资本市场监管法规对比:中国

作者: 朱宁,徐广哲和林敏,卓纬律师事务所
0
413
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国

印度

中国证监会去年颁布实施《上市公司分拆规则(试行)》。新规对A股上市公司分拆所属子公司在境内外上市的条件、实施程序和信息披露,以及中介服务机构核查和督导等方面作出了具体规定。

自新规落地以来,已有23家A股上市公司宣布有意分拆子公司在境内证券市场上市,其中5家拟在沪深两市主板上市,科创板3家,创业板7家,北交所2家,其余6家公司尚未宣布其意向市场。

自2022年以来,分拆子公司在境内证券市场上市成为目前大多数A股上市公司的首选。在分拆上市成为趋势之时,本文分析了当前监管制度中需要关注的法律问题。

新规

Zhu Ning, Chance Bridge Law Firm
朱宁
管理合伙人
卓纬律师事务所
北京
电话: +86 10 8541 9688
电子邮件: ning.zhu@chancebridge.com

新规第二条明确规定,上市公司分拆是指上市公司将部分业务或资产分拆为子公司上市。因此,分拆本质上是对资产和业务的重组和整合。与标准的首次公开发行股票(IPO)不同,分拆的业务和资产可能由不同法律实体实际经营或持有。基于将相同行业或业务形态的公司置于同一体系的商业考虑,以及解决同业竞争的合规考虑,重组业务和资产是分拆上市的必要环节。

新规第六条对分拆子公司的独立性提出了具体要求,包括:符合同业竞争和关联交易的监管要求;资产、财务、机构和人员的独立性;在独立性方面不存在严重缺陷。

与普通公司上市相比,子公司分拆后与上市公司是同一合并报表、同一体系下的公司,一般存在人员交叉任职、资金往来、协同采购和销售以及共用资产和生产管理系统的情形。

因此,在分拆子公司IPO时,解决业务、资产、财务、机构和人员的独立性问题更为关键。最近,中国汽车制造商比亚迪终止了比亚迪半导体的分拆上市。比亚迪半导体对关联方销售在营业收入中占比较高,这一直是其IPO审核流程中问询和关注的重点,给上市造成障碍。根据新规,与普通公司相比,分拆子公司IPO需要更加关注业务和资产重组以及子公司本身的独立性。

重组

在分拆上市的过程中,通过业务和资产重组,最终将拟上市的资产包置于同一上市主体中,实现同类业务的整合,或不同业务的分离。实践中,资产重组通常包括股权转让、资产转让、企业分立和合并。

以视频监控设备制造商海康威视分拆云平台和智能家居服务商杭州萤石网络(事前披露)为例,两家公司之间的资产分拆主要通过资产转让进行,涉及办公设备、无形资产、生产设备等。转让价格多基于账面净值。

Xu Guangzhe, Chance Bridge Law Firm
徐广哲
合伙人
卓纬律师事务所
北京
电话: +86 10 8541 9677
电子邮件: guangzhe.xu@chancebridge.com

而在上海电气集团分拆上海电气风电集团案例中,则通过兼并实现重组,即拟上市实体兼并其他从事风电设备相关业务的子公司。

从以上案例可以看出,分拆和重组过程可能涉及拟上市实体的历史沿革、重大资产变动和业务结构变动。

从法律角度看,涉及股权转让或资产转让和兼并时,以及资产转让价格明显异常、股权价格低于净资产的(可能会在上市过程中引起关注),有必要特别注意价格公平问题。遵守重组程序尤为重要。由于母公司是上市公司,重组需遵循内部治理规则的决策程序。

国有企业相关资产的重组,需要经过必要的国有资产审批、审核、评估和备案程序。实践中,未履行相关程序往往导致企业历史沿革和资产出售出现缺陷。

同时,在资产和业务重组过程中,要注意业务合同的划转、往来账户的拆分、资产的交割和转移、员工劳动关系的转移、经营资格的转移、特殊重组的税务合规性,以及资产、业务和人员分类依据清晰,有效划分。此外,新规对可用于分拆的资产进行了限制。

分拆子公司的主要业务或资产不能是:(1)上市公司最近三个会计年度内发行股份及募集资金投向的主要业务或资产, 但子公司最近三个会计年度使用募集资金合计不超过子公司净资产百分之十的除外;(2)上市公司最近三个会计年度内通过重大资产重组购买的主要业务或资产;(3)上市公司IPO和上市时的主要业务或资产。

分拆独立性

Lin Min, Chance Bridge Law Firm
林敏
律师
卓纬律师事务所
北京
电话: +86 10 8541 9679
电子邮件: min.lin@chancebridge.com

分拆上市的过程也是确立分拆子公司独立性的过程。为确保证券市场投资者的资金安全,分拆子公司独立于母公司运营,以避免不公平的关联交易,造成重大不利影响的同业竞争,以及导致利益输送、利润转移或逃避债务的各种问题。

分拆子公司在业务、资产、财务、机构、生产和人员方面的独立性是其上市的必要条件。在独立性方面不存在严重缺陷也是IPO审核的重点。

实践中,由于品牌联动、资产划分不清、难以建立独立的采购和销售渠道等因素,分拆子公司在独立性方面往往存在很多问题,包括:生产、财务、办公和人事管理共用一套系统;品牌相互授权;混合使用域名等资产;研发成果权属不清;高度依赖对关联方销售;大客户重合率高。

新规明确规定分拆子公司独立性不得存在严重缺陷。但“严重缺陷”的判断标准相当模糊,新规仅明确规定分拆后高级管理人员和财务人员不得交叉任职。

就比亚迪终止比亚迪半导体分拆上市而言,报告期内比亚迪半导体的关联方销售金额分别占营业收入的55%、59%和63%,逐年递增,无下降趋势。

同样撤回IPO申请的美的集团子公司美智光电,其报告期内的关联方销售额在营业收入中的占比分别为34%、24%和21%。截至报告期末,其与美的集团仍有不少重叠客户。

至于电池材料生产商格林美终止分拆子公司江西格林循环上市,格林美宣布这一决定是由于江西格林循环在分拆和业务重组后的独立运营时间不足两年。

注意事项

从相关案例和以往经验来看,为保持独立性,分拆子公司应注意以下几个方面:

  • 保持品牌和商号的独立性。最好有独立的品牌、商标和独立形成的商誉;
  • 技术和研发独立,核心技术不与母公司混合,有独立研发人员进行独立的研发、专利申请和技术转化;
  • 保持生产和销售独立,建立独立的采购和销售渠道,减少客户重叠,拥有独立的生产经营场所和设备,以及独立的生产管理系统;以及
  • 财务独立管理,资金不由集团募集和管理,财务人员独立,不在集团任职,不从集团领取薪酬,采用企业资源计划、业务规划与整合等独立财务制度。

Chance Bridge Law Firm卓纬律师事务所

2107–2112, Office Tower E2 Oriental Plaza

No.1 East Chang An Avenue
Beijing 100738 China

电话: +86 10 85870068
电子邮件: contacts@chancebridge.com

www.chancebridge.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A comparison of capital markets regulations: China

By Zhu Ning, Xu Guangzhe, and Lin Min, Chance Bridge Law Firm
0
653
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

China

INDIA

The China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) last year promulgated and implemented the Rules for the Spin-off of Listed Companies (for Trial Implementation), with new rules containing specific provisions on the domestic and overseas listing of spin-off subsidiaries of A-share listed companies in terms of the conditions, implementation procedures and information disclosures for spin-offs, as well as verification and control by intermediaries.

Since the new rules, 23 A-share listed companies have announced their intentions for spin-off listings of their subsidiaries in the domestic securities market. Among them, five companies plan to list on the main boards of the Shanghai Stock Exchange and Shenzhen Stock Exchange, three on the Star Market, seven on the ChiNext stock market, and two on the Beijing Stock Exchange, while the remaining six companies have not yet announced their intended market.

Since 2022, spinning off subsidiaries and listing them in the domestic securities market is now a first choice for most A-share listed companies. Amid the spin-off trend, this article analyses legal issues to focus on in the current regulatory regime.

NEW RULES

Article 2 of the new rules clarifies that the spin-off of a listed company means spinning off part of its business or assets for listing as a subsidiary. By nature, a spin-off is therefore the restructuring and integration of assets and business. Unlike standard IPOs, the business and assets in a spin-off may be actually operated or held by different legal entities. Based on the commercial consideration of placing companies of the same industry or business form in the same system, and the compliance consideration of resolving horizontal competition, business and asset restructuring is a necessary part of a spin-off and listing.

Zhu Ning, Chance Bridge Law Firm
Zhu Ning
Managing Partner
Chance Bridge Law Firm
Beijing
Tel: +86 10 8541 9688
Email: ning.zhu@chancebridge.com

Article 6 of the new rules sets specific requirements for the independence of spin-off subsidiaries. These include: meeting regulatory requirements on horizontal competition and related party transactions; independence in assets, finance, organisations and personnel; and no serious defects in independence.

Compared with ordinary companies being listed, the subsidiary spin-off and listed company are companies under the same consolidated statement and same system, generally with cross-personnel, capital exchanges and collaborative procurement and sales, as well as sharing of assets and production management systems.

In the IPO of a spin-off subsidiary, it is therefore more crucial to resolve the issue of independence of its business, assets, finance, organisations and personnel. Recently, Chinese automaker BYD terminated the spin-off listing of BYD Semiconductor. The company’s sales to related parties account for a relatively high proportion of operating income, which has been the focus of inquiries and concerns in its IPO review, causing obstacles to going public. Under the new rules, business and asset restructuring and a subsidiary’s independence require more attention in the IPO of spin-off companies than in ordinary companies.

RESTRUCTURING

In the process of spin-off and listing, through business and assets restructuring, the asset package to be listed is finally placed into the same listing entity, and the integration of similar businesses, or separation of different businesses, is realised. In practice, asset restructuring generally includes equity transfers, asset transfers, the division of the enterprise, and mergers.

Xu Guangzhe, Chance Bridge Law Firm
Xu Guangzhe
Partner
Chance Bridge Law Firm
Beijing
Tel: +86 10 8541 9677
Email: guangzhe.xu@chancebridge.com

In the case of video surveillance equipment manufacturer Hikvision spinning off a cloud platform and smart home services provider called Hangzhou EZVIZ Network (pre-disclosure), the asset spin-off between the two companies was conducted mainly through asset transfer, involving office equipment, intangible assets, production equipment, etc. The transfer price was mostly based on net book value.

In the case of Shanghai Electric Group spinning off Shanghai Electric Wind Power Group, the restructuring was conducted through a merger, where the entity to be listed merges other subsidiaries engaged in wind power equipment-related businesses.

From these cases, it can be seen that the process of spin-off and restructuring may involve the historical development, material asset changes and business structure changes of the entity to be listed.

From a legal perspective, it is necessary to pay special attention to price fairness issues when it comes to equity or asset transfers and mergers – and when the asset transfer price is significantly abnormal and the equity price is lower than net assets – which may cause concern during the listing process. Compliance with the restructuring procedure is particularly important. As the parent company is a listed company, restructuring needs to follow the decision-making procedure of internal governance rules.

In a state-owned enterprise, the restructuring of relevant assets needs to undergo the necessary approval, examination, evaluation and filing procedures for state-owned assets. In practice, failure to perform relevant procedures often leads to defects in historical development and asset sales.

Meanwhile, in the process of assets and business restructuring, attention should be paid to the transfer of business contracts, the split of current accounts, closing and transfer of assets, transfer of employees’ labour relations, transfer of business qualifications, tax compliance of special restructuring, and a clear basis for classification and effective division of assets, businesses and personnel. In addition, the new rules impose restrictions on assets available for a spin-off.

The main business or assets of the spin-off subsidiary shall not be those:

    1. That receive the investment made by the listed company with offered shares and raised funds in the past three accounting years, unless the aggregate raised funds used by the subsidiary in those past three accounting years do not exceed 10% of the net assets of the subsidiary;
    2. That are purchased by the listed company through a significant asset restructuring in the past three accounting years; and
    3. That are the main business or assets of the listed company at the time of IPO and listing.

SPIN-OFF INDEPENDENCE

The process of spin-off and listing is also the process of establishing the independence of spin-off subsidiaries. To ensure the safety of investors in the securities market, the spin-off operates independently from the parent company, avoiding unfair related-party transactions, horizontal competition that causes material adverse effects, and issues that lead to benefit transfer, profit transfer or debt evasion.

Lin Min, Chance Bridge Law Firm
Lin Min
Associate
Chance Bridge Law Firm
Beijing
Tel: +86 10 8541 9679
Email: min.lin@chancebridge.com

The spin-off’s independence in business, assets, finance, organisation, production and personnel is an essential condition for its listing. Being free of serious defects in independence is also a focal point in an IPO review.

In practice, due to factors such as brand linkage, unclear asset division, and difficulty in establishing independent purchasing and sales channels, there are often many problems regarding the independence of spin-off subsidiaries. These include: sharing a set of systems for production, finance, office and personnel management; mutual authorisation of brands; mixed use of such assets as domain names; unclear ownership of research and development results; high dependence on related party sales; and the high overlap rate of major customers.

The new rules clarify that there must be no serious defects in the independence of spin-off subsidiaries. However, the test of “serious defects” is rather vague, except that the rules clearly provide that there shall be no cross-employment of officers and financial personnel after the spin-off.

In the case of BYD terminating the spin-off and listing of BYD Semiconductor, the related party sales amount of BYD Semiconductor accounted for 55%, 59% and 63% of operating income, respectively, during the reporting period, increasing annually without any downward trend.

In the case of Midea Intelligent Lighting & Controls Technology, a subsidiary of Midea Group that also withdrew its IPO application, its related party sales accounted for 34%, 24% and 21% during the reporting period. At the end of the reporting period, it also still had many overlapping customers with Midea Group.

In the case of battery materials producer GEM terminating the spin-off and listing of Jiangxi Green Recycling (GER), GEM announced the decision was because the independent operation time of GER after the spin-off and business restructuring would be fewer than two years.

KEY TAKEAWAYS

Judging from the relevant cases and previous experiences, the spin-off subsidiary should pay attention to the following aspects to maintain its independence:

• Maintaining independence of brands and trade names. It is better to have independent brands, trademarks and independently formed goodwill;

• Being independent in technology and research and development, not mixing its core technology with that of the parent company, with independent R&D personnel carrying out independent R&D, patent application and technology transformation;

• Keeping independent production and sales, establishing independent purchasing and sales channels, reducing the overlap of customers, with independent production and business premises and equipment, and independent production management systems; and

• Keeping independent financial management with funds not polled and managed by the group, with independent financial personnel who do not hold posts and get paid by the group, using independent financial systems such as enterprise resource planning and business planning and consolidation.

Chance Bridge Law FirmCHANCE BRIDGE LAW FIRM

2107–2112, Office Tower E2 Oriental Plaza

No.1 East Chang An Avenue
Beijing 100738 China

Tel: +86 10 85870068
Email: contacts@chancebridge.com

www.chancebridge.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link