金融机构不良债权处置过程中的税收减免

作者: 王振翔,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
326
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

2022年9月30日,财政部、税务总局发布2022年第31号公告,就银行业金融机构、金融资产管理公司(合称“金融机构”)的不良债权以物抵债过程中的增值税、印花税、契税、房产税、城镇土地使用税作出规定。

31号公告

公告将前述税种的税率、免征等做了如下调整:

(1)印花税、契税免征,房产税、城镇土地使用税各地决定免征,即金融结构接手、处置抵债资产过程中的合同、产权转移书据、营业账簿等免征印花税,接收抵债资产免征契税;各地可根据上位法授权对金融机构持有的抵债不动产减免房产税、城镇土地使用税;
(2)增值税税率适用9%税率,即金融机构处置不动产,可选择以取得的全部价款和价外费用扣除取得该抵债不动产时的作价为销售额适用9%的增值税税率。

需要强调的是,前述抵债资产需要法院判决裁定或仲裁机构仲裁。金融资产管理公司抵债适用31号公告的,需要其抵债债权来源于银行金融机构。31号公告的执行期限是2022年8月1日至2023年7月31日,公告发布前已征收并入库的,可以抵减纳税人以后几个月份应缴纳的税款或办理税款退库,增值税专用发票追回后可以适用31号公告。

各地税收减免规定

Wang Zhenxiang, Jingtian & Gongcheng
王振翔
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

北京市国家税务局2016年《金融业增值税政策指引》规定,经人民银行、银保监会、证监会批准成立且经营金融保险业务的机构,于2016年5月1日后取得(含抵债)的,在会计师制度上按固定资产核算的不动产或者不动产在建工程,其进项税额应自取得产权之日起两年内从销项税额中抵扣,第一年抵扣比例60%,第二年抵扣比例40%。但是,房地产开发企业自行开发的房地产项目,抵债给机构时,不适用前述抵扣政策。

浙江、重庆等地均在其政府公开平台中明确破产企业免征契税,即依法适用财税〔2018〕17号文。该文第五条规定,债权人(包括破产企业职工)承受破产企业抵偿债务的土地、房屋权属,免征契税。其中,“实施破产”明确包含《企业破产法》中的破产清算程序,但是否包括重整程序中的以房(地)抵债,以及债权人如何享受此项优惠,各地鲜有明确答复。

福建省泉州市将以物抵债支付的税费中地方留存部分奖励给商业银行。该市作出泉政办〔2015〕107号暂行规定,以加大不良资产处置力度。商业银行在泉州市辖区内接受以物抵债的,其取得抵债资产时缴纳的税费地方所得部分,按现行财政体制由所在地财政部门奖励给贷款银行。

湖北省税务局2022年第6号公告、浙江省税务局浙税发〔2019〕87号文、上海市高院与上海市税务局联合作出的沪高法〔2020〕222号、盘锦市人民政府盘政发〔2015〕46号通知均规定,企业缴纳房产税、城镇土地使用税确有困难的,可申请困难减免税。

其中,湖北和上海规定,自法院裁定受理企业破产清算申请之日起至破产清算程序终结,所涉土地及地上建筑物已停止使用的,符合房、土两税困难减免税情形;浙江规定,依法进入破产程序的纳税人纳税确有困难的,经管理人申请酌情减免其进入破产程序后的房、土两税,但是从事国家限制或不鼓励发展的产业的纳税人不在减免之列。

未免歧义,关于国家限制或者淘汰类产业的具体内容可参考国家最新公布的《产业结构调整指导目录》;各类房地产开发用地,不包含经批准开发建设的经济适用房等保障性住房。盘锦市则规定,金融企业取得的以物抵债的房产暂免征收房产税和土地使用税。

部分地区就以物抵债方式取得的不动产,在处置过程中对增值税适用核定税率。南平市税务局公告2021年第1号规定,对单位的旧房及建筑物,被人民法院执行中以物抵债等方式转让的(包括破产程序中处置国有土地使用权、地上建筑物),核定征收率为6%。对单位的旧房及建筑物,非经人民法院执行中拍卖、变卖、以物抵债等方式转让,或者其国有土地使用权、地上建筑物非在破产程序中处置,按规定实行核定征收的,核定征收率须经税负测算且不低于5%。宁德市税务局2021年1号公告、福州市税务局2021年第2号公告亦有类似规定,仅将对应的两项税率分别调整为7%和不低于5%。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人王振翔

collateral

竞天公诚律师事务所

杭州市江干区钱江路1366号
华润大厦A座3001 邮编: 311500

电话: +86 571 8992 6523

传真: +86 571 8992 6501

电子信箱: wang.zhenxiang@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Tax relief for financial institutions in disposal of non-performing asset claims

By Wang Zhenxiang, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
60

On 30 September 2022, the Ministry of Finance (MOF) and the State Taxation Administration (STA) issued the announcement No. 31 of 2022, which provides for VAT, stamp duty, deed tax, real property tax and urban land use tax when offsetting non-performing asset claims in kind by financial institutions, including both banking financial institutions and financial asset management companies.

ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 31

The announcement makes the following revisions to the tax rates and exemptions of the above-mentioned taxes:

Wang Zhenxiang, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Wang Zhenxiang
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

(1) stamp duty on contracts, title transfer instruments and business books during the takeover and disposal of foreclosed assets by financial institutions is exempted, and the deed tax associated with the acceptance of assets is exempted; the regional authorities may reduce or exempt real property tax and urban land use tax on the foreclosed immovable property held by financial institutions as authorised by higher-level laws;
(2) when disposing of immovable property, a financial institution may opt to treat the full price and non-price expenses minus the valuation at the time of acquisition of the foreclosed immovable property as the sales turnover and apply VAT at 9%.

It should be emphasised that the foreclosed assets require a court judgment or ruling or an award from an arbitration institution. Where a financial asset management company wishes to apply announcement No. 31 to offset debt, the claims must come from a banking financial institution. Announcement No. 31 will be implemented from 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2023, and taxes collected and turned over to the treasury before the announcement date may be offset against taxes payable by the taxpayer in the subsequent few months or for a tax refund. Once a dedicated VAT invoice has been recovered, announcement No. 31 may be applied.

REGIONAL POLICIES

The 2016 Policy Guidelines for VAT on the Financial Sector of the Beijing Municipal Office of the STA provides that the input VAT on immovable property or immovable property under construction is deducted from the output VAT within two years from the date of acquisition of the title. The deduction rate is 60% for the first year and 40% for the second year. However, this policy does not apply to a real estate project developed by a real estate developer that is offset against the debt to the institution. Immovable property or immovable property under construction are considered fixed assets under the accounting system, if acquired by approved institutions after 1 May 2016. These institutions require the approval of the People’s Bank of China, the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission and the China Securities and Regulatory Commission to engage in financial or insurance business.

Applying article 5 of the Notice on Continuing to Support the Restructuring and Restructuring of Enterprises and Public Institutions on Deed Tax Policies, issued by the STA and the MOF in 2018, the governments of Zhejiang and Chongqing expressly announced creditors (including employees of a bankrupt enterprise) who took over the land and premises of the bankrupt enterprise used to offset debts are exempt from deed tax. The “implementation of bankruptcy” expressly includes the bankruptcy liquidation procedure provided in the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law. Other than Zhejiang and Chongqing, few regions have adopted this practice.

Quanzhou in Fujian province issued provisional regulations in 2015 to intensify efforts to dispose of non-performing assets. If a commercial bank within the Quanzhou jurisdiction accepts the offsetting of debts in kind, the local fiscal authority will reward the bank for lending, under the current fiscal system, with the local portion of the taxes and levies paid when it acquired the foreclosed assets.

Several regional authorities have issued provisions that allow enterprises with genuine difficulties in paying property tax and urban land use tax to apply for hardship tax relief, as was the case for Hubei in 2022, Zhejiang in 2019, Shanghai in 2020 and Panjin, Liaoning in 2015.

Moreover, Hubei and Shanghai provide that, from the date a court rules to accept a petition for the bankruptcy liquidation of an enterprise to the conclusion of the liquidation, where the premises involved has ceased to be used, it constitutes a circumstance for hardship relief from real property and land taxes. Zhejiang provides that where a taxpayer that has lawfully entered a bankruptcy procedure is genuinely unable to pay taxes, they can enjoy discretionary reduction or exemption from the real property and land taxes incurred during the bankruptcy procedure on the administrator’s application. However, this is not available to taxpayers involved in industries that are restricted or not encouraged by the state.

To avoid ambiguity, for industries restricted or to be eliminated by the state, a list can be found in the most recently published Catalogue for Guiding Adjustment of the Industrial Structure. The various types of land for real estate development exclude the land approved for developing and constructing affordable housing. In Panjin, real property tax and land use tax on real property acquired by financial enterprises to offset debts are exempted temporarily.

Nanping Taxation Bureau Announcement No. 1 of 2021 provides that where older premises and structures of an entity are transferred by way of debt in kind by the people’s court (including the disposal of state-owned land use rights and structures on the land in bankruptcy proceedings), the tax rate under verification collection is 6%.

Where the same are not transferred by auction, sold off, or debt-in-kind by a court or the state-owned land use rights and premises are not disposed of in bankruptcy proceedings, the tax rate under verification collection is subject to a tax burden calculation and is not less than 5%. Similar provisions are found under 2021 announcements issued by the Ningde and Fuzhou tax bureaus, with the two corresponding tax rates set at 7% and not less than 5%.

Wang Zhenxiang is a partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

Room 3001, Area A, China Resources Tower
No.1366 Qianjiang Road, Hangzhou 311500, China

Tel: +86 571 8992 6523

Fax: +86 571 8992 6501

E-mail: wang.zhenxiang@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com