新规放宽跨境数据流动管控

0
225
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

国家互联网信息办公室(下称“网信办”)近日公布了业界期待已久的《促进和规范数据跨境流动规定》,适当放宽了中国先前严格的数据跨境传输管控。

新规将自2024年3月22日起施行,是继2021年颁布《个人信息保护法》、2022年底开始实施数据出境安全评估和《个人信息出境标准合同规定》后,监管层面推出的一项积极举措。

网信办在六个月前便公布征求意见稿,回应了在华经营的多家企业——尤其是有海外投资的企业——提出的关切和不满。当时主要争议在于对数据出境设置了过于繁复的要求,以及数据出境安全评估申请的受理时间过长、相关流程和手续不透明。

网信办在2023年11月底如期审议通过了新规。不过,也许是因为围绕着监管和放宽数据出境条件的政策导向有诸多争议,网信办直到近日才正式公布新规。

哪些数据受监管?

新规和网信办对媒体的官方答复都强调,数据出境的安全管理规定仅适用于两类数据:个人信息和重要数据。这两类数据的跨境传输必须办理以下手续,其他数据则不受此限制:

    • 申报数据出境安全评估;
    • 订立和备案个人信息出境标准合同;以及
    • 申报个人信息保护认证证书。

有关“重要数据”界定范围模糊的问题,已困扰在华经营企业多时。好消息是,根据新规,未被相关部门、地区告知或者发布为重要数据的、未列入重要数据目录的,数据处理者可将数据视为非重要数据。

免予申报安全评估的数据

重要数据出境均须通过安全评估,无一例外。只要是重要数据的出境,数据处理者必须向省级和国家网信部门申报安全评估并获得批准。

对于个人信息出境,在下列六种情形下,信息处理者免予申报数据出境安全评估、订立个人信息出境标准合同或通过个人信息保护认证。

传输中数据免予申报安全评估。在境外收集和产生个人信息,并传输至境内处理后出境的,且处理过程中没有引入境内收集或产生的个人信息或重要数据的。换言之,仅在中国存储海外个人信息的,或传输海外个人信息时经过中国的,免予申报安全评估。

免予订立标准合同。数据处理者为订立、履行个人作为一方当事人的合同确需向境外提供个人信息的。其目的包括跨境购物、跨境寄递、跨境汇款、跨境支付、跨境开户、机票酒店预订、签订办理、考试服务等。

人力资源管理信息免予办理安全评估。按照依法制定的劳动规章制度和依法签订的集体合同实施跨境人力资源管理,确需向境外提供员工个人信息的。

紧急情况豁免。数据处理者在紧急情况下为保护自然人的生命健康和财产安全,确需向境外提供个人信息的。

小规模数据出境豁免。关键信息基础设施运营者以外的数据处理者自当年1月1日起累计向境外提供不满10万人非敏感个人信息的。

关键信息基础设施运营者须遵守更严苛的要求,如个人信息和重要数据本地化储存,关键信息基础设施运营者的活动必须申报安全评估。为避免不确定性,网信办明确说明,由相关主管部门认定关键信息基础设施运营者并通知运营者该认定结果。这就意味着,如果数据处理者没有收到主管部门发送的关于认定其为关键信息基础设施运营者的正式通知,数据处理者可推定自己不是关键信息基础设施运营者。

自贸区

根据新规,中国的各个自贸区在国家数据分类分级保护制度框架下,可以自行制定区内的负面清单,进一步放宽了数据出境的条件。因此,对于在自贸区经营的数据处理者而言,只有负面清单范围内的数据出境活动需要申办安全评估、个人信息出境标准合同和个人信息保护认证手续。

自贸区的主管部门在发布负面清单前,须先获得省级和国家主管部门的批准。目前,据报道,上海临港自贸区和天津自贸区正在制作本区的负面清单,预计不久将发布。

申报门槛大大提高

网信办大大提高了申报数据出境安全评估、个人信息出境标准合同备案和个人信息保护认证手续的门槛,更多数据处理者将免予申报安全评估手续,甚至免予办理所有正式手续。

同时,网信办就多大规模的个人信息出境需申报数据出境安全评估给出了指示,但计算标准仍不够清晰。

  • 计算期从最近一年的1月1日起计,至提交安全评估申请之日截止。笔者预计,如果数据规模没有触发申报安全评估的要求,截止日期可能是提交个人信息出境标准合同备案或提交个人信息保护认证申请之日。
  • 自然人不计算两次,即,对于个人信息出境超过一次的自然人,数据处理者只须申办一次。
  • 个人信息符合免予办理情形的自然人不予计算,小规模数据出境豁免的情形除外,因为自然人的数量是决定是否符合豁免的关键。

其他重要规定

根据新规,安全评估的有效期从两年延长到三年,有效期从数据处理者收到网信办的最终评估结果之日起计。数据处理者提出申请的,如无其他触发新安全评估要求的情形,有效期可另外延长三年。

建议

还未评估和履行新规手续要求的数据处理者,我们建议采取以下行动:

  • 检查自己的数据出境活动属性,确定这些活动是否在新规的手续要求范围内;以及
  • 重新评估自己的数据处理和数据出境活动是否符合法定要求,评估所处理的个人信息,即便得出结论认为这些个人信息符合一个或多个免予办理手续的情形,也应制作个人信息保护影响评估报告。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

New rules to ease control over cross-border data transfer

0
359
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Cyberspace Administration of China (CAC) has issued the long-waited Provisions on Facilitating and Standardising Cross-Border Data Flow. This signals a moderate relaxation of the country’s stringent control over cross-border data transfer (CBDT) activities.

