上市公司重整的最新发展与前沿法律问题

作者: 许胜锋,中伦律所事务所
0
354
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

市公司重整是重整领域的风向标。由于其衔接资本市场和破产制度两大重要领域,备受瞩目。自《企业破产法》2007年实施至今,共计103家上市公司实施了重整。最近四年的重整案例数量更占据总量的半壁江山,呈现出新的特点,并在提出诸多前沿法律问题的同时推动了现行重整制度和证券监管政策的变革和完善。

近年所呈现的特点

Xu Shengfeng, Zhong Lun Law Firm
许胜锋
高级合伙人
中伦律所事务所
电话: +86 755 3325 6666
电子信箱:
xushengfeng@zhonglun.com

顶层政策明确支持。2020年,国务院在《关于进一步提高上市公司质量的意见》中,明确提出“支持上市公司通过并购重组、破产重整等方式出清风险”。在实务中,近年来证监会对上市公司重整受理的审查政策适度宽松,主要表现在证监会对于上市公司违规担保、资金占用等问题,有条件地允许其在重整程序之中解决,支持符合条件且具有挽救价值的危困公司通过重整实现重生。同时,近年来监管层亦加强对重整中投资人受让上市公司资本公积转增股份的定价机制、锁定期以及除权(息)规则等方面监管,以更好地保护重整中各市场主体的合法权益。

预重整程序的普遍适用。预重整自2019年8月被首次适用于上市公司以来,其价值迅速得到认可,并被普遍适用于后来的上市公司重整案件。预重整的价值主要在于,上市公司如在重整受理前置审批工作推进期间启动预重整,可以提前推进甚至完成重整方案的起草和谈判等核心工作,有效地缩短后续重整程序的时间。以笔者2022年承办的尤夫股份重整案为例,由于预重整与重整的有效衔接,该案从法院裁定重整至重整成功历时仅为一个月。

以营业保留式重整为主流形态。在早期的上市公司重整实践中,大部分适用重整的公司自身已不具备持续经营能力和盈利能力,而是借助重整程序剥离资产和债务,并引入重组方注入新的经营资产,实现上市公司的“保壳”和重组方的“借壳”上市,主营业务在重整后往往发生变更。

近年来,上市公司重整主要立足于上市公司原有核心主营业务,通过重整引入投资人整合优势资源,实现上市公司高质量发展。上市公司重整后的经营方案也成为证监会出具重整受理无异议函时审查的重要内容。

主要法律问题

行政权与司法权的衔接。上市公司的重整与普通公司不同之处在于:

    1. 上市公司重整存在前置审批程序,法院受理前须经过地方政府、证监会、最高人民法院的审批;
    2. 上市公司重整的目标是多元的,不仅仅是通过重整优化财务结构,更重要的是避免上市公司退市。

对于第一个问题,目前尚存在公司、政府、法院、监管部门沟通协调机制不健全、审查标准不清晰、审查期限不确定等问题,亟待优化。对于第二个问题,根据《企业破产法》规定,在法院批准重整计划后便终止重整程序,但根据证券交易所上市规则,重整计划执行完毕方满足调整财务指标的要求以消除退市风险,重整对上市公司而言往往是生死时速。因此,司法重整与行政监管如何建立更好的衔接机制值得探讨。

信息披露和内幕交易防控。在股票上市规则的基础上,沪、深交易所于2022年初发布了上市公司重整等事项的自律监管指引,专项细化和强化了上市公司重整的信息披露事项和内幕交易防控,在信息披露方面主要有三个特点,即践行分阶段信息披露,完善关键事项披露要求,明确不披露即应予以合理解释的原则。

值得关注的是,目前尚无上市公司重整失败破产清算的案例,上市公司重整的难点及核心往往在于受理的前置审批工作。前置审批工作涉及法院、地方政府、证监会等多部门,其中证监会的审查是最为关键的环节,审批工作的进度对股票交易的价格产生较大影响,而目前监管规则并未要求上市公司对事项进行披露,存在发生内幕交易的风险。

以资本公积转增股票偿债的定价。自2014年以来,资本公积转增股票成为上市公司重整的一大特色。由于上市公司股票具有的良好流动性,因此,转增的股票除了部分用于引入重组方、解决历史遗留问题和分配给股东外,主要则用于清偿债务,成为上市公司清偿债务的重要资源。

在重整计划中抵债股票的价格如何确定成为实务中的争议焦点,因为这不仅关系到重整程序中债权人的实际清偿利益,而且抵债股票定价的高低将直接影响到担保人担保责任的承担。实务中一些案例根据确定的可用于抵债的股票数抵偿需要清偿的债权额,倒推出抵债的股票价格,并得出清偿率100%的结论。如果担保人以此作为不承担担保责任的抗辩,将引发争议,实务中已有判例显示法院不认可这种抵债安排。

因此,在上市公司重整中应当合理、公允确定偿债股票的价格,必要时可聘请独立的专业机构进行评估作为参考依据,以保护债权人的实质利益。


胜锋中伦律事务所高级合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 755 3325 6666电邮xushengfeng@zhonglun.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Listed company reorganisations and frontier legal issues

By Xu Shengfeng, Zhong Lun Law Firm
0
45

Reorganisations of listed companies have long been held as a barometer for reorganisation policies. As such cases link the capital market to the bankruptcy system, they have received widespread attention. Since the implementation of the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law in 2007, 103 listed companies have undergone reorganisation, about half of which took place during the past four years. These recent reorganisations have produced new features and raised cutting-edge legal questions, while driving reforms in and refinements to the existing reorganisation system and securities regulatory policies.

