly speaking, in the case of the provision of virtual asset custodial services, or the operation of a virtual asset trading platform (e.g. crypto exchanges, trading platforms), the VASP is required to have a virtual asset service licence. It appears that in most cases where the VASP is carrying on business as a VASP, but is not providing virtual asset custodial services or the operation of a virtual asset trading platform, only registration with the CIMA is required.

Cayman entities operating in breach of the VASP Act without the CIMA registration or a licence with the CIMA (as appropriate) will, among other things, subject VASPs and their operators to substantial administrative fines from the CIMA.

Santiago Carvajal is legal consultant at Loeb Smith Attorneys in the Cayman Island

loeb smith cayman

LOEB SMITH ATTORNEYS
5/F Zephyr House, 122 Mary Street
George Town PO Box 31493
Grand Cayman, KY1-1206
Cayman Islands

Contact details:
Tel: +1 345 749 7593
Email: santiago.carvajal@loebsmith.com

www.loebsmith.com