印度证券交易委员会在近期改革中的尴尬两步曲

作者: Sawant Singh、Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
0
323

印度证券交易委员会(SEBI)最近推出了一系列改革措施,以保护上市发行债券中的投资人。这些改革的先兆是,为监管资本,SEBI对银行发行上市不可转换优先股的规定进行了一次很少引起注意的修改。这些金融工具具有本金减记等特色。鉴于近期有关此类特色对散户投资人影响的争议,SEBI的改革只允许合格的机构买家参与这类金融工具的发行。这类工具的最低报价必须为1000万卢比(13.5万美元)。

Sawant Singh,Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

2020年10月13日,SEBI根据上市债券发行人违约程序向债券受托人发出进一步指示。这些规定对发行人提出了更高的报告和合规要求,并加重了债券受托人的责任。例如,当违约发生时,债券受托人必须在违约发生后3日内向债券持有人发出通知,并在30日内召开会议。在这类会议上,所有决定均须获得按价值计算的75%债券持有人及按人数计算的60%债券持有人的同意。

此外,经修订的1993年《SEBI(债券受托人)条例》要求债券受托人对担保资产进行独立的尽职调查评估,以确保这些资产没有产权负担,并获得其他受押人的同意。经修订的《债券受托人条例》及《SEBI10月13日的通函》准许债券受托人代表债券持有人与其他贷方就印度储备银行(RBI)规定的任何决议架构下的决议计划签订债权人间协议。SEBI通函还含有允许债券受托人随后就某些事件发生退出债权人间协议的措辞。

2008年《SEBI(债券发行和上市)条例》已经过修订,并规定了发行人在上市债券要约文件中的额外披露要求。自2021年1月1日起,上市债券发行人必须以现金或现金等价物的方式向指定证券交易所的恢复开支基金缴纳相当于发行规模0.01%的金额,上限为250万卢比。这笔钱将在赎回债券时退还。违约时,债券受托人可根据债券持有人的指示,将这些款项用于支付法律费用和其他执行费用。经修订的2015年《SEBI(上市义务和披露要求)条例》还规定了对发行人的额外报告和合规要求。

Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal

经修订的《债券受托人规例》及《债务上市规例》规定,债券信托契据应分为两部分:A部分为有关债务发行的法定及标准资料,B部分为有关商业及交易的具体细节。虽然这些改革给人的印象是为了加强对投资人的保护和信息披露,但这是一项形式意义上的改革,这似乎是对SEBI其他改革的补充,这项改革未显示出明显的实质益处,也许需要进行重新评估。

SEBI引入改革背后的意图值得称赞。然而,这些措施似乎是被动而非主动、宽泛而非有针对性。例如,恢复支出基金将增加上市债务资本市场的发行成本,并可能妨碍政府深化债务资本市场和鼓励从银行借款转向资本市场的措施。如果这一措施针对的是有信用不良记录的发行者,则会更有效果。该措施适用于所有发行人,其效果是为少数发行人的错误而惩罚合规发行人。SEBI10月13日的通函也反映出可能存在理解上的偏差或缺乏与印度储备银行的协商,因为印度储备银行的决议框架要求根据债权人间协议作出的决定对所有贷款人均具有约束力,且似乎并没有赋予贷款人单方面退出的权利。这意味着需要评估债券受托人在印度储备银行决议框架中的参与情况,并需要提供指导其申请的额外指示。

Sawant Singh和Aditya Bhargava是Phoenix Legal律师事务所的合伙人。律师Sristi Yadav对本文亦有贡献。

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India

 

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India

 

Contact details
Tel +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
Fax: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
Email: delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in

SEBI’s awkward two-step on recent changes

By Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
0
360

The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) recently introduced a series of changes to protect investors in listed issuance debt securities. The precursor to these changes was a little noticed amendment to the regulations on the issuance of listed non-convertible preference shares by banks for the purposes of regulatory capital. These instruments contain features such as the write-down of the principal. In the light of recent controversies relating to the impact of such features on retail investors, SEBI’s changes allow only qualified institutional buyers to participate in the issue of such instruments. The minimum offer for such instruments must be ₹10 million (US$135,000).

Sawant Singh,Phoenix Legal
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

On 13 October 2020, SEBI issued further directions to debenture trustees on procedures in cases of default by issuers of listed debt securities. These prescribe higher reporting and compliance requirements for issuers, and heightened responsibilities of debenture trustees. For instance, when a default occurs, a debenture trustee must give debenture holders notice within three days of occurrence and convene a meeting within 30 days. In such a meeting, all decisions would require the consent of 75% of the debenture holders by value and 60% of the debenture holders by number.

Further, the amended SEBI (Debenture Trustees) Regulations, 1993, require debenture trustees to conduct independent due diligence assessments of the secured assets to ensure that these are free of encumbrances and that consents from other charge holders have been obtained. The amended debenture trustee regulations and SEBI’s 13 October circular permit debenture trustees to enter into intercreditor agreements with other lenders on behalf of debenture holders in respect of any resolution plan under the resolution framework prescribed by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). The SEBI circular also contains language enabling debenture trustees to subsequently exit the intercreditor agreement on the occurrence of certain events.

Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

The SEBI (Issue and Listing of Debt Securities) Regulations, 2008, have been amended to prescribe additional disclosure requirements for issuers in offer documents for listed debt securities. Commencing from 1 January 2021, it is mandatory for issuers of listed debt securities to contribute an amount equal to 0.01% of the issue size, with a cap of ₹2.5 million, by way of cash or cash equivalents to a recovery expense fund with the designated stock exchange. This will be refunded on redemption of the debt securities. When a default occurs, the debenture trustee can utilize these amounts on the instructions of the debenture holders towards legal expenses and other enforcement costs. Additional reporting and compliance requirements for issuers have also been prescribed under the amended SEBI (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015.

The amended debenture trustee regulations and the debt listing regulations require a debenture trust deed to be organized in two parts – part A, for statutory and standard information on the debt issue, and part B, for commercial and transaction specific details. While these changes give the impression of being introduced to improve investor protections and disclosures, this is a form-related change, which appears to have been tacked on to SEBI’s other changes. This provides no apparent substantive benefit and perhaps would need to be reassessed.

The intent behind the changes introduced by SEBI is laudable. However, these appear to be reactive rather than proactive and appear to be broad-based rather than targeted. For instance, the recovery expense fund will increase the costs of issuance of listed debt capital markets, and would likely hamper the government’s measures to deepen debt capital markets and to encourage the shift of borrowing from banks to the capital markets. It would have been more useful had this measure been directed at issuers with a record of credit weakness. Applying it to all issuers has the effect of penalizing compliant issuers for the errors of a few. SEBI’s 13 October circular also reflects a possible misalignment of understanding or a lack of consultation with the RBI, as the RBI’s resolution framework requires decisions taken under an intercreditor agreement to bind all lenders, and does not appear to give lenders the right to unilaterally exit. This means that the participation of debenture trustees in the RBI’s resolution framework would need to be evaluated, and additional directions guiding its application would need to be provided.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal. Sristi Yadav, an associate, also contributed to the article.

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India

 

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India

 

Contact details
Tel +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
Fax: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
Email: delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in