第三方资助仲裁在内地司法审查的新进展

0
464
第三方资助仲裁在内地司法审查的新进展
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

三方资助是指在诉讼或仲裁中,第三方出资人以协议的形式向争议当事人的一方提供资金支持,待受资助人胜诉后获得相应的报酬。第三方资助发轫于海外,在国际投资仲裁和国际商事仲裁中应用前景广泛,并在包括英国、美国、澳大利亚等普通法系国家进行了成熟的实践。

2022年,我们亦欣喜地看到,中国法院首次对于第三方资助仲裁在司法审查层面进行了正面回应。江苏省无锡市中级人民法院在(2022)苏02执异13号、14号案件判决书中,对于第三方资助涉及的合法性争议、信息披露义务等重大疑难问题进行了阐释。

贸仲委作为中国最早对第三方资助进行探索的国际仲裁机构,在该领域积累了丰富的经验。2017年9月,贸仲香港仲裁中心便率先制定了《第三方资助仲裁指引》,对资助范围、行为准则、权力分配等做出了规定。碍于篇幅限制,笔者将仅对(2022)苏02执异13号案中涉及第三方资助的内容进行简要评析,不代表机构正式立场。

基本案情

原案瑞某公司、景某公司、董某某不服贸仲委[2021]CIETACBJ Award No.3192裁决,以申请人的身份,向江苏省无锡市中级人民法院申请不予执行,理由包括“裁决所根据的证据系伪造、国某公司隐瞒了足以影响公正裁决的证据、仲裁庭组成和仲裁程序违法等。”

其中,申请人特别指出,TPF程序违法:“国某公司与第三方签署了仲裁资助协议,瑞某公司等始终对第三方介入表示异议,但贸仲委未遵守不公开审理的规定,反而纵容国某公司对外界透露仲裁案件情况,破坏了保密性要求”。

裁判结果

无锡中院全案驳回了申请人的诉讼请求,法官指出,本案中,从《贸仲规则》第38条规定可以看出,贸仲委对于保密性主要是对不公开审理的规定,涉案仲裁案件的审理并未公开进行,程序上不存在违反上述规定的情形。

其次,仲裁中的第三方资助披露,主要是对于利益冲突及透明度的要求,国某公司主动披露第三方资助,仲裁双方也就第三方资助的合法性交换了书面和口头意见,仲裁庭对第三方资助进行了审查并记录于裁决书中,贸仲委在此程序上并无违反《贸仲规则》之处。

再者,瑞某公司的此项不予执行理由,实际上是针对国某公司存在其认为的违反保密性要求的行为,但以程序违法为由主张不予执行仲裁裁决,应当指向贸仲委作出的程序违法行为。

最后,并非所有仲裁中出现的程序问题都会导致仲裁裁决被撤销或不予执行的后果。涉外仲裁中,当事人以仲裁庭的组成或者仲裁的程序与仲裁规则不符而申请不予执行仲裁裁决的,法院应当对仲裁程序之于仲裁规则的违反是否影响仲裁案件公正正确裁决进行审查。本案中国某公司向第三方资助人披露仲裁案件的进展,并无任何事实表明该行为会影响裁决结果的公正性。

据此,法院认为,在关于第三方资助事项上,贸仲委并未违反《仲裁规则》。综上,裁定驳回申请人提出的不予执行申请。

反思及建议

本案为中国首例涉及TPF的司法审查案件,无锡中院的判决是司法能动主义的一次极佳体现。面对TPF在中国现行仲裁法律制度中缺乏成文法这一难题,法官娴熟地应用《贸仲规则》第38条,以实体裁决的公正性受到妨碍与否,作为评估导向,对新事物采取了包容审慎的态度。与此同时,笔者认为,在未来TPF应用前景和实务指引上应注意以下几点内容。

当事人应主动向仲裁庭报告报告义务是平衡保密规则和披露制度之间的桥梁。当事人如果在仲裁案件中接受了第三方资助,应及时、主动向仲裁庭予以披露,披露的内容包括但不限于资助主体、资助事项、资助时间节点、资助金额及资助人控制程度等。

仲裁庭应主动明确保密义务的主体。由于TPF涉及三方主体且利益诉求并不一致,因此除当事人有义务遵守保密义务外,第三方资者人也应该严守保密义务。对于获取到的案件进展信息,第三方资助人不得擅自向其他主体予以传递。

仲裁庭应主动明确披露义务范围。保密性是仲裁有别于诉讼的特点和优势,仲裁庭应将披露范围限制在一定的界限内,避免损害当事人、第三方资助人合法权益。例如,从实践上看,大量的仲裁案件在仲裁庭的主持下和解并撤案,但碍于利益冲突,部分第三方资助人则对于以裁决的形式结案意愿更强。因此,如果资助协议对于结案方式有明确的约定,仲裁庭应要求当事人强制披露,提高仲裁效率。

条件成熟时探索建立案外费用担保根据贸仲香港仲裁中心《第三方资助仲裁指引》第4.3条之规定,“在法律和规则允许的情况下,仲裁庭在审核仲裁费用保证金申请时,可将资助的存在和程度作为考虑因素”,由于资助第三方并非仲裁程序的当事人,仲裁庭很难通过仲裁规则对其“硬约束”,因而适当的费用担保,不仅有利于约束资助第三方的潜在不当行为,也有益于避免滥诉风险。


贸仲湖北分会秘书长助理刘乐阳、仲裁秘书李润

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Judicial review updates of TPF arbitration

0
442
TPF arbitration reviewed
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The definition of third-party funding (TPF) is when, during a litigation or arbitration procedure, a third-party contributor provides financial support to one of the parties in the dispute in the form of a contract, and receives remuneration after the recipient wins the lawsuit.

