百度、哔哩哔哩继续回流

0
76
Baidu, Bilibili continue homecoming, 百度、哔哩哔哩加剧回流香港趋势

搜索引擎平台百度集团和视频平台哔哩哔哩陆续在香港二次上市,分别融资239亿港元和202亿港元。百度于3月23日开始交易,哔哩哔哩则在六天后首发。

两次上市标志着自2019年11月阿里巴巴募资112亿美元以来,二次上市趋势的延续。

“中概股回流更多地体现了企业打造多元融资渠道的需求,通过在港二次上市,既能募集更多内地资金,又能增强融资渠道安全性,”天元律师事务所合伙人傅思齐说。天元所为哔哩哔哩提供中国法律意见。

“近年来中美经贸摩擦造成了投资者对在美上市的中概股担忧情绪升温,导致许多美国中概股估值下滑,对这些企业在美融资带来了不利影响,”傅思齐说。

2020年,海外上市的中国企业已加快回流香港证券市场。去年7月,互联网电商京东及网络科技公司网易完成其在香港的二次上市,总募集金额达66亿美元。百度上市是自京东募集39亿美元以来此类发行规模之最。

傅思齐补充道:“之前的中概股集中回流已经打通了中概股在港上市的渠道,起到了很好的示范效应。联交所也相应制定了新的上市规则来规范在港二次上市,相关要求更加明确,规则的豁免和简化令二次上市更加快捷和便利。”

他认为,国内投资者对中国企业比较熟悉,尤其是规模大、业绩好的中概股能获得更高的估值,也降低了股票发行融资的成本。

哔哩哔哩股价在上市首日下跌1%,但很快股价回升至发行价以上。百度在香港首日收盘持平,随即却跌破发行价,且未回升。

百度创始人李彦宏表示百度将专注人工智能领域。“回到香港二次上市,是百度的再次出发,是百度的二次创业,”李彦宏在香港上市现场表示。

据招股计划,截至2020年10月底,百度集团拥有中国最多的AI专利数量及申请数量。百度计划将50%的资金用于科技投资,促进以人工智能为主的创新商业化,范围包括智能驾驶和人工智能芯片等。

百度方面,世达律师事务所为百度提供香港及美国法律服务,金杜律师事务所为其中国法律师,Maples集团则为其开曼群岛法律师。达维律师事务所为联席保荐人和承销商的香港及美国法律顾问,海问律师事务所担任其中国法律顾问。

哔哩哔哩方面,世达律师事务所为发行人提供香港及美国法律服务,汇嘉律师事务所担任开曼群岛法律顾问,安杰律师事务所担任中国法特别法律顾问。高伟绅律师事务所为保荐人及承销商担任香港及美国法律顾问,通商律师事务所为其中国法律顾问。

Baidu, Bilibili continue homecoming

0
634
Baidu, Bilibili continue homecoming, 百度、哔哩哔哩加剧回流香港趋势

In back-to-back homecoming listings in Hong Kong, search engine operator Baidu and video streaming provider Bilibili raised HK$23.9 billion (US$3.1 billion) and HK$20.2 billion, respectively. While Baidu started trading on 23 March, Bilibili debuted six days later.

The two listings mark a continuation of a secondary listing trend since Alibaba’s US$11.2 billion offering in November 2019.

“The homecoming of these Chinese stocks reflects a need for companies to create multiple financing channels. Through the secondary listings, companies can not only raise funds, but also reduce the risks of financing,” said Fu Siqi, a partner at Tian Yuan Law Firm, the PRC legal counsel on the Bilibili listing.

“The economic and trade frictions between the US and China in recent years have made investors more worried. That led to a decline in the valuation of many Chinese companies listed in the US, which has adversely affected the financing,” said Fu.

The trend of overseas-traded Chinese companies turning to Hong Kong gathered pace in 2020, with a total of US$6.6 billion raised from secondary listings by e-commerce company JD.com and online technology company NetEase in July. The Baidu listing is the largest such offering since JD raised US$3.9 billion.

Fu added, “The previous homecomings have paved the way for Chinese stocks to list in Hong Kong. The stock exchange has also formulated new listing rules to regulate secondary listings in the city, with clearer requirements, exemptions and simplification of rules to make the secondary listings faster and more convenient.”

Fu said that domestic investors are more familiar with these companies, especially the larger and better performing ones, and this means they can not only obtain higher valuations, but also reduce the cost of issuance and financing.

Bilibili shares fell 1% on their first day of trading but soon regained the losses and rallied to HK$835 apiece, up 3.3%. Baidu closed flat on its Hong Kong debut, and had lost 13.6% to close at HK$217.60 on 8 April.

Baidu’s founder, Robin Li, has said the company will shift focus to its artificial intelligence business. “Returning to Hong Kong for a second IPO is another chance for Baidu,” Li was quoted as saying at the company’s Hong Kong opening ceremony.

According to its prospectus, Baidu owned the largest number of AI patents and patent applications in China as of 31 October 2020. The company also plans to spend half of the proceeds on commercialising its AI-based innovations, ranging from smart driving to AI chips.

For Baidu, Skadden provided Hong Kong and US legal advice, King & Wood Mallesons acted as its PRC counsel, and Maples Group was its Cayman Islands counsel. Davis Polk acted as Hong Kong and US legal counsel to the joint sponsors and underwriters, and Haiwen & Partners acted as the PRC counsel.

Skadden was the Hong Kong and US legal counsel for Bilibili, and Walkers acted as its Cayman Islands counsel. AnJie Law Firm was the special legal adviser to Bilibili as to PRC laws. Clifford Chance acted as Hong Kong and US legal counsel for the sponsor and underwriters, and Commerce & Finance Law Offices acted as PRC counsel.