Adish Aggarwala takes reins of Supreme Court Bar

Adish C Aggarwala

Adish C Aggarwala, former vice president of the Supreme Court Bar Association of India (SCBA) and senior advocate, was elected as its president.

Senior advocate Dushyant Dave, who was SCBA president until he resigned in 2021, was among seven nominees competing for the post against Aggarwala.

Aggarwala secured 668 votes, Dave had 477, Rajesh Kumar Khanna had 426, Ranjit Kumar had 304 and Ajit Kumar Sinha won 144, who were among eight candidates competing for president.

Senior advocate Sukumar Pattjoshi became the SCBA’s new vice president, winning 530 votes to defeat nine other senior advocate candidates, including Rachana Srivastava (306), Vibha Datta Makhija (209) and Pavani Mahalakshmi (165).

Senior advocate V Giri headed the election committee. The election saw a high voter turnout for various SCBA posts, including secretary, joint secretary, treasurer and joint treasurer.

Of the 2,800 eligible members of the Supreme Court, 2,208 cast votes, representing an 80% participation rate.

Since its establishment, the SCBA has played a pivotal role in promoting fundamental constitutional values that form the crux of India’s democratic system. The association comprises 21 executive committee members.