The move, effective from 22 March 2024, comes as a positive step following the promulgation of the Personal Information Protection Law in 2021, and the implementation of CBDT security assessment and China Standard Contract for Cross-Border Transfer of Personal Information from late 2022.

As background, the CAC released the draft rules for public comment six months earlier, responding to concerns and complaints raised by many companies operating in China, especially those with foreign investment. The main bones of contention were sweeping and onerous obligations on outbound data provision/CBDT, and the lengthy and opaque administrative formalities and processes for CDBT security assessment applications.

As expected, the draft rules were finalised by the CAC before the end of November 2023. However, presumably due to controversies around policy orientation towards regulation and relaxation of CBDT activities, the finalised rules were not published until recently.

What data is regulated?

The new rules and CAC’s official responses to the press reiterate that the secure administration of CBDT activities only apply to two categories of data: personal information and important data.

Other data is not be subject to any of the following requirements of CBDT formality:

  • Application for a CBDT security assessment;
  • Conclusion and filing of a standard contract for personal information export; and
  • Application for a personal information protection certification.

Uncertainty around the exact scope of “important data” has been puzzling companies operating in China for some time. The good news brought by the new rules is that unless certain data has either been clearly identified by competent governmental authorities as important data, or falls into any published catalogues of important data, a data processor may treat that data as being non-important.

Specified exemptions

There are no exemptions for important data. Each data processor in China must pass a security assessment and obtain clearance from both of the provincial and central offices of the CAC, as long as any important data needs to be exported.

In terms of export of personal information, an information processor in China would be exempted in any of the following scenarios.

Exemption for data-in-transit. The exported personal information is limited to personal information collected and generated outside China and transmitted into China for domestic processing, during which no personal information or important data collected or generated within China is incorporated into the exported personal information. In other words, the pure storage of overseas personal information in China, or the transit of overseas personal information through China, can be exempted.

Contracting exemption. The data processor exports personal information where it is necessary for concluding or performing a contract to which the individual is a party. These purposes include cross-border shopping, cross-border posting and delivery, cross-border fund remittance, cross-border payment, cross-border account opening, air ticket ad hotel booking, visa applications, examination services and the like.

HR management exemption. The data processor exports employees’ personal information where it is necessary for implementing cross-border human resources management in accordance with labour rules and policies formulated in accordance with laws, and for collective contracts concluded in accordance with the law.

Emergency exemption. The data processor exports personal information where it is necessary for protecting the life, health and property safety of individuals under emergency conditions.

Small-scale data exporter exemption. The data processor is not a critical information infrastructure operator (CIIO) and it has exported non-sensitive personal information of less than 100,000 individuals since 1 January of the current year.

CIIOs are subject to more stringent requirements, such as localisation of personal information and important data; a security assessment is required for CIIO activities. To avoid uncertainty, the CAC clarified that deemed CIIOs will be notified by competent governmental authorities of their status as a CIIO. That means if a data processor has not received a clear and formal notification on its status as a CIIO, it can assume that it is not a CIIO.

Free-trade zones

Under the new rules, authorities in various free-trade zones in China have been empowered to issue their own negative lists to further ease CBDT activities within the national framework of data classification and grading. Therefore, for data processors in free-trade zones, only those CBDT activities that fall into the negative lists would be subject to the applicable formality requirements.

Local authorities in free-trade zones must obtain clearance from competent authorities at both provincial and central levels before their negative lists can be released to the public for implementation. For the time being, authorities in free-trade zones in Lingang, Shanghai and Tianjin are reported to be in the process of generating their negative lists. These are expected to be made available to the public in the near future.

Substantially raised thresholds

The CAC has substantially raised the thresholds of security assessments and for China SCC filings and certification. The changes will result in the exemption for more data processors from the security assessment requirement, or possibly even from all formal requirements.

Meanwhile, the CAC has provided some guidance – which is far from crystal clear – about how to calculate the number of individuals for the purpose of determining the applicability of the formality requirements.

  • The counting period commences from 1 January of the most current year, until the date of the submission of the security assessment application. If the security assessment is not triggered and applicable, the authors believe that the ending date could be the date of the submission of the contracting filing or the certification application.
  • A single individual should not be counted twice; that is, data processors should de-duplicate the individuals whose personal information is exported more than once.
  • Individuals whose personal information is exported under those exempted scenarios (except for the small-scale data exporter exemption where the number of individuals is the decisive factor) can be carved out.

Other highlights

Under the new rules, the validity of a security assessment has been extended from two to three years, commencing from the date when the data processor receives the CAC’s final assessment. On application, and if no other circumstances have triggered a new security assessment, the validity period can be extended for an additional three years.

Recommendations

Data processors who have not taken any action to assess and fulfil the formality requirements should:

  • Check their CBDT activities to determine whether they should comply with any formality requirements under the new rules; and
  • Review their compliance with the statutory requirements for data processing and CBDT activities, and prepare the relevant personal information protection impact assessment reports, even if they conclude that they match one or more of the exempted scenarios.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.
You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link