首部碳排放权交易市场管理条例出炉

0
1684
China regulations mandatory carbon market
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国国务院于2024年1月25日公布《碳排放权交易管理暂行条例》,条例将自今天5月1日起施行。

暂行条例针对碳排放权交易市场中的碳排放配额建立了监管机制,而自愿碳市场的核证自愿减排量则受2023年10月19日起施行的《温室气体自愿减排交易管理办法(试行)》规管。

中国碳市场发展历程

中国建立和发展碳排放权交易市场已有多年。早在2011年10月,中国就在北京、天津、上海、重庆、广东、湖北和深圳开展碳排放权交易试点。

2017年12月,中国启动建立全国碳排放权交易市场。在2020年12月,生态环境部与国家市场监督管理总局联合印发《碳排放权交易管理办法(试行)》,为中国的碳排放权交易市场建立了一个更成熟的监管框架。

2021年7月,全国碳排放权交易市场正式启动上线交易。

新规重点内容

新规规定由全国碳排放权注册登记机构负责碳排放权交易产品登记,提供交易结算等服务,而全国碳排放交易机构则负责组织开展碳排放权集中统一交易。

生态环境主管部门会同其他相关管理部门研究提出碳排放权交易覆盖的温室气体种类(目前只有二氧化碳)和行业范围,报国务院批准后实施。

全国生态环境主管部门会同其他相关部门制定重点排放单位的确定条件,以及年度碳排放配额总量和分配方案。省、自治区和直辖市生态环境主管部门制定本行政区域年度重点排放单位名录,向他们发放碳排放配额。

重点排放单位应当如实准确统计核算本单位温室气体排放量,编制每年的温室气体排放报告。生态环境主管部门对报告进行核查,确认其实际排放量。

重点排放单位应当根据核查结果足额清缴其碳排放配额,可以通过全国碳排放权交易市场购买或者出售碳排放配额,购买经核证的温室气体减排量用于清缴其碳排放配额。

总结

全国和各地碳排放权交易市场的运营和管理一直都以国务院相关部门印发的规则为基准,但这些文件的法律效力等级较低。新的暂行条例形成了中国碳市场的基本行政管理制度,这也为中国碳排放权交易系统的进一步稳定发展铺平道路。

具体实施情况还有待实施细则的出台,但暂行条例无疑将成为通过市场机制控制和减少二氧化碳和其他温室气体排放的重要法律工具,并积极推动中国实现“双碳”目标。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

First regulations for mandatory carbon market

0
2466
China regulations mandatory carbon market
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

On 25 January 2024, the State Council promulgated the Interim Regulations on Administration of Carbon Emissions Trading, which will come into force on 1 May 2024.

The interim regulations set out the regulatory regime over carbon emission allowances (CEAs) in the mandatory carbon market, while the Administrative Measures for Voluntary Trading of Greenhouse Gas Emission Reduction (Trial), effective from 19 October 2023, regulate the China Certified Emission Reduction (CCER) in the voluntary carbon market.

The road so far

China has been developing its carbon emissions trading market for years. In October 2011, local carbon emissions trading market pilots were launched in cities including Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Guangdong, Hubei and Shenzhen.

In December 2017, China initiated the establishment of the national carbon emissions trading market. In December 2020, the Ministry of Ecology and Environment and the State Administration for Market Regulation issued the Measures for the Administration of Carbon Emission Right Trading (for Trial Implementation) to establish the more advanced regulatory framework of the carbon emissions trading market in China.

In July 2021, the national carbon emissions trading market formally went online for trading.

Highlights of new regime

Under the new regulations, the national carbon emission rights registration institution is responsible for the registration of carbon emission rights trading products and provision of services such as trade settlement, while the national carbon emission rights trading institution is responsible for organising and carrying out centralised and unified trading of carbon emission rights.

The ecology and environment authority, together with other relevant authorities, will study and propose the types of greenhouse gases (currently only carbon dioxide) and the scope of industries to be covered by carbon emissions trading, and report the same to the State Council for approval.

The national ecology and environment authority, together with other relevant authorities, will formulate criteria determining key emission entities, as well as the total amount of annual CEAs and allocation plans. Accordingly, the provincial authorities will formulate annual lists of key emission entities and allocate CEAs to them.

Key emission entities shall record and calculate their greenhouse gas emissions accurately and prepare annual greenhouse gas emission reports. Competent ecological and environmental authorities shall verify such reports and confirm the actual emissions.

Key emission entities shall also settle their carbon emission quote in full according to the verification results. They may purchase or sell CEAs through the national carbon emission trading market, and apply the CCER against the settlement of CEAs, subject to certain limitations.

Remarks

The operation and administration of the national and local carbon emissions trading markets had long been based on rules issued by relevant departments of the State Council, which are of relatively lower hierarchy. The new regulations constitute the fundamental administrative regulations for China’s carbon market, which will pave the way for further steady development of China’s carbon emissions trading system.

While details are still contingent on the implementation rules to be issued, the regulations will function as an important legal tool for controlling and reducing carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions through market mechanisms, and help to actively and steadily promote the national goals of carbon peak in 2030, and carbon neutralisation in 2060.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.
You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link