TPF originated outside of China, where it is widely used in international investment arbitration and international commercial arbitration. It has also been put into practice in common law countries such as the UK, the US, Australia and elsewhere.

In 2022, some regional courts in mainland China responded to TPF for the first time. The Wuxi Intermediate People’s Court in Jiangsu province, in its rulings Su 02 Zhi Yi No. 13 (2022) and Su 02 Zhi Yi No. 14 (2022), explained the legal disputes, information disclosure obligations and other major issues related to TPF.

As China’s first international arbitration institution to explore TPF, the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) has obtained rich experience. In September 2017, the CIETAC Hong Kong Arbitration Centre took the lead and rolled out the Guidelines on Third-Party Funding of Arbitration, which specify the scope of funding, code of conduct and allocation of powers. This article comments briefly on the third-party financing aspect of Su 02 Zhi Yi No. 13 (2022), but does not represent any official position.

THE FACTS

In this case, company A and company B did not accept a 2021 CIETAC award and applied to Wuxi Intermediate People’s Court for non-enforcement of the award on the grounds that “the evidence on which the award was based was forged, company C concealed evidence sufficient to affect an impartial award, and the composition of the tribunal and the arbitration procedure were illegal”.

The applicants pointed out that the TPF procedure in the case was illegal: “Company C signed an arbitration funding agreement with a third party, and company A, among others, had objected to the intervention of the third party. But the CIETAC ignored the rule of closed hearings, instead condoning company C’s disclosure of the arbitration case to outsiders, undermining the CIETAC’s confidentiality requirement.”

THE COURT DECISION

The court rejected the applicants’ claim in its entirety. The judge pointed out that, first, in the case it could be seen from article 38 of the CIETAC rules that confidentiality is mainly for closed hearings. As the hearing of the arbitration case in question was not held in public, there was no procedural violation.

Second, disclosure requirements of TPF information in arbitration procedures is primarily concerned with conflict of interest and transparency. Company C had already made such a disclosure, parties to the arbitration had exchanged written and oral opinions about TPF, and the tribunal had examined the TPF and recorded it in the award. Therefore, CIETAC did not violate its rules in the procedure.

Furthermore, company A’s reason for its non-enforcement claim was, in fact, in response to the existence of what it considered to be a breach of confidentiality by company C. However, a claim of non-enforcement of the arbitral award on the grounds of procedural violations should point to those made by the CIETAC.

Finally, not all procedural issues presented in arbitration will result in setting aside or non-enforcement of the arbitral award. In a foreign-related arbitration, if a party applies for non-enforcement of an arbitral award on the grounds that the composition of the arbitral tribunal or the procedure of the arbitration is not in line with its rules, the court shall review whether such violation affects the fairness of the arbitration award.

In this case, company C disclosed the progress of the case to the third-party financier, and there were no facts suggesting that having a third-party financier would affect the fairness of the outcome of the award. Accordingly, the court held that the CIETAC did not violate its rules with respect to the issue of TPF.

Based on these factors, the Wuxi court rejected the applicants’ non-enforcement claim.

SOME SUGGESTIONS

This case is the first judicial review case involving TPF in mainland China, and the Wuxi Intermediate Court’s judgment is an excellent manifestation of judicial activism. Faced with the problem of no legal basis for TPF in China, the judge skillfully applied article 38 of the CIETAC rules, taking the assessment of whether the fairness of the substantive award was impeded or not as a guide, and adopting an inclusive and prudent approach to innovations in practice.

The author believes that the following points should be noted in future TFP practices.

If involving TPF, the parties should proactively report to the tribunal. The reporting obligation is the bridge that balances the confidentiality rules and the disclosure requirements. Suppose a party receives financial support from a third party in a particular case, it should promptly and voluntarily disclose to the arbitral tribunal, including, but not limited to, the subject receiving the financial support, the issues to be funded, the timing of the funding, the amount of the funding, and the degree of control of the financier.

If involving TPF, the arbitral tribunal should clarify the parties that are subject to confidentiality obligations. Since TPF involves three parties and their interests are inconsistent, in addition to the parties’ obligation to follow the confidentiality obligation, the third-party investors should also strictly honour the confidentiality obligation. For information obtained in the progress of the case, the third-party financier shall not pass on the information to others without authorisation.

If involving TPF, the tribunal should take the initiative to clarify the scope of the disclosure obligation. Confidentiality is a characteristic and advantage of arbitration that distinguishes it from litigation. The arbitral tribunal should limit the scope of the disclosure to avoid undermining the legitimate rights and interests of the parties and third-party financiers.

For example, in practice, many arbitration cases are settled and dismissed under the auspices of the arbitral tribunal. However, due to conflicts of interest, some third-party funders are more willing to close cases in the form of an award. Therefore, if the funding agreement has an explicit agreement on the manner of closing the case, the tribunal should require the parties to disclose such an agreement to improve the efficiency of the arbitration.

When the conditions are right, the establishment of an out-of-case cost guarantee mechanism can be explored. Article 4.3 of the CIETAC Hong Kong Arbitration Centre Guidelines on Third Party Funded Arbitration provides that: “An arbitral tribunal may, to the extent permitted by applicable laws or rules, consider whether the existence and extent of funding is a relevant factor when considering any application for security for costs.”

Because the third parties are not parties to the arbitration procedures, it is difficult for the tribunal to bind them to its arbitration. Therefore, appropriate security for costs would not only help to restrain potential misconduct by funded third parties, but also help to avoid the risk of abusing litigations.


Liu Leyang is an assistant to the secretary-general and Li Run is a case manager at CIETAC Hubei sub-commission

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link