知识产权约定侵权赔偿在司法实践中的适用

作者: 裴银州,康达律师事务所
0
129
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

年来,愈多的知识产权侵权案件中适用约定赔偿。对此,现行规定较为笼统,实务存在不少争议。为厘清问题,笔者将从约定侵权赔偿的法律概念和法律属性等方面进行剖析。

法律概念

知识产权约定侵权赔偿是指当事人双方在侵权行为发生之前签订的民事合同、在先侵权程序中自行达成的和解协议、经法院或仲裁机构确认后制作的民事调解书、侵权人作出的承诺书等文件中,约定侵权人对未来知识产权侵权行为需要承担的赔偿责任。在未来侵权行为发生后,权利人可以向法院提起侵权之诉,并要求按之前约定赔偿作为计算侵权赔偿的依据。

当前,赔偿计算方式包括:权利人因被侵权所受到的损失;侵权人因侵权所获得的利益或违法所得;许可使用费的倍数;法定赔偿。实践中,约定赔偿成为了另一种独立的赔偿确定方式。

法律属性

Pei Yinzhou, Kangda Law Firm
裴银州
高级合伙人、
知识产权专业委员会主任
康达律师事务所
电话: +86 138 0108 7811
电子信箱:
yinzhou.pei@kangdalawyers.com

约定赔偿是双方就未来发生侵权时权利人因被侵权所受到的损失或者侵权人因侵权所获得的利益,预先达成的一种简便的计算和确定方法。本质上是双方在意思自治基础上对未来侵权赔偿数额约定的一种独立赔偿确定方式。

约定赔偿一般包含于和解协议、民事调解书、承诺书和民事合同之中。关于约定赔偿是否存在侵权与违约的竞合?笔者认为,前三种属于附条件的特殊民事合同,对应侵权责任,不存在竞合问题。而民事合同,属于基础交易合同,包含事先约定的赔偿责任承担,存在违约与侵权竞合的情形,需择一主张。

在侵权行为成立且不存在约定无效、变更或撤销事由的情况下,约定赔偿应优先适用约定优先+意思自治,更符合知识产权侵权赔偿难以确定的实际情况。

约定与惩罚性赔偿

约定赔偿与惩罚性赔偿二者既有联系又有区别。两者的适用条件相同。惩罚性赔偿的成立需满足具有侵权故意和侵权情节严重两个条件,而适用约定赔偿的侵权行为同样需要满足以上条件;两者都具有惩罚性。直接约定赔偿金额具有补偿和惩罚双重作用,相当于当事人约定形成的“法定赔偿”,已具有惩罚性,不能再适用惩罚性赔偿;约定赔偿金额的计算方式,可以适用惩罚性赔偿。惩罚性赔偿的计算基数应是在没有考虑惩罚性因素下,较为精确地确定的赔偿数额。如果权利人与侵权人在先约定了赔偿计算基数,相当于当事人约定形成的基础赔偿,可以直接用作惩罚性赔偿的计算基数。

约定赔偿的适用

当在先赔偿约定无违法事由,尊重当事人私法自治,且约定金额具有合理性,则法院倾向于依据在先赔偿约定,全额支持约定赔偿金额。当法院依据法定赔偿进行判决,但判决金额与约定赔偿金额一致时,相当于在先约定赔偿金额为判决金额提供了参考,法院间接认可约定赔偿。而在不支持适用在先赔偿约定的案件中,约定赔偿并未被普遍认可,且判决金额一般都低于在先约定赔偿金额。

部分法院开始将约定赔偿条款引入调解工作中,其中一种做法是在侵权人出具的不再侵权的承诺书中设置约定赔偿条款。笔者认为,约定赔偿条款应当慎重考虑,并需明确以下内容:

  1. 约定赔偿条款需具体明确。需针对具体的侵权行为、知识产权权利或违反协议行为来约定赔偿金额。如果条款未明确指明赔偿责任所对应的具体知识产权权利、侵权行为和侵权产品,则可能被法院扩张解释。
  2. 在直接约定数额或计算方式时要因案而异。对于规模较小的侵权人,在考量惩罚因素基础上直接约定较高的赔偿金额更为有利,赔偿数额也需慎重考虑,应结合涉案知识产权价值、生产经营及行业状况及法院判赔情况等来确定。
  3. 而针对侵权持续时间长、规模大的情形,约定赔偿计算方式较约定具体赔偿金额更适合,且约定赔偿计算方式可以叠加适用惩罚性赔偿。

裴银州是康达律师事务所高级合伙人,知识产权专业委员会主任。他的联系方式是电话+86 138 0108 7811以及电邮yinzhou.pei@kangdalawyers.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Application of agreed compensation for IP infringement in judicial

By Pei Yinzhou, Kangda Law Firm
0
173
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In recent years, there has been a growing trend in the application of agreed compensation in intellectual property (IP) infringement cases. However, the existing regulations are somewhat vague, leading to numerous controversies in practice. To clarify these issues, this analysis will delve into the legal concepts and attributes of agreed compensation for infringement.

Legal concepts

Pei Yinzhou, Kangda Law Firm
Pei Yinzhou
Senior Partner
Kangda Law Firm
Tel: +86 138 0108 7811
E-mail:
yinzhou.pei@kangdalawyers.com

Agreed compensation for IP infringement refers to the compensation responsibility assumed by the infringing party for future IP infringement actions as stipulated in civil contracts signed by both parties before the infringement, settlement agreements reached through prior infringement procedures, civil mediation agreements confirmed by courts or arbitration institutions, and commitments made by the infringing party. Following the occurrence of future infringement actions, the rights holder can file a lawsuit in court and demand compensation based on the previously agreed terms.

Currently, the basis for calculating compensation includes: losses suffered by the rights holder due to infringement; profits gained by the infringing party from the infringement or illegal gains; multiples of licensing fees; and statutory compensation. In practice, agreed compensation has become another independent method of determining compensation.

Legal attributes

Agreed compensation is a simplified method agreed upon by both parties in advance to calculate and determine the losses suffered by the rights holder or the profits gained by the infringing party in the event of future infringement, which is an independent method where parties agree on future infringement compensation based on their autonomy of will.

Agreed compensation is generally included in settlement agreements, civil mediation agreements, commitment letters, and civil contracts. Regarding whether agreed compensation involves co-opetition between infringement and breach liability, the author believes that the first three of those four belong to special civil contracts with conditions attached, corresponding to liability for infringement only.

However, civil contracts, being basic transaction contracts, contain pre-agreed compensation obligations and may involve co-opetition between breach and infringement liability, requiring the assertion of one.

In cases where infringement is established and there are no grounds for invalidation, modification or revocation of the agreement, priority should be given to agreed compensation, aligning better with the practical challenges of determining compensation for IP infringement.

Agreed v punitive compensation

Agreed compensation and punitive compensation are both related and distinct. The conditions for their application are similar: punitive compensation requires both intentional infringement and serious infringement, while the same conditions apply to the application of agreed compensation.

Both types of compensation carry punitive elements. Directly agreed compensation amounts serve a dual purpose of compensation and punishment, akin to “statutory compensation” by agreement between the parties, thus already carrying punitive elements, making punitive compensation inapplicable; however, the calculation method of agreed compensation can be applied to punitive compensation.

The base for calculating punitive compensation should be a compensation amount determined fairly accurately without considering punitive elements. If the rights holder and infringing party have agreed on the compensation calculation base in advance, it serves as the basis for punitive compensation.

Agreed compensation

When there is no illegal basis for the agreed compensation clause, and respect is given to the parties’ private autonomy, and the agreed amount is reasonable, courts tend to fully support the agreed compensation amount based on the prior agreement.

When a court judgment is based on statutory compensation, but the awarded amount matches the agreed compensation, it indirectly recognises the agreed compensation. In cases where the application of prior agreed compensation clauses is not supported, and the awarded compensation is generally lower than the prior agreed amount, agreed compensation is not widely recognised.

Some courts have started incorporating agreed compensation clauses into mediation work, one approach being to include such clauses in commitment letters issued by infringers.

The author suggests that agreed compensation clauses should be carefully considered and should clearly specify:

  1. Agreed compensation clauses need to be specific and precise, detailing compensation amounts for specific acts of infringement, IP rights, or breaches of agreement. Failure to specify may lead to broad interpretation by the courts;
  2. The direct amount or calculation method should vary depending on the case. For smaller-scale infringers, it may be advantageous to directly agree to a higher compensation amount considering punitive elements, but the compensation amount should be carefully considered, taking into account the value of the involved IP, production and operation conditions, industry status and court rulings;
  3. For cases involving prolonged or large-scale infringement, a calculation method for agreed compensation is more suitable than specifying a fixed compensation amount, and such calculation methods can be combined with punitive compensation.

Pei Yinzhou is a senior partner and director at Intellectual Property Specialised Committee at Kangda Law Firm. He can be contacted by phone at +86 138 0108 7811 and by email at yinzhou.pei@kangdalawyers.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link