中国对部分欧盟国家和马来西亚 单方面免签

0
1451
China launches visa-free policy
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

为进一步便利跨境旅行、增进往来沟通,中国宣布对六国试行单方面免签,2023年12月1日至2024年11月30日期间,法国、德国、意大利、荷兰、西班牙和马来西亚持普通护照人员来华经商、旅游观光和过境可免办签证入境。

2023年11月24日,中国宣布对上述六国持普通护照人员试行单方面免签。在试行期间,该六国持普通护照人员来华经商、旅游观光、探亲访友和过境不超过15天,可免签入境。

提示

需注意,不符合免签条件的上述六国持普通护照人员仍须在抵达中国前就来访目的申请获得相应的中国签证。例如,来华工作人员通常需要获得工作签证。

在新政策实施之前,新加坡和文莱的持普通护照人员已获15天单方面免签入境待遇。中国对日本居民的单方面15天免签证策在2020年3月29日因疫情暂停,截至发稿还未恢复。

这意味着,日本持普通护照人员须申请中国签证,或者,如果他们符合特定条件,可享受72/144小时免签过境政策。

中国的72/144小时免签过境政策目前适用54个国家。享受免签过境政策的主要条件是申请人必须是:

  • 72/144小时免签过境政策合资格国家的公民;以及
  • 持有能证明其国籍和身份的国际旅行证件(有效期至少三个月)。

申请人还须符合前往的第三国家或地区的入境条件。申请人需持有72/144小时(具体根据他们申请的免签过境时长而定)内已确定日期及座位的前往第三国或地区的联程客票或者相关证明。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

China launches visa-free policy to EU countries, Malaysia

0
1688
China launches visa-free policy
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In a surprise move to further facilitate cross-border travel and closer communication ties, China has launched a unilateral visa-free policy for passport holders from France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Malaysia for business, leisure and transit on a trial basis effective from 1 December 2023 to 30 November 2024.

On 24 November 2023, China announced it would implement a trial policy of unilateral visa-free entry for ordinary passport holders from the six countries. During the trial, their ordinary passport holders who travel to China for business or tourism, or to visit friends or relatives, or who pass through China in transit, will be granted visa-free entry for up to 15 days.

Key takeaways

Ordinary passport holders from any of the six countries who do not satisfy the visa-free entry conditions will still need to obtain a Chinese visa corresponding to the purpose of their visit before they arrive in China. For example, people coming to China to work will usually need a work visa.

Before the new policy’s implementation, ordinary passport holders from Singapore and Brunei were already granted unilateral visa-free entry for up to 15 days. China’s policy of granting unilateral 15-day visa-free entry to Japanese citizens was suspended on 29 March 2020 as part of its covid-19 restrictions, and has not been resumed as of publication of this article.

This means ordinary passport holders from Japan will need to apply for a Chinese visa or, if they meet the particular conditions, carry out visa-free transit procedures under the 72/144-hour visa-free transit policy.

China’s 72/144-hour visa-free transit policy is currently applicable to 54 countries. The main conditions for such entry are that the applicant must:

  • Be a citizen of one of the countries eligible for 72/144-hour visa-free transit; and
  • Hold an international travel document (valid for at least three months), proving their nationality and identity.

The entry conditions of the third country/region to which the applicant is travelling need to be fulfilled as well. The applicant needs to hold a connecting ticket (or relevant proof) with a confirmed date and seat for travel to the third country/region within 72/144 hours, depending on the length of the period of visa-free transit for which they have applied.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.
You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link