EMERGING FEATURES

Express policy support from the top level. In its Opinions on Further Enhancing the Quality of Listed Companies, the State Council stated in 2020 that “listed companies should be supported in disposal of risks by such means as M&A, restructuring and bankruptcy reorganisation”. In practice, the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) has relaxed the relevant policies by conditionally permitting listed companies to resolve such problems as illegal guarantees and appropriation of funds in the reorganisation process, supporting distressed companies with salvage value to rehabilitate through reorganisation.

Xu Shengfeng, Zhong Lun Law Firm
Xu Shengfeng
Senior Partner
Zhong Lun Law Firm
Tel: +86 755 3325 6666
E-mail:
xushengfeng@zhonglun.com

Furthermore, in recent years, the regulatory authorities have also strengthened the supervision of the pricing mechanism for converting capital reserves into shares for investors, and the lock-in period and ex-right (ex-dividend) rules of the reorganisation, in order to better protect the legitimate rights and interests of various market entities.

Wide application of prepackaged reorganisation. Since prepackaged reorganisation’s initial application to listed companies in August 2019, its value was quickly recognised, leading to wide adoption in subsequent cases. If a listed company initiates prepackaged reorganisation during the proceeding of the prior approval process, it would be able to commence or even complete certain core tasks such as drafting and negotiating on the draft reorganisation plan, effectively reducing the time required for reorganisation. In the 2022 Unifull reorganisation handled by the author, with effective linkage of prepackaged reorganisation and reorganisation, only one month elapsed between a court ruling and a successful completion.

Business retention becomes mainstream. In the early days of listed company reorganisation, many found their own operation no longer viable or profitable. With reorganisation, they sought to divest assets and debts and bring in a restructuring party to inject new operating assets, serving as a “shell” for the restructuring party to achieve a “backdoor” listing. In most cases, the listed company’s main business changes after the reorganisation.

Recent years have seen a decrease in the trend, with the majority of listed company reorganisation cases now based on the original core business. They seek synergistic and sound development of the original main business through reorganisation, introduction of investors and integration of resources, which is consonant with the goal of quality development. The CSRC is also paying increasing attention to post-reorganisation plans before giving its approval.

LEADING LEGAL ISSUES

Dovetailing of administrative and judicial authorities. Differences in the reorganisation of a listed company and that of an ordinary are that:

    1. Before the court’s acceptance, the reorganisation of a listed company must be pre-approved by the local government, the CSRC and the Supreme People’s Court; and
    2. Apart from optimising the financial structure, it is more important for listed companies to avoid delisting through reorganisation.

Currently, the pre-approval process remains troubled by lack of a sound communication and co-ordination mechanism between the company, government, court and regulatory authority; unclear review criteria; and an indeterminate review period. Pursuant to the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law, the reorganisation procedure terminates once the court approves the plan, but with the listing rules of stock exchanges, the risk of delisting is only eliminated after the reorganisation plan is implemented and completed. Reorganisation is often time-critical for listed companies. Accordingly, it is worth looking into how to improve the linking mechanism.

Information disclosure and prevention of insider trading. In early 2022, the Shanghai and Shenzhen stock exchanges issued self-regulatory guidelines based on their listing rules, detailing and strengthening information disclosure and the prevention and control of insider trading relating to listed company reorganisations. It adopts the principles of disclosing information in phases, improving disclosure requirements for key matters, and providing explanations where a disclosure cannot be made.

In practice, obtaining prior approval for acceptance by the court is the most difficult and critical part of a listed company reorganisation, as so far all court-accepted cases of reorganisation have succeeded. Prior approval involves the court, local government, CSRC and many other authorities, with the CSRC review the most crucial. Progress of the approval often has a visible effect on the stock trading price, but current regulatory rules do not require listed companies to disclose information on such progress which, to a certain extent, poses a risk of insider trading.

Pricing in conversion of capital reserves to stock for debt repayment. Since 2014, the conversion of capital reserves into stock has emerged as a highlight of listed company reorganisations. As the stock of listed companies is highly liquid, stock converted from capital reserves is used not only to bring in a restructuring party, resolve legacy issues and make distribution to shareholders, but also to repay debts.

How to determine the price of the stock for the debt repayment in a reorganisation plan is a common point of dispute, because it has a bearing not only on the actual repayment interests of the creditors, but also on the liability borne by guarantors. In some cases, the claims requiring repayment are based on the stocks available for the debt repayment, which is then used to deduce the stock price of debt repayment, aiming at the 100% discharge rate. If a guarantor argues that it does not bear security liability based on this a dispute will arise, as there are cases where the court does not recognise such debt repayment arrangements.

Accordingly, the price of the stock for debt repayment needs to be determined reasonably and fairly in the reorganisation of a listed company and, where necessary, an independent professional firm may be engaged to conduct a valuation to serve as a base reference to protect the interests of the creditors.


Xu Shengfeng is a senior partner at Zhong Lun Law Firm. He can be contacted by phone at +86 755 3325 6666 or by email at xushengfeng@zhonglun.com