《行政复议法》修订要点评述

作者: 陈卓,郑烨烨和吕滨睿,天元律师事务所
0
153
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

十四届全国人民代表大会常务委员会第五次会议于2023年9月1日表决通过了修订后的《行政复议法》,自2024年1月1日起施行。相较于此前的《行政复议法(2017修正)》,新《行政复议法》围绕着“发挥行政复议化解行政争议主渠道作用”主线,对于行政复议的受案范围、管辖体制、审理程序及决定体系等方面进行了多项修订。本文从实务视角出发,对本次行政复议法的修订要点进行评述。

受案前置范围扩大化

Chen Zhuo, Tian Yuan Law Firm
陈卓
合伙人
天元律师事务所
电话: +86 138 1041 7260
电子信箱: chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn

为强化行政复议吸纳行政纠纷的能力,新《行政复议法》扩大了行政复议的受案范围和行政复议前置事项范围。

新《行政复议法》采取“肯定+否定”的模式规定行政复议受案范围,将行政赔偿、工伤认定、行政协议、政府信息公开、排除或者限制竞争等事项明确纳入行政复议受案范围,并制定了包括国家行为、规范性文件、内部人事管理、对民事纠纷的调节在内的负面清单,将更多行政争议纳入行政复议渠道。

新《行政复议法》在原《行政复议法》自然资源确权类案件的基础上,将当场作出的行政处罚决定、不予公开政府信息、未履行法定职责等行为纳入行政复议前置事项。对于此类事项,申请人应当先提出行政复议,对复议决定不服的,可以再依法提起行政诉讼。

有观点认为,行政复议前置有可能导致程序空转,人为延长救济周期,但实践中,上述行政案件量大面广,仅有极少数案件是疑难案件。通过更为便捷高效的行政复议程序,有利于快速化解矛盾,实现纠纷分流作用,减轻法院负担。

管辖体制集中化

新《行政复议法》将“条块结合”的管辖体制改为以“块块为主、条条为辅”的管辖模式。具体而言,除实行垂直领导的行政机关、税务和国家安全机关由上级主管部门作为复议机关以外,申请人依据原《行政复议法》则选择向本级人民政府或者上一级主管部门申请行政复议,而依据新《行政复议法》应统一向本级人民政府申请行政复议。

改革后的复议管辖权更为集中,有利于避免多个机关之间相互推诿,以及不同复议机关办案标准不统一导致“同案不同判”。同时,将行政复议的案件、资源集中,也有利于复议人员丰富办案经验,为打造专业化、职业化的复议队伍打下基础。另一方面,改革后的复议管辖权将客观上减少行政争议向上流动或跨区域流动,而新《行政复议法》也增设了提级管辖制度、强化了行政复议监督体系以防范行政复议出现“主客场”现象,具体效果有待进一步观察。

审理程序健全化

Zheng Yeye, Tian Yuan Law Firm
郑烨烨
律师
天元律师事务所
电话: +86 188 1304 4692
电子信箱: zhengyeye@tylaw.com.cn

为增强行政复议的公信力,新《行政复议法》对行政复议审理程序进行了全方位完善,尤其值得关注的是确立了“繁简分流”分类审理模式与行政调解制度。

原《行政复议法》采取以书面审查为原则的单一模式,而新《行政复议法》修改为“简案快审、繁案精审”:适用简易程序的复议期限更短,可以书面审查;适用普通程序的案件则需要充分听取双方意见,视情况组织听证、听取行政复议委员会咨询意见。程序分流有助于避免当事人在简单问题上耗费大量时间精力,节约审理资源,同时能更好保障当事人对于重大疑难问题的知情权、参与权和救济权,从程序与实体方面增强行政复议的公正性。

新《行政复议法》首次在法律层面对行政复议调解制度予以明确规定,并解决了其适用范围过窄的问题,使得所有类型的行政复议案件在符合法定条件的情况下均可适用调解,不再限于行政机关行使自由裁量权作出的具体行政行为、行政赔偿或者行政补偿纠纷。

实践中,由于行政复议申请未必能表明真实诉求,申请人有调解意愿的较为常见,比如政府信息公开复议申请,常常是借此牵连出背后利益或者向行政机关施压以解决其他问题,然而行政机关可能存在调解系非常规争议解决方式、有损法律权威等顾虑,调节意愿较低。新《行政复议法》上述修改有助于打消行政机关顾虑,寻找相对人利益最大化的解决方式。

决定体系精细化

新《行政复议法》对行政复议决定体系进一步精细化,包括:将变更决定、撤销决定和确认违法决定予以细化;增加变更决定的适用情形,放在突出位置;增加了确认无效、责令履行行政协议等决定类型;发现有关行政行为违法或者不当的,可以制发行政复议意见书。

行政复议决定体系的科学性直接关乎化解行政争议的能力,上述修改有利于行政复议机关采用灵活多样、具有针对性的方式解决争议。


陈卓天元律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式是电话+86 138 1041 7260以及电邮chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn。
郑烨烨是天元律师事务所律师。她的联系方式是电话+86 188 1304 4692以及电邮zhengyeye@tylaw.com.cn。
律师吕滨睿对本文亦有贡献

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Key revisions to the Administrative Reconsideration Law

By Chen Zhuo, Zheng Yeye, and Lyu Binrui, Tian Yuan Law Firm
0
298
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

On 1 September 2023, the revised Administrative Reconsideration Law (the new ARL) was adopted at the fifth session of the 14th National People’s Congress, and is expected to come into force on 1 January 2024.

