资金市场指令变化受到欢迎

作者: Sawant Singh、Aditya Bhargava和Sristi Yadav,Phoenix Legal
0
74

2020年12月,印度储备银行(RBI)推出了短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场指令草案,旨在“就发行者、投资者和其他参与者方面实现产品的一致性”,并“使涵盖不同资金市场产品的现有监管合理化”。2021年4月,印度储备银行收到市场参与者的反馈,然后其发布了关于短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场的主指令。短期同业拆借资金是指隔夜的无担保资金借贷,通知存款资金是指14日以内的无担保资金借贷,定期资金是指14日以上、一年以内的无担保资金借贷。

Sawant Singh,Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix-Legal

短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场,受印度储备银行2016年总指令的监管,该指令适用于计划内商业银行、合作银行和一级交易商。这些指令在2018年扩展至付款银行和小型金融银行,2020年扩展至区域农村银行。2021年的总指令整合了之前的所有指令,并特别允许计划内商业银行、支付银行、小型金融银行、区域农村银行、合作银行和一级交易商,作为借款人和贷款人参与短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场。

虽然2021年的指令与2016年的指令基本一致,但也有一些重大变化。虽然在短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场上对借款交易有类似的审慎限额,但参与者现在可以在印度央行规定的监管框架内,经其董事会批准,决定借贷交易的审慎限额。2021年的指令允许,取消和终止短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金交易。短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金通常不应取消,但现在通知存款资金或定期资金交易,可以在到期前以双方商定的价格终止。任何取消或终止都必须在此类行动发生后15分钟内,在协商交易系统(NDS-CALL)平台上报告,该平台是执行和报告短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金交易的电子交易平台。

2021指令允许,印度储备银行或印度储备银行授权的任何人士,发布与短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场交易有关的匿名数据。除其他制裁措施外,印度储备银行可在给予违规者辩护机会后,禁止其从事短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场交易,最长期限为一个月。印度储备银行可以公布此类措施。与2016年的指令一样,参与者可以自由决定短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场交易的利率。参与者必须遵守,印度固定收益资金市场及衍生品协会和印度储备银行,就短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金交易规定的标准市场惯例、方法和证明文件。

Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场的参与者,还需要加入NDS-CALL平台。除在NDS-CALL平台上执行的交易外,短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场交易,必须由交易对手方或相关电子交易平台,在交易执行后15分钟内向NDS-CALL平台报告。印度储备银行可以要求,参与这类交易的人士提供更多信息。短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金交易,必须在场外市场执行,包括NDS-CALL平台或任何经印度储备银行授权的电子交易平台。短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金交易的市场开盘时间为,每个工作日的上午9:00至下午5:00。

批评者可能认为,这些变化并非实质性变化,且无关紧要。然而,新指令将更多的参与者纳入综合框架,放宽了对短期同业拆借资金、通知存款资金和定期资金市场交易的一些控制,如允许取消交易,显示出印度储备银行认为金融部门发展日益成熟。这也说明,印度储备银行试图将一系列的监管体系化。因此,2021年的指令是朝着正确方向迈出的可喜一步。

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India

 

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India

 

Contact details
电话: +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
传真: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
电子邮件:

delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in

Changes to directions on money markets are welcome

By Sawant Singh, Aditya Bhargava and Sristi Yadav, Phoenix Legal
0
338

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) introduced draft directions in December 2020 on call, notice and term money markets with “the objective of bringing consistency across products in terms of issuers, investors and other participants” and to “rationalize existing regulations covering different money market products”. Following feedback from market participants in April 2021, the RBI issued master directions on call, notice and term money markets. Call money means borrowing or lending in unsecured funds on an overnight basis; notice money is borrowing or lending in unsecured funds for up to fourteen days, and term money is borrowing or lending in unsecured funds for more than fourteen days and up to one year.

Sawant Singh,Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix-Legal

Call, notice and term money markets were regulated by the RBI’s 2016 master directions, which applied to scheduled commercial banks, co-operative banks and primary dealers. These directions were extended to payments banks and small finance banks in 2018, and to regional rural banks in 2020. The 2021 master directions consolidate all previous instructions, and specifically permit scheduled commercial banks, payment banks, small finance banks, regional rural banks, co-operative banks and primary dealers to participate in call, notice and term money markets, both as borrowers and lenders.

While the 2021 directions are largely in line with the 2016 version, key changes have been introduced. While there are similar prudential limits for borrowing transactions in the call, notice and term money markets, a participant can now decide prudential limits in respect of lending transactions within the regulatory framework prescribed by the RBI with the approval of its board of directors. The 2021 directions permit cancellation and termination of call money, notice money, and term money transactions. While call, notice or term money transactions should ordinarily not be cancelled, a notice or term money transaction can now be terminated before maturity at a mutually agreed price. Any cancellation or termination is required to be reported on the Negotiated Dealing System-CALL (NDS-CALL) platform, the electronic trading platform for execution and reporting of transactions in call, notice and term money markets, within fifteen minutes of such action.

The 2021 directions permit the RBI or any person authorised by the RBI to publish anonymised data related to transactions in call, notice and term money markets. The RBI may, among other sanctions, prohibit any violator from dealing in call, notice and term money markets transactions for up to one month, after giving it the opportunity to defend itself. The RBI may publish such action.

Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

As in the 2016 directions, participants are free to decide the interest rates for call, notice and term money markets transactions. Participants must follow standard market practices, methodologies and documentation prescribed by the Fixed Income Money Market and Derivatives Association of India and the RBI in respect of call, notice and term money transactions.

Participants in call, notice and term money markets are also required to join the NDS-CALL platform. Call, notice and term money markets transactions, other than those executed on the NDS-CALL platform, have to be reported to the NDS-CALL platform within 15 minutes of execution by the counterparties to the transactions or by the relevant electronic trading platform. The RBI may call for additional information from those involved in such transactions. Call, notice and term money transactions must be executed in over the counter markets, including the NDS-CALL platform or any electronic trading platform authorised by the RBI. Market opening for call, notice and term money transactions is from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm each business day.

Critics may argue that the changes are not substantial and inconsequential. However, including an expanded set of participants in a consolidated framework, and relaxing some controls on call, notice and term money markets transactions, such as permitting cancellations, is an acknowledgement by the RBI of the growing maturity of the financial sector. It also illustrates the RBI’s drive to systematise a patchwork of regulations. The 2021 directions are a welcome step in the right direction.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal. Sristi Yadav, an associate, also contributed to this article

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India

 

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India

 

Contact details
Tel +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
Fax: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
Email:

delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in