Charity cricket match supports Bal Asha Trust


On 21 January at the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) ground, a team of lawyers beat a team of bankers in a cricket match to win the sixth Duane Morris & Selvam Capital Markets Cup. With this win, the lawyers have a 4-2 lead in the annual charity cricket match.

Duane Morris & Selvam Capital Markets CupThe lawyers batted first, scoring an impressive 213 off 30 overs: Sohrab Khushrushahi 50 (ret’d), Vijay Parthasarathi 50 (ret’d), Nikhil Naredi 32 (not out); Shubham Mehta 4-29, Gaurav Singhi 2-37 and Javed Siddiqui 1-23.

The total proved too difficult to chase for the bankers, who were all out at 172 off 27.3 overs, succumbing to a 41-run loss (Siddiqui 37, Soumya Guha 32, Mehta 23 (not out), Ajay Saraf 23; Sanjay Israni 3-25, Jamie Benson 2-22 and Swapneil Akut 1-7.

Naredi claimed the man of the match award with a fine performance with both ball and bat, posting 32 off only 17 balls and picking up one wicket to help the lawyers clinch victory.

The match raised more than ₹200,000 (US$3,000) for the Bal Asha Trust, which works towards giving quality care to children who are found abandoned at various public places around Mumbai every year. Khaitan & Co donated ₹75,000, Duane Morris & Selvam donated ₹68,000 and several players also donated to the charity.

The match is organized annually by Benson, head of Duane Morris & Selvam’s India practice and US securities law practice, who captained the lawyers’ team. “It was a very enjoyable match this year, with each team looking the favourite to win at different stages of the match,” said Benson. “To play on the MCA ground, which is a first-class ground, was a real treat. Although I am happy the lawyers won the match, the main thing was bringing lawyers and bankers together for a fun time to raise money for a very good cause.”

Other firms represented on the lawyers’ team included Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas (Parthasarathi, Naredi and Laban Das), AZB & Partners (Lionel Almeida), J Sagar Associates (Akut and Siddhartha Desai), Trilegal (Khushrushahi), Khaitan & Co (Rabindra Jhunjhunwala and Nikhilesh Panchal), Crawford Bayley & Co (Pranav Arora) and Desai & Diwanji (Israni).

Competing for a win on the bankers’ team were Shubham Mehta and Gyayak Jain (Edelweiss), Rohit Chaudhary (IDFC), Ankit Jajodia (Goldman Sachs), Narendra Rathi (Morgan Stanley), Gaurav Singhvi (IIFL), Javeed Siddiqui and Ajay Saraf (ICICI Securities), Soumya Guha (Nomura), Dilipkumar Dube (JM Financial) and Ronak Shah (SBI Capital Markets).