Compared with the previous Administrative Reconsideration Law (2017 Revision), the new ARL, with a focus on “maximising the role of administrative reconsideration as the main channel for resolving administrative disputes”, makes comprehensive revisions to the scope, jurisdiction, trial procedure and decision of the law. This article comments on the significant changes from a practical point of view.

Expansion of scope

Chen Zhuo, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Chen Zhuo
Partner
Tian Yuan Law Firm
Tel: +86 138 1041 7260
E-mail: chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn

To enhance the capacity of the system to take on administrative disputes, the new ARL expands the scope of administrative reconsideration, as well as the scope of pre-reconsidered items.

The new ARL takes a “approval + denial” approach to determining the scope of administrative reconsideration. Administrative compensation, work-related injuries, administrative agreements and other items designated by the government to be disclosed, excluded, or have restricted competition are explicitly included into the scope of administrative reconsideration. A negative list was also compiled, which includes acts of the state, normative documents, internal personnel management and mediation for civil disputes. Overall, more administrative disputes are covered.

On the basis of the right to use natural resources provided in the original ARL, the new ARL designated administrative punishment decisions made on the spot, non-disclosed government information, failure to perform statutory functions and other such items as pre-reconsidered items. The party should first initiate administrative reconsideration for such items, but may launch an administrative lawsuit if refusing to accept the reconsideration decision.

It has been contested that the preliminaries of administrative reconsideration may lead to a prolonged remedy with low effectiveness. However, administrative cases are in practice as expansive as they are numerous, with very few of them requiring intensive adjudication. A fast-tracked reconsideration process can help efficiently resolve conflicts, divert disputes and thus alleviate the burden on the courts.

Centralisation of jurisdiction

Zheng Yeye, Tian Yuan Law Firm
Zheng Yeye
Associate
Tian Yuan Law Firm
Tel: +86 188 1304 4692
E-mail: zhengyeye@tylaw.com.cn

In the new ARL, the jurisdiction system adopts a horizontal approach over a vertical one. To be specific, under the new ARL, with the exception of administrative organs that implement vertical leadership, taxation and national security authorities where the superior authority continues to serve as the reconsideration body, all applicants should seek administrative reconsideration with the people’s government at the same level.

The centralisation of jurisdictions should lower the chance of shirking responsibilities, as well as prevent inconsistent rationales and standards between multiple reconsideration bodies. The personnel responsible for reconsideration, now with access to greater concentration of cases and resources, should be able to quickly gain experience, which lays a foundation for building a professional and specialised reconsideration team.

Furthermore, the revised jurisdiction rules reduce upward or cross-regional mobility of administrative disputes, with a specific system established to bump up jurisdiction to the superior level. Enhancements were also made to the supervisory system to avoid the “home and away” phenomenon in administrative reconsideration. How these upgrades pan out requires further observation.

Improvement of trial

To improve the credibility of administrative reconsideration, the new ARL makes holistic improvements to the trial process. Especially noteworthy is the establishment of the “complexity and simplicity” classification trial mode and administrative mediation system.

While the original ARL takes the singular approach of written review, the new ARL adopts the principle of “quick trial for simple cases, elaborate trial for complex cases”. Reconsideration cases applicable for the simplified procedure enjoy a shorter duration and may be submitted for written review; while in the ordinary procedure, both parties’ statements should be heard and, depending on the situation, hearings may be convened and the reconsideration committee may be consulted.

The diversion of cases saves much time and energy for participants of simple cases, conserves trial resources and more effectively protects the parties’ right to information, participation and redress, enhancing fairness both procedurally and substantively.

The new ARL for the first time includes clearly stipulated provisions on the mediation system at the legal level, while also drastically widening its applicability, so that mediation is open to all types of cases subject to the satisfaction of statutory condition, and is no longer limited to specific administrative acts made by administrative organs in the exercise of discretionary power, compensation or indemnification.

In practice, as administrative reconsideration applications may not always reflect the parties’ genuine needs, there is considerable general interest in mediation. For example, reconsideration applications on the disclosure of government information are often used to reveal concealed interests or put pressure on the administrative organs to solve other problems.

However, administrative organs sometimes have the concern that the mediation is an irregular method of dispute resolution that potentially undermines the authority of law, and its willingness to mediation is relatively low. The new ARL seeks to address these concerns and helps the parties find a solution that maximises interests.

Refinement of decision

The new ARL further refines the decision system in administrative reconsideration. Detailed articles are provided for changing the decision, withdrawing the decision and decision to affirm illegality. More scenarios may result in a change of decision, with additional types of decisions such as void confirmation and order to perform administrative agreement added to the lineup. Where the administrative act is found to be illegal or inappropriate, an opinion on administrative reconsideration may be issued.

The effectiveness of the administrative reconsideration system relates directly to the administrative capacity to resolve disputes. The new ARL is expected to greatly facilitate the adoption of flexible, diversified and targeted approaches to administrative dispute resolution.


Chen Zhuo is a partner at Tian Yuan Law Firm. He can be contacted at +86 138 1041 7260 or by e-mail at chenzhuo@tylaw.com.cn.
Zheng Yeye is an associate at Tian Yuan Law Firm. She can be contacted at +86 188 1304 4692 or by e-mail at zhengyeye@tylaw.com.cn.
Lyu Binrui, an associate at the firm, also contributed to the